1. Home
  2. >
  3. Feature

Biodiversity and Our Daily Lives
Hong Kong Produces the First Action Plan

Green Country Vol. 120 (Jun 2016)

In 1992, 193 countries, including China, signed the Convention on Biological Diversity at the Earth Summit. Under this, Hong Kong is likewise obliged to follow the rule and realise the conservation of biological diversity. Hong Kong’s first Biodiversity Strategy and Action Plan is expected to be completed by the end of this year.

Hong Kong is a modern city. Biodiversity seems to be an environmental issue outside the city and not many people care about it. The fact is, every choice we make in our daily lives affects biodiversity.

The term “biodiversity” first appeared in 1986. Academically, it refers to the degree of diversity of the whole Earth or a specific place, covering the ecosystem, species and genetic level. Diversity of the ecosystem is defined by different habitats such as forests, rivers and rocky shores. Diversity of species refers to variety of plants and animals. Diversity of genes refers to the degree of variation of the genetic combinations within a species. In practice, biodiversity maintains the balance of the ecosystem and matter cycles.

Clean air, water and food—the basic elements of human survival—depend on the ecosystem which, in turn is maintained by biodiversity. Yet, humans have failed to protect biodiversity and instead keep damaging it.

At the Earth Summit in 1992, 193 countries, including China, signed the Convention on Biological Diversity; and in 2010 they passed the Strategic Plan for Biodiversity 2011-2020. The objective is to encourage ratifying parties and stakeholders to adopt measures to protect local biodiversity in the next decade. Hong Kong has to follow China and formulate a local Biodiversity Strategy and Action Plan (hereafter Action Plan). This work is carried out by the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department. After 18 months of discussions, the public consultation was completed in April of this year, and the report is expected to be announced within this year.

Overuse brings damage to balance

All aspects of our daily lives – including clothing, food, housing and transport, are closely related to biodiversity. Plants such as cotton and hemp, and animal fur and feathers such as wool, duck down, and leather are garment materials that come from nature.

However, our choice of clothing materials may lead to damage to biodiversity. For instance, fur made from rabbits and minks; bags and shoes made from crocodile skin; Tibetan antelope shawls, and ivory bracelets and necklaces. Demand for these is pushing rare wild animals towards extinction due to their value as sources of raw materials, affecting biodiversity and ecological balance. Some merchants may try artificial rearing, yet there are still problems with inhumane treatment of animals.

Food and biodiversity are even more closely associated. Most food comes directly from living things in nature, such as fish in the sea and other seafood. Over-harvesting damages the biodiversity of the oceans. Last year, the World Wide Fund for Nature released a report indicating that on average, almost the populations of over a thousand ocean species fell by over a half during 1970 to 2012. The major reason is over-exploitation of ocean resources by humans.

Our staple foods including rice, wheat and vegetables all come from nature. Many people may ignore the relationship between these crops and biodiversity, as we rarely pick these foods directly from the wild. Instead, they are cultivated by farmers and sold in the market. Agricultural produce still relies on the power of nature. For example, fruits such as tomatoes, apples and oranges depend on insects for pollination in farms. Healthy soil also depends on micro-organisms for maintenance. If farmers want to improve crops, they have to make use of genes of the wild species. Only a diverse source of plants can provide genetic resources for hybridisation.

Our healthcare is also closely related to biodiversity. Chinese medicines, whether they are the upmarket Chinese Caterpillar Fungus, Dendrobium and Balanophora or the low cost Glabrous Greenbrier Rhizome, Beautiful Millettia Root and Honeysuckle Flower, come from plants. Though most Western medicines seem to be chemical-based, many originated from living things. Examples include: Atropine for treatment of poisoning, which is from Deadly Nightshade (Atropa belladonna); Paclitaxel for cancer treatment is from Chinese Yew (Taxus chinensis), and Aspirin for pain treatment originated from a component of Willow bark.

