1. Home
  2. >
  3. Feature

No Entry!?
Feral “Invasion” of the City

Green Country Vol.130 (Feb 2018)

A troop of fifty monkeys enters a primary school in Tze Wan Shan, a wild boar rambles through a shopping arcade in Chai Wan, a dozen cows occupy the children playground in Mui Wo… These scenes with beasts surely impressed us. Wild animals, in general, live in the countryside and stay away from people. Unless they lose their way, they would be less than willing to step into the city that's overcrowded with vehicles and people. Nonetheless, in recent years, we have seen more and more reports of wild animals entering the urban area. For example, reported sightings of wild boars rose from 294 in 2013 to 583 in 2016. What makes the animals move into the city?

To animals, the border line between the countryside and urban area does not stop them seeking food. In particular, when food in the wild becomes scarce, they will visit the city. Some flying animals such as bats, doves and Black Kites even take the city as their home. Their mostly aerial life does not cause much disturbance to people. City folks even welcome the melodious songs of small birds.

By contrast, large terrestrial wild animals are often unwelcome guests. For instance, snakes in the city cause panic and either are beaten to death immediately they are spotted, or a snake catcher is called to return them to the wild. Although most snakes in Hong Kong are non-venomous, they are indistinguishable to the general public and frequently stir fear in people. Moneys, when they roam into urban areas, often cause chaos as they are agile and aggressive. Large wild boars have also caused alarm in recent years when they got lost inside buildings or on the street.

Most of the time wild animals do not actively attack human. Don't provoke them and you will be safe even if you encounter them in town. However, if the animals are frightened and dash around, they will become a nuisance for a period of time.

The city can be a death trap for wild animals

While the wild animals may bring us some nuisance, to them, entering the city may mean death. Car accidents are a major risk. There are frequent reports of cars hitting cows, which may have to be euthanised. Wild pigs trying to cross streets may get their heads trapped in fence. Feral animals rampaging inside a building may be easily injured in their terror.

Obtaining food in the city itself may not do good to the animals either. Human diets, containing all kinds of seasonings and additives, are not fit for consumption by the animals. They may also mistake rubbish such as food packaging and plastic bags for food. Becoming used to obtaining food from human environments will change their feeding habit and lead to population increases. In the long term, this may bring more harm than good to the animals themselves, and wildlife ecology.

Animals intruding into human settlements are frequently reported all around the world. In Toronto, Canada, for example, local residents have complained about the invasion of Raccoons (Procyon lotor). Domestic rubbish is put in the collection bins outside houses, for removal by waste collectors. These bins have attracted a great number of raccoons. In the end, the government solved the problem by changing the design of the rubbish bins, so the raccoons could no longer raid the bins for food.

Apart from raccoons, Toronto residents are also bothered by other wild animals including coyotes, wolves, foxes, deer, elk and moose. People adopt different ways to prevent animal intrusion without hurting them, such as improving fence designs, screening off their houses with plants, and utilising scarecrows, glinting lights, sound devices or even spraying repellents

Controlling large animal populations

As compared to other countries, the issue of animal intrusion is not as grave in Hong Kong. The government has, however, adopted measures—including hunting—to address the problem. There are two civilian hunting teams that were set up in the 1970s, issued with arms licences from the Hong Kong Police and hunting permits from the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department (AFCD). The teams will, when requested by the AFCD, cull wild boar. The AFCD also set up a cattle control team and launched the Capture-Sterilisation-Relocation Programme in 2011. Stray cattle in Lantau and Sai Kung are sterilised and relocated to more remote regions to avoid causing a nuisance to nearby residents.

On the other hand, as awareness of animal rights heightens in Hong Kong, several concern groups on wild and stray animals have been founded in recent years– for example, Wild Boar Concern Group, Lantau Buffalo Association and Cows Home Hong Kong. Increasingly, the public hopes to see more humane ways of treating animals, and hunting and killing of wild animals is falling behind public expectations.

Adverse impacts of human feeding

In Hong Kong, about three-fourths of the land is the countryside, which is in close proximity to the urban areas. To prevent wild animals straying into the city, the government works on wild animal population controls to reduce their need to seek food in human areas. The AFCD began administering birth control and sterilisation procedures to monkeys in 2002, and contraceptive injections for male wild boar in 2017.

