1. Home
  2. >
  3. Feature

Producer Responsibility Scheme
The Ultimate Way of Waste Reduction

Green Country Vol.128 (Oct 2017)

The Chinese government has notified the World Trade Organization that from the end of this year it will ban the import of 24 types of solid waste, including waste plastic, waste paper that is not properly separated and electronic waste. At present, 98% of Hong Kong's collected municipal solid waste recyclables are exported to mainland China and other countries. Once the ban is in place in China, export of recyclables from Hong Kong will become difficult, and most of them may be sent back to the landfills. On the other hand, we will soon see the implementation of the Municipal Solid Waste Charging in 2019, when the public has to pay for every rubbish item and will certainly ask for more recycling channels. In any case, the government is charged with the responsibility of setting up a recycling system. Enacting a legally binding Producer Responsibility Scheme that requires producers to recycle their products seems to be a must. In the process, the local recycling industry can also be built up.

The concept of “producer responsibility” originates from a report by the Swedish environmental economist Thomas Lindhqvist submitted to the Swedish Environmental Department in 1988. In the report, Lindhqvist introduced the concept of “extended producer responsibility”, which obliges producers to take up responsibility for the entire life cycle of their products, which spans, apart from the manufacturing process, the recycling, reuse and treatment of the post-consumption products.

Post-consumption treatment also includes building and operating waste treatment facilities and control of pollution from such facilities. Sometimes medical expenditure might be involved too. Conventionally, manufacturers focus on procuring raw materials, and producing and selling their merchandise, as these are directly related to the cost and profit as calculated by typical accounting. Meanwhile, the burden of post-consumption treatment of their merchandise is transferred to consumers and society at large, and is even borne by the environment.

If manufacturers are not held responsible for their products after selling them for profit, they will not take into account the amount of packaging, whether the materials are biodegradable, and whether their products contain materials that are harmful to the environment.... In the manufacturing process, the design of products and their packaging and whether the materials are easily recycled are fixed at the very beginning. The manufacturers hence play a key role in the waste problem generated by their merchandise. They are liable to the various environmental and health problems arising from their merchandise.

The idea of producer responsibility, based on the principle of polluters pay, applies to the manufacturers as well as all parts of the distribution chain, including import traders, wholesalers and retailers. By being required to pay for treating and recycling their products, the producers would have the economic incentive to reduce packaging or use eco-friendly materials for the products and the packaging from the design stage onwards, so that post-consumption treatment and recycling can be made more efficient and less costly. This way, even when the producers focus on cost saving, the results would be more environmentally friendly.

If the producer responsibility scheme is in place, materials that were not recycled due to low market value in the past may be recovered and recycled now, under the new law and through providing subsidies to producers, and need not go to landfills as waste. Fee collected from producers can be used in local waste reduction and recycling projects, helping the recycling industry to develop in a high value-added and high-technology direction. This will benefit overall waste reduction and recycling in Hong Kong in the long term.

Germany is the first to enact Packaging Ordinance

Many countries have set up producer responsibility schemes for a variety of products. Germany is the pioneer in this respect. A Packaging Ordinance was enacted in 1991, requiring producers to recycle the packaging materials of their merchandise. Producers have to pay a third party which is in charge of post-sale handling, and a Green Dot Label is printed on their products. The consumers then place the labelled packaging waste in specific recycling bins.

In Japan, a Household Appliances Recycling Law was enacted in 2001, regulating the recycling, recovery and treatment of electrical appliances that have been disposed of. The cost is shared among the household appliance corporations, distributors and the consumers. In addition, there is the Containers and Packaging Recycling Law, which regulates the collection and recycling of all kinds of containers and packaging. The Packaging and Containers Recycling Association, appointed together by five government departments, is responsible for the recycling arrangements and public education. It receives a fee from specific manufacturers and industries.

