1. Home
  2. >
  3. All About Green

A Clean Air Remedy for All?! Taking a Closer Look at Electric Vehicles

Green Country Vol.125 (Apr 2017)
Author: Green Power

Electric vehicles are being developed by major automobile manufacturers all around the world. In Norway, the country with the highest density of electric vehicles, a proposal is being tabled to ban all petrol vehicles by 2025. Electric vehicles have become popular in Hong Kong too. Within a short period of six years, the number jumped from under 100 in 2010 to over 5,800 by July 2016. The government has put in much effort to promoting electric vehicles and even adopted them in the civil service car fleet. A the end of last year, the first ever Formula E race in Hong Kong also attracted public attention to this new electric trend. Electric vehicles are favoured for their “zero emissions”. But are they the ultimate remedy for air pollution?

Believe it or not, electric vehicles originated even earlier than petrol cars. Back in the 1830s, electric vehicle and electricity-powered trains already appeared in the United States and Europe. However, as the technology of fossil fuel and internal combustion engines rapidly developed, electric vehicles were gradually displaced after 1920. It was during the 1990s, when oil supply was in decline and public concerns regarding air pollution problem were heightened, along with the advances to battery technology, electric vehicles become trendy once again.

At present, most vehicles on the road are petrol and diesel powered, driven by internal combustion engines. In the process, waste exhaust is generated, which becomes a major culprit of roadside and city air pollution. Electric vehicles run on motors directly powered by batteries, and without the waste exhaust they can alleviate roadside air pollution. In addition, electric vehicles start up quickly, recharging is cheaper than petrol, and there are quite a few recharging facilities that are free. All these are attractions to car owners. Also, without the complicated internal combustion engine and the monopoly of major automobile manufacturers, Hong Kong can join in the research, development and manufacturing of electric vehicles.

There are still a few disadvantages with electric vehicles compared to petrol cars. For example, the high cost of batteries. The battery accounts for over half of the cost of an electric vehicle. The price of an electric car can be double that of a petrol car, even with similar specifications. Recharging facilities are also expensive to build. It takes much longer for electric vehicles to recharge, unlike petrol vehicles that spend a few minutes to refill the fuel tank. Long distance travel is also a problem for electric vehicle, particularly to remote sites without recharging facilities.

“The world’s most suitable place for using electric vehicles”

Hong Kong is a metropolis with a dense population and congested roads. The highrise buildings make it difficult for vehicle exhaust to disperse. With dense roads and numerous traffic stops, the situation becomes worse as frequent stopping of vehicles creates more exhaust then the continuous running of internal combustion engines at high power. Hence the Air Quality Health Index (AQHI) recorded at the general and roadside stations often reaches high or above risk categories. Electric vehicles offer a perfect remedy for this case. The shortcomings of electric vehicle, such as their limited range, may not cause major problems for Hong Kong drivers, as most journeys are short.

The Central Policy Unit of Hong Kong released a Study Report on Promotion of Electric Vehicles in HK in March 2015, to provide a policy direction on electric vehicles. The report stated, “It is fair to say that Hong Kong is ‘the world’s most suitable place for using EVs.’

The government indeed promotes electric vehicles in various ways, such as the exemption of first registration tax for electric vehicles. A Pilot Green Transport Fund was also set up, to support new green and low carbon transport including electric vehicles. Franchised bus companies are also subsidised for trials with hybrid and electric buses. The hope is that all buses in Hong Kong will be running at zero emission in future. Electric vehicles are also employed by government departments. A Steering Committee on the Promotion of Electric Vehicles has also been set up, with members including the Secretary for the Environment, the Secretary for Transport and Housing, and the Secretary for Development.

Hong Kong has produced its own electric vehicle brand. Mycar, a small model co-invented by the Polytechnic University of Hong Kong and a Dongguan company in 2009, has been exported to the United States and European countries. The Hong Kong Productivity Council has also worked with a transport company to produce a single-deck electric bus that suits local roads. The prototype was tested in 2015.

