1. Home
  2. >
  3. Community

Campus Green Roof Scheme

Global warming is making the Earth hotter and hotter. Although cultivating plants can help mitigate rising temperatures and cool down the urban area by absorbing carbon dioxide, the land for greenery is limited in the city. "Campus rooftop gardens" provide extra green space, and a chance for students to farm or garden. With the help of educational activities, rooftop gardening can provide a lively environmental course.

The Campus Green Roof Scheme is a first attempt to combine rooftop garden infrastructure and environmental education. Three rooftop gardens with different themes, Herb Garden, Butterfly Garden and Organic Farm, have been built on three schools: on Hong Kong Island, in Kowloon and in the New Territories. Environmental education training will be organised for students, teachers and parents while information panels and handbooks on relevant themes have also been prepared to facilitate a more effective use of rooftop gardens.

Compared to rooftop greenery projects of other buildings and campuses, our rooftop gardens are among the few which are open to all students and teachers at all times. Students participate in cultivating plants and the gardens become convenient places to learn about ecology. This way, the concept of "Learning in the Environment" can be achieved.

Herb Garden (The HKLCC Lee Shau Kee School of Creativity)

Ten herb species were planted in the garden, including Rosemary, Mint, Lemongrass and Basil. Herbs are not only fragrant but can also provide raw materials for dyes, installations and crafts and can thus be used for creating art. The HKLCC Lee Shau Kee School of Creativity is the first secondary school to focus on design and art. Students can integrate growing plants with the arts.

Butterfly Garden (Baptist Lui Ming Choi Primary School)

This is an open-plan butterfly garden divided into two areas: Nectar Plant Area and Caterpillar Food Plant Area. The former attracts adult butterflies to feed and rest; the latter attracts females to lay eggs. Here, students can observe different butterfly species, and learn to appreciate the beauty and value of butterflies and nature.

Organic Farm (Precious Blood Primary School (South Horizons))

There are 6 small farming areas in the rooftop organic farm which allow students to work with their hands and learn about farming. Here, students can farm in a safe and convenient environment.

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 社區

校園天台綠化計劃


「全球暖化」令地球愈來愈熱。植物吸收二氧化碳,有助減緩全球暖化。栽種植物更讓城市變得涼快,亦可為建築物頂層降溫。但城市的土地有限,難以騰出空間作綠化,「天台花園」正好彌補市區綠化空間的不足。於校園建設天台花園,配合教育活動,鼓勵學生參與耕種或照料植物,將會是生動有趣的環境課。

「校園天台綠化計劃」首次結合天台花園基建及環境教育,分別於香港島、九龍及新界三間學校闢建不同主題的天台花園,包括香草園、蝴蝶園及有機田園。配合天台花園的落成,我們為同學、老師、家長教師會舉辦環境教育訓練,並出版教育手冊及小冊子,以及設立教育傳意牌,讓學校更有效利用天台花園推行環境教育。

相比其他建築物及學校園的天台綠化工程,我們建設的天台花園是少數全天候開放給師生自由進出,更讓學生親身參與栽種,讓校園天台成為最方便學習大自然生態的場地,實踐「在環境中學習」概念。

香港兆基創意書院天台香草園

園內育有十個香草品種,包括迷迭香、薄荷、香茅、羅勒等。香草具獨特香氣,亦是多種染料及手工藝品材料,配合香港兆基創意書院以設計和藝術為本,同學利用親手栽種的香草作藝術創作,活潑地結合耕種、環保和藝術。

浸信會呂明才小學天台蝴蝶園

開放式設計的蝴蝶園,園內分「蜜源植物區」和「食料植物區」,前者栽種開花植物,吸引蝴蝶成蟲前來採蜜;後者栽種蝴蝶幼蟲愛吃的植物,吸引蝴蝶前來產卵繁殖。學生可在園內觀賞多種蝴蝶,亦可從蝴蝶園收集蝴蝶的卵、幼蟲或蛹飼養,再野放到蝴蝶園,近距離觀察蝴蝶不同生命週期。

海怡寶血小學天台有機田園

園內設六塊小農田讓同學實習有機耕作,學生可在最方便及安全的環境下一嘗耕種之樂。

Image
Image
Image

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk

九龍旺角登打士街56號
栢裕商業中心23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)

接收本會資料