South Korea implemented the Extended Producer Responsibility Scheme in 2003. This mandates producers and importers to recycle 19 products and packaging materials including plastic and synthetic resin. Business of a certain scale have to fulfill the recycling responsibility under the scheme. Each year, the Minister of Environment of Korea announces the mandatory recycling target for each item, and each producer has to take up their duty according to their market share.

Producer Responsibility Scheme in Hong Kong

In Hong Kong, the Product Eco-responsibility Ordinance (Cap. 603) was passed in July 2008, establishing the legal framework for producer responsibility locally. As most products in Hong Kong are manufactured outside the territory, the legislation covers producers as well as importers, wholesalers, retailers and even consumers.

The Environmental Levy Scheme on Plastic Shopping Bags is the first mandatory producer responsibility scheme under the ordinance. The scheme was implemented in two stages, in 2009 and 2015. Consumers have to pay for plastic shopping bags. In the first year of the scheme, the amount of plastic bags thrown away was drastically reduced by 90%. However, in the second stage of the scheme, businesses are not obliged to use the collected fee fpr recycling. The ordinance is effective in waste reduction, but not helpful in building up the local recycling industry.

In March and May last year, the Legislative Council passed the Promotion of Recycling and Proper Disposal (Electrical Equipment and Electronic Equipment) (Amendment) Ordinance 2016 and the Promotion of Recycling and Proper Disposal (Product Container) (Amendment) Bill 2015, respectively. The former ordinance obliges producers and importers of electrical appliances to pay for the recycling costs, and arrange free delivery for consumers to send used appliances to chartered recyclers. The other bill requires producers and importers of glass drinks containers to pay for recycling. The government will then hold an open tender, to attract bids from glass recycling contractors.

A Long Road of Legislation

From the previous examples, we can see that the legislation process takes a long time. The Policy Framework for the Management of Municipal Solid Waste Policy (2005-2014) had tabled the idea of the producer responsibility scheme in 2005. After four years, in 2009 the Environmental Levy Scheme on Plastic Shopping Bags was implemented. Yet it took another six years--so ten years in total--before the scheme covered all retail points. For the producer responsibility scheme for electrical appliances and glass drinks containers, public consultations were carried out in 2010 and 2011, and the bills were passed in 2016. We may have to wait another year before the legislation is implemented.

On the other hand, legislation often targets a certain type of products. For instance, the Promotion of Recycling and Proper Disposal (Product Container) (Amendment) Bill 2015 covers only glass containers for drinks (such as beer and soft drinks) but not containers for sauces and food. It is narrow in scope, and rather confusing for the public too. More importantly, there are many materials for drinks containers, such as plastic, aluminium and paper. Producers may just go for other options to avoid the charge.

One major benefit of the producer responsibility scheme is that it can support the recycling industry. In Hong Kong, this is particularly important due to the high land costs. The recycling industry requires a large space. The last paper recycling business was closed more than a decade ago. Without the local recycling industry, most of the collected recyclables are exported, so are vulnerable to external market influences. Take plastic for example: as the oil price goes down, we will see more cases of plastic recyclables going to landfills. Materials of low recycling value, such as paper drinks packs which comprise a mix of materials, are also typically disposed of in the landfills.

By contrast, if the producer responsibility scheme is in place, the charges collected from the producers can be used to procure equipment such as separation machines to facilitate recycling. Proper treatment of low value materials can add value by turning them into purer materials for export. Furthermore, turning recyclables into raw materials allows them to be less affected by external factors. For example, the 2013 Green Fence Action and the rejection of imported waste by the Chinese government targeted untreated recyclables. Properly treated raw materials are not affected.

Coverage to all product packaging

The 2017 Policy Address mentioned that the next step would be introducing a producer responsibility scheme for plastic containers. From past experience, it may take another decade for full implementation to happen. The alarming picture of accumulating piles of plastic bottles may just switch to yet another material. And then we would have to wait another 10 years to tackle the material. The Municipal Solid Waste Charging is expected to be launched in 2019, when the public will have to pay for all rubbish. With efforts to minimize the payments, the will to recycle and the actual amount recycled will certainly increase. The government should consider establishing a producer responsibility scheme for all product packaging instead of the piecemeal approach. Only then can the waste problem be solved.

