1. Home
  2. >
  3. All About Green

Clear water but no fish? Formulating Eco-friendly Water Quality Objectives

Green Country Vol.123 (Dec 2016)
Author: Green Power

Water-friendly culture has been mentioned in the Policy Address for the past two years. Water-friendly activities mean that the public can get access to water bodies such as rivers for recreation. A prerequisite is that the water is of a safe standard. And this standard may be different for human and aquatic life. There was a case in which a copper-silver ion system, used for disinfecting drinking water for people, was adopted in an aquaculture practice that resulted in massive deaths of the shrimps and crabs reared. There is a set of water quality objectives for rivers in Hong Kong. These objectives may safeguard human use during water activities but do not guarantee ecological health. Is it time we considered organisms other than human beings?

There are three sets of water quality objectives in Hong Kong – for beaches, seawater and rivers, for monitoring sewage discharges and protecting different water bodies. The simplest of the three is the one for beaches, which monitors only the level of Escherichia coli (E. coli) – which should be below a geometric mean E. coli level of 180 per 100mL to ensure the safety of swimmers.

The objectives for marine water are more complicated. There are more than 20 physical and chemical parameters, including odour, colour, temperature, salinity, pH, dissolved oxygen, inorganic nitrogen, and E. coli Dissolved oxygen, total inorganic nitrogen, unionised ammonia and E. coli are used to assess achievement of the objectives.

The numerous parameters may not sufficiently protect marine health. Studies overseas have indicated that human pathogens may infect dolphins via sewage discharges, and currently pathogens are not included in the water quality indicators. As early as the 1990s, local environmental groups argued that sterilisation must be added to the regular sewage treatment procedures for Siu Ho Wan Sewage Treatment Works, as treated water is discharged into the habitat of Chinese White Dolphin (Sousa chinensis). Only after eight years of operation did the government instal an ultraviolet sterilisation system in the plant.

Slack regulation compared to international standards

There are even more parameters for river water quality monitoring. Nearly 50 physical, chemical and biological parameters – including organics, nutrients, metals and E. coli – are on the list. The Environmental Protection Department also set up Water Quality Objective compliance and Water Quality Index (WQI) gradings for inland waterways in Hong Kong. The former is based on pH, suspended solids, suspended solids, 5-day biochemical oxygen demand and chemical oxygen demand while the latter is based on dissolved oxygen, 5-day biochemical oxygen demand and ammonia-nitrogen level, to assess organic pollution and general health of the waters; there are five gradings from Excellent to Very Bad.

And similarly, even if the water quality indicators are achieved, the river may still not be a suitable habitat for aquatic life. Studies elsewhere show that the criterion for minimum dissolved oxygen for freshwater life is 5mg/L, yet the water quality requirement in Hong Kong is 4mg/L. A low oxygen level in water means a harsh environment for fishes. Hence, in Hong Kong rivers, only hardy foreign species such as Tilapia (Tilapia spp.) and Golden Apple Snail (Pomacea canaliculata) can thrive with the low dissolved oxygen levels. Local fishes such as Beijiang Thicj-lipped Barb (Acrossocheilus beijiangensis) and Freshwater Minnow (Zacco platypus) will on the other hand face great difficulty in surviving. Recent studies by a local university found that the reproductive capacity of Japanese Rice Fish (Oryzias latipes) will be lowered in a low-oxygen environment, and the situation will passed on for two generations.

The failure of sewage treatment

Large amounts of wastewater are generated in our daily life. Domestic sewage originates from kitchen use; and cleaning ourselves, industrial, commercial and agricultural activities all generate sewage. Wastewater is collected and treated in the sewage treatment works.

At present, some 280 cubic metres of wastewater are collected daily from all sources, equivalent to 1,480 standard swimming pools. After treatment, the sewage is discharged into the sea via pipes. You may be surprised that in some sewage treatment works, there is just primary treatment, meaning only solid waste and grit are removed before the sewage is discharged into the sea. And in most plants, there is only secondary treatment.

Secondary treatment means that wastewater is treated first for screening and de-gritting, then sedimentation to remove total suspended solids and finally utilising microorganisms to consume organic pollutants in the water. The objective is to reach a low total suspended solids and low biochemical oxygen demand in the discharged wastewater.

