1. Home
  2. >
  3. Feature

Sha Lo Tung
A Long Road to Conservation

Green Country Vol.129 (Dec 2017)

Sha Lo Tung, an eighty-hectare valley sitting at an altitude of about two hundred metres in Tai Po District, is the most important dragonfly habitat in Hong Kong. The freshwater wetland is home to over 70 dragonfly species, including Spangled Shadow-emerald (Macromidia ellenae), which was new to science when first discovered here. However, the dragonfly paradise has been trapped in the perpetual controversy over development versus conservation between the developer, villagers, government and environmental groups for over four decades. A breakthrough was seen before the end of term of the last government. In June this year, the government finally opted for a non-in-situ land exchange for the conservation of Sha Lo Tung. This will hopefully end the days when the environment was assaulted by local villagers out of their frustration over land development issues. The next challenging step is to work on the revival and even enhancement of ecology at Sha Lo Tung.

Sha Lo Tung is akin to an upland basin in a high valley between Cloudy Hill and Wong Leng in Tai Po District. At an altitude of about 200 metres, the basin receives water from several streams with abundant flows year-round. The soil is rich, and the surrounding mountains form a natural protective screen. The ideal farming place attracted three Hakka villages to settle here more than three hundred years ago. The villagers made the best use of the local geographical features. They built ditches and practiced paddyfield farming, turning the highland valley into a freshwater wetland. This is particularly rare in Hong Kong, as most of the important wetlands are located by lowland estuaries where freshwater and sea water meet.

The paddyfield wetlands, in addition to the clear and flowing streams and the dense forest in the area, were home to numerous dragonfly species as well as butterflies and fireflies. There were also a variety of freshwater fish, amphibians, reptiles, mammals and birds, including rare species such as Chinese Pangolin (Manis pentadactyla), Chinese Tiger [a dragonfly] (Gomphidia kelloggi) and Hance’s Viburnum (Viburnum hanceanum). Sha Lo Tung was once full of greenery, with an abundance of plants and animals.

However, the 1970s was the time of change. Earlier, in the 1960s, emigration of local villagers began and more and more farmlands were abandoned. A developer came in and started purchasing land and houses from the villagers during the 1970s and 1980s. An application was submitted to the government for the construction of a golf course and low-density residential development. By that time, almost all villagers had already moved out. Although there were few people and no farming activities, the irrigation ditches and water fields remained in good condition, continuing to nurture the wetland ecology

In the early 1990s, experts discovered a substantial dragonfly population at Sha Lo Tung, including a species that was new to science when first discovered here. Botanists also confirmed the presence of at least 100 rare plant species at the valley. This finding of the high ecological value of Sha Lo Tung was thrilling. At the same time, this was where the controversy began.

The Halting of Development and Conservation

The original development plan for a golf course and low-density housing was fiercely opposed by green groups and a judicial review was conducted. The development plan was eventually suspended. In the mid 1990s, some villagers, out of anger over the failure to develop the land, launched an assault on the farmlands and irrigation ditches with machines including bulldozers, all in the name of “farming action”. The farmlands and wetlands later dried up, allowing grasses and invasive plants such as Mikania (Mikania micrantha) to thrive and threaten the ecology of Sha Lo Tung.

There were other activities that caused damage to Sha Lo Tung. The deserted village houses and large area of farmlands attracted many war game players and off-road vehicles, ruining even the natural streams. The consequences were profound. Besides, illegal catching of wild animals was rampant and animal traps, particularly those targeting turtles, could be seen all around in the area.

The drastic dwindling of the wetland area posed serious threats to the local ecosystem. In 1997, the government designated the river channels and river banks at Sha Lo Tung as a Site of Specific Scientific Interest. Yet protection by the legislation was limited and artificial damage persisted. The government was unable to stop activities on private land. Habitats at Sha Lo Tung continued to deteriorate.

In 2004, the government launched the New Nature Conservation Policy in an attempt to resolve the conflict between private land ownership and conservation of high ecologically valuable land. Twelve conservation sites were prioritised, and Sha Lo Tung ranked second. The developer of Sha Lo Tung participated in the Public-Private Partnership scheme under the new policy and submitted a new application to the government, still waiting for approval after more than a decade. In 2015-2016, some villagers embarked on a rapeseed saga as a way to express fury—they cleared massive areas of vegetation to make a rapeseed field blossom, bright yellow, which attracted wide public attention. The cruel fact behind the apparently pretty scenery was, planting of rapeseed would further dry up the wetland, accelerating the damage to the precious wetland at Sha Lo Tung.

