1. Home
  2. >
  3. Hong Kong's Wild Stars

Black-winged Stilt - The Bird Model

Originally published in Green Country, Issue 112 (Feb 2015)
Author: Green Power

As their English name suggests, Black-winged Stilts (Himantopus himantopus) have remarkably long legs. They can be up to 35cm tall, and their legs can be 23 cm long. It has black and white plumage and reddish legs. The reddish colour makes their long legs even more spectacular, and the stilt is nicknamed ‘Redlegged Lady’ in Chinese. In flight, a stilt stretches its legs behind gracefully, forming a straight line. With slim red legs, stylish black and white plumage, and elegant posture, black-winged stilt has earned the name "The Bird Model".

Hong Kong lies on the East AsianAustralasian Flyway, which is one of the most important flyways for migratory birds. Every year, many waterbirds stop over at Mai Po and Deep Bay in Hong Kong to feed and refuel. Black-winged Stilts are mainly spring and autumn passage migrants. Since the discovery of their first nest, built in Mai Po in 2003, the local breeding population has been increasing every year.

Black-winged Stilts are active around lakes, swamps, fish ponds and shrimp ponds. Their long legs allow them to readily move and hunt on mudflats and shorelines. They have sensitive beaks, and by swinging them left and right in the water, they can find food using their senses. Their diet mainly consists of aquatic insects and crustaceans. When they walk across water, their white bellies resemble clouds to the organisms beneath the water. Without being noticed, black-winged stilts are at an advantage as they hunt. They are gregarious, and hunt in groups in the same area.

Never back down on protecting their babies

Every year, starting from February, black-winged stilts build their nests at Mai Po. They lay eggs in April, each time one to four eggs, which take around 25 days to hatch. The parents take turns to incubate the eggs. During the breeding season, these birds display strong territorial behaviour to protect their eggs.

The parents are on guard near their nest to repel intruders. Besides relying on their parents’ protection, the eggs are also camouflaged, reducing their chances of being found by predators.

Black-winged Stilts are precocious. Right after hatching, the chicks can open their eyes and leave their nests. The colour of new born chicks is quite plain. Their heads, necks and backs are brown, similar to mudflats. This camouflage enables them to integrate into the environment. The chance of being detected by their predators is greatly reduced, increasing their chance of survival.

Chicks follow their parents to stroll and hunt. In order to let their young have enough space to grow and to protect them, Black-winged Stilts fight or make loud and unpleasant noises to keep out intruders. Even when facing intruders which are far bigger than they are, these responsible parents show no fear and never step back!

Image
@ Henry Lui
Image
@ Henry Lui
Image
© Henry Lui
Elegant in flight
Image
© Henry Lui
An alerted parent looks around in order to ensure the safety of its young.
Image
© Henry Lui
Chicks are all brown, so they cannot be easily spotted.
Image
© Henry Lui
With their long legs, Black-winged Stilts can hunt in deep waters.

Subscribe

Contact Us

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
Rm. 2314, 23/F.,Gala Place,
56 Dundas Street, Mongkok, Kln.
Opening Hours:
Monday to Friday 9:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.;
2:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. (Closed on Saturday, Sunday and public holidays)

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 生物放大鏡

鳥界模特兒-黑翅長腳鷸

原文刊於《綠田野》112期(2015年2月)
作者:綠色力量

黑翅長腳鷸(Himantopus himantopus)鳥如其名,擁有一雙長腳。牠們最高可達35厘米,單是一雙長腳已有23厘米。全身黑白分明,惟一雙長腳呈粉紅色,這就讓牠們的長腳更為突出,亦換來「紅腿娘子」的別名。飛行時,其長腳拖於尾後,成一直線,非常優美。修長的紅腿、帥氣的黑白雙色、優雅的姿態,黑翅長腳鷸堪稱是鳥界的「模特兒」。

香港位處東亞澳大利亞遷徙路線上,是重要的候鳥類遷徙路線之—,每年均有大批水鳥途經香港,以米埔和后海灣作補給和休息站,黑翅長腳鷸是春﹑秋過境候鳥。自2003年,米埔發現首對築巢繁殖的黑翅長腳鷸後,牠們每年在香港繁殖的數量均有上升。

黑翅長腳鷸的活動範圍包括湖泊、沼澤、魚塘和基圍等等。全憑一雙長腳,牠們能夠在泥灘和水邊,自如地活動和覓食。牠們擁有觸感敏銳的喙部,在水中以左右擺動的方式,利用觸感尋找食物,主要進食水生昆蟲和甲殼動物。當牠們涉水而行,由於腹部白色,彷如白雲在空中飄過,大大減低對水底下小動物的驚擾,有利牠們覓食。牠們愛群體活動,通常會三五成群的在同一地方覓食。

保護鶵鳥不退縮

每年二月開始,黑翅長腳鷸便會在香港米埔一帶築巢,四月下蛋,每次下蛋一至四隻,孵化期約為二十五天,親鳥會輪流孵蛋。在繁殖季節,黑翅長腳鷸會有很強烈的「保護領域行為」,保護鳥蛋。父母會在鳥巢附近站崗,趕走所有不速之客。鳥蛋除了依靠父母的守護外,其蛋殼上的黑色不規則花班亦有迷彩功效,減低被發現機會。

黑翅長腳鷸屬早熟性鳥類,鶵鳥破殼後能馬上張開眼睛和離巢。剛出生的鶵鳥毛色樸素,頭部﹑後頸和背部呈褐色,與泥灘顏色相近,一身保護色有助牠們融入生活環境當中,大大減低被敵人發現和捕食的機會,增加存活率。

鶵鳥會跟著父母在泥灘上散步和覓食,為了讓子女有足夠的活動空間和保護牠們,黑翅長腳鷸父母會「起飛腳」,攻擊進入其領域範圍的入侵者,又或是發出響亮刺耳的叫聲,驅趕入侵者,就算是面對體型比牠們大得多的入侵者,也臉不改容,絕不退縮,是盡忠職守的好爸媽!

Image
@ Henry Lui
Image
@ Henry Lui
Image
© Henry Lui
飛行時,姿態優雅。
Image
© Henry Lui
親鳥警惕地留意四周環境,確保小寶寶安全。
Image
© Henry Lui
幼鳥全身呈褐色,不易被發現。
Image
© Henry Lui
擁有一雙長腳,有助涉足較深水域覓食。
Top

接收本會資料

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
九龍旺角登打士街56號
家樂坊23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)