1. Home
  2. >
  3. All About Green

Animals in Captivity

Green Country Vol.122 (Oct 2016)
Author: Green Power

On this year’s Empty the Tanks Day, a few conservation groups and members of the public went to the Ocean Park Hong Kong to protest against the captivity of animals and animal shows in the park. Earlier, tens of thousands of signatures were collected on the internet to plead for the closure of an aquarium in Guangzhou, due to concerns regarding the suspected lack of care for a Polar Bear (Ursus maritimus) kept in the aquarium. As early as the 1880s, zoos became places for people to get close to many kinds of animals from around the world. Yet as people pay more attention to animal rights, moral standards on animal treatment are spotlighted, and there are now more opposing voices to the captivity of animals. Is the historical role of zoos now over?

Urban dwellers live away from nature. They find great curiosity and interest in wild animals, particular the larger ones that are seldom seen. Commercial zoos are operated with such popular support. Some zoos, on the other hand, are built for educational purposes by governments. Zoos first appeared in the 18th century and those with scientific and educational purposes were built from the late 18th century. Aquariums with marine animals came later, in the mid-19th century.

Today many cities have large zoos and aquariums which serve as leisure facilities for both local and foreign tourists. Some famous ones include the Singapore Zoo, National Museum of Marine Biology and Aquarium in Taiwan and Okinawa Churaumi Aquarium in Japan. In Hong Kong, the most popular one is Ocean Park. Besides, there are numerous government-run zoos, such as Hong Kong Zoological and Botanical Gardens, where large animals like Bornean Orang-utan (Pongo pygmaeus) and Raccoon (Procyon lotor) are kept, and Hong Kong Park, Kowloon Park, and Yuen Long Park. You may not think about these latter city parks as zoos, but there are in fact large aviaries with many foreign wild birds inside. In the Wetland Park and some museums, there are also animals display facilities such as fish tanks.

Zoos and aquariums provide entertainment for the public and are indeed popular leisure facilities. Commercial operations are profitable and promote economies and tourism. From the positive side, these facilities allow the public to see many kinds of wild animals from around the world without the need to travel long distances. It is a convenient, safe and time-saving way to observe these animals. Aquariums are particularly valuable, in that marine creatures are hard to see. Zoos and aquariums open the eyes of the public and let them learn about different animals in nature.

Conservation value of zoos

Apart from providing leisure, some zoos and aquariums have conservational values too. Ex-situ conservation preserves certain individuals of the population, and sometimes they undergo cross-breeding with individuals of the same species at another zoo or aquarium to boost the species' survival chances.

Many rare species are threatened by habitat destruction (e.g. chimpanzees in the rainforests) or over-catching (e.g. rhinos). Zoos can provide refuges for these animals. For instance, ChimpanZoo is an international research programme founded by renowned chimpanzee researcher Dame Jane Goodall with participation from numerous countries. The aim is to adopt retrieved smuggled juvenile chimps and illegally caught adult chimps. The zoo also acts as a research base for long term close observation of apes, which supplements field studies and contributes to chimpanzee conservation. Another example is China Conservation and Research Center for the Giant Panda in Sichuan. This is an important base for the research and breeding of the rare Giant Panda (Ailuropoda melanoleuca). It also works with various zoos around the world to protect the endangered species, while people worldwide can get a close look at Giant Pandas.

However, all along there have been a lot of controversies around captive animals in zoos and aquariums, particularly those that operate commercially with emphasis on entertainment. In recent years, public awareness of conservation and animal rights is on the rise, and criticism and opposition to captive animals are also intensifying.

Captive means torture

Firstly, a captive environment poses great psychological stress on the animals. No matter how close to nature is the artificial environment, it is totally different to the natural habitat, which causes stress to the animals in captivity. The general shortening of lifespan of captive animals as compared to the wild population is a case in point. In the wild, Killer Whales (Orcinus orca) can reach 30 to 50 years of age, while those in captivity on average have a lifespan of 13 only years.

In animals with more developed thinking and feeling systems, stereotypic behaviour—repetitive action without obvious objectives—often appears in captivity. Bears in a zoo, for example, may walk in circles, swing their heads and pace for long hours. These stereotypic behaviours reflect the psychological pressure and suffering of the animals. In a captive environment, some animals fail to grow healthily, both physiologically and psychologically. Hence, many regard the captivity of animals as torture to the animals.

Besides, many animals in zoos and aquariums are caught from the wild. Some are bred from wild caught animals. In either case, the animals are first caught in the wild. This will directly reduce the wild population, particularly those rare species with commercial value. Many animals, including migratory birds and fishes, cannot be bred in an artificial environment. Their appearance in zoos and aquariums means that they are continuously caught in the wild.