In mid 2017, the government finally opted for non-in-situ land exchange to preserve Sha Lo Tung. The developer swapped the land with a restored landfill plot at Shuen Wan, to be developed into a golf course. With the resolution of the land ownership problem, conservation of Sha Lo Tung has become possible.

Over a Decade of Environmental Damage

Since 2009, Green Power has carried out annual dragonfly surveys at Sha Lo Tung. In the early years, over 50 species were recorded on average. In July 2009, a new Hong Kong record was found –White-tipped Grappletail (Heliogomphus retroflexus). The species is designated as Class II in The List of Wildlife under Special State Protection. In recent years, however, only about 30 dragonfly species were recorded over the year.

The adults and nymphs (larvae) of dragonflies live in completely different habitats. The adults fly in the air while the nymphs spend their lives in water. Different species also require distinct breeding and feeding habitats. Diverse habitats, including dense woodlands, shrubs, open wetlands and channels, provide homes to different dragonfly species. As for the nymphs, diversity of the microhabitats—including sandy beds, rocky stream, deep pool or shallow flow—is important too. Some species dig under sand and gravel in the river bed, while some prefer to lay under the rocks. It makes a big difference to the nymphs whether there are aquatic plants and roots in the water or not.

At present, farmlands at Sha Lo Tung have gradually dried up and the original wetland vegetation has largely been reduced and replaced by terrestrial plants and even invasive weeds such as Mikania. In the days when there were active agricultural activities, villagers managed the ditches and streams well for irrigation needs, hence supporting a variety of aquatic microhabitats. Today, all these are left unattended and even ruined by off-road vehicles. The water channels are filled with grasses and weeds, deep pools have become shallow due to sedimentation. Rocky streams with aquatic plants are converted into sandy ones. The diversity of plants and microhabitats has been drastically depleted, threatening the survival of dragonfly adults and larvae.

Revival of Paddyfields

In the past, Sha Lo Tung attracted dragonflies with its paddy fields. Today, if we are to mitigate and reverse the damage done to the drained watershed, the best approach is to revive the paddy field cultivation to establish a healthy and sustainable ecosystem again. It is certainly not easy to work on a wasteland deserted for decades. The task will be challenging.

A few years ago, a farming revitalisation programme was initiated at Lai Chi Wo by several conservation groups and the university. From the programme, we learned that paddyfields that have been deserted for years will lose their water-holding capacity due to damage by weeds and tree roots. Restoring the water retention layer is the key to the successful creation of a wetland.

A simple way to create a water retention layer is to lay an impermeable membrane underground. Yet this may not work well in Sha Lo Tung. There is still no proven method to restore this water-holding capacity of soil. It will take much trial and error, even with reference to traditional Hakka wisdom, to rebuild the capacity. A few years of time may be needed to see the results.

During this period, organic farming may be practiced on the dry land. Cultivating crops that attract animals can enrich the ecology and prevent weeds and bushes from further damaging the water retention layer of the soil. The farming process allows nutrients to accumulate in the soil and improve soil properties. Whether there is dry-land organic farming or paddyfield farming, it will need long-term manpower on the site. Time, skills and experience are all essential.

Sha Lo Tung is ecologically significant as it nurtures rare dragonflies, particularly species in the families of Gomphidae and Corduliidae. The adults also inhabit the mature forest by the streams. Therefore conversation of the woodlands is important too. Rebuilding water pond habitats helps to increase dragonfly diversity. Orthetrum spp. and Trithemis spp. of the Libellulidae family, albeit common, have dwindled in population as such habitats have disappeared at Sha Lo Tung.

After decades of artificial damage and abandonment, it will take a long time and a lot of resources to rebuild the ecosystem. We have yet to fully understand the process of natural succession. We can only keep trying and learn from past experience to find out the most appropriate measures for establishing, conserving and enriching the ecosystem of Sha Lo Tung. The road of conservation is long. But it carries the hope of Hong Kong people to see the return of the dragonfly paradise and a dynamic ecological community at Sha Lo Tung.