The water quality indicator of suspended solids is based on "not exceeding a certain percentage of the original level" or "not posing a threat of adverse impacts to aquatic life". There is yet to be a clear definition of what counts as "adverse impacts". As for biochemical oxygen demand, standards in European countries are below 30 mg/L while that of local rivers in Hong Kong are at 30 mg/L.

Toxicology overlooked

Pollutants in wastewater from domestic, industrial, commercial and agricultural activities vary. Even though technically they can be treated, in reality the massive amount of sewage generated daily makes proper treatment difficult. Treated sewage is still wastewater, only with the amounts of pollutants reduced to "acceptable levels".

It should be noted that the present sewage treatment in Hong Kong does not target non-natural substances including heavy metals, organic chloride and pharmaceutical drugs such as antibiotics and oestrogens for contraception. Though in seemingly minute amounts, these pollutants can pose serious threat to aquatic life, in some cases changing the sexes of marine organisms or killing them directly. There are no water quality indicators for these substances. In addition, in treating wastewater, chlorine products are used for sterilisation, and upon chemical reaction with ammonia present in the sewage, these create toxic substances such as chloramine and trihabomethanes, directly harming aquatic life.

There have been studies on toxicological impacts on aquatic life in which the animals are put in wastewater after secondary and tertiary treatment. Tertiary treatment is a high level sewage treatment procedure, with aeration tanks and filtration used to remove organic pollutants, total suspended solids and nutrients to extremely low levels. Yet, studies results show a poor correlation between the chemical parameters of conventional water quality tests and toxicology in animals. Low concentrations of chemicals do not necessarily mean low toxicity in aquatic life. Plus, ozone is used for sterilisation in tertiary sewage treatment, which increases water toxicity that harms or kills aquatic life.

Water quality beyond "human use"

All the above shows that human and aquatic life may have different demands form water quality. At present, water quality indicators in Hong Kong are based on human use, meaning only human health – and no other aquatic life, is taken into consideration in setting the standards. Therefore, even all the standards are fulfilled, the water bodies may still not be suitable for the survival of aquatic life.

In many European countries and the United States, whole effluent toxicity testing has been introduced. A variety of species in the aquatic food chain have been chosen for monitoring their survival, growth and reproduction in the waters. In California, more proactive Backflow Prevention is adopted to avoid polluting the more ecologically rich water bodies, even by water that has meets standards for water quality indicators.

In Hong Kong, the government has in recent years attempted to restore urban waterways that had been turned into concrete channels, such as Kai Tak River in Wong Tai Sin and Shan Pui River in Yuen Long. To restore the rivers, there must be sufficient water sources. The government thus intends to introduce treated sewage into the rivers. This may be workable if the rivers serve human recreational use, but if we also consider aquatic life that includes vegetation on the banks, and fishes, frogs and dragonflies, we may find the proposal is not practical at all.

Hong Kong rivers are generally not large and are rather concentrated. The river systems are more easily affected by introduced water than the marine system. The government should take the on-going implementation of Biodiversity Strategy and Action Plan as an opportunity and formulate Ecological Water Quality Objectives with toxicology testing. This will certainly provide better protection for rivers (such as Tung Chung River) and marine waters (such as Hoi Ha Wan) of high ecological values, as well as waters of high commercial value for fisheries.

Rivers are important ecological systems. We should protect them not only for recreational uses but also as the natural habitats of aquatic life.

Image
© Henry Lui
Beach water quality is based solely on assessments of E. coli levels.
Image
Compared to beaches, marine water has a more comprehensive monitoring list, yet this falls well short of full protection of marine life.
Image
© Kuan Yu-kuen
Is it enough to maintain water quality for recreational uses?
Image
Freshwater Minnow - susceptible to pollutants.
Image
Wastewater after secondary treatment in Shatin Sewage Treatment Works is still not suitable for the survival of aquatic animals.
Image
Treated sewage should not be discharged into rivers of high ecological value.
Image
Water sources of Kai Tak River are from Shatin and Tai Po Sewage Treatment Works.
Image
Eco-friendly Water Quality Objectives must be set to safeguard river ecology.

