1. Home
  2. >
  3. Environment
  4. >
  5. Butterfly Surveyors

First record of European Beak (Libythea celtis) in Hong Kong
Important finding by Butterfly Surveyor at Sha Tau Kok (19 Jan 2015)


A new record of European Beak (Libythea celtis), belonging to the family Libytheidae, at Sha Tau Kok is the also the first record of this species in Hong Kong. There are only three Libytheidae species in China. In addition to European Beak, one other member of the Libytheidae has been recorded in Hong Kong, so two of the three species have been found in the SAR. It is believed that the new species may become resident in Hong Kong.

The new species was found at 1pm on 9 January 2015, in woodland near Sheung Tam Shui Hang, on the Sha Tau Kok survey route of Green Power's Butterfly Surveyors scheme. Hui Chun Tung, a butterfly surveyor, made the first sighting and photographic record. He recalled that at first sight he thought it was an uncommon Lycaenidae, but considered it appeared quite different. After some efforts he confirmed it to be a new record of European Beak, and took the first and only photographic record in Hong Kong.

There are over 260 species in 11 families of butterflies in Hong Kong. With the new addition, there are now two members of the Libytheidae family. The original member is Club Beak (Libythea myrrha), discovered in July 2011 in Hong Kong Wetland Park. Members of the Libytheidae family have long thick labial palps – twice the length of the head, growing at the labium, so are commonly called "snout butterflies".

European Beak is a small butterfly with wingspan of only 5 cm. Its wings are dark brown with orange red patterns on the forewings and hindwings. On the forewings there are a hook at the tip and three white spots. The butterflies are fast flying. The adults feed on tree sap and liquid humus, while the caterpillars prefer leaves of Chinese Hackberry (Celtis sinensis).

According to literature, European Beak is distributed widely, including many provinces in mainland China, Taiwan, Japan, India, Thailand and as far away as southern Europe. However, there were no previous records in Hong Kong. One special feature of the species is that unlike most butterflies which overwinter in the form of eggs, caterpillars or pupae, European Beak is among the few that can overwinter as adults.

Designate area adjoining Robin's Nest as conservation area

Sha Tau Kok had been closed for 60 years since the 1950s, as a restricted frontier area. Before it was re-opened in February 2012, little is known about local butterflies. Green Power carried out the first butterfly survey there in 2012, and thereafter included Sha Tau Kok in the Butterfly Surveyor Scheme, to fill in an empty space in Hong Kong's ecological database.

Over the past three years, Green Power recorded 148 species of butterflies at Sha Tau Kok, which is about 55% of the Hong Kong total. These include 12 very rare and 15 rare species. There have been important findings at the site too; for example, in 2013 the butterfly surveyors found Hooked Oak Blue (Arhopala paramuta), which had not been sighted in Hong Kong for over 30 years. The discovery of European Beak is further proof that Sha Tau Kok has high butterfly diversity.

Despite the confirmed rich natural resources in Sha Tau Kok, the area is unfortunately, undergoing very rapid development since the opening up of the frontier area. The immense pressure on natural habitats by development of varying scales is alarming. Sha Tau Kok is close to Fanling new town, and most villages are connected by Sha Tau Kok Road. The Northeast New Territories Development Plan also acts as catalyst for all kinds of development in Sha Tau Kok. Since February 2012, numerous leisure farms, war game fields and car parks have been set up, and small houses as well as large scale village housing estates also mushroomed. Under the existing outline zoning plan, there are only 3 hectares of land designated as "conservation area", which can hardly protect most natural sites. By contrast, over 39 hectares of land belong to "rural development area" and 7.38 hectares belong to "recreation area", indicating that land development activities and population will continue to increase.

The government must prioritise protection of Sha Tau Kok with its high ecological and special scientific value, to avoid foreseeable damage. The woodland next to Robin's Nest is home to many rare butterflies. Green Power urges the government to designate the land as conservation area or Site of Special Scientific Interest (SSSI). Apart from butterfly conservation, the area can act as a buffer zone between Sha Tau Kok villages and the potential Robin's Nest Country Park.

Butterfly Surveyors is part of Shell Nature Watch - Butterfly Explorer scheme that was launched in 2008. This is the first butterfly survey team formed by ordinary citizens and is a strong and long term human resource for collecting local butterfly data. To date there are 166 qualified butterfly surveyors covering 9 survey sites: San Tau of Tung Chung, Luk Keng of Fanling, Wu Kau Tan, Lam Tsuen (She Shan and Ng Tung Chai) and Yuen Tun Ha of Tai Po, Shum Chung and Yung Shu O of Sai Kung, Sha Tau Kok, Pak Sha O and Lai Chi Kok of Sai Kung, and the newly added Mui Wo of Lantau from last year.