Text | Henry Lui & Dr. Cheng Luk-ki

Image
Sha Lo Tung is a hotspot for watching fireflies as well as dragonflies.
© Christina YM Chan
Image
Villages at Sha Lo Tung have been desolate for years
Image
Deserted farmlands and villages attracted a lot of war game players and off-road vehicles which inflicted severe damage on the environment.
Photo from Pixabay
Image
The river channels and river banks at Sha Lo Tung have been designated as a Site of Specific Scientific Interest.
© Mahler Ka / Green Power
Image
Today many of the wetlands at Sha Lo Tung have dried up and are occupied by terrestrial plants.
© Mahler Ka / Green Power
Image
Sha Lo Tung valley
Image
The first Hong Kong record of White-tipped Grappletail was at Sha Lo Tung.
© Mahler Ka / Green Power
Image
Image
Image
Different dragonfly species live in different microhabitats. For example, Common Blue Jewel (Rhinocypha perforate) (top) prefers rocky streams, South China Cruiser (Macromia katae) (middle) needs sandy rivers with aquatic plants, while Scarlet Dwarf (Nannophya pygmaea) (down) loves an environment filled with aquatic plants.
Image
Sha Lo Tung was converted to an ecologically rich wetland because of the paddyfield practice in the past.
Photo from Pixabay
Image
Sha Lo Tung is a unique valley freshwater wetland in Hong Kong.
© Mahler Ka / Green Power
Image
Crimson Dropwing
© Mahler Ka / Green Power

Subscribe

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 專題

沙螺洞  保育之漫漫長路

綠田野 第129期(2017年12月)

大埔沙螺洞位處百多米高的山谷盆地,佔地超過八十公頃,擁有大片淡水濕地,可找到七十多種蜻蜓,當中包括全球首次發現的伊中偽蜻(Macromidia ellenae),是本地最重要蜻蜓棲息地。過去四十年,沙螺洞一直處於發展商、村民、政府和環保團體的發展與保育爭議當中,至上屆特區政府結束前出現突破性進展。今年六月中,政府落實以非原址換地方式,換取沙螺洞土地業權,由當局接手保育,結束過去十多年時有村民因未能發展而破壞環境的情況。下一步,如何回復,甚至提升沙螺洞生態,將會是重大挑戰。

沙螺洞(官方寫作沙羅洞)是位於大埔九龍坑山和黃嶺之間的高地河谷,海拔約二百米,匯聚多條終年水量充沛的溪流,加上土壤肥沃,又有山嶺擋風,是農耕美地,三百多年前已有人在此耕種,更形成了三條傳統客家村落。村民昔日利用地理優勢,開闢水溝和水田,以水稻為主,令沙螺洞演變成獨特的高地山谷濕地。香港很多重要濕地都是在低地河口地帶的鹹淡水濕地,沙螺洞則是位處較高海拔的淡水濕地,在本地十分罕見。

由水稻形成的濕地,加上周圍清澈的溪流和茂密的樹林,成為了孕育多種蜻蜓的勝地,還可找到各種各樣的蝴蝶和螢火蟲。除了昆蟲,也有多種淡水魚、兩棲類動物、爬行類動物、哺乳類動物和雀鳥。當中,不乏少珍稀物種如穿山甲(Manis pentadactyla)、克氏小葉春蜓(Gomphidia kelloggi)、蝶花莢蒾(Viburnum hanceanum)。此時的沙螺洞青山綠水,生態豐饒。

可是,到了1970年代,沙螺洞開始出現轉變。其實早於1960年代,村民已陸續移民出國,荒廢耕地愈來愈多。在1970-1980年代,有發展公司開始向村民收購土地和房屋,並向政府申請興建高爾夫球場及低密度住宅,當時連餘下的村民亦差不多全部遷走。雖然人口減少,亦沒有村民再耕作,但灌溉水溝和水田仍能維持,濕地生態狀況依然不俗。

直至1990年代初,有蜻蜓專家在沙螺洞發現大量蜻蜓物種,當中更有世界首次發現的物種,令人為之驚喜。植物學者亦確定沙螺洞山谷至少有一百種珍稀植物,因而確立了沙螺洞是一處高生態價值之地,同時,亦是沙螺洞爭議的開始。

