1. Home
  2. >
  3. Environment

Coral Transplant Project


Hong Kong has a long coastline and as many as 84 species of hard corals; one tenth of the total number of reef-building corals in the world. Corals are known as the "tropical forests" of the ocean as they provide complex microhabitats for many marine species to shelter and breed, enriching the marine ecology.

However, corals are very vulnerable to adverse impacts and require high water quality. Slight changes in sea water temperature, salinity or clarity can lead to their bleaching or even their death. Observations made by our divers reveal that the number of hard corals and their related ecosystems have been decreasing in recent years. For example, at Double Island, Sai Kung, the coral population has declined by up to 80% in the last decade. There are various reasons for this reduction, including global warming, pollution, net fishing and leisure water sports, which all affect corals to different degrees.

As hard corals grow and recover rather slowly, they are hard rebuild from damage through natural regeneration alone. However, artificial transplants can accelerate their recovery. Places around the world such as Taiwan, Malaysia and Singapore have all succeeded in artificial transplantation.

The first step of artificial coral transplantation is to collect suitable corals from other areas. In order not to harm the original coral colonies, divers will only collect coral fragments that have fallen off due to a variety of reasons such as typhoon damage. Divers will check the health status and species of the coral fragments, and transplants can be conducted upon suitability being confirmed. As corals can reproduce asexually, when divers fix the coral fragments in suitable target growing locations, the fragments will grow slowly and achieve restoration eventually.

Green Power working with Eco-education & Resources Centre and a group of local divers, carried out artificial coral transplant in June 2014. The present stage is rather experimental, focusing near Double Island. 1,500 square metres of hard corals are expected to be restored in 5 years.

2018
  • Ongoing
2017
  • Collected approximately 80 pieces of coral fragments in the year, and selected 30 specimens for transplantation.
  • Among the specimens transplanted in 2016, 11 specimens are secured on coral reefs.
  • Among the specimens transplanted in 2015, 12 specimens are secured on coral reefs, and one of which has grown coral polyp.
  • Among the specimens transplanted in 2014, 10 specimens are secured on coral reefs, and one of which has continued to grow coral polyp.
2016
  • Collected approximately 80 pieces of coral fragments in the year, and selected 27 specimens for transplantation.
  • Among the specimens transplanted in 2015, 15 specimens are secured on coral reefs.
  • Among the specimens transplanted in 2014, 12 specimens are secured on coral reefs, and one of which has continued to grow coral polyp.
2015
  • Collected approximately 100 pieces of coral fragments in the year, and selected 40 specimens for transplantation.
  • Half of the 43 specimens transplanted in 2014 are secured on coral reefs, one of which has grown coral polyp.
2014
  • Commencement of Coral Transplant Project. Approximately 100 pieces of coral fragments were collected, and 43 specimens were selected for transplantation.
Image
Image
Image
Image
© Ken Ching

Subscribe

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 環境

香港首項人工移植珊瑚計劃


香港擁有長長的海岸線,區內水域擁有石珊瑚物種多達84種,佔全球做礁珊瑚物種十分一。珊瑚素有海洋熱帶雨林的稱譽,因為珊瑚群落提供了複雜的微生境,讓各式各樣的海洋生物棲息和繁殖,造就了豐富的海洋生態。

珊瑚本身相當脆弱,對水質要求相當高,只要海水溫度、鹽度,甚至清澈度稍為改變,珊瑚都有可能出現白化,甚至死亡。按我們的潛水員觀察,近年香港珊瑚礁及相關生態系統出現衰退,舉例西貢往灣洲,過去十年珊瑚數目減少達八成。珊瑚數目減少原因眾多,包括全球暖化、污染、魚網捕魚、人們消閒水上活動等,對珊瑚都有不同程度影響。

由於珊瑚礁生長和復原速度慢,單靠珊瑚礁的天然再生能力,很難追上受破壞速度,以人工移植珊瑚,則能加快復修珊瑚。世界各地都有人工移植珊瑚的成功例子,包括台灣、馬來西亞和新加坡。香港則是首次進行人工移植珊瑚。

人工移植珊瑚首先從別的地方收集合適珊瑚作移植,為了不傷害別的地方的珊瑚,潛水員只會收集一些因不同原因,例如是颱風而掉落的珊瑚碎片。潛水員在檢查珊瑚碎片的健康情況及物種後,確認合適便可進行移植。由於珊瑚可以進行單性繁殖,當珊瑚碎片移植到需進行復修的地點後,潛水員將之固定在適合的生長地點,珊瑚碎片會慢慢生長,從而達至復育的目的。

計劃由綠色力量與生態教育及資源中心合作,夥拍一班本地潛水員於2014年在往灣洲一帶水域開展,是香港首次以人工移植珊瑚方法,重建珊瑚群落,整項計劃目標復修約1,500半方米面積的珊瑚礁,需時三至五年。

2017年
  • 進行中
2016年
  • 全年共收集約80塊珊瑚碎片,並揀選27個樣本進行移植。
  • 跟進2015年移植的40個樣本,約有15個仍固定在珊瑚礁上。
  • 跟進2014年移植的43個樣本,約有12個仍固定在珊瑚礁上。其中一塊早前已長出珊瑚蟲的珊瑚碎片,正穩定成長。
2015年
  • 全年共收集約100塊珊瑚碎片,並揀選40個樣本進行移植。
  • 跟進2014年移植的43個樣本,約有一半仍固定在珊瑚礁上,其中一塊長出珊瑚蟲。
2014年
  • 人工移植珊瑚計劃正式開展。共收集約100塊珊瑚碎片,並揀選43個樣本進行移植。
Image
Image
Image
Image
©Ken Ching

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk

九龍旺角登打士街56號
栢裕商業中心23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)

接收本會資料