Image
© Hui Chun Tung
European Beak(Libythea celtis
Image
© Hui Chun Tung
European Beak(Libythea celtis

Subscribe

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 環境
  4. >
  5. 蝴蝶普查員

香港首次發現朴喙蝶 蝴蝶普查員於沙頭角重要記錄(2015年1月19日)


是次於沙頭角發現的朴喙蝶(Libythea celtis),是香港首次記錄。該蝴蝶屬喙蝶科,全中國只有三種喙蝶科蝴蝶。香港過去只記錄有一種喙蝶科蝴蝶,連同最新發現的朴喙蝶,香港喙蝶科蝴蝶增至兩種,而相信該蝶有機會落戶本港。

發現朴喙蝶的日期和時間為2015年1月9日下午1時,發現地點是沙頭角上担水坑附近的林地,是綠色力量「蝴蝶普查員」計劃位於沙頭角的普查路線上,由蝴蝶普查員許鎮東發現,是該蝶在香港的首個目擊和相片記錄。許鎮東表示,第一眼看見朴喙蝶,還以為是不太常見的灰蝶,但由於該蝶外型有點奇怪,又與平時的灰蝶不同,最後經多番確認,才發現是香港首次有記錄的朴喙蝶,並成功拍攝相信是目前本地唯一的相片記錄。

香港有十一科,共二百六十多種蝴蝶。喙蝶科連同最新發現的朴喙蝶,共有兩種蝴蝶。首個喙蝶科有記錄的品種是棒紋喙蝶(Libythea myrrha),於2011年7月在香港濕地公園發現。喙蝶科的蝴蝶頭部下唇,均有長長的唇鬚,唇鬚的長度是頭部的兩倍,非常突出,唇鬚就像雀鳥的鳥喙,所以才叫「喙蝶」,在台灣亦叫「長鬚蝶」。

朴喙蝶屬小型蝴蝶,展翅寬度只有五厘米,翅膀深褐色,前翅和後翅皆有橙紅色的條斑,前翅頂端呈鉤狀,更有三個白點。牠們的飛行速度高,成蟲愛吃樹汁和腐液,幼蟲採食朴樹(Celtis sinensis)葉片。

根據文獻記錄,朴喙蝶的分布十分廣泛,包括內地不少省份、台灣、日本、印度、泰國以至歐洲南部,唯獨香港卻一直沒有記錄。此外,大部份蝴蝶以卵、幼蟲或蛹的形態來過冬,朴喙蝶卻是少數能以成蟲形態過冬的蝴蝶。

促接壤紅花嶺劃保育地帶

沙頭角早於1950年代設立為邊境禁區,封閉近六十年,直至2012年2月才首次開放,以前一直未有人了解當地的蝴蝶生態。綠色力量於2012年沙頭角初次開放就已經在當地進行蝴蝶生態調查,並將沙頭角納入「蝴蝶普查員」計劃,填補香港這頁空白了的生態資料。

過去三年,綠色力量在沙頭角共記錄了148種蝴蝶,佔全港蝴蝶五成半,當中包括12種非常罕見及15種罕見品種。蝴蝶普查員於該地點亦曾有重要發現,包括2013年發現消失三十多年小嬈灰蝶(Arhopala paramuta)。加上今次發現朴喙蝶,進一步證明沙頭角擁有極為豐富的蝴蝶資源。

雖然已確認沙頭角具豐富蝴蝶資源,但該地自開放後發展非常急速,天然生境被大大小小的發展蠶食,令人十分憂慮。沙頭角鄰近粉嶺新市鎮,大部份村落亦有沙頭角公路連接,加上新界東北發展計劃的催化,開放後的沙頭角吸引了各式各樣的發展。自2012年2月開放後,消閒農莊、野戰活動場、收費停車場等已陸續出現,小型屋宇數目亦急速增加,規模龐大的村屋屋苑相繼出現。然而,現時沙頭角發展規劃圖只有約三公頃土地屬「保育地帶」,根本不足以保護大部份具生態價值的地方。相反,超過39公頃土地為「鄉村式發展用地」,約7.38公頃土地為「康樂用地」,意味日後沙頭角一帶的土地發展活動和人口勢將增加。

當局必須盡快保留沙頭角內具高生態價值和特殊科學價值的環境,以免生態資源被發展蠶食。沙頭角接壤紅花嶺的林地孕育了不少罕見蝴蝶,綠色力量建議將該處列作保育地帶,或具特殊科學價值地點。保育蝴蝶之餘,亦可作為日後沙頭角村落與研究中的紅花嶺郊野公園的緩衝區。

「蝴蝶普查員」是「蜆殼綠趣遊蹤─尋找蝴蝶」計劃一部份,於2008年開展,是香港首支由普羅市民大眾組成的蝴蝶普查小組,為收集本地蝴蝶數據注入大量而長期的人力資源。目前有合資格普查員166位,普查地點共有9個,包括東涌石散頭、鹿頸、烏蛟騰、大埔林村(社山及梧桐寨)、大埔元墩下、西貢深涌及榕樹澳、沙頭角、西貢白沙澳及荔枝莊及去年新增的大嶼山梅窩。

Image
© 許鎮東
朴喙蝶(Libythea celtis
Image
© 許鎮東
朴喙蝶(Libythea celtis

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk

九龍旺角登打士街56號
栢裕商業中心23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)

接收本會資料