Of course, before the implementation of the law, producers are expected to take up their corporate social responsibility and carry out proper recycling. Green Power has earlier launched a petition with regard to paper drinks containers. If the major drinks corporations can fulfil their environmental duty, we do not need to wait for the legislation. Recycling can begin immediately.

The implementation of a producer responsibility scheme will increase the costs for producers. This, however, should be their duty in the first place. The burden has been transferred to the environment and the society for a long time. A waste problem indeed entails more than economic concerns; it is an issue for the environment and society at large.

Text | Henry Lui & Dr. Cheng Luk-ki

Image
Where does duty end? Should producers take up responsibility for products that make profits for them?
Image
If improperly treated, electrical appliance waste will result in serious pollution. The recycling process is complicated. Many countries have set up a producer responsibility scheme for electrical appliances.
Image
It is the producers’ responsibility to reduce their packaging.
Image
Every day, over 15,000 tonnes of waste are sent to the landfills.
© Dr. Man Chi Sum
Image
The Environmental Levy Scheme on Plastic Shopping Bags is the first mandatory producer responsibility scheme targeting consumers.
© Henry Lui
Image
Metals, paper and plastic are the only common items of recycling in the community level in Hong Kong.
Image
Some 5 million plastic bottles are disposed each day in Hong Kong. These are the next target of the mandatory producer responsibility scheme.
Image
Fees collected from producers in the producer responsibility scheme can be used in recycling and waste reduction. There will be more resources for researching and developing value-added recyclables. (In the photograph are glass bricks made from waste glass.)
Image
Materials of low recycling value, such as paper drink packs, are not recycled. Around 43,000 tonnes of them are disposed of annually.

Subscribe

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 專題

生產者責任制 減廢回收不二法

綠田野 第128期(2017年10月)

中國政府早前通知世界貿易組織(WTO),今年年底起將禁止包括廢塑膠、未妥善分揀的廢紙、電子廢物等24種固體廢物入境。目前,香港透過廢物回收系統回收的可再造物料,多達98%是運往內地及其他國家循環再造,一旦中國禁止回收物料入境,勢必令本地回收物出口困難,結果是大量回收物重回堆填區。另一方面,《都市固體廢物收費》最快2019年實施,市民每丟一件垃圾亦要付費,社會對回收訴求將會大大增加。無論如何,政府亦有責任搞好回收,立法推行生產者責任制是不二之選,規定生產商回收產品,從中亦可推動本地回收業。

生產者責任制概念,源自瑞典環境經濟學家湯瑪斯.林赫斯特在1988年提交給瑞典環境部的報告,報告提出了生產者延伸責任,指出生產者的責任應該延伸至整個產品的生命周期,即是除了產品製造過程,亦應對產品使用完畢後的回收、再生和處理負上責任。

如果談及產品使用後的處理,當中還包括廢物處理設施的興建和營運,以及處理廢物所衍生的污染,此部分甚或會涉及一些醫療開支。過往,生產商只著眼於產品的前期採購、製造過程和銷售,因為這直接與成本及盈利有關。相反,產品使用後的處理責任,往往轉嫁給消費者以至社會,這部分完全由納稅人或巿民,以至環境來承擔。

若生產商在出售產品獲利後便沒有責任,其產品包裝的數量、採用物料是否可生物降解、有否包含傷害環境的物質……統統變成不是他們的主要考慮,甚至漠視不理。事實是產品及其包裝的設計、用料,以至是否容易拆解回收等,都是由生產一刻便已決定。即是說,生產商其實主宰了由產品衍生而來廢物問題,以至由此帶來的種種環境和健康問題,亦應負上最大責任。