Subscribe

Contact Us

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
Rm. 2314, 23/F.,Gala Place,
56 Dundas Street, Mongkok, Kln.
Opening Hours:
Monday to Friday 9:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.;
2:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. (Closed on Saturday, Sunday and public holidays)

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 專題

水清但無魚!? 制定「生態水質指標」

綠田野 第123期(2016年12月)

近兩年的施政報告均有提及推廣親水文化,所謂「親水」,即是市民可以接觸水體(主要是河水)作康樂用途,但前題是水質必需符合安全標準。曾有人以用於消毒食水的「銅銀離子系統」飼養水產,結果飼養的蝦蟹愈發死亡,說明人類與水生生物對水質的要求並不一樣。香港對河水水質一直有一套指標,然而水質達標只表示市民可以安全嬉水,並不代表河流是生態盎然。我們是否滿足於河流只為人類服務?

現時香港有一系列水質指標,作為監控排放污水和保護各類水體(河流、海洋)的根據,分別有泳灘、海水、河溪三套水質指標。泳灘要確保泳客不會因游泳而染病,水質指標只監察大腸桿菌(Escherichia coli)的數量,設定在每百毫升水樣本不超過180個的大腸桿菌幾何平均數量。泳灘的水質指標可說是眾多水質指標中最簡單的一套。

相比用以監控海洋水體的海水水質指標,其指標則複雜得多,檢測的參數包括了美觀程度,以及各種物理及化學參數,參數多達二十多項,例如有氣味、顏色、溫度、鹽度、酸鹼值、溶解氧、無機氮含量、大腸桿菌等,並以溶解氧、總無機氮、非離子化氨氮及大腸桿菌這四個參數來評估達標與否。

海水水質指標的參數看似繁多,但多項參數達標亦未必能保障海洋生物的健康。海外有研究指出人類的病原體有機會經污水感染海豚,但目前的海水水質指標並不包括檢驗病原體。早在九零年代,本地環保團體極力爭小蠔灣污水處理廠所排放的水,必須在常規污水處理程序後再加以消毒,因處理後的水會排入中華白海豚(Sousa chinensis)的棲息水海域。不過,當局最終是於污水處理廠啟用後八年才設置紫外光消毒系統。

多項指標低於外國標準

河溪水質指標所檢測的參數則更多,檢測近50個物理、化學及生物參數,包括了有機物、營養物、金屬和大腸桿菌等。此外,環保署亦就香港內陸水道制定「水質指標達標率」和「水質指數評級」,前者以酸鹼值、懸浮固體、溶解氧、五天生化需氧量及化學需氧量來計算達標率;後者以溶解氧、五天生化需氧量和氨氮水平三項參數制定水質指數(WQI),評估河溪有機污染水平和水體的一般健康狀況,由「極佳」至「極劣」分五個評級。

同樣地,即使水質符合了河溪水質指標,最後亦不代表河溪適合水生生物棲息。外國有研究指出,淡水生生物的溶解氧標準最低為每公升5毫克,但香港的最低溶解氧的水質指標是每公升4毫克。溶解氧愈低代表河水含氧量愈低,愈不利魚類生長。所以,在符合香港最低溶解氧標準的情況下,亦只有如非洲鰂(Tilapia spp.)和褔壽螺(Pomacea canaliculata)這些生命力極強的外來物種,才得以存活,一些較具生態價值的原生淡水魚,如北江光唇魚(Acrossocheilus beijiangensis)和寬鰭鱲(Zacco platypus),恐怕是活不成。最近本地大學亦有研究發現,在缺氧的環境下,青鱂(Oryzias latipes)的繁殖能力會下降,情況更會延續至下兩代。

污水處理的假象

日常生活會產生大量污水,單單是家居污水,包括了廚房和廁所因洗濯、梳洗清潔、排泄排遺等所產生的廢水,工商農業所產生的污水更是林林種種。所有污水均會收集到污水處理設施處理。

現時香港每日從住宅、商業和工業處收集的廢水達280萬立方米,約相當於1,480個標準泳池。污水經污水處理設施處理後,再經深海排放管排出大海。可能令大家意想不到的是,部分污水處理設施只會篩除固體廢物和清除砂礫,污水隨即便排放出大海,絕大部分污水也只達二級處理。

所謂二級處理,即污水經過隔篩和清除砂礫程序後,再以沉澱過程清除污水中的可沉澱總懸浮固體,繼而利用微生物去消耗污水中的有機污染物。處理目標是排放的污水,達到符合標準的低總懸浮固體和低生化需氧量。

