1. Home
  2. >
  3. Green Classroom
  4. >
  5. Hong Kong's Wild Stars

Venomous Snake That's Not So Venomous - Mock Viper

Green Country Vol. 117 (Dec 2015)

To most people, vipers are fearsome creatures. We are taught when young age to identify the triangular head of vipers. Mock Viper (Psammodynastes pulverulentus) indeed has a triangular head, yet is not as venomous as it looks. Its venom is of low toxicity, and the snake is not known to actively attack people. There is no record of harm to human by the species to date in Hong Kong.

Hong Kong is home to as many as 86 native and naturalised species of reptiles: 20% of the total in China. Reptiles include snakes, turtles and lizards. In Hong Kong, snakes account for the majority of reptiles, with 52 species, 14 of which are native terrestrial venomous snakes, including Mock Viper.

Mock Viper, or “brown mountain snake” in Chinese, is active in woodland, shrubland, and grassland. The small snake is 40-60 centimetres in length and covered with many black spots on the dark brown body. Its head is triangular, with a conspicuous spear patch. Apart from Hong Kong, the species ranges across India, Indonesia, Malaysia and southern China. It is an uncommon species in Hong Kong and can only be found on Lantau, and in the east New Territories and Tai Po Kau Nature Reserve.

Less than fatal

Mock Viper is more active during daytime and feeds on small animals such as frogs, geckos and skinks. It is often mistaken for a highly venomous viper due to its aggressiveness and the triangular head. It even earned the common name Mock Viper. Although venomous, the snake's fangs are not at the front of the mouth but at the back. In the unfortunate case of an accidental bite, the low toxicity is not fatal. It will at worst cause a swollen wound, pain and bleeding.

Egg-laying or live birth?

Snakes are oviparous, which means that after mating eggs are laid and baby snakes will hatch. For some species, however, reproduction is ovoviviparous, that is, the fertilised egg will hatch inside the mother’s body and the mother will give birth to the baby snake when it is mature.

Ovoviviparous babies are born directly by the mother, which seems like a life birth. But the two are indeed different. The embryo of the latter absorbs nutrients directly from the mother; but the former only absorbs nutrients from the egg. Mock Viper is one of the ovoviviparous types. Compared to oviparous species, the ovoviviparous has a higher rate of survival due to the protection of the mother against predation.

Text︱Linda Yip

Image

Image
Mock Viper preying on Long-tailed Skink (Eutropis longicaudata)
Image
Mock Viper has a triangular head with a conspicuous spear-shape pattern on top.
Image
Mock Viper is ovoviviparous - giving birth to baby snakes.

Subscribe

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 環保教室
  4. >
  5. 生物放大鏡

毒蛇不毒-紫沙蛇

綠田野 第117期(2015年12月)

人們對毒蛇都怕得要命,可能小時候都有學習過,認著頭部三角型的蛇,牠們都是很毒的。紫沙蛇(Psammodynastes pulverulentus)因為頭部呈三角型而常被誤會具劇毒,對牠避而遠之。雖然牠確實是有毒,但毒性不強,更重要是牠不會主動攻擊人,目前香港亦沒有紫沙蛇咬傷人的記錄,牠其實並不如大家想像般可怕。

香港的爬行類動物物種非常豐富,計算原生及已歸化的物種,數目多達86種,是中國爬行類動物物種的兩成。爬行類動物包括了蛇、龜和蜥蜴等。在香港,以蛇佔大多數,有52種,當中14種是原生陸棲毒蛇,包括了紫沙蛇。

紫沙蛇,又名茶斑蛇、茶斑大頭蛇或褐山蛇,主要在林地、灌木林及草地棲息。牠的體型較小,身長約40 – 60 厘米,身體紫褐色或深棕色,有許多黑色斑點,頭部呈三角形並有明顯的矛狀斑紋。除了香港,紫沙蛇在印度、印尼、馬來西亞及華南地區都有分布。紫沙蛇在香港並不常見,在大嶼山、新界東部和大埔滘自然護理區均可找到其蹤影。

毒不致命

紫沙蛇日間較活躍,主要靠捕食蛙類、壁虎、石龍子等小型動物為生。由於牠攻擊性強,加上頭部呈三角型,所以常被誤以為是具劇毒的蝰蛇科,英文俗名也叫是「偽蝰蛇」。紫沙蛇雖然是毒蛇,但牠擁有的是後毒牙,即是毒牙不是生在嘴巴前端,而是在較深入的位置,加上毒性輕微,即使人們不幸被咬噬,最多只會令傷口紅腫、疼痛及出血量較多,並不會致命。

蛇出娘胎

蛇是卵生動物,即是交配後會產下蛇蛋,經過孵化,蛇寶寶便會破蛋而出。但原來部分蛇會以卵胎生形式孕育下一代,即是指受精的蛇卵會繼續留在母體內孵化,直至發育完成,才由母蛇誕下小蛇。

卵胎生的蛇寶寶直接由母體誕下,看起來就像胎生一樣,但其實兩者的成長過程完全不同。胎生的胎兒會經胎盤從母體直接吸取養分,但卵胎生的胎兒只會從本身的卵吸收養分,而非母體。紫沙蛇便是其中一種以卵胎生方式生產下一代的蛇,相比卵生,由於有母體的庇護,可免除蛇蛋被掠食者捕食的機會,大大提高下一代的存活率。

文︱葉佩玲

Image

Image
紫沙蛇正在捕食長尾南蜥(Eutropis longicaudata)
Image
紫沙蛇的頭呈三角形,頂部有明顯的矛狀斑紋
Image
紫沙蛇以卵胎生方式孕育下一代

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk

九龍旺角登打士街56號
家樂坊23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)

接收本會資料