1. Home
  2. >
  3. Environment

Overwintering Danaids Survey

A total of 13 Danaid species have been recorded in Hong Kong. All except the Plain Tiger have the habit of overwintering in groups. There are three main groups of overwintering Danaids in Hong Kong: crows, tigers (excluding Common Tigers), and Common Tigers. From October to November each year, local Danaid populations rapidly increase. Many come from regions north of Hong Kong, migrating south in October to find a warm overwintering site. They return to the north in February to March the following year, or may reproduce in the overwintering site.

In Hong Kong, there are about 10 known overwintering sites for Danaids. These sites are often densely wooded, providing habitats and shelter from wind and rain. Water supplies such as perennial streams are also present at the overwintering sites. Siu Lang Shui, Tuen Mun, is the largest known overwintering site for Danaids in Hong Kong; during the peak period in recent years, about 40,000 overwintering Danaids were recorded.

In 2009, we have launched an Overwintering Danaids Survey; the surveyed sites included Siu Lang Shui, Shing Mun Country Park and Deep Water Bay. It aims to collect more data on overwintering Danaids, including the distribution of local overwintering sites, migration routes of overwintering Danaids, statistics on and behaviour of local overwintering Danaids. In the future, we will expand the survey by collecting data from more overwintering sites, in order to explore the wonder of nature and safeguard these sites from destruction.

Blue Tiger (Tirumala limniace)
Blue-spotted Crow (Euploea midamus)
Common Tiger (Danaus genutia)

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 環境

越冬斑蝶調查


本港有記錄的斑蝶共13種。除金斑蝶外,所有斑蝶品種皆有群集越冬的習慣,牠們包括紫斑蝶、青斑蝶和虎斑蝶三大類。每年十月至十一月,本港的斑蝶數目會迅速上升。不少斑蝶來自香港以北的地區(如華北),約十月開始南飛,尋找較溫暖的越冬地,並在翌年二月至三月北返,或在越冬地繁殖下一代。

在香港,已知的斑蝶越冬地約有十個,這些斑蝶越冬地均是具遮風擋雨的地形,而且擁有能讓斑蝶停棲的林木,加上水份補充充足,即在冬季溪澗亦不會斷流。位於屯門的小冷水是本港已知最大型斑蝶越冬地,高峰期可找到多達40,000隻越冬斑蝶。港島的深水灣是另一本地規模較大的斑蝶越冬地,至於城門郊野公園,則是越冬斑蝶短暫歇腳和補給食物的地方,停留過後便會飛去本港其他越冬地點。

綠色力量於2009年開展「越冬斑蝶調查」,調查地點包括小冷水、深水灣及城門郊野公園,旨在收集更多越冬斑蝶的數據,如本港斑蝶越冬地的分布、越冬斑蝶遷飛的路線、本地越冬斑蝶的數目及行為。綠色力量未來將擴大調查的規模,到本港更多斑蝶越冬地收集數據,藉以探索這個大自然奇妙現象,同時為保護斑蝶越冬地不受破壞作數據收集。地的分布等,以了解斑蝶在港越冬模式之變化,為保育亞洲的越冬斑蝶提供重要資料,同時為保護本地斑蝶越冬地提供數據基礎。

Image
Image
青斑蝶(Tirumala limniace
Image
藍點紫斑蝶(Euploea midamus
Image
虎斑蝶(Danaus genutia

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk

九龍旺角登打士街56號
栢裕商業中心23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)

接收本會資料