1. Home
  2. >
  3. Environment
  4. >
  5. Ecological Hotspots Survey

Exposure of luxury housing project at Wong Chuk Yeung, an ecologically valuable site of Sai Kung (11 Oct 2011)


Late last year, Green Power, Friends of Sai Kung and the Eco Education and Resources Centre carried out surveys at 28 enclaves not included in country parks, to assess their ecological value and discover possible threats from development. Apart from the earlier discovery of illegal development at Pak Lap of Sai Kung, we also found that a large area at Wong Chuk Yeung – occupying over 70% of the private property – had been purchased. Evidence showed that a developer is planning to build 150 luxury houses in the area. The most worrying aspect of this is that four-fifths of the purchased land is within "Green Belt". If Wong Chuk Yeung is developed into a luxury residential area, there will be irreversible damage to the natural environment.

Wong Chuk Yeung, Sai Kung, is one of Hong Kong's few areas with a large freshwater wetland and fung shui wood. In the 1990's, biodiversity surveys conducted by the University of Hong Kong revealed the presence of several rare species of flora and fauna, indicating the important ecological value of the site. As we carried out an ecological survey at Wong Chuk Yeung, we also found abundant biodiversity at the site, including the rare Speckled Piculet (Picumnus innominatus) and the only deer species in Hong Kong, Barking Deer (Muntiacus muntjak). We recorded 47 bird species, 78 butterfly species (including the legally protected Common Birdwing (Troides helena) and Golden Birdwing (Troides aeacus)), 28 dragonfly species and 10 amphibian and reptile species. According to surveys by Kadoorie Farm and Botanic Garden, the fung shui wood there is the fourth largest in Hong Kong, with 222 plant species, including over 10 that are rare or very rare.

Wong Chuk Yeung is at Shap Sze Heung of Sai Kung, surrounding by Ma On Shan Country Park. As most land is private property, the area was not included in the country park. In the 1990's, the government included Wong Chuk Yeung in the Draft Shap Sz Heung Interim Development Permission Area; in 2001 it formulated the Approved Shap Sz Heung Outline Zoning Plan. Apart from areas reserved for "Village Type Development", the land was designated as "Green Belt" and "Conservation Area". However, developer recently started to take over land at Wong Chuk Yeung, purchasing over 70% of the private property, four-fifths of which is within "Green Belt". Evidence showed that the developer is planning to build 150 luxury houses in the area, and the plan was introduced to the owners – who live overseas – in mid 2010. The approved uses of "Green Belt" are wide, including landuse that is damaging to the environment, such as golf course and housing projects. The freshwater wetland habitat in the "Green Belt" will face severe threats.

If Wong Chuk Yeung is developed into a luxury residential area, there will be irreversible ecological damage of the wetlands and woodlands inside the "Green Belt" and "Conservation Area". The incident highlights the problem that development in enclaves outside country park areas may not be compatible with nature conservation, as well as the fact that landuse planning under the existing policy fails to protect ecologically valuable areas. Green Power has written to the Planning Department and Lands Department to enquire about the plan and urge the government not to approve excessive development at Wong Chuk Yeung, particularly within the country park, "Green Belt" and "Conservation Area". To further protect the environment of Wong Chuk Yeung in the long term, we suggest that the government can follow the example of Tai Long Sai Wan, and include Wong Chuk Yeung and other valuable enclave sites facing developmental pressures within country parks, to safeguard the ecological, environmental and landscape values.

Image
Image
Image
Image

Subscribe

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 環境
  4. >
  5. 生態熱點調查

再揭西貢生態地擬建豪宅(2011年10月11日)


綠色力量、西貢之友和生態教育及資源中心,於去年年底調查西貢28個郊野公園「不包括的土地」的生態價值和發展威脅。繼早前揭發西貢白腊遭非法開墾,最近亦發現西貢黃竹洋的土地遭人大幅收購,當中逾七成的私人地權已被成功收購,有證據顯示發展商打算興建150間豪華住宅。最令人擔心的是其中被收購的私人土地,五分之四坐落在「綠化地帶」中。一旦黃竹洋濕地發展為豪華住宅,將為該區帶來不可逆轉的生態破壞。

黃竹洋為現時西貢區少有擁有大片淡水濕地和風水林的地方。早在九十年代,香港大學生物多樣性研究調查已在黃竹洋錄得多種罕見動物和植物,是本港重要生態價值地點之一。我們在黃竹洋進行的生態調查亦發現,該處的生態資源非常富饒,育有罕見雀鳥,如斑姬啄木鳥(Picumnus innominatus),以及香港唯一的鹿類—赤麂(Muntiacus muntjak)。我們於黃竹洋共錄得47種雀鳥、78種蝴蝶(當中包括受香港法例保護的裳鳳蝶(Troides helena)及金裳鳳蝶(Troides aeacus))、28種蜻蜓和10種兩棲爬蟲類動物。該處的植物資源也很豐富,根據嘉道理農場暨植物園的調查,該處擁有香港第四大的風水林,植物物種多達222種,當中有超過10種是罕見或非常罕見的植物。

黃竹洋位於西貢十四鄉,被馬鞍山郊野公園包圍,由於大部份土地屬私人所有,故初時未有包括在郊野公園範圍內。雖然政府早在1990年已將黃竹洋納入「中期發展審批地區圖」,並在2001年進一步制定「十四鄉分區計劃大綱核准圖」,除預留土地作「鄉村式發展」外,黃竹洋其餘的土地均劃為「綠化地帶」和「自然保育區」。但是,近期有發展商陸續收購黃竹洋的土地,並已成功收購超過七成的私人地權,當中有近五分之四坐落在「綠化地帶」中。有證據顯示發展商打算興建150間豪華住宅,並在去年中向海外的土地業權人介紹了該地區的發展計劃。由於「綠化地帶」的獲准用途甚廣泛,當中甚至包括對環境構成破壞的土地用途,如高爾夫球埸和建屋等發展,令人擔心「綠化地帶」的淡水濕地生境將面臨嚴重威脅。

假如黃竹洋濕地真的發展為豪華住宅,會破壞「綠化地帶」和「自然保育區」內的濕地和林地,帶來不可逆轉的生態破壞。今次事件不單揭示郊野公園範圍外私人土地發展未必能與生態保育相容的問題,更凸顯現時規劃制度下的土地用途,並未能保護生態價值高的地方。綠色力量已去信規劃署及地政總署查詢有關計劃,並呼籲政府不要批准在黃竹洋的過度發展,尤其是侵佔郊野公園、「綠化地帶」和「自然保育區」範圍的發展。為進一步長遠保護西貢黃竹洋的生態環境,我們建議政府可仿傚最近大浪西灣的做法,把黃竹洋及其他值得保護而又瀕臨極大發展壓力的「不包括的土地」,及早納入郊野公園範圍內,以保護這些地方的生態、環境及景觀價值。

Image
Image
Image
Image

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk

九龍旺角登打士街56號
栢裕商業中心23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)

接收本會資料