1. Home
  2. >
  3. Feature

Citizen Science – For Scientific Research, Conservation and the Public

Green Country Vol.127 (Aug 2017)

Citizen science is a collaborative effort among scientists and the general public, often planned by the former with participation of the latter, with them working jointly on and sharing results of scientific research and studies. Scientific work is no longer the charter of experts. In Hong Kong, citizen science has become popular in recent years. A particular example is the numerous ecological surveys carried out by citizen science teams organised by environmental groups. This is a good opportunity to promote citizen science to create a winning situation for scientific research, conservation and public education at the same time.

Citizen science can be traced back to over a century ago. The Christmas Bird Count in 1900 could be said to be the archetype of citizen science. A group of ornithologists in North America initiated the bird survey in the hope of replacing the then popular hunting activities with observations. From the original group of 27, numbers of participants have grown to tens of thousands of volunteers worldwide today. Bird data collected over the long period of time has played an important role in global bird conservation.

Citizen science activities span biological surveys, water quality monitoring, collection of weather data and tracing of invasive species, etc. Such activities have become very popular in North America and European countries, leading to the founding of the Citizen Science Association. And starting from last year, a Citizen Science Day is now celebrated each year to encourage citizen science activities.

Locally, citizen science could be traced back to the 1950s, when the Hong Kong Bird Watching Society started to collect reports of observations by amateur birdwatchers. These became the first important data on birds in Hong Kong. It was not a systematic effort to organise members of the public to participate in bird surveys, but it was still an early model of citizen science in action. In the 1970s, the Department of Biology of the Chinese University of Hong Kong initiated The Clean Air and Lichens Project, which recruited more than a thousand students from over sixty schools. The final results were compiled into a report on Hong Kong’s air pollution. This might well be said to be the beginning of citizen science in Hong Kong.

Protection of Long Valley

Citizen science activities bring benefits to all. The organisers benefit from extra manpower, which is particularly important to studies that involve simultaneous investigations covering wide areas. For members of the public who become participants in citizen science activities, the most direct benefit is an increase in knowledge and understanding of the environment. The sense of belonging in the community and civic awareness are also enhanced in the process.

Citizen science contributes a great deal to nature conservation through the considerable environmental monitoring work carried out by the public. There are numerous examples in Hong Kong too. The most outstanding case was the 2000 Conservation of Long Valley Campaign, which eventually forced the railway to go underground instead of passing through the wetland. This was the result of years of bird data collection by amateur birdwatchers.

Another example is the Butterfly Surveyor Team set up by Green Power in 2008, which has made quite a few important discoveries over the years through continuous monitoring and collection of butterfly data. In 2013 and 2015, for example, Hooked Oak Blue (Arhopala paramuta) and European Beak (Libythea celtis) were recorded at Sha Tau Kok. The former had not been found in Hong Kong for 32 years, and the latter was the first local discovery locally. Our butterfly surveyors have also exposed and stopped environmental damage at Yuen Tun Ha and Ta Tit Yan, in Tai Po District.

Enhancing public participation

One way to attract more people to join in citizen science work is to associate the activities with current affairs. In 2012, the typhoon-caused plastic pellets disaster which resulted in spillage of 6 billion plastic pellets into the sea gained much public concern. After that, in 2014, six green groups launched Coastal Watch to mobilise the public to clean up marine rubbish and collect ecological data to trace the origin of marine rubbish. It was obvious that public participation was heightened by the plastic pellets pollution incident.

At present, local citizen science activities focus on environmental and wildlife monitoring. Public participation can be sustained when the topic is closely associated with their daily lives. Interest is also heightened if the survey subjects are lovely or beautiful species. For instance, the Territory-wide Sparrow Survey Day launched last year received popular support as Eurasian Tree Sparrow (Passer montanus) is agile and lovely, and easily observed with its wide distribution.

Collaborative efforts are needed

Citizen science activities are not pure scientific research work or collection of data. The organisers may have to spend a lot of manpower and resources to look after and follow up on the needs of participants. The process can be part of public education, which is something many non-governmental organisations are good at. Most of the local citizen science activities are actually organised by environmental groups. The Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department also organises Hong Kong Reef Check. Yet this is not for anyone, but those who can dive.

To a certain extent, biological regulation of water quality interferes with the original river ecology. There is also the risk of introducing foreign species. Yet compared with addition of chemical substances, biological control is more comprehensive and effective. As reservoirs are the source of our drinking water, the use of chemicals poses a threat to public health. Besides, the cost of chemical treatment is also high, given the large capacity of reservoirs.