生產者責任制的理念,就是以污者自付原則,指向的除了生產商,還包括進口商、批發商、零售商等銷售鏈各部分,他們需要為處理和回收產品付費。有了經濟誘因,生產商為了後期處理和回收工作更有效率、更省錢,便會從產品設計和製造著手,例如減少包裝、以環保物料包裝、產品的零件或用料上使用更易於回收的物料等。這樣,雖然生產者一心只著眼減少付費,產品結果卻變得更合乎環保原則。

有了生產者責任制,以往因市場價值較低而沒有回收商願意回收的物料,亦會因法例規定和生產商補貼而可重新回收,不再丟棄堆填區而白白浪費。生產者所支付的費用亦會用於當地的減廢和循環再造業等相關活動上,變相可鼓勵回收業向高增值、高科技發展,長遠對社會整體減廢和回收亦有得益。

德國最早訂定「包裝法」

現時世界各地都有針對不同產品而實施的生產者責任制,實施方法亦各有不同。德國是最早立法實施生產者責任制的國家,在1991年首先將生產者責任概念付諸實行,成立了「包裝法」,規定生產商需回收其產品的包裝物料。生產商需向負責售後處理的第三方支付一筆費用,付費的生產商會在其產品印上「綠點」標籤,最後由市民將印有「綠點」標籤的包裝物料分類,投入指定回收箱。

日本在電子電器產品上,在2001年實施《家用電器循環法》,規定廢棄家電必須有回收、再生和處置的途徑,並由家電生產企業、銷售商及消費者共同分擔費用。此外,還有容器與包裝回收法,規管各種容器及包裝的收集和再造,方法是由當局五個政府部門任命「包裝容器回收協會」,負責安排回收處理工作,並向市民推廣如何符合分類標準,特定的生產商及行業需要向協會支付費用。

韓國在2003年實施「擴大生產者責任計劃」,生產者與入口商要強制性回收包括塑膠包裝物料及包裝薄膜在內的19種產品及包裝物料,有一定商業規模的公司,要在擴大生產者責任計劃下承擔回收責任。韓國的環境部會公布該年每一種類物料的回收總目標,每一個生產者都需按其所佔的市場份額,履行強制性的回收目標。

香港的生產者責任制

至於香港,2008年7月通過《產品環保責任條例》(第603章),為生產者責任制訂下了立法框架。由於香港大部分商品在境外生產,因此法例不僅針對生產商,還包括進口商、批發商和零售商,甚至是消費者。

《塑膠購物袋環保徵費計劃》是在該條例下實施的首個強制性生產者責任計劃,分兩階段分別在2009及2015年實施,從此市民索取塑膠購物袋便要付費,全港膠袋棄置量在第一階段計劃實施首年即大減九成。不過,由於第二階段的徵費由商戶收取,當局並沒有規定商戶徵費用於回收。因此,此法規雖有效減廢卻無助推動本地回收業。

立法會於去年三月及五月分別通過了《2016年促進循環再造及妥善處置(電氣設備及電子設備)(修訂)條例》及《2015年促進循環再造及妥善處置(產品容器)(修訂)條例草案》,分別針對廢電器電子產品及玻璃飲料容器。前者規定電器製造商及進口商需支付循環再造徵費,並為消費者免費安排把舊電器送往持牌循環再造商;後者則規定製造商和進口商為玻璃樽飲品支付循環再造費,再由政府公開招標,由玻璃管理承辦商負責回收。

逐樣實施 長路漫漫

按以上香港實施生產者責任制的例子可見,立法時間非常漫長。追溯至2005年發表的《都市固體廢物管理政策大綱(2005–2014)》,當時已提出生產者責任計劃,然後四年後,即2009年《塑膠購物袋環保徵費計劃》終於實施,不過要再經六年,才將膠袋徵費推展至所有零售點,前後一共十年時間。至於《廢電器電子產品生產者責任計劃》及《飲品玻璃樽生產者責任計劃》早於2010年及2011年進行公眾咨詢,直至去年(2016年)才通過條例草案,距真正實施最快還要多等一年。