There are, however, a few bottlenecks to overcome. The many slopes in Hong Kong mean that more powerful electric vehicles are needed, which also means higher prices and fewer choices. For recharging, most people do not live in houses and cannot park the electric cars in their own garages or beside houses. Recharging takes quite a long time, and makes it inconvenient for car owners to recharge the cars at a distance from where they live. Larger public transport vehicles requires higher power for recharging. Buses can be recharged at bus depots. But there may be problems for minibuses to recharge in the city centre.

Assessing eco performance with regard to raw material extraction

“Zero emission” is the biggest benefit of electric vehicles in improving roadside air quality. However, roadside air pollution is only one of the many environmental issues. We must assess electric vehicles in other aspects, such as battery use and energy efficiency.

Electric vehicles require the use of lithium batteries. The extraction of lithium brings adverse impacts to the environment. When lithium is refined from salt lakes, the water body has to be evaporated, which will damage the lake ecology. And when used batteries are disposed of, the electrodes and electrolyte solution may undergo hydrolysis and oxidation in reactions with other substances, and cause heavy metal ion pollution, fluorine pollution and organic pollution.

Energy efficiency deals with more than the efficiency in using resources. It also refers to the issue of greenhouse gas emissions. A Taiwan scientific magazine has launched a discussion on whether electric vehicles are better than petrol ones in terms of energy efficiency. Electric vehicles run on energy produced from power plant, which has to transported over some distance. Petrol vehicles are directly driven by internal combustion engines. Assuming the power plant also runs on fossil fuel, the energy efficiency of a petrol vehicle is only half of that of a power plant, as the internal combustion engine cannot sustain a high work level. Although there is energy loss over the long distance transport of electricity to an electric vehicle, overall the energy efficiency of electric vehicles is still higher than that of petrol vehicles. In other words, electric vehicles can put energy to better use and reduce greenhouse gas emissions. There is one assumption though: which is that the electricity of electric vehicles does not come from power plants with poor efficiency. Research in the United States has shown that in some regions which employ fossil fuel power plants, the overall carbon dioxide emissions generated by electric vehicles are higher than that of petrol vehicles.

No matter how excellent the performance of electric vehicle may be, it still consumes energy and causes carbon emissions. When we talk about “green transport”, we pay attention to the performance of individual vehicles, but more importantly we must put the focus on the overall transport planning. Electric vehicles do not solve the problems of congestion and efficiency. As it becomes a new eco-trend and the price falls and popularity rises, the result will only be an increase in vehicle numbers and extra burdens on the environment and transport. There are already quite a few free recharging stations for electric vehicles. If the public is misled into thinking that driving is cheap then the consequences will be dire.

Electric vehicles do not generate waste exhaust directly, but the burden is transferred to power plants. It is therefore equally important to take into account the pollution and carbon emission of power plants. Clean energy is essential. Using electric vehicles are one way to solve the problem of roadside air pollution, yet it is not a cure-all for clean air. The ultimate green solution is to encourage the use of mass transportation and redesign the road networks, to reduce excess mileage and congestion due to poor transport planning.

Image
Antique Electric Car
Photo from Pixabay
Image
It takes hours for electric vehicles to recharge.
Photo from Pixabay
Image
With heavy traffic in Hong Kong, the Roadside Air Pollution Index frequently reaches a very high level. Apart from adopting electric vehicles, a reduction in vehicle numbers and a revamp of the transport network are the ultimate solution.
Image
There are electric vehicles of various kinds locally.
Image
With most Hong Kong people living in highrises, it is typically impossible to recharge electric vehicles beside where they live.
Photo from Pixabay
Image
Different models of electric vehicles require different matching facilities. For example, electric buses have to be recharged at specific stations.
Image "VDL Evolans Electric Buses at Hermes" by "Misanthropic One" is licensed under CC BY 2.0
Image
Petrol vehicles have internal combustion engines, which generate waste exhaust.
Photo from Pixabay
Image
© Henry Lui
Mass public transport is the ultimate way to solve air pollution in the long run.
Image
Green transport requires clean energy development
Image
Highrise buildings inhibit the dispersal of air pollutants discharged from vehicles.

