1. Home
  2. >
  3. Hong Kong's Wild Stars

A Life-saving fruit - Rose Myrtle

Originally published in Green Country, Issue 115 (Aug 2015)
Author: Green Power

Legend has it that in times of war, people fled into mountainous areas to avoid being recruited into the army. It was fortunate that just as they ran out of food, they discovered a sweet, fresh fruit. The deserters eventually survived the wars on these fruits. They named the fruit “Deserters Food”; hence the homonym of the Chinese common name.

Rose Myrtle (Rhodomyrtus tomentosa) is a small tree native to southern China. It is easily found in the hills of South China and Hong Kong. Local people have given various common names to the tree. One stems from the fact that people often turn the fruit upside down to peel off the skin by holding the leaf stalks at the tip of the fruit.

There is a folk saying that “On 9 September, Rose Myrtle is sweeter than wine”. The ovate, delicious and juicy fruit of Rose Myrtle turns from green to purplish red during the maturing season from September to October. The fruits can be eaten directly, candied, or made into fruit wine or jam. Emperor Yang of the Sui Dynasty, as the story went, ordered his officials to transplant a hundred Rose Myrtle trees from the south to the capital Chang'an so that he could enjoy the candied fruit. Yet the transplanting failed, due to climatic and soil conditions.

As yummy as the fruit may be, one cannot eat too much of it as it will cause constipation. It is also easily confused with other fruits in the wild. If poisonous fruit is eaten by mistake then the consequences can be severe! In addition, Rose Myrtle fruits are important food for wild animals and birds. We should not compete with wildlife, now that we no longer need to face starvation on the run!

Multiple uses of the purplish red fruits

The juice of Rose Myrtle is purplish red and is a natural dye. In bygone days women, used it to make cosmetics or as cloth dye. Apart from the fruit, the pink, densely blooming flowers are also very charming. Twelve-stamened Melastoma (Melastoma dodecandrum), Bloodred Melastoma (Melastoma sanguineum) and Common Melastoma (Melastoma malabathricum) all have closely similar flowers and the same flowering period in spring and summer. The key to distinguishing them is to look at the stamen. The three Melastoma have two groups of stamens, with five longer ones and five shorter. Rose Myrtle belongs to Rhodomyrtus, which has dense and numerous stamens. Besides, Twelve-stamened Melastoma grows on the ground while Bloodred Melastoma typically has seven petals. The four species can be differentiated using these characteristics.

Image
Image
The fruit of Rose Myrtle
Image
Rose Myrtle has numerous stamens
Image
Melastoma flowers resemble those of Rose Myrtle. But they can still be distinguished based on the stamens’ appearance.
Image
Rose Myrtle
Image
Bloodred Melastoma typically has seven petals
Image
Twelve-stamened Melastoma grows on the ground

Subscribe

Contact Us

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
Rm. 2314, 23/F.,Gala Place,
56 Dundas Street, Mongkok, Kln.
Opening Hours:
Monday to Friday 9:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.;
2:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. (Closed on Saturday, Sunday and public holidays)

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 生物放大鏡

逃命之果-桃金娘

原文刊於《綠田野》115期(2015年8月)
作者:綠色力量

相傳,古代戰亂時期,老百姓為逃兵役走進山區,奈何所帶糧食耗盡。幸好,後來發現一種鮮甜味美的果實。逃兵役的人們一直以這種果實充飢,直到戰亂平息,他們於是將這種果實取名「逃軍糧」,後人便以諧音「桃金娘」命名這種植物。

桃金娘(Rhodomyrtus tomentosa)是華南原生小型喬木,在中國南部山區和香港山野均十分普遍。香港習慣稱桃金娘為山棯或崗棯,它亦另有名字叫「倒棯子」,因為其果實末端有五塊像小葉片的葉蒂,人們食用時,通常會將果實倒轉,捻起葉蒂,除去果皮,因而叫作「倒」棯子。

桃金娘的果實橢圓形,成熟時由綠色轉為紫紅色,清甜多汁,美味非常。俗語有云「九月九,棯子甜過酒」,這裡的棯子便是指桃金娘的果實。每年九月十月,是桃金娘果實成熟季節,果實可直接食用,亦可釀製成果酒,更可加工製成蜜餞、果漿。相傳,隋煬帝為了品嚐桃金娘果實製成的蜜餞,命人將一百株桃金娘由南方移植去長安,可惜最後因氣候、水土等問題而種植失敗。

不過,果實再美味,亦切忌貪嘴,因為多吃會造成便秘。加上野外果實眾多,容易認錯,萬一誤認其他有毒果實,後果將十分嚴重!而且,桃金娘的果實是野生動物和雀鳥的重要食物,我們既不是逃難飢荒的話,就不要和野生動物搶吃了!

紫紅小果 用途廣泛

桃金娘果實的汁液紫紅色,是漂亮的天然染色原料,從前的婦女會利用它製成胭脂,或當成布匹染料。除了果實,桃金娘的花亦十分引人注目。花朵是嬌嫩的粉紅色,密密麻麻的開在樹上,十分漂亮。地菍(Melastoma dodecandrum)、毛菍(Melastoma sanguineum)和野牡丹(Melastoma malabathricum)的花朵外形與桃金娘的都非常酷似,加上它們的花期相近,都是在春夏季,很多人會將它們混淆。辨別的關鍵之一在於雄蕊,地菍、毛菍和野牡丹皆屬野牡丹科,它們的雄蕊分為兩組,五條較長,五條較短。桃金娘則屬桃金娘科,特徵是雄蕊密集而且數量眾多。另外,地菍貼地而生,毛菍一般有七塊花辦。從這三方面觀察,便不難區分四者!

Image
Image
桃金娘果實
Image
桃金娘的雄蕊數量眾多
Image
野牡丹的花朵與桃金娘的最為相似,但從雄蕊的型態則可辨別兩者。
Image
桃金娘
Image
毛菍一般有七塊花瓣
Image
地菍貼地而生
Top

接收本會資料

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
九龍旺角登打士街56號
家樂坊23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)