1. Home
  2. >
  3. Hong Kong's Wild Stars

Birdwood's Mucuna - Dangling "Birds" on a Tree

Originally published in Green Country, Issue 118 (Feb 2016)
Author: Green Power

The "Rice Bird" that fed on crops in fields used to cause great headaches for farmers. Legend had it that Iron-Crutch Li of the Eight Immortals used magic to hang the naughty birds along a climber, and released them only during Ching Ming Festival. Birdwood's Mucuna is the climber that bears the legendary "birds".

Birdwood's Mucuna (Mucuna birdwoodiana) is a large native climber belonging to the family Fabaceae. It is commonly seen in local woods. The species blossoms in spring and early summer, corresponding to the time of Ching Ming when the "Rice Birds" (Yellow-breasted Emberiza aureola) Buntings were released in the legend. The long inflorescence is crowded with flowers. A single one can bear 20 to 30 flowers. The colours vary from pale green to pale yellow and sometimes white.

The flower of Birdwood's Mucuna resembles a bird, rather than a butterfly as the Chinese family name indicates. The outermost petal (vexillum) seems like the head of the bird, the two petals on the side are the wings and the middle curled petals look like the tail! A pale yellow flower would most resemble the "Rice Bird". A cluster of flowers look so much like a flock of rice birds packed together! It is for this reason that people named the flowers "Rice Bird Flower" in Chinese.

Pollination by bats

By contrast with the commonly seen Birdwood's Mucuna, there is a close relative of it - Hong Kong Mucuna (Mucuna championii) - that is very rare in Hong Kong. The species was first discovered in Hong Kong and can only be found in Hong Kong and Shenzhen. It is classified as "Endangered" in China. The flowers of the two species look similar, though those of the latter are purple and smaller. The fruits, however, are quite different: legumes of Hong Kong Mucuna look strange with many folds, while those of Birdwood's Mucuna are slender and resemble string of beads.

Many plants rely on insects such as butterflies and bees for pollination. Birdwood's Mucuna, on the other hand, pollinates with the help of bats. Bats are more effective pollinators as they fly far and can carry large amounts of pollen. Bats identify distance and direction by sound waves, and some species of Mucuna have developed a special acoustic guide by turning the vexillum into a concave surface which reflects the ultrasound echo of bats and hence catches their attention.

Image
Blossom like flocks of birds on a tree.
Image
Flowers of Hong Kong Mucuna (Mucuna championii)
Image
Legumes of Birdwood's Mucuna (above) and Hong Kong Mucuna (below)
Image
Image
© Peggy Chung

Subscribe

Contact Us

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
Rm. 2314, 23/F.,Gala Place,
56 Dundas Street, Mongkok, Kln.
Opening Hours:
Monday to Friday 9:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.;
2:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. (Closed on Saturday, Sunday and public holidays)

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 環保教室
  4. >
  5. 生物放大鏡

掛在樹上的鳥兒-白花油麻藤

綠田野 第118期(2016年2月)

田間的禾花雀從前常常偷吃農作物,令農夫十分苦惱。八仙中的鐵拐李看見這個情境,於是便施法術把這些頑皮的鳥兒串起來,掛在樹藤上,每逢清明節才將鳥兒放出來。這個傳說中被串起掛在樹藤上的鳥兒,便是我們現在看見的白花油麻藤。

白花油麻藤(Mucuna birdwoodiana)屬蝶形花科,是本地原生大型藤本植物,常見於本地樹林。每年約在春天及初夏開花,所以才有傳說中每逢清明節將變成花兒的禾花雀(黃胸鵐 Emberiza aureola)放出來的說法。長長的花序上開滿花朵,單一花序可長出多達二、三十朵花,顏色時而淺青,時而淡黃,有時會是白色的,花色多變。

白花油麻藤雖然是蝶形花科的植物,但花朵外形一點也不像蝴蝶,反而更像小鳥。最外層的花瓣(旗瓣)是小鳥的頭部,旁邊的兩片花瓣是翅膀,中間卷起的花瓣則是尾巴,乍看還真的像小鳥呢!而當花朵長成淡黃色,就與禾花雀最為相似,當數十朵花聚生在一起,宛如數十只禾花雀緊緊靠在一起,非常特別!從前人們亦因此叫白花油麻藤的花朵作「禾雀花」。

以蝙蝠傳播花粉

白花油麻藤有一近親叫港油麻藤(Mucuna championii),它跟常見的白花油麻藤相反,十分罕見,是香港稀珍植物之一,也是香港首次發現的物種,只能在香港和深圳找到,中國境內現狀屬「瀕危」。港油麻藤與白花油麻藤的花形相似,但卻是紫色,而且比較細小。兩者的果實外型卻有天壤之別,港油麻藤的莢果佈滿皺摺,樣子十分奇怪;白花油麻藤的莢果則較修長,像一串連起來的珠子。

很多植物都靠蝴蝶、蜜蜂等昆蟲傳播花粉,但白花油麻藤卻依靠果蝠授粉。蝙蝠的飛行距離遠,每次可攜帶大量花粉,傳播花粉的能力比昆蟲更強。由於蝙蝠以聲波分辨距離和方向,有些油麻藤物種會在花瓣中演化出獨特的聲波引導結構,將旗瓣當成凹面镜,更有效反射蝙蝠發出的超音波,藉此吸引蝙蝠的注意。

文|Joyce Siu

Image
花朵形態猶如數十只鳥兒聚在一起
Image
港油麻藤的花
Image
白花油麻藤(上)與港油麻藤(下)的莢果。
Image
Image
©Peggy Chung

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk

九龍旺角登打士街56號
栢裕商業中心23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)

接收本會資料