懸浮固體的水質指標是以「不超過原來水平的某個百分比」,或「不會造成懸浮固體堆積對水生生物群體造成不良影響」為基礎。至於甚麼是「不良影響」則沒有清楚界定。至於生化需氧量,目前本港大部分河溪水質指標的生化需氧量為每公升30毫克,歐洲國家的標準卻是每公升30毫克以下,以維持水生生物生存。

水的毒理性被忽視

家工商農所產生的污水的污染物種類繁多,即使污水處理技術可一一處理,但由於每日要處理的污水量十分龐大,要做到徹底除污,有一定難度。所以,經處理的污水顯然仍是污水,只是污染物減少至「可接受水平」。

值得注意的是,現時香港的污水處理,並沒有針對去除一些非天然物質,包括重金屬、有機氯,以及林林總總的藥物,例如是抗生素和作避孕用的雌激素,這些微量污染物卻會嚴重影響水生生物,例如改變海洋生物的性別,或直接毒殺生物,但現時還沒有清晰的相關水質指標。此外,在處理污水過程中,因消毒殺菌緣故而添加氯氣。氯氣與污水處理產生的氨經化學反應會產生氯胺、三鹵甲烷等有毒化學物,會直接毒害水生生物。

外國有研究將水生動物放入混有二級至三級污水處理後的水中,測量污水對水生動物的毒理影響。三級處理是很高水平的污水處理程序,主要利用生物反應池和過濾的方法,將有機污染物、總懸浮固體和營養物減至極低水平。不過,研究結果顯示,一般水質測量的化學參數濃度與對生物的毒性關聯不大,化學參數濃度低不代表生物毒性低,由於三級處理過程或會加入臭氧消毒,但臭氧卻增加了水的毒性,所以縱然污水經三級處理,仍對水生動物的生長以至生存有負面影響,水生動物的死亡率仍然甚高。

水質不只「以人為本」

從以上論述可見,人類安全和水生生物生存條件,在水質要求上並不相同。目前香港的水質指標主要是「以人為本」,即水質並不直接危害人類健康為最根本考慮,在此之上,並無進一步將水生生物所需納入考量。所以,水體看似是達到了水質指標,但仍不是適合水生生物生存。

歐美國家現時已引進廢水整體毒性測試,為水生食物鏈中的不同指標生物作毒理測試,透過監察牠們的生存率、生長和繁殖去檢視水質。美國加州的水質標準就更為積極,對於水質比水質標準更良好的水體,採取「反退化政策」,避免原先生態盎然的水體,情況反過來因生態考量較低的水質指標而倒退。

在香港,政府近年有意復修一些早年遭渠道化的市區河道,包括黃大仙的啟德河和元朗的山貝河。要美化河道,河道便要有源源不絕流動的水流過,當局因此有意引入經處理的污水作為水源。若美化河道只為人服務,要符合水質標準以達致安全親水目的,相信並不困難。但河道還有其生態功能,應該是兩岸植物茂盛,游魚、小蛙、蜻蜓棲息其中,生機處處。按目前本港的水質指標,要達致生態盎然,仍有一段距離。

水質所影響,所以當局應趁目前正在推行《生物多樣性策略及行動計劃》,把握時機制訂生態水質指標,例如加入毒理測試。這對於一些高生態價值的河流(例如東涌河)或海域(例如海下灣),以及高漁業價值的水域,一套涵蓋保育水生生態系統的水質指標,更能有效保護天然水水質及棲息其中的的生物。

河流是重要的生態系統,我們應以維持及提高河流生態為目標,而不是只滿足於河流為人們提供消閒娛樂的功能。

文| 鄭睦奇博士、呂德恒

Image
© Henry Lui
泳灘水質只以大腸桿菌數量作指標
Image
相對泳灘,海水水質指標較為複雜,但仍不足以保護海洋生物。
Image
© Kuan Yu-kuen
河流水質是否符合親水標準已足夠?
Image
寬鰭鱲易受污染影響
Image
沙田污水處理廠,採用二級處理系統,處理後的污水其實仍不適合水生動物生長。
Image
即使污水經過處理,亦不宜排放到高生態價值的河流。
Image
啟德河的水源來自沙田及大埔污水處理廠
Image
要河流生態盎然,便要制定生態水質指標。

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk

九龍旺角登打士街56號
栢裕商業中心23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)

接收本會資料