Unfortunately, sometimes people are excessively attracted by rare and expensive medicines such as Golden Coin Turtle and Incense Tree, leading to over-harvesting of the wild populations as it is difficult to cultivate these species artificially. Locally, these two species are close to extinction in the wild.

Indirect links that are easily overlooked

Sometimes, we do not take directly from nature, but seemingly unrelated things also impact biodiversity.

City life relies heavily on energy. In many places including Hong Kong, fossil fuels are used for electricity generation. Exploitation and burning fossil fuels releases large amount of greenhouse gases, and causes global warming and climate change, threatening all life on earth. Yet some renewable sources of energy, even those releasing less greenhouse gases, directly impact biodiversity. For example, large dams are built for hydroelectric power, fragmenting river hydrology and ecosystems and stopping fish migrations and reproduction.

Luxuries such as gold and gems do not come from living things. But their extraction involves great damage to habitats. Take diamonds for example. Some 90% of diamonds worldwide originate from unknown sources. Diamond mining uses large amounts of mercury and cyanide, polluting rivers and soil and poisoning many terrestrial and aquatic plants and animals.

Palm oil is used in some daily products such as soap, cosmetics, foodstuffs and even industrial products like anti-rust agents and car fuel additives. The high demand has led to large scale destruction of native forests in some countries, to plant African Oil Palm (Elaeis guineensis). From 2009 to 2011, a quarter of rainforests in Indonesia were felled by the palm oil industry. If the situation continues, it is estimated that three quarters of native forests in South East Asia will disappear by 2030. Rainforest is a treasury of many living things. Its vanishing directly affect global biodiversity.

Some large-scale infrastructure such as building railroads and highways in the countryside will fragment natural habitats. More long-distance cross-border traffic means more chance of bringing exotic species from one place to another, creating problems of invasive species that threaten native species. All these factors affect biodiversity to different extents.

Everyone should take up responsibility

Hong Kong’s first Action Plan will soon be released. We hope that the government can pinpoint the causes of loss of biodiversity locally, and publish more effective measures for conservation. In Hong Kong, large-scale infrastructure is the greatest threat to local biodiversity. Avoidance, alleviation and mitigation must be adopted in infrastructure works, to protect local habitats and species. At present, only certain habitats and species of conservation value are protected. The loopholes in legislation should be mended.

At the same time, consideration of biodiversity should be adopted in the work guidelines of all government departments. Protection of biodiversity should be taken into consideration in routine work, works and procurement. Many products, such as paper from the Forest Stewardship Council (FSC), are certified as being less harmful to biodiversity, and can be purchased by the government departments. ISO14000 and ISO14001 are the management standards related to environmental protection. Encouraging the commercial sector to adopt these standards in their management can also help to protect biodiversity.

Individually, we can also contribute a lot. First we should say “No!” to products and foods that originate from rare species. They are not necessities and substitutes can be easily found. We should pay more attention to the sources of what we use and eat. In recent years, some green groups have prepared eco guidance for choosing seafood so our consumption will not deplete the ocean resources. More and more personal care products avoid palm oil or choose POIG (the Palm Oil Innovation Group) certified palm oil, which originates from sustainable palm plantations. Reduce electricity use, use public transport and bringing no foreign species back to Hong Kong can all help to protect local biodiversity.

Protecting biodiversity means proper and sustainable use of natural resources. It is an issue close to our daily lives. We hope that the Action Plan can heighten public awareness of biodiversity, and allow Hong Kong people to choose an environmentally friendly way of consumption in order to conserve biodiversity.