Dolphins are found in almost all large aquariums. Artificial breeding of dolphins is very difficult, so most dolphins are caught in the wild. In the famous documentary The Cove, produced in 2009, the cruelty of hunting and killing dolphins is exposed. Dolphins are herded by fishing vessels into the cove and aquarium staff pick suitable individuals for show business. The remaining dolphins are slaughtered en masse for the meat. Despite the fact that many aquariums claim their dolphins are legally acquired, the film does expose the truth that few would know.

Twisting animal habits

Most commercially-operated zoos and aquariums provide animal shows to increase attraction. These signature shows, such as a Killer Whales jumping above the water and whistling, parrots cycling and monkeys roller skating, are important programmes to attract visitors, while at the same time result from cruel treatment in which the animals undergo long term training and conditioning which is contrary to their natural behaviour. Children that watch these shows may gain the wrong impression that these twisted behaviours are inborn.

Not only are commercially operated zoos and aquariums being condemned, the educational functions of publicly run zoos and aquariums are also questioned. Most visitors are actually attracted by the striking appearances and behaviours of animals; only few are serious about learning about nature from zoos and aquariums. Besides, ex-situ conservation is not ideal, as the living environments of the animals are not their natural habitats. There is call for more in-situ conservation – that is, setting up reserves at the natural homes of the wild animals.

In-situ conservation may be the best. But specific conditions and needs of different species have to be taken into account. For those animals with habitats destroyed or no longer able to survive in the wild, ex-situ conservation may be needed, such as in the case of the previously mentioned ChimpanZoo and China Conservation and Research Center for the Giant Panda. Closer to home, we have Kadoorie Farm and Botanic Garden in Hong Kong, which is open to the public, and hosts numerous birds, reptiles and fishes, as well as large mammals such as Wild Boar (Sus scrofa) and Red Muntjac (Muntiacus muntjak). Many of these have been recovered from smuggling activities or saved from injury. These institutes focus on conservation and research and caring for the animals, and only display the animals for educational purposes under suitable conditions. This is different from the zoos and aquariums that prioritise leisure and entertainment purposes.

Personal behaviour and animal welfare

In any case, discussion regarding the closure of zoos and aquariums has started around the world. More and more people locally and worldwide are opposed to captive animals. The increasing value placed on animal rights is an emblem of human civilisation.

It may seem that the captivity of animals in zoos and aquariums is not relevant to our daily lives. We can just refuse to watch the animal shows or boycott the shopping centres that use captive animals as gimmick. However, let us reflect on whether we have ever tried to catch fish and shrimps in streams? Or harvested crabs and clams on the coast? Or caught insects in the woods and brought them back home? These are all related to the concept of animal welfare and animal captivity.

If we keep pets at home, we had better choose those that are artificially bred. Avoid keeping rare species, or introduced foreign species that may not find the climate and environment suitable. In addition, never release living creatures carelessly. Releasing foreign species into the local environment will lead to ecological disasters. Even the release of local species may affect the wild populations. And it is often difficult to identify the species. Concern for animal rights and welfare is closely bound to our daily lives.

Image
Urban dwellers find great interest in large mammals.
Image
Photo from Pixabay
Marine creatures are hard to see. Aquariums allow the public to closely observe these species.
Image
© Henry Lui
Considerable scientific data on Giant Pandas is collected from captive individuals.
Image
Photo from Pixabay
Killer Whales in captivity live shorter lives than their counterparts in the wild.
Image
© Henry Lui
Dolphin shows stir up great controversy.
Image
© Henry Lui
Marine animals such as sea lions and seals are kept in Ocean Park's Pacific Pier.

Subscribe

Contact Us

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
Rm. 2314, 23/F.,Gala Place,
56 Dundas Street, Mongkok, Kln.
Opening Hours:
Monday to Friday 9:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.;
2:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. (Closed on Saturday, Sunday and public holidays)

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 專題

圈養動物

綠田野 第122期(2016年10月)

今年的國際反圈養活動日,保育團體聯同市民數十人到香港香港海洋公園示威,抗議園方多年來圈養動物,部分動物更需要表演,嚴重侵害動物權益。早前,數以萬計網民聯署要求關閉廣州一座海洋館,因當中的北極熊(Ursus maritimus)疑未有獲適當照料,令人關注野生動物於動物園的棲息條件。動物園早於十上世紀八十年代經已出現,一直是市民消閒及接觸世界各地奇珍異獸的好去處。然而,隨著愈來愈多人關注動物權益,對待動物的道德標準日漸提升,反對圈養動物的聲音日大,動物園是否已完成它的歷史任務?