Feeding by humans is one reason some wild animal populations are booming. In feeding wild animals, we also change their foraging habits and make them accustomed to human diets while losing their instinctive fear of humans, increasing their chances of entering urbanised areas. In response to this issue, some years ago the government made feeding monkeys illegal.

In addition, fence enclosures and rubbish bins opened by pressing a pedal have been placed in the countryside, preventing monkeys and wild boars from raiding the bins for food. All rubbish bins along hiking trails were removed by the end of 2017. The increasing awareness of Bring Your Own Rubbish Away of Hong Kong people also helps minimise countryside rubbish and pickup of leftover food by wild animals.

The AFCD is also considering installing cattle grids across roads. Widely used in other countries, these devices are designed with gaps too big for the animal's feet to step on but posing no problem for vehicles. Setting up such grids in Lantau and Sai Kung would help alleviate the problem of cattle roaming on the roads.

Changing our behaviour and habits

Cattle, monkeys and wild pigs are the three major large animals most often found straying into the urban areas in Hong Kong. And humans are actually to be blamed. Cattle are not native to Hong Kong. The two main species – Domestic Ox (Bos taurus) and Domestic Water Buffalo (Bubalus bubalus) – were introduced by farmers a few decades ago and the populations we see straying on roads today are the offspring of the abandoned farming partners. As for monkeys, they were introduced into the territory in 1910 when the government was building Kowloon Reservoir, to help reduce the threat of poisonous fruits of Strychnos spp. falling into the reservoir. The monkey population boomed as they adapted well to the local environment. Eurasian Wild Boar (Sus scrofa) is native to Hong Kong. Yet according to the AFCD, the increasing reported sightings of wild boar in urban areas may be due to human feeding

In fact, the urban environment is not an ideal habitat for large animals. To keep them in the countryside, we should reduce the urban temptations for them. We have to change some of our behaviour and habits, such as feeding wild animals. Monkeys, wild boar and cattle all can forage in the wild. There is no need for us to provide food for them. Secondly, we have to properly handle our food leftovers and rubbish when we go camping, barbecuing or picnicking in the countryside. No matter how inconvenient it is, we have to take our own rubbish away. Don't leave any garbage in countryside rubbish bins.

The close proximity of the countryside and urban areas makes it unavoidable that wild animals may stray into human territory. If you encounter the animals, don't panic or overreact, which will frighten the animals and cause injury as they try to flee. Let's work hard to co-exist in harmony with our animal neighbours by keeping wild animals in their natural habitats, without luring them into urban areas.

Text | Henry Lui

Image
Wild boars may forage food among rubbish bins.
Image
Black Kite is well-adapted to city life. The birds do not present problems for us.
Image
Rubbish left behind by people brings numerous problems for wild animals. These include the animals mistakenly eating rubbish, changing their feeding habits, getting used to human food, and over-reproduction due to abundant food sources.
© Candy Yau
Image
In Canada, cute-looking raccoons have caused a nuisance to local residents.
Photo from Pixabay
Image
Domestic cattle on the road pose a threat to the animals and motorists.
Image
It is important that we take our own rubbish away from the countryside.
© Henry Lui
Image
Rubbish bins opened with pedals prevent animals foraging for food.
© Henry Lui
Image
Image
Administering contraceptive and sterilisation procedures to monkeys is an effective way of controlling their populations.

Subscribe

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 綠「識」全接觸

非請勿進 大型野生動物闖鬧市!

原文刊於《綠田野》130期(2018年2月)
作者:綠色力量

慈雲山一所小學被五十多隻猴子闖入、柴灣一個商場有野豬亂竄、梅窩有兒童遊樂場被十多頭牛佔領……這些發生於較早時間的野生動物「大鬧市區」事件,相信大家仍記憶猶新。野生動物本應在深山生活,城市人多車多,人為活動頻繁,除了因迷路,一般而言,野生動物亦不會隨意闖進市區。然而,數字顯示野生動物走入市區個案愈來愈,以野豬為例,滋擾或出沒報告由2013年294宗,升至2016年583宗。是什麼原因令愈來愈野生動物走進市區呢?