Text | Henry Lui & Dr. Cheng Luk-ki

Image
All living things depend on clean water, which in turn is maintained by biodiversity.
Image
Nature provides all we need in our daily life
Image
Railways and highways fragment natural habitats.
Image
Foreign species affect the survival of native species (Tilapia as shown in the photograph has occupied many river habitats in Hong Kong.)
Image
Public consultation on Biodiversity Strategy and Action Plan in Hong Kong

Subscribe

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 專題

生物多樣性
日常生活影響與關聯 香港首份保護計劃出台

綠田野 第120期(2016年6月)

全球193個國家於1992年的地球高峰會上簽署了《生物多樣性公約》國際公約,中國是簽署國之一,香港因而跟從公約規定,落實保護生物多樣性,而香港首份《生物多樣性策略及行動計劃》有望於年內完成。

香港是現代化城市,生物多樣性看似是城市以外的動植物問題,是眾多環保議題的其中之一,很多人未有對此認真關心起來。事實是,我們日常生活幾乎每一件用品均依賴生物多樣性去提供。另方面,我們日常生活的每一個選擇,亦正影響著生物多樣性。

「生物多樣性」一詞首次出現於1986年。從學術上來說,是指整個地球或某一處地方的生物種類的多寡程度,包括了生態系統、物種,以至基因層面的多樣性。生態系統的多樣性是指不同的生境,如樹林、河流、岩岸等;物種的多樣性是指不同的動植物;基因的多樣性則是指某一物種中基因組合的變異程度。在實際功能上來說,生物多樣性維持了生態系統平衡和物質的循環。

人類賴以生存的基本元素,包括了清新的空氣、潔淨的食水、充足的食物,均是依靠生態系統去維持,而生態系統則是依靠生物多樣性去維繫。雖然如此,人類並沒有好好保護生物多樣性,反而不斷作出破壞。

1992年的地球高峰會,全球包括中國在內的193個國家簽署了《生物多樣性公約》國際公約,並在2010年通過《2011-2020生物多樣性策略計劃》,目標是促使所有締約國家及持分者在未來十年,採取行動保護該國的生物多樣性。香港由於中國是簽署公約國之一,亦需跟從公約規定,落實保護生物多樣性,制定本地的《生物多樣性策略及行動計劃》(下稱《計劃》)。香港的有關工作由漁農自然護理署負責,經過了約一年半時間的討論,在今年四月完成公眾諮詢,預料年內香港首份《計劃》便可出台。

過度使用 破壞平衡

日常生活的不同範疇,包括了衣、食、住、行,均與生物多樣性息息相關。衣著方面,綿、麻是普遍的製衣材料,來自植物。亦有不少衣飾的原材料是動物的皮毛,包括了最常用的羊毛、鴨絨毛、牛皮等。無論是植物或動物,亦是取材自大自然。

然而,人們對衣飾原材料的選擇,有時候會嚴重破壞生物多樣性,例如以兔子、水貂皮毛製成的皮草;以鱷魚皮製成的手袋或皮鞋;以藏羚羊毛製成的披肩;以象牙製成的飾物如手鐲、頸鏈等,這些以稀珍野生動物作原材料,令不少物種瀕臨絕種,大大影響生物多樣性,破壞生態平衡。雖然某些生產商會利用人工飼養,但卻出現不人道對待動物等問題。

食物與生物多樣性的關係就更加密切,人類絕大部分食物都是直接以生物作為食材,包括了海中的游魚和其他海產,但過度捕撈又會破壞海洋的生物多樣性。世界自然基金會去年發表報告,分析了過千個海洋物種,發現牠們的族群在1970至2012年間平均減少了近接一半,而族群大幅度下降的主要原因是人類過度開採海洋資源。

至於我們的主食如米、麥,以及蔬果,同樣取材自大自然。由於這些都是以農耕生產,例如我們甚少從野外直接採摘蘋果食用,而是由果農大量種植並供應市場,不少人因此而忽略了這些農產品與生物多樣性的關係。其實由人工生產的農產品,仍需要依賴大自然的力量,例如蕃茄、蘋果、橙等果實,仍然是依賴昆蟲在農場內傳播花粉,土壤的健康亦有賴微生物維繫。如果農夫想改良品種,亦需要利用野生植物身上的基因,多樣化的植物才能提供豐富多樣的基因作雜交測試。