城市人雖然遠離大自然,但對野生動物仍然好奇和感興趣,尤其是一些較少見而又大型的野生動物,吸引力就更大。人們對這些野生動物的愛好程度,足以支持以收取入場費維生的商業模式動物園,亦有不少政府因為教育目的而建立動物園。動物園早於十八世紀已出現,而一些兼具科學和教育用途的動物園,則在十八世紀末出現,至於以海洋動物為主題的水族館,則在十九世紀中開始陸續建立。

現時很多城市都有大型動物園和水族館,除了是當地市民的消閒娛樂設施,不少更是主要旅遊景點,招徠外地遊客,例如是新加坡動物園、台灣的國立海洋生物博物館和日本的沖繩美麗海水族館。香港也有大型動物園和水族館,最為人熟悉又廣受歡迎的當然要數海洋公園,此外,香港還有一些由政府運作的動物園,例如香港動植物公園,園內飼養了不少大型動物如婆羅洲猩猩(Pongo pygmaeus)和浣熊(Procyon lotor)等。還有香港動植物公園、香港公園、九龍公園和元朗公園,雖然較少人會聯想到這些大型市區公園是動物園,但其實這些公園內均有大型鳥籠,飼養了多種外地的野生鳥類。而濕地公園和一些博物館,也有一些如魚缸之類的動物展示設施。

動物園和水族館無疑是受城市人歡迎的康樂設施,為市民提供娛樂,而商業運作的動物園和水族館更可賺取利潤,推動經濟和旅遊業。從正面來看,動物園和水族館的確讓能夠讓市民一次過接觸來自世界各地的野生動物,不用長途跋涉,既方便、安全又省時。而海中的生物更是難得一見,水族館便成為觀賞海洋生物的難得途徑。動物園和水族館不但讓市民一開眼界,也令市民更了解自然界的各種生物。

動物園的保育功能

除了消閒娛樂用途,部分動物園和水族館也具保育功能,即所謂「非原址保育」,意思是將物種小部分個體保存,有些更會與外地動物園或水族館內的同種繁殖,延續該物種活體的保存時間。

不少珍貴物種正遭受生境破壞和消失的影響(例如生活在熱帶雨林的黑猩猩),又或是正遭受大量濫捕或濫殺威脅(例如犀牛),以動物園作為這些物種的避難所,也是一個折衷方法。例如由世界多個國家共同參與的黑猩猩動物園國際研究計劃,由世界著名的黑猩猩研究學者珍.古道爾女爵士成立,原意是收養由政府截獲的走私幼年黑猩猩,以及遭到非法捕捉的黑猩猩,動物園亦是類人猿動物的研究基地,可近距離和長時間觀察牠們,彌補野外研究的不足之處,對保育黑猩猩有很大貢獻。又例如四川的中國保護大熊貓研究中心,是稀有大熊貓(Ailuropoda melanoleuca)的重要研究及培育基地,並與世界各地的動物園交流和合作,對保育已瀕臨絕種的大熊貓扮演著重要角色,同時亦讓來自世界各地的遊客,近距離接觸難得一見的大熊貓。

然而,對於動物園和水族館圈養動物,一直有不少爭議,尤其針對一些主要以提供娛樂的商業運作動物園和水族館。近年,隨著普羅大眾的自然保育意識日漸提升,亦愈來愈多人重視動物權益,質疑和反對動物園和水族館圈養動物的聲音亦愈來愈多。

圈養等同虐待

首先,是圈養環境對動物心理所造成的影響。無論人工圈養環境營造得有多接近大自然,始終有別於天然環境,對被圈養動物亦會造成一定的壓力,這點可體現於圈養動物的壽命一般較野生群體為短,例如野生的虎鯨(又稱殺人鯨 Orcinus orca)平均壽命有30至50歲,圈養的平均壽命卻只有13歲。

對於一些思想和感觀較為發達的動物,在圈養環境中更常有「規癖行為」的出現,牠們會進行一些重複的、在形式上表現一致並且無明顯功能的行為,例如動物園中的熊類不時會連續幾個小時重複地繞圈、晃腦和踱步。規癖行為反映出動物處於受壓抑或心理痛苦的狀態,可見部分動物在圈養環境下,生理和心理都不能健康發展。因此,不少人認為圈養動物等同虐待動物。