Subscribe

Contact Us

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
Rm. 2314, 23/F.,Gala Place,
56 Dundas Street, Mongkok, Kln.
Opening Hours:
Monday to Friday 9:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.;
2:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. (Closed on Saturday, Sunday and public holidays)

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 專題

清新空氣「萬靈丹」!?細看電動車

綠田野 第125期(2017年4月)

近年世界各地車廠也紛紛研發電動車。全球電動車密度最高的國家挪威,更計劃於2025年前全面禁售汽油車。電動車近年在香港亦漸漸流行起來,數量由 2010年年底不足一百輛增至2016年七月底超過5,800輛,不足六年間增幅數十倍,連政府也向市民推廣,並帶頭以電動車作為公務車。去年年底首次在香港舉行的國際賽車比賽電動方程式,亦令更多香港市民留意這股汽車新勢力。電動車標榜「零排放」,備受吹捧,它是否解決空氣污染的靈丹妙藥?

電動車其實不是新科技,甚至較汽油車更早出現。早於1830年代,電動車以至電力驅動的火車已在歐美地方出現,不過隨著後來石油燃料開發技術普及,以及汽油車的內燃機技術成熟,電動車在1920年之後漸漸被取代。去到1990年代,石油供應減少,大家更關注到汽油車會引致空氣污染,加上電池技術的改進,世界各地於是重新開始發展電動車,電動車又再次興起。

現時在路面行駛最多的是汽油車和柴油車,由內燃機產生動力,過程中會排放廢氣,是路邊和城市空氣污染的主要元兇。電動車則使用電池提供電力,直接推動馬達運轉,沒有了排放廢氣的問題,有助改善路邊空氣污染。此外,電動車起步快、充電電費一般較汽油平得多,更有不少免費充電設施,對車主而言有一定的吸引力。另一方面,由於電動車技術沒有內燃機汽車複雜,沒有像汽油車一般遭一些大車廠壟斷市場,所以即使是香港,亦能夠參與當中的技術發展和支援,甚至可自行研發和生產電動車。

當然,現時電動車仍有不少地方比不上內燃機汽車,例如是價格。電池佔電動車的成本逾一半,由於電池價格高,相若規格的電動車隨時較汽油車售價高一倍。還有充電問題,現時設立充電設施所費仍高,而電動車一般充電時間長,往往以小時計,不及汽油車只需數分鐘便能入滿油,而且電動車續航里程較短,有礙長途運輸或前往不便充電的偏遠地方。

「全世界最適合用電動車的地方」

香港是一個人煙稠密的大都會,人多車多,道路密集,大廈林立,本身已令汽油車排放的空氣污染物難以消散。加上路口、燈位又多,車輛較多開開停停,汽油車在起動變速的情況下,內燃機不能像在均速的狀態一般維持高功率運轉,會排放更多廢氣,進一步加劇空氣污染,以致一般和路邊監察站的空氣質素健康指數不時錄得「高」或以上的高風險級別,電動車正好是大幅改善路邊空氣質素的契機。反而電動車的一些缺點,例如是續航里程較短,由於香港駕駛路程一般遠較外國的短,對香港駕駛者而言影響並不大。

政府中央政策組在2015年三月發表一份名為「推廣使用電動車背景研究」報告,冀為香港推廣電動車提供政策方向。報告更形容香港是「全世界最適合用電動車的地方」。

香港政府亦著力推動電動車,包括豁免電動車輛的首次登記稅,並設立綠色運輸試驗基金,資助包括電動車在內的創新綠色及低碳運輸技術,並資助專營巴士公司試行混合動力和電動巴士,最終目標是全港均使用零排放的巴士。政府部門也陸續採用電動車,更成立推動使用電動車輛督導委員會,成員包括環境局、運輸及房屋局、發展局等多名局長。

在生產方面,香港本土也有自家的電動車品牌,由香港理工大學及一間東莞公司合作研製的小型電動車mycar在2009年開售,更銷售至歐美地方。此外,香港生產力促進局與一家運輸企業合作,研製一款配合香港路面環境使用的單層電動巴士,原型車在2015年底開始在香港路面進行測試。