At present, the government and tertiary institutes, with more experts and scholars at hand, focus on pure scientific research and data collection. The government even has the authority to enforce conservation policy. Data collected in citizen science work is in fact of high value to the government and tertiary institutes. If collaboration can be formed among the three parties, making use of the mobilising ability of NGOs in citizen science activities, expertise in the tertiary institutes and enforcement power of the government, much progress can be achieved in conservation work in Hong Kong.

Clarify expectation

In today’s technology-driven world, it is foreseeable that innovation in technology will become a major economic pillar. Education in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) is ever more important. Citizen science activities can play a role in consolidating such training.

In Hong Kong, citizen science is in the beginning stage. Most activities are short term in nature. With an increasingly higher education levels and civic awareness among the general public, and advances in communication and computing technologies, Hong Kong is ready to move forward in citizen science.

In the long run, the government, academic institutions and NGOs should collaborate to build a solid citizen science foundation for continuous monitoring and surveys of the community environment and ecosystem. The long-term, transparent data will become an essential resource for future scientific studies, and allow the public and policymakers to understand our environment more thoroughly. It is only then that we can formulate the most appropriate policy direction and measures.

Through the interaction of citizen science activities, the public will learn more about the capacity and limitation of the government, while the government will realise the expectations and needs of the public. This will allow all parties to work together to build a more ideal social and natural environment for Hong Kong.

Text | Henry Lui

Bird surveys conducted a century ago laid the foundation for today’s citizen science activities.
© Henry Lui
Lichen growth reflects the local air quality. Engaging the public to collect lichen growth data helps with analysing air pollution in different districts and is a fun activity itself.
© Henry Lui
Conservation data collected by birdwatchers was essential in the protection of Long Valley against the potential destruction posed by Lok Ma Chau Spur Line works.
© Henry Lui
European Beak, was spotted during citizen science activity in 2015; this was the first record in Hong Kong.
© Hui Chun Tung
Plastic pellets pollution incident in 2012 became a mobilising force in tracing marine rubbish.
© Henry Lui
Lovely and beautiful creatures such as sparrows and butterflies can attract public participation in citizen science activities.
Local NGOs are good at coordinating citizen science activities

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 專題

公民科學 — 科研、保育、市民 齊得益

綠田野 第127期(2017年8月)

「公民科學」是一種以協同合作方式進行的科學活動,由科學家規劃,普羅大眾共同參與。研究與知識的成果和經驗,從此不再單單掌握在專家學者手上,公眾也可一同參與及分享,這是公民科學的最大特色之一。公民科學近年在本地愈見普及,尤其環保團體紛紛組織公民科學家隊伍,進行生態調查。若社會能把握時機,廣泛推動公民科學,將可締造科學研究、環境保育、公民教育的「多贏」局面。

公民科學可以算得上有過百年歷史。1900年舉辦的「聖誕節鳥類調查」,可說是公民科學的雛型,當年一班北美的鳥類學家希望以觀察取代當時盛行的捕獵行為,於是發起了鳥類調查活動,由最初的二十七位鳥友參與,時至今日,每年參與義工數以萬計。當中由參加者收集的長期鳥類數據,一直是世界鳥類保育的重要資料。

公民科學活動可以是生物數量調查、水質監測,又或是收集天氣數據、追蹤入侵物種等等,各適其適。現時歐美國家的公民科學活動已十分普及,更成立了公民科學協會,去年開始每年更有「公民科學日」,全力普及公民科學活動。

在香港,公民科學活動可追溯至1950年代,當時香港觀鳥會收集由觀鳥者自願提供的鳥類報告,這些報告可說是早期香港鳥類數據的重要資料之一。雖然當時不是有系統的組織市民參與鳥類調查,但亦可說已具現時公民科學活動的雛型。此外,香港中文大學生物學系於1970年代舉辦的「空氣污染與地衣生長關係」調查,共有六十多間學校過千位學生參與,學生的調查成果最後結集成香港空氣污染狀況報告,這可說是香港公民科學活動的開始。

保護塱原運動

公民科學活動對各方都有好處,主辦機構的科學家或學者可從中獲得大量人力資源,對於一些需要同時在廣泛地區進行的調查研究尤為重要。於市民而言,成為公民科學活動參與者,最直接得益是增進知識,過程中亦同時加強對身邊環境的了解,藉此增加對社區的歸屬感,亦有助提升公民意識。