另一方面,立法往往只針對某一類別產品,以《飲品玻璃樽生產者責任計劃》為例,條例只涵蓋飲料玻璃容器(如啤酒、汽水),並不包括市民日常會產生的醬油和食品玻璃容器,涵蓋範圍十分狹窄,實施起來亦容易令人混淆。更重要是飲品容器物料選擇很多,除了玻璃,還有塑膠、鋁罐、紙包盒,生產商為逃徵費,很大可能會轉用其他物料作為飲品容器。

生產者責任制的其中一大好處,是可支援本地回收業,香港的回收再造業尤其需要土地、物流、基建、技術的援助。在香港最後一間再造紙廠在十多年前結業後,由於缺乏本地循環再造,於是絕大部分回收物料只能出口境外,所以物料回收價值易受外圍市場因素影響。以塑膠為例,由於易受石油價格波動影響,傳媒不時揭發大量塑膠回收後最終卻送往堆填區的個案。此外,一些低回收價值的物料亦難以回收,例如紙包飲品盒,由於混合多種物料,回收價值不高,一直全數丟棄堆填區。

相反,如果有生產者責任制,生產者需繳付回收費用,回收商便有資金添置器材,例如拉膠機、紙包盒分離機等,將低價值的回收物料進一步處理,變成純淨度較高的原材料才出口,便能大大提升價值。此外,將回收物料變成原材料,就較不易受外圍因素影響,例如內地執法部門2013年開展的「綠籬行動」,以及年底不收洋垃圾行動,均是針對未經處理的回收物料,經處理後的原材料則仍可輸往內地。

涵蓋所有產品包裝

2017年施政報告提及,下一步將會為塑膠產品容器引入生產者責任計劃,按以往經驗來看,可能又要等多十年才能實施。而目前「膠樽圍城」的局面,屆時可能出現在另一種回收物料上,如是者又要再為另一種物料多等十年?但「都市固體廢物收費」最快會於2019年實施,屆時市民便要為棄置垃圾付費。為了減少付費,回收意欲及回收量必定大大增加。所以政府應對所有產品包裝訂立生產者責任制,而不再是逐項物料推行,才能有效解決香港廢物問題。

當然,我們亦期望生產商在有法例規定前,盡企業的社會責任,主動回收。綠色力量正關注紙包飲品盒廢物問題,早前曾發起聯署,讓生產商回應社會的回收訴求。如果本地各大飲品生產商能肩負環境責任,不用等待立法,亦可即時回收。

生產者責任制的實施的確會增加商家的生產成本,不過這原本是他們應有之責,只是一直以來由環境和社會承擔了這部分的責任。更何況,廢物問題不單只有經濟的考慮,還是環境和社會的問題。

文|呂德恒、鄭睦奇博士

Image
生產商出售產品獲利,責任就此完結?
Image
廢舊電器處理不當,會帶來嚴重污染,但回收處理複雜,很多國家亦就此實施生產者責任。
© Henry Lui
Image
減少包裝也是生產者的責任
Image
每日送往堆填區的廢物多達15,000多公噸
© Dr. Man Chi Sum
Image
《塑膠購物袋環保徵費計劃》是香港首個強制性生產者責任計劃,針對的是消費者。
© Henry Lui
Image
香港現時只於社區廣泛回收金屬、紙張和塑膠。
Image
香港每日棄置膠樽多達五百萬個,是下一步引入生產者責任制的對象。
Image
生產者責任制下生產商徵費會用於回收及減廢工作,變相更多資源用於研發,為回收物料增值(圖是以廢玻璃再造的玻璃磚)。
Image
回收價值低的物料一直缺乏回收途徑,紙包飲品盒便是一例,每年丟棄量多達43,000公噸。

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk

九龍旺角登打士街56號
栢裕商業中心23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)

接收本會資料