1. Home
  2. >
  3. Environment
  4. >
  5. Ecological Hotspots Survey

Massive Destruction of Pak Sha O Wetland Discovered (19 Oct 2012)


Since late 2010, Green Power, Friends of Sai Kung and the Eco-Education and Resources Centre have been conducting surveys at 28 enclaves not included in country parks, to assess their ecological value and reveal possible threats from development. In addition to the earlier discovery of illegal development at Pak Lap and plans for luxury housing at Wong Chuk Yeung, Sai Kung, we recently found that a large area at Pak Sha O enclave had been destroyed. We are worried that such large-scale wetland destruction has already affected the area’s unique ecology.

Pak Sha O, near Hoi Ha, Sai Kung, is a large freshwater wetland and stream habitat, with a total area of 29 ha. It is surrounded by Sai Kung West Country Park but has not been included in any statutory planning. An old Hakka village, Pak Sha O was settled by the Ho clan that immigrated from Shenzhen in 1911. By the end of the 1970s, most of the Ho clan had emigrated. In 1980, several expatriates, of about seven households, rented and moved in to village houses. On 10 November 2010, the Entrance Hall, Watchtower and Side Chamber of the Ho Residence, Ho Ancestral Hall and Side Rooms on Two Sides of the Ho Ancestral Hall were listed as Grade I historic buildings in Hong Kong.

Large-scale excavation work by several diggers was discovered in the area. Some 3000sq m of wetland was affected. We investigated at the Lands Department and found that most of the farmlands had been sold to different developers. We suspected that agricultural activity was used as a smokescreen to "destroy first, develop later" in order to exploit the wetland. After the large scale excavation work and river diversion at Pak Sha O, the hydrology and species diversity will be severely damaged. Wetland ecology may not recover. A developer may consider this beneficial, as it may make it far easier to succeed in applying to the Lands Department for re-classing land use to enable development.

The large-scale excavation may have already caused irreversible damage to the area’s wetland ecology. According to our surveys, Pak Sha O enclave has high biodiversity, including 75 butterfly species which is close to 30% of the total butterfly species recorded in Hong Kong, which means it can be classed as a butterfly hotspot. For example, Constable (Dichorragia nesimachus), Chestnut Bob (Iambrix salsala), Lesser Forest Blue (Taraka Hamada) and White Dragontail (Lamproptera curius) are locally "Rare" or "Very Rare" species. We also recorded 11 freshwater fish species, including Hong Kong’s second record of Three-lines Bagrid Fish (Pseudobagrus trilineatus), which is listed as "Vulnerable" on the China Species Red List. We also recorded 38 bird species, including Eagle Owl (Bubo Bubo), Crested Serpent Eagle (Spilornis cheela) and Asian Paradise Flycatcher (Terpsiphone paradisi), of which Eagle Owl and Asian Paradise Flycatcher are scarce in Hong Kong, and Chinese Goshawk (Accipiter soloensis) and Crested Serpent Eagle (Spilornis cheela) are uncommon. We also found 8 amphibian and 23 reptile species, among which Reeve's Turtle (Chinemys reevesii) is classified as "Endangered" whereas King Cobra (Ophiophagus Hannah) and Burmese Python (Python bivittatus) are classified as "Vulnerable" in the IUCN Red List of Threatened Species.

Pak Sha O has been a shining example of how biodiversity, culture and humanity can exist and remain in harmony in Hong Kong. However it is now under immense development pressure. We urge the government to include the enclave in the country park area or even designate the area as a Site of Special Scientific Interest as soon as possible, to prevent further damage.

Image
Image

Subscribe

Contact Us

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
Rm. 2314, 23/F.,Gala Place,
56 Dundas Street, Mongkok, Kln.
Opening Hours:
Monday to Friday 9:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.;
2:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. (Closed on Saturday, Sunday and public holidays)

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 環境
  4. >
  5. 生態熱點調查

揭西貢白沙澳濕地遭大規模破壞(2012年10月19日)


綠色力量、西貢之友和生態教育及資源中心,於2010年底開始調查西貢28個郊野公園「不包括土地」的生態價值和發展威脅。繼早前相繼揭發西貢白腊遭非法開墾,以及黃竹洋濕地擬作豪華住宅發展,最近再發現西貢白沙澳的淡水濕地遭大規模破壞,恐已影響該處的獨特生態。

白沙澳位於西貢海下附近,擁有大片淡水濕地和溪流生境,面積約29公頃,四周被西貢西郊野公園包圍,現時仍未被納入任何法定圖則。白沙澳村是一條古樸典雅的客家村落,何氏族人自1911年由深圳移居此地,1970年代末大部分何氏族人移居海外,1980年由一群洋人租住直到現在,大約共有七個家庭。2010年11月10日何氏舊居的門樓、更樓、廂房、何氏祠堂及其兩側廂房獲確認為一級歷史建築。

我們發現該處最近有多部挖土機駛入,進行大規模挖掘,遭破壞的濕地面積約三千平方米。我們於地政署查證,發現該處大部份農地已售給不同的發展商,懷疑有人以農業活動為理由,以「先破壞、後發展」的方式來開發該片濕地。白沙澳濕地經如此大規模的翻土,加上河道重整,必會嚴重破壞該地的水文和物種存活。濕地生態一去不復來,之後發展商再向地政署申請發展用途時,便會更易過關。

如此大型的挖掘將對白沙澳生態造成不可挽回的破壞。我們調查發現,白沙澳具高生物多樣性,共錄得蝴蝶75種,接近全港三成種類,可以列為蝴蝶熱點,其中電蛺蝶(Dichorragia nesimachus)、雅弄蝶(Iambrix salsala)、蚜灰蝶(Taraka hamada)、燕鳳蝶(Lamproptera curius)等更列為本地罕有或非常罕有物種。另外,我們亦錄得11種淡水魚,其中的三線擬鱨魚(Pseudobagrus trilineatus),屬中國物種紅色名錄中易危品種,白沙澳是香港第二處有其記錄;鳥類有38種,包括鵰鴞(Bubo Bubo)、蛇鵰(Spilornis cheela)、綬帶鳥(Terpsiphone paradisi)等,其中鵰鴞(Bubo Bubo)和綬帶鳥(Terpsiphone paradisi)在本港只有稀少紀錄,而赤腹鷹(Accipiter soloensis)及蛇鵰(Spilornis cheela)則屬不常見物種;另有8種兩棲和23種爬蟲物種,當中的草龜(Chinemys reevesii)是國際自然保育聯盟IUCN的瀕危物種,另外還有眼鏡王蛇(Ophiophagus hannah)及緬甸蟒蛇(Python bivittatus),均是國際自然保育聯盟IUCN的易危品種。

白沙澳是香港現今一處能突顯優良生態、古舊文化歷史及人民生活共融的地方,是同時保存文化和生態的最佳例證,可惜現正面對嚴峻的發展壓力,我們建議政府應儘快將其土地劃入郊野公園範圍,甚至可考慮列作「具特殊科學價值地點」(SSSI),以遏止進一步的破壞。

Image
Image

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk

九龍旺角登打士街56號
栢裕商業中心23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)

接收本會資料