此外,不少動物園和水族館的動物是從野外捕捉回來,有些則是先從野外捕捉再經繁殖,才放於動物園和水族館給人觀賞。無論如何,動物園和水族館的動物均是首先從野外捕捉而來。野外捕捉會直接減少野外種群的個體數量,對於一些珍稀而具商業價值的物種影響更大。再者,不少動物例如有遷徙習性的鳥類、迴游性魚類等,根本難以在人工環境下繁殖,所以大家看見牠們出現在動物園和水族館,即是說是被人不斷在野外捕捉而來的。

又例如差不多見於所有大型水族館的海豚,由於人工繁殖十分困難,海豚大部分都是由野外捕捉。2009年著名紀錄片《海豚灣》就揭露了捕捉和屠殺海豚的殘暴手法,捕豚船會將海豚困在海灣,然後讓水族館職員挑選適合表演的個體,剩下不合用的會遭大規模宰殺作食用,儘管不少水族館也聲稱海豚來自合法途徑,但影片確實揭露了鮮為人知的真相。

違反動物習性

大部分以商業運作的動物園和水族館,都會加入動物表演環節以增加趣味性,這些娛樂表演不少更是動物園和水族館的恆常招牌活動,是吸引遊人參觀的重要節目。虎鯨跳離水面鳴叫、鸚鵡踏單車、猴子玩滾軸溜冰……統統都有違自然,是透過長期訓練和強迫而來,做法殘忍,亦令觀看的孩童接收錯誤訊息,以為這些扭曲的行為是動物的自然習性。

除了一些以商業運作為基礎的動物園和水族館為人所垢病,一些公營的動物園和水族館的教育功能亦備受質疑。首先,大部分人只會留意野生動物逗趣的外貌和行為,抱娛樂消閒心態為主,認真從動物園和水族館認識大自然的實在不多。其次是動物園和水族館的非原址保育功能,其實動物由始至終亦並非生活在最理想的環境,所以愈來愈多人提出原址保育,即在野生動物天然家園設立保護區,才是正確方向。

能夠作原址保育當然是最理想,但亦要考慮不同物種的個別情況和需要,例如對於一些生境已遭破壞,或缺乏野外謀生能力的動物來說,也許非原址保育亦有其實際需要。遠一點有之前提及的黑猩猩動物園國際研究計劃、中國保護大熊貓研究中心,近一點有香港的嘉道理農場暨植物園,園內亦有開放給公眾參觀的動物園區,展示各種鳥類、爬行類、魚類等等,以及本地大型動物如野豬(Sus scrofa)和赤麂(Muntiacus muntjak)等,當中不少是從走私活動中充公而來,或是一些獲救的受傷動物。這些機構都是以保育先行,在研究或照料動物期間,在合適的情況才將動物作教育展示用途,與康樂用途為主的動物園和水族館不能混為一談。

個人行為與動物福祉

無論如何,世界各地也開始有關閉動物園和水族館的討論,本港以至世界各地參與反圈養行動的市民亦愈來愈多,人們對動物權益的重視程度的提升,正正是人類文明的一大體現。

可能一般人認為圈養動物是動物園和水族館的事,跟我們日常生活沒有密切關係,我們只要拒絕觀看動物表演,或拒絕光顧那些以圈養動物作招徠的商場即可。然而,到溪澗捕捉魚蝦、到海岸捉蟹掘蜆、到樹林和草叢捕捉昆蟲,然後順手帶回家飼養,相信大家或多或少也曾做過。如果將善待動物、避免圈養的概念延伸至個人層面,大家以後到野外就要避免再犯,即使在家中飼養寵物,我們亦應選擇一些人工繁殖的物種,近年興起將稀有物種作寵物,又或在不合適的氣候環境飼養由遠方引入的物種作寵物,可免則免。此外,切忌胡亂放生,外來物種放生至本地環境,固然會引起生態災難,即使是放生本地物種,也可能會影響野外種群,況且飼養物種是很難分辨其品種是否純正的。對動物福祉和關注的提升,絕對需要於每個人的日常生活層面體現出來。

文|呂德恒、鄭睦奇博士

Image
城市人對大型猛獸充滿好奇
Image
Photo from Pixabay
海洋動物難以觀察,水族館則讓市民作近距離觀賞。
Image
© Henry Lui
不少大熊貓的科學資料均是從圈養個體搜集而來
Image
Photo from Pixabay
圈養的虎鯨平均壽命較野生群體短得多
Image
© Henry Lui
海豚表演存在很大的爭議
Image
© Henry Lui
香港海洋公園的太平洋海岸,圈養了包括海獅和海豹在內的海洋動物。

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk

九龍旺角登打士街56號
栢裕商業中心23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)

接收本會資料