1. Home
  2. >
  3. Hong Kong's Wild Stars

A Bleeding Warrior - Elephant's Ear (Macaranga tanarius)

Originally published in Green Country, Issue 113(Apr 2015)

It holds its shield like a spirited warrior. It has bloodstains all over its body, as if after a fierce war. The Elephant’s Ear (Macaranga tanarius) is evergreen, with a large canopy. You can often find these trees in urban areas or beside beaches. You may have stopped below the canopy of Elephant’s Ear for shade, but never knew about this warrior.

It is really shocking and sorrowful to see the broken branches of an Elephant’s Ear. This is because some red liquid flows out from some of these branches, just like a person bleeding. Hence its Chinese name, which means bloody tree. When the white tree sap of Elephant’s Ear comes into contact with air, it turns blood red after oxidation, just like rusting, as if it is "bleeding". However, please don’t snap the branches deliberately just to see it "bleed", because this would harm the tree, making it susceptible to infection by pathogens. In serious cases, the whole tree may even die. If you really want to see the red liquid, you can watch out for fallen branches, e.g. those broken in strong winds.

Elephant’s Ear is a local broad-leaved tree belonging to the Family Euphorbiaceae. You can find it in places like Guangdong, Fujian and Taiwan. It is evergreen; it flowers between May to June, and it bears fruit from July to August. It grows well in places which are warm with sufficient sunlight. Though it cannot stand cold weather, it can bear high salinity and strong winds. So Elephant's Ears can be easily found either on roadsides in the city or on coastal areas.

The warrior's shield & The elephant's ear

The Elephant’s Ear can be very easily recognised because of its big peltate leaves. As the petiole is in the middle of the leaf, not on the edge, the leaf looks even more like a shield. Looking at an Elephant’s Ear from far away when the wind blows, the leaves look like elephants' flapping ears. Hence the plant is called Elephant’s Ear in English. Elephant’s Ear grows best between 20℃ and 30℃. With its big leaves and dense canopy, the tree is like a beautiful umbrella, which also provides good shade.

Its light and soft wood can be used for making many different things, like matches. Its flowers are small and green, and grow in clusters. Every spring, the small flowers poke out bashfully between leaves. In summer the plant bears fruits with a lime green skin and soft prickles. Each fruit has about 2 to 3 black seeds. When a fruit ripens, the skin bursts and releases the seeds. This attracts many birds to eat them.

Image
Image
The tree "bleeds" when a branch is broken.
Image
©Henry Lui
Image
The leaf is like a shield.
Image
© Henry Lui
The petiole is in the middle of the leaf.
Image
© Henry Lui
Fruit are covered with soft prickles.
Image
Small green flowers

Subscribe

Contact Us

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
Rm. 2314, 23/F.,Gala Place,
56 Dundas Street, Mongkok, Kln.
Opening Hours:
Monday to Friday 9:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.;
2:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. (Closed on Saturday, Sunday and public holidays)

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 環保教室
  4. >
  5. 生物放大鏡

淌血的武士-血桐

綠田野 第113期(2015年4月)

它執起盾牌,似是滿懷戰意的武士;它身上時而血漬斑斑,彷彿是決戰過後。血桐樹(Macaranga tanarius)四季長青,樹冠頗大,在不少市區地方或沙灘挺立著,大家可能也曾經在血桐的樹蔭下乘涼休息,卻從來不認識這位武士。

看過血桐斷枝,特別震撼,亦教人特別難過,因為折斷部分會流出鮮紅色的液體,就好像人受傷後流血一般。血桐之所以會「流血」,是因為樹枝折斷後,內裡本來白色的樹液,接觸到空氣而氧化,就像是鐵生鏽的原理,樹液因而變成紅色。不過,大家千萬不要為了看血桐「流血」而胡亂折枝,因為樹木會因折口而受病原體感染,嚴重的甚至會令整棵樹壞死。只要留意一些已掉落的樹枝,例如被大風打斷的枝幹,亦會發現血紅色的樹液,這樣便毋須刻意傷害血桐了!

血桐屬大戟科喬木,是本地原生闊葉樹,在廣東、福建和台灣等地也可找到它們。一年四季常綠,五至六月開花,七至八月結果,喜歡在溫暖和陽光充足的環境下生長,並不耐寒,但能抵受高鹽度和強風,所以無論在市區路旁,還是海岸地區,也可以找到它們的蹤跡。

武士的盾牌 大象的耳朵

血桐十分容易辨認,全因它那碩大而呈盾形的葉片。又由於葉柄長在葉片的中間,而不是邊緣,讓葉片看起來更像盾牌。遠遠望過去,隨風搖盪着的葉片,又似是大象搖攞著的大耳朵,故血桐亦有Elephant’s Ear(象耳)的英文名稱。當氣溫維持在攝氏20至30度時,血桐的成長速度最快,葉片碩大,加上枝葉茂密而豐盈,像把大雨傘,非常好看,也是很好的遮蔭樹。

血桐名稱中的「桐」,代表了它的木質輕軟,能作不同用途,如火柴等。至於花,則是細小而青綠色,一簇簇的生長。每到春季,小花在大葉之間探頭而出,一副羞澀的模樣,煞是可愛。夏天結出果子,是球形蒴果,果皮呈青綠色,外面長滿軟軟的刺狀物體,內裡包裹著二至三顆黑色的種子。果實成熟後,果皮會自動裂開放出種子,這時會吸引鳥類紛紛前來啄食。

文|Jenny Fu

Image
Image
樹枝拆斷,流出「鮮血」。
Image
©Henry Lui
Image
葉片像盾牌一樣。
Image
© Henry Lui
葉柄長在葉片的中間。
Image
© Henry Lui
果實長滿刺狀物,如流星錘一樣。
Image
青綠色的小花。

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk

九龍旺角登打士街56號
栢裕商業中心23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)

接收本會資料