在動物而言,有沒有食物可能比郊野和市區的界線更為重要,特別是當野外食物短缺時。一些飛行動物,例如是蝙蝠,或是雀鳥如麻鷹、斑鳩等,經常會走進鬧市覓食,甚至以城市為家。但這些飛行動物體型較小,活動範圍多為空中及樹上,對人造成的滋擾有限。而在鬧市中見小鳥在樹上棲息,或是聽鳥兒的歌聲,一般人不但不會抗拒或害怕,更視之為賞心樂事。

相反,一些在陸地生活的較大型野生動物一旦誤闖市區,就會為人帶來滋擾,甚至造成恐慌。例如是蛇,一旦出現在市區,不是給打死,就是接獲報警求助後由「蛇王」捉走。雖然香港大部分的蛇均沒有毒性,但一般市民難以分辨,普遍都對牠們存有恐懼。又例如猴子,當牠們走進市區找尋食物,會翻倒垃圾箱,弄至垃圾四散,加上牠們行動敏捷,又有攻擊性,一旦出現於鬧市,容易讓人懼怕。還有野豬,可說是近年市區最常見的「不速之客」,由於體型大,當牠們闖入建築物或在街上亂闖,會對途人及交通安全帶來威脅。

大家都知道野生動物不會主動攻擊人類,就算在鬧市出現,只要不驚擾牠們,亦不會對人構成危險。然而,當牠們亂走亂竄,難免引起騷動,往往會擾攘一段時間。

市區是野生動物陷阱

動物走入市區可能只會為人們帶來短時間滋擾,但對動物而言,闖進市區的代價可能是死亡。當牠們在馬路上走動,會有車禍風險,牛隻被汽車撞死或撞傷而需人道毀滅,時有所聞。野豬撞進行人路欄杆,卡著頭部受傷也不是新鮮事。若動物走入建築物,室內複雜的通道結構往往令牠們難以離開,容易因受驚亂竄而受傷。

若動物是為了覓食而走進市區,就算獲取食物,對牠們來說亦未必是好事。人類經調味烹製的各種食物,很多並不適合動物進食。動物亦有機會誤食垃圾,例如是食物包裝、膠袋等,最終有損健康。若動物習以為常,長期從人類生活環境中穩定地獲得食物,會改變覓食習慣,更可能引致種群數目上升,對動物本身及野外生態亦不是一件好事。

動物闖入民居的情況,在世界各地均有發生。例如加拿大多倫多就時有浣熊(Procyon lotor)走進市區,引起當地居民不滿。當地居市習慣將家居垃圾放在屋外的收集箱,再由清潔工人收集處理,浣熊便會在晚上翻倒垃圾收集箱找尋食物。當地浣熊在市區的數量,甚至較在郊野的為多。後來當局改善了垃圾收集箱的設計,令浣熊難以翻倒垃圾,不能取食,大大減低牠們走近民居的誘因。

除了浣熊,多倫多民居還受到郊狼、狼、狐狸、鹿,麋鹿和駝鹿等動物滋擾。居民於是改善欄柵的設計,或栽種樹木作為阻隔,防止野生動物走進民居花園覓食。又會以稻草人、閃光、嘈音,以至噴灑驅蟲劑來驅趕動物,這些方法在驅趕動物之餘,並不會直接傷害動物。

控制大型動物數量

相比外國,香港闖入市區的動物數量遠未至泛濫的地步。不過當局也有採取相應措施,包括是獵殺,例如在1970年代成立的兩支民間野豬狩獵隊,持有由警方發出的槍牌和漁農自然護理署發出的狩獵牌,並應漁農自然護理署要求而出動,射殺滋擾市民的野豬。又例如漁農自然護理署於2011年成立牛隻管理隊,推行「捕捉、絕育、搬遷」計劃,主要在大嶼山及西貢,把已捕捉的流浪牛遷移至同區較偏遠的地方,在此之前會先為牠們進行絕育,以減低牛隻對附近居民的滋擾。

然而,隨著社會愛護動物意識日高,動物權益愈受重視,加上民間不少關注野生動物及流浪動物的組織相繼成立,例如香港野豬關注組、大嶼山愛護水牛協會、香港流浪牛之家等等,市民都希望善待動物,獵殺和捕捉的手法已不合事宜。