不過,香港路面環境對使用電動車仍有一些不利因素,例如是斜坡較多,需要較大動力的電動車才能應付,高性能的車輛表示較高的價格、較少的選擇,不利普及使用。充電方面,由於大部分香港市民不是住獨立屋,難以把電動車泊在私人車房或屋旁充電,往往需要到街外的充電設施,由於充電需時,易為車主帶來不便。至於較大型的公共交通工具更需高電量充電,巴士尚有專利巴士廠作充電後盾,然而像小巴一類本地常見的交通工具,日常只會停泊於繁忙鬧市,要充電相對較為困難。

從原料開採審視環保表現

「零排放」是電動車的最大優勢,大大改善路邊空氣質素。然而,路邊空氣污染只是眾多環保問題其中之一,我們嘗試從電池及能源效益兩方面,細看電動車其他方面的表現。

電動車常用的鋰電池,其原料「鋰」的提煉過程會對環境帶來很大的影響,尤其是從鹽湖提煉鋰,需要大量抽取鹽湖土壤中的水分方能提取鋰,嚴重破壞鹽湖生態。而廢舊鋰電池的電極材料、電解液等在棄置環境中,可能會與其他物質發生水解、氧化等反應,造成一些重金屬離子污染、氟污染以及一些有機物污染。

至於能源效益,不單是資源使用效率的問題,也是溫室氣體排放的問題。有台灣科學雜誌從車輛使用能源的效率,探討電動車是否優於汽油車。電動車的能源來自發電廠生產的電力,再經過輸配系統轉送給車輛,汽油車則直接由車輛內部的內燃機將燃料(汽油)燃燒產生動力。假設為電動車提供電力的發電廠亦是使用化石燃料的火力發電廠,但由於車輛內燃機產生動力的過程中,不能一直維持高功率運轉,能源效率大約只有發電廠的一半。雖然從發電廠輸配電力到電動車的漫長過程中亦會有能量損耗,但總體上電動車的能源效率仍優於汽油車。換句話說,電動車能更有效使用能源,減少溫室氣體排放,不過前題是電動車的電能不是來自低效率表現的發電廠,就好像有研究指美國一些以燃煤火力發電為主的地區,當地電動車的整體二氧化碳排放量,可以反過來比汽油車更高。

電動車自有其優點,但即使表現再優越的車輛,仍是會消耗能源、造成碳排放。我們所說的「環保交通」,除了關注個別交通工具的環保表現,更重要的是善用交通。電動車並沒有解決擠塞、交通效率問題,當大家只標榜電動車的改善空氣污染效能,令它變成環保新潮流,隨著車價愈來愈平,逐漸普及之際,若掀起追捧和熱賣潮流,汽車數量增加只會加大對環境和交通的負荷。現時市面上提供不少免費電動車充電設施,若令市民習以為常,駕駛變得愈來愈廉價,只會誘發更多不必要的交通負荷。

電動車本身不會排放廢氣,但其實大部分的排放問題是轉移落在發電廠上,所以妥善處理發電廠的污染物排放以至碳排放同樣重要,同時需配合潔淨能源的發展。電動車是解決路邊空氣污染的方法之一,但絕不是清新空氣的萬靈丹。要做到交通方面的真正環保,亦要鼓勵市民大眾使用集體公共運輸工具,並優化道路交通網絡,減少因道路規劃不當而多出的無謂里程,以及減少擠塞,才是整全的環保交通方向。

文|呂德恒

Image
古董電動車
Photo from Pixabay
Image
電動車充電需時,為汽車注滿能量往往以小時計。
Photo from Pixabay
Image
香港交通繁忙,路邊空氣污染指數長期超標。除了將街上行走的車輛改為電動車,減少汽車數目,改善道路網絡才是治本之法。
Image
香港不同車種亦有使用電動車
Image
將電動車停泊在屋旁充電,以香港大部分人住於多層大廈,較難實現。
Photo from Pixabay
Image Image
汽油車由內燃機產生動力,過程中會排放廢氣。
Photo from Pixabay
Image
© Henry Lu
發展集體運輸工具亦是長遠解決空氣污染的根本方法
Image
綠色交通需配合潔淨能源的發展
Image
香港高廈林立,令汽車排放的空氣污染物難以消散。

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk

九龍旺角登打士街56號
栢裕商業中心23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)

接收本會資料