1. Home
  2. >
  3. Butterfly
  4. >
  5. Butterfly Surveyors

Number of Butterflies at Yuen Tun Ha Hit Record in Latest Butterfly Survey (13 Nov 2016)

Green Power announced the latest results of the butterfly survey (1) which was conducted from June to October this year, encompassing ten butterfly hotspots, with 170 species of butterflies recorded, representing around 65% of the total number of butterflies in Hong Kong (2). The three butterfly hotspots with the highest numbers of butterflies are Yuen Tun Ha, Sha Tau Kok and Luk Keng, with 132, 117 and 113 species of butterflies, respectively, while Yuen Tun Ha has the most rare species of butterflies. The numbers of “rare” and “very rare” species of butterflies are 18 and 10, respectively.

Matthew Sin, Senior Environmental Affairs Manager of Green Power, said the numbers of butterfly species found in a number of hotspots were higher than last year’s record. It is worth noting that the annual butterfly survey starts in June, when butterflies are most active, and continues until May in the next year, meaning the five-month survey this year has already recorded more butterfly species than the annual record in the previous year at eight out of ten sites, with the increases ranging from 2% to 54%. The number of total and rare butterfly species recorded at Yuen Tun Ha reached a historic high, with the former increasing by 20% and the latter increasing by 40% compared with last year.

In addition, Matthew pointed out two special records of this year: Euthalia niepelti and Silver Forget-me-not (Catochrysops panormus). Euthalia niepelti was first recorded in 2008, and had a sparse distribution in Hong Kong, but was surprisingly found at Luk Keng, Wu Kao Tang, Lam Tsuen and Sha Tau Kok this year. Silver Forget-me-not, a “very rare” species, was only recorded in literature at southern Hong Kong Island, Sha Lo Wan and San Shek Wan, and formerly found at Fung Yuen. Its first record at Luk Keng in the current survey is a very important discovery.

Matthew was pleased about the survey records this year, as the increases in both total and rare butterfly species suggest the hotspots' environments were generally well protected. “In the past, we revealed destruction at the butterfly hotspots and reported them to the government at once for follow-up," he said. "The butterfly data we collected was also sent to the government for establishing conservation measures for butterflies. This year’s survey record shows our work is effective in stabilising butterfly diversity.” He believes more butterfly species will be found in the future and hopes previous records can be broken.

At the same time, he suggested that the increase in butterfly species may be related to the more abundant rainfall this year. Until October 2016 (latest information from the Hong Kong Observatory), the total monthly rainfall records of several months this year were higher than same-period records in recent years. Abundant precipitation encourages plant growth, and is thus beneficial to butterfly reproduction and growth.

  1. Butterfly survey is conducted by Butterfly Surveyors. The Surveyors belong to the first butterfly survey team formed by the general public in Hong Kong. Butterfly Surveyors, launched in 2008, is an activity under Shell Nature Watch – Butterfly Explorer. The team invests substantial efforts to collect data on butterfly ecology in long term. Currently there are 248 qualified surveyors. The number of butterfly hotspots started with three at the beginning, increased by one each year and reached ten now, including San Tau (Lantau Island), Luk Keng (Fanling), Wu Kau Tang (Tai Po), Lam Tsuen (She Shan and Ng Tung Chai, Tai Po), Yuen Tun Ha (Tai Po), Shum Chung and Yung Shue O (Sai Kung), Sha Tau Kok, Pak Sha O and Lai Chi Chong (Sai Kung), Mui Wo (Lantau) and Lok Ma Chau-Long Valley-Ho Sheung Heung.
  2. The total number of butterfly species in Hong Kong is about 265.
© Ko Ka Ho
Silver Forget-me-not (Catochrysops panormus)
Euthalia niepelti
Courtesan (Euripus nyctelius)

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 蝴蝶
  4. >
  5. 蝴蝶普查員

最新蝴蝶普查 元墩下蝴蝶創新高(2016年11月13日)


綠色力量公布最新蝴蝶普查(註一)結果,於本年六月至十月進行,涵蓋本地十個蝴蝶熱點,共記錄170種蝴蝶,佔全港蝴蝶物種總數約六成半(註二)。記錄最多蝴蝶物種的三個蝴蝶熱點,依次序為元墩下、沙頭角及鹿頸,分別記錄132種、117種及113種蝴蝶。其中,元墩下亦是記錄最多珍稀蝴蝶的地點,「罕見」及「非常罕見」蝴蝶物種分別有18及10種。

綠色力量高級環境事務經理單家驊指今年調查發現多個蝴蝶熱點的蝴蝶物種較去年上升。值得留意的是蝴蝶普查於每年六月蝴蝶最活躍季節開始至翌年五月,即是本年度的蝴蝶普查工作只進行了五個月,十個蝴蝶熱點中有八個已比去年全年錄得更多蝴蝶物種,升幅由2%至54%不等。其中,元墩下今年錄得的蝴蝶物種及珍稀蝴蝶物種,均是歷年調查以來最多,與去年比較,蝴蝶物種上升兩成,珍稀蝴蝶物種更大幅上升四成。

此外,單家驊指今年調查較特別的發現還有綠裙邊翠蛺蝶和藍咖灰蝶。綠裙邊翠蛺蝶於2008年才首次在香港發現,之後分布稀少,今次卻同時於鹿頸、烏蛟騰、林村和沙頭角發現,令人驚喜。至於藍咖灰蝶,屬「非常罕見」物種,過去只在文獻於港島南、沙螺灣和䃟石灣有記錄,早年曾出沒於鳳園,今次首次於鹿頸有記錄,是為重要發現。

單家驊對今年蝴蝶普查結果表示欣喜,蝴蝶物種及珍稀蝴蝶物種均有上升,顯示蝴蝶熱點的環境大致獲良好保護:「過往我們曾揭發蝴蝶熱點被破壞,第一時間送交相關部門跟進,我們收集的蝴蝶數據亦會送交當局以制定保育蝴蝶措施。今年蝴蝶普查結果顯示,我們的工作對穩定蝴蝶多樣性有一定作用。」他相信稍後會發現更多蝴蝶物種,有望進一步打破以往記錄。

單家驊同時指出,蝴蝶物種數目上升可能與今年雨量較多有關。截至2016年9月(天文台最新數據),今年多個月份的總雨量均較近年同月數值為高,充足的降雨有利植物生長,對蝴蝶的繁殖和成長亦有正面影響。

註一:蝴蝶普查由「蝴蝶普查員」進行。「蝴蝶普查員」是「蜆殼綠趣遊蹤─尋找蝴蝶」計劃下的活動之一,於2008年開展,是香港首支由市民組成的蝴蝶普查小組,為收集蝴蝶數據注入大量而長期的人力資源,目前有合資格普查員248名。蝴蝶普查熱點由最初三個,每年增加一個,至今共十個,包括大嶼山石散頭、粉嶺鹿頸、大埔烏蛟騰、大埔林村(社山及梧桐寨)、大埔元墩下、西貢深涌及榕樹澳、沙頭角、西貢白沙澳及荔枝莊、大嶼山梅窩、落馬洲/塱原/河上鄉。

註二:香港蝴蝶物種總數約265種。

Image
© 高家浩
藍咖灰蝶(Catochrysops panormus
Image
綠裙邊翠蛺蝶(Euthalia niepelti
Image
芒蛺蝶(Euripus nyctelius

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk

九龍旺角登打士街56號
栢裕商業中心23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)

接收本會資料