於環境而言,由於不少公民科學活動都與環境監測有關,其對環境保育尤其重要,香港過去亦有不少相關例子。當中較突出的例子有2000年的保護塱原運動,最終的鐵路走線由原先的貫穿塱原方案改為以隧道形式通過塱原地底,當時能夠確認塱原的生態價值,就是靠多年來業餘觀鳥者的鳥類報告。又例如綠色力量在2008年成立的「蝴蝶普查員」,持續監察及收集蝴蝶數據,多年來均有不少重要發現,例如於2013年及2015年在沙頭角分別發現小嬈灰蝶(Arhopala paramuta)和朴喙蝶(Libythea celtis),前者已絕跡香港三十二年;後者更是香港首次發現。蝴蝶普查員亦曾揭發並阻止破壞環境的發展,例如曾揭發大埔元墩下和打鐵屻的生態破壞事件。

加強市民參與程度

公民科學活動要成功推行,首要是吸引市民參與,為活動於題材或內容上增添時事性,是方法之一。香港在2012年曾因颱風導致滿載膠粒的貨櫃被吹落海,多達六十億粒膠粒散落海洋,成為當時廣受關注的社會事件。之後有六個團體在2014年發起了「育養海岸」計劃,動員市民收集海洋垃圾及生態數據,追尋海洋垃圾源頭。經過了之前的膠粒污染事件,市民參與相關活動的意欲大大增加。

現時本地的公民科學活動多以監察環境和野生生物為主,由於環境和市民生活關係密切,大眾對相關議題的活動投入感較大,亦能持續參與。生物調查的對象如果是可愛或有趣的物種,就更容易吸引市民參與。例如有團體去年開始推行《全港麻雀普查日》,由於樹麻雀(Passer montanus)活潑可愛,又廣泛分布,易於觀察,相關活動亦易受市民歡迎。

加強市民參與程度

由於公民科學活動不是純粹的科研活動或搜集數據工作,主辦機構需花不少人力和資源,照顧和跟進參加者的需要,活動過程亦可說是教育大眾的一部分,是一貫本地非政府組織的強項,所以現時本地的公民科學活動亦主要由環保團體舉辦。政府方面,漁農護理署也有舉辦香港珊瑚礁普查,不過由於參加者需懂潛水,門檻頗高,不是一般市民可參與。

現時,政府及大專多專注於純粹的科研活動或搜集數據工作。不過,政府及大專擁有較多專家學者,政府更有執行保育政策的權力,公民科學活動收集的數據,對政府及大專其實有很大的價值,若政府及大專能夥拍非政府組織推行公民科學活動,既能善用非政府組織的社區動員能力,再結合政府及大專的專才,以及政府的執行權力,效果將會是相得益彰。

釐清彼此期望

社會愈來愈重視科技發展,創新科技將會是未來經濟的重要支柱。科技發展需要推動STEM教育,即科學、技術、工程與數學,公民科學活動正好是有關方面的體現,為社會培訓這方面的人才。

現時,本地公民科學活動才剛剛起步,活動仍多屬短期性質。隨著市民普遍學歷提高,社會的公民意識日漸高漲,加上通訊及運算科技提升,公民科學活動已具備廣泛普及的基礎。

長遠來說,政府、學術機構和非政府組織若能抓住契機,建立穩定的公民科學家團隊,為社區環境、生態等作長期的監察調查,這些長期且公開透明的數據記錄,相信能成為重要的資源,支持日後的科學研究,也讓市民和決策者更了解我們身處的環境,共同支持和制定適切的政策和措施。透過公民科學活動的互動,市民更能了解政府的能力和限制,政府亦認識市民的期望和需要,大家共同構建更理想的社會環境。

文|呂德恒

Image
一百年前的鳥類調查,為日後公民科學活動奠下了基礎。
© Henry Lui
Image
地衣的生長可反映空氣質素,動員市民收集地衣生長數據,既有趣亦可分析各區空氣污染狀況。
© Henry Lui
Image
當年塱原沒有被落馬洲支線工程破壞,觀鳥者提供的保育數據功不可沒。
© Henry Lui
Image
朴喙蝶於2015年首次於香港記錄,正是市民在進行公民科學活動期間發現。
© Hui Chun Tung
Image
2012年膠粒污染事件,成為日後動員市民追尋海洋垃圾源頭的契機。
Image
© Henry Lui
Image
麻雀和蝴蝶,一可愛一美麗,以牠們作為公民科學活動的生物調查對象,易於吸引市民參與。
Image
統籌公民科學活動是一貫本地非政府組織的強項。

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk

九龍旺角登打士街56號
栢裕商業中心23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)

接收本會資料