發展擱置 保育停滯

原本的高爾夫球場及低密度住宅計劃因而受到了環保團體大力反對,甚至出現司法覆核,發展計劃亦被擱置。到了1990年代中,部分居民不滿土地未能發展,於是發起「復耕」,實則是以機械毀壞大片田基及灌溉水道,水田和濕地變得乾涸,大量禾草和入侵性植物如薇甘菊得以快速生長,甚至遮蔽河面,嚴重威脅沙螺洞生態。

破壞沙螺洞生境的還包括當時流行的野戰。渺無人跡的破落村屋和偌大的田野吸引大量野戰活動,後期更有越野車在沙螺洞到處亂闖,破壞範圍甚至包括天然河溪,影響深遠。此外,沙螺洞的非法捕捉野生動物行為十分猖獗,捕獸器隨處可見,當中以捕捉龜類的情況特別嚴重。

沙螺洞的濕地面積大大減少,令當地生態面臨嚴峻考驗。政府在1997年將沙螺洞的河道和河岸列為「具特殊科學價值地點」,可惜受條例本身及保護範圍限制,人為破壞依然,政府亦難以或無權就私人土地上的活動執法,當地的生態環境持續惡化。

政府在2004年推出了「新自然保育政策」,試圖解決高生態價值土地私人業權和生態保育的衝突,政策下列出了十二個優先加強保育地點,沙螺洞在生態方面的重要性排行第二。沙螺洞發展商亦參與了新自然保育政策下的公私營合作模式,向政府提交新方案,但歷時超過十年仍然未獲通過。在2015-16年,再有村民不滿發展遲遲未能落實,剷掉了大片植被,種植油菜花。油菜花田一片鮮黃,更有不少媒體報導,吸引不少人前來拍照打卡。事實是漂亮背後,種植油菜花令原本的濕地變旱,無疑是加速摧毀沙螺洞最珍貴的濕地資源。

直至2017年中,政府落實以非原址換地方式保育沙螺洞,批出大埔船灣一幅已修復堆填區土地,發展商可租用作高爾夫球場,另外則需將沙螺洞的私人農地交予政府。土地由政府接管,變相解決私人土地難以全面推動保育的困局,沙螺洞的保育前景才露出曙光。

經歷十多年破壞

綠色力量自2009年起,差不多每年都在沙螺洞進行蜻蜓生態調查。在最初數年,每年一般都可記錄超過五十種蜻蜓,在2009年7月,更發現一種香港新記錄的蜻蜓 - 扭尾曦春蜓(Heliogomphus retroflexus),此物種屬國家重點保護動物,《中國國家重點保護野生動物名錄》列為二級保護。可是到了最近兩、三年的生態調查,全年只可記錄到約三十種蜻蜓。

蜻蜓的成蟲和若蟲(幼蟲)是生活在完全不同的環境,成蟲在陸地上飛;若蟲在水中度過。不同種類的成蟲所需的覓食繁殖環境亦有所不同,只有維持生境多樣性才可孕育多種蜻蜓,包括高大茂密的樹林、矮小的灌木、開揚的濕地、無遮掩的河道等。至於若蟲則是在水中生長,有些物種會鑽入溪流底的沙礫中,有些則愛伏在石底,溪流水中的微生境多樣性對牠們十分重要,包括沙底、石澗、深潭和淺澗。而溪流無論是滿布水生植物、根群,或是沒有水中植物,對若蟲來說同樣重要。

然而,現時沙螺洞的農地已變得乾涸,原先的濕地植物已大大減少,取而代之是愈來愈多的陸生植物,甚至是像薇金菊這些入侵性物種,已佔據田野。至於河道,昔日農耕昌盛時,村民因灌溉需要而不時打理河道,間接地維持了不同的溪流微生境。但在棄耕後,河道沒人管理,甚至遭越野車破壞,已充斥著雜草,河沙淤積亦令不少深潭變淺,而原本是石底的、滿布植物或根群的河段已變作沙質。目前沙螺洞無論是植物或溪流微生境多樣性同時大減,令很多物種的蜻蜓成蟲和若蟲均難以生長。

