1. Home
  2. >
  3. Environment
  4. >
  5. Ecological Hotspots Survey

Large-scale Tree Felling in Wong Chuk Yeung Exposed (20 Sept 2012)


In late 2010, Green Power, Friends of Sai Kung and the Eco-Education and Resources Centre launched surveys at 28 enclaves in Sai Kung that are not included in country parks, to assess their ecological value and discover possible threats from development. After previously exposing a luxury housing plan at Wong Chuk Yeung wetland, we recently discovered large-scale tree felling at the site.

Wong Chuk Yeung is at Shap Sze Heung and is enclosed by Ma On Shan Country Park. Most of the land is privately owned and not included in the country park area. Wong Chuk Yeung is home to a large wetland and the fourth largest fung shui wood in Hong Kong. There are as many as 222 plant species, at least 10 of which are rare or very rare. It is also a habitat of the only deer species - Barking Deer (Muntiacus muntjak) - in Hong Kong. In our ecological surveys, we recorded 47 bird species (including the rare Speckled Piculet (Picumnus innominatus), 78 butterfly species (including the legally protected Common Birdwing (Troides Helena) and Golden Birdwing (Troides aeacus)), 28 dragonfly species and 10 species of amphibians and reptiles.

While recently conducting ecological surveys at Wong Chuk Yeung, we found large scale tree felling at the site. At least six workers were trying to cut trees with electric saws and hand saws. A few hundred trees had been cut; most were the legally protected Incense Trees (Aquilaria sinensis), affecting an area of some 1,000 square feet. We also spotted marks on other trees and estimated that tree felling had been occurring for some time.

The incident clearly indicates the developmental threat to enclaves outside country park areas. We are concerned that this is an attempt to "destroy first, develop later" the ecologically valuable land at Wong Chuk Yeung. When the area loses its ecological value, a change of landuse planning application could be passed more easily. We have notified the media and the government regarding the incident, and urged the government to follow up as well as include private land surrounded by country park as country park areas, to protect the ecology and rare species of Wong Chuk Yeung.

Video of the tree felling scene at Wong Chuk Yeung (20 Sept 2012)

Image

Subscribe

Contact Us

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
Rm. 2314, 23/F.,Gala Place,
56 Dundas Street, Mongkok, Kln.
Opening Hours:
Monday to Friday 9:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.;
2:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. (Closed on Saturday, Sunday and public holidays)

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 環境
  4. >
  5. 生態熱點調查

揭西貢黃竹洋大規模砍樹(2012年9月20日)


綠色力量、西貢之友和生態教育及資源中心,於2010年底開始調查西貢28個郊野公園「不包括的土地」的生態價值和發展威脅。繼早前揭發西貢黃竹洋濕地擬作豪華住宅發展後,近日再發現有人於該處的樹林大規模砍樹。

黃竹洋位於西貢十四鄉,被馬鞍山郊野公園包圍,由於大部分土地屬私人所有,未有納入郊野公園。黃竹洋擁有大片濕地及全港第四大風水林,植物物種多達222種,當中有超過10種是罕見或非常罕見的植物。該處亦是香港唯一的鹿類—赤麂(Muntiacus muntjak)的棲息地。我們在黃竹洋進行的生態調查亦分別錄得47種雀鳥(包括罕見的斑姬啄木鳥(Picumnus innominatus))、78種蝴蝶(包括受香港法例保護的裳鳳蝶(Troides helena)及金裳鳳蝶(Troides aeacus))、28種蜻蜓,以及10種兩棲爬蟲類動物。

我們近日到黃竹洋進行生態考察時,發現該處有人大規模砍樹,現場至少有六人手持電鋸及手鋸砍伐樹木,估計被砍伐的樹木約數百棵,當中大部分為受保護的土沉香樹(Aquilaria sinensis),受影響範圍約一千平方呎。我們亦見其他樹身已畫上記號,估計砍伐已持續一段時間。

這次黃竹洋大規模斬樹事件進一步反映郊野公園「不包括的土地」所受的發展威脅。我們擔心有人以「先破壞、後發展」的方式開發黃竹洋高生態價值的土地。當黃竹洋被破壞至失去生態價值後,再申請改變規劃用途,會變得更易過關。我們已向傳媒揭發及向當局通報事件,並促請當局跟進,以及盡快將郊野公園私人土地納入郊野公園範圍,以保護黃竹洋的生態價值及當中的稀有物種。

西貢黃竹洋大規模砍樹-當場片段(2012年9月20日)

Image

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk

九龍旺角登打士街56號
栢裕商業中心23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)

接收本會資料