人類餵飼影響大

由於香港有大約四分三的土地是郊野地方,且與市區毗鄰,要防止野生動物闖入市區,當局便從控制郊野動物數量入手,減低牠們因繁殖過盛,食物不足而走到市區覓食的機會。漁農自然護理署2002年開始為野生猴群進行避孕及絕育,去年亦開始試驗為雄性野豬注射避孕藥物,減低其繁殖率。

人們餵飼亦是野生動物得以大量繁殖的原因,同時會改變野生動物的覓食習性,變得更習慣人類食物,亦變得不怕人,增加牠們走入市區的機會。針對此問題,當局早年已立法禁止餵食猴子。

此外,在郊野放置的部分垃圾箱,除了加建圍欄,亦改變了設計,須腳踏開關才能打開,同樣能有效減低猴子和野豬搜尋垃圾箱內的食物。當局並於去年年底移除所有行山徑的圾垃箱,加上近年愈來愈多人了解「自己垃圾 自己帶走」的重要,郊野垃圾減少,可進一步減少野生動物撿吃人類剩食。

漁農自然護理署亦探討在公共道路上設置「牛路坑」的可行性。牛路坑是外國常用的一種設於路面的阻牛裝置,地上有疏坑洞令牛難以走過,但車輛仍可通行。若果未來能夠於流浪牛問題最嚴重的大嶼山和西貢設置,有望紓緩牛車爭路情況。

改變人們行為和習慣

以最常闖進市區的三種大型動物為例,包括牛、猴子和野豬,牠們之所以在香港,以至於市區出現,都和人類有關。牛並非香港原生動物,現時兩種流浪牛物種分別是黃牛(Bos taurus)和水牛(Bubalus bubalus),都是數十年前由農民引入,棄養耕牛的後代。至於猴子,據說1910年政府興建九龍水塘時,為怕有毒植物馬錢(Strychnos spp.)的果實掉進水塘令食水帶毒性,於是便引入愛吃馬錢的猴子。牠們後來十分適應本地環境,加上人們餵飼,得以迅速繁衍。野豬(Sus scrofa)則是本地原生物種,但根據漁農自然護理署估計,近年市區出沒個案上升,亦可能與有人餵飼有關。

其實,市區環境並不適合大型野生動物生活,要大型哺乳類動物留在野外,避免牠們走到市區,便要減低市區對牠們的誘惑,即人們先要改變一些行為和習慣。首先是禁絕餵飼,猴子、野豬和牛隻均可以在野外覓食維生,餵飼牠們根本沒有需要,更是不應該。其次是帶走垃圾,市民在郊野地方露營、燒烤、野餐時,要妥善處理產生的廚餘和垃圾,即使有多不方便,亦要帶走所有垃圾至市區才丟棄,不可棄置在郊野的垃圾箱。

香港的郊野與市區只是咫尺之隔,零星的動物誤闖市區仍會發生。遇上此情況,市民不必驚慌或有過大反應,這樣只會嚇怕動物,牠們受驚後四處亂竄,反容易造成危險。只要我們都盡力減低動物走進市區的意慾,讓野生動物保持在野外生活的本性,留在野外健康地生活和繁衍,我們便能與動物鄰居和諧相處。

Image
野豬會闖入垃圾房尋找食物
Image
麻鷹是其中一種非常適應城市環境的鳥類,但牠們的出現並不會為人們帶來任何問題。
Image
人們遺下垃圾,為動物帶來多個問題,包括:誤吃垃圾、改變覓食習性、習慣人類食物、容易獲取食物而大量繁殖。
© Candy Yau
Image
加拿大的浣熊樣子惹人憐愛,但出現於民居卻帶來滋擾。
Photo from Pixabay
Image
黃牛經常出現於公路,對牛隻本身及駕駛者亦會構成危險
Image
郊遊時帶走自己垃圾非常重要
© Henry Lui
Image
垃圾箱須腳踏開啟,可阻止動物翻開垃找尋食物。
© Henry Lui
Image
Image
為猴子避孕或絕育能有效控制其族群數目
Top

接收本會資料

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
九龍旺角登打士街56號
家樂坊23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)