重塑昔日水田

沙螺洞以往因為村民的水稻耕種而自然演變成蜻蜓天堂,現在要改變河谷土地乾旱、雜草叢生的狀況,維持當地生態的可持續發展,復耕水稻,重塑昔日水田處處之景況,可說是不二之選。然而,要從荒廢多年的田野復耕水田,並非易事,需要克服不少困難,十分具挑戰性。

數個保育團體及大學在兩、三年前開展荔枝窩農業復耕計劃,將當地荒廢數十年的水田復耕,從而活化農村。從該計劃經驗得知,荒廢多年的水田,土壤中的保水層,會遭雜草或樹木的根部破壞,喪失了蓄水能力。保水層能防止水分滲漏流走,是維持水分留在田中形成濕地的關鍵。所以,要成功恢復水田運作,重建土壤保水層至為重要。

最簡單的方法是在地面下舖設防滲漏膠膜,不過這方法未必適用於沙螺洞的天然生態狀況。由於目前還沒有百分百肯定能夠回復土地蓄水能力的方法,當中可能需要一定的傳統客家技術,因地制宜找出可行方法,需要不斷探索及嘗試,過程中可能會經歷失敗。而單單是重建土壤保水層,可能已需數年時間。

在此數年間,土地則可進行乾地有機耕種,種植對生態有幫助的植物,例如是一些能吸引動物的農作物,豐富生態之餘,亦可避免雜草灌叢繼續生長,進一步破壞保水層。藉耕種過程,土地可慢慢吸收養分,改善土地質素。而無論是乾地有機耕種或是之後的水田耕種,亦需要長駐農務人員,花大量時間、技術和經驗去操作。

沙螺洞最有價值的地方,是孕育了稀有的蜻蜓,特別是春蜓科和偽蜻科的物種,牠們的成蟲棲息於溪流旁的成熟樹林。所以要保育當地蜻蜓,亦要重建溪旁的樹林。為了更進一步提高蜻蜓多樣性,可額外營造池塘生境。很多屬蜻科的灰蜻(Orthetrum spp.)和褐蜻(Trithemis spp.),雖然是常見物種,但牠們棲息於池塘之類的水體,因現時沙螺洞沒有池塘而於當地變得少見。

沙螺洞經歷了數十年的荒廢及人為蓄意破壞,要回復從前生態豐饒之面貌,還需要一段長時間,亦需要投放大量資源。現時我們對大自然生境演替還沒有完全掌握,對於如何有效重塑、保育,甚至提升沙螺洞生態,仍需要不斷嘗試以累積經驗,才能找出更適切的方案。沙螺洞保育之路縱然漫長,但能夠重回昔日山清水秀的蜻蜓天堂,將當地發展成生態保育區,相信是每一位市民的期盼。

文|呂德恒、鄭睦奇博士

Image
除了蜻蜓,沙螺洞同時是觀賞螢火蟲的熱門地方。
© Christina YM Chan
Image
沙螺洞的村落已荒廢多年
Image
荒廢農地及村莊常見野戰和駕駛越野車等活動,對環境帶來嚴重破壞。
Photo from Pixabay
Image
沙螺洞的河道和河岸是「具特殊科學價值地點」
© Mahler Ka / Green Power
Image
現時的沙螺洞,不少原是濕地的地方已變得乾涸,被陸生植物佔據。
© Mahler Ka / Green Power
Image
沙螺洞河谷
Image
扭尾曦春蜓的香港首次記錄,便是在沙螺洞發現。
© Mahler Ka / Green Power
Image
Image
Image
不同蜻蜓物種偏好不同的微生境,例如三斑鼻蟌(Rhinocypha perforata)(上)需要布滿小石塊的河溪;天使大偽蜻(Macromia katae)(中)需要沙質及長有水生植物的河溪;侏紅小蜻(Nannophya pygmaea)(下)則需要長滿水生植物的生境。
Image
昔日沙螺洞因水田耕作而演化成生態豐富的濕地
Photo from Pixabay
Image
沙螺洞是香港獨特的河谷淡水濕地
© Mahler Ka / Green Power
Image
曉褐蜻
© Mahler Ka / Green Power

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk

九龍旺角登打士街56號
家樂坊23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)

接收本會資料