藥物亦與生物多樣性息息相關,中藥很多時是取材自植物,不論是貴價的冬蟲夏草、石斛、蛇菰,還是平價的土伏苓、牛大力、金銀花等。至於西藥,看似是化學合成,但其實不少都是從生物提煉出來,例如治療中毒的阿托品提煉自顛茄(Atropa belladonna);治療癌症的紫杉醇提煉自紅豆杉(Taxus chinensis);治療痛症的阿士匹靈,早期亦是提煉自柳樹。

然而,人們過份迷戀珍稀藥材,例如金錢龜、土沉香,由於野生數量不多,亦難於人工大量養殖或種植,過度採捕嚴重破壞了其野生種群。以香港本土為例,野生的金錢龜、土沉香已接近絕跡於郊野。

間接關聯 易於忽略

有時,我們並沒有直接取用大自然物種作為原材料,一些表面看似與生物多樣性無關的東西,事實亦間接聯繫著生物多樣性。

城市生活十分依賴能源,目前不少地方包括香港,主要依賴化石燃料發電。開採和使用化石燃料會排放大量溫室氣體,造成全球暖化和氣候變化,威脅著地球所有生物。可是,某些可再生能源,溫室氣體排放雖然較少,但對生物多樣性卻帶來直接影響,例如水力發電,需要修建大型堤壩,將河流的水文和生態割裂,阻礙魚類等水中動物洄游,令魚類不能洄游繁殖。

一些生活奢侈品如黃金、寶石等雖然不是取材自生物,但其開採卻嚴重破壞生境。以鑽石為例,全球近九成鑽石來自來歷不明的鑽石場,開採鑽石使用大量水銀和山埃,嚴重污染河流和土壤,大規模毒害陸上和水中的動植物。

一些日用品如肥皂、化妝品,某些類型的食品工業,以至工業製品如防鏽劑及汽車燃料等,亦有機會使用棕櫚油,目的是提高保鮮期。由於需求龐大,一些熱帶國家近年大規模破壞原生樹林以獲取土地種植油棕(Elaeis guineensis)。在2009至2011年間,印尼約四分一的雨林已遭棕櫚油企業砍伐。若情況持續,估計至2030年,東南亞將有四分三的原始森林消失。熱帶雨林是生物寶庫,它的消失直接影響著全球生物多樣性。

還有一些大型基建,例如在鄉郊興建鐵路和公路,道路宛如將一片完整的土地割開,割裂了物種的生存環境。又例如長途跨國交通愈頻繁,愈多機會將一國的物種帶到另一國家,衍生出外來入侵物種問題,令各地的原生物種受到威脅。凡此種種,均會不同程度影響著生物多樣性。

日常選擇 人人有責

香港首份《計劃》即將出台,我們期望政府更能對準本地生物多樣性下降的原因,更有效保護生物多樣性。香港以大型基建對生物多樣性影響尤甚,凡涉及基建工程的,均需以避免、緩減或補償等手段,保護本地各種生境和生物,而不是只針對一些有保育價值的生境和物種,以補足現行法例只保護稀有瀕危物種或某些特定生境的漏洞。

同時,生物多樣性應納入各政府部門的工作指引,即所謂「主流化」,使各部門的恆常工作、工程、採購等均將保護生物多樣性納入考慮之列。例如現時不少產品都有環保認證,如森林管理委員會(FSC)的紙張,日後政府部門便要選購具認證的物品。ISO14000或ISO14001是針對環境問題的管理體系認證標準,推動商業機構採納這些認證標準作為公司的管理方針,亦有助保護生物多樣性。

個人方面,我們可以做的亦相當多,首先當然是拒絕選用稀珍物種作原材料的用品和食物,它們多數都不是生活必需品,很容易便找到取代品。還要多關心手上物品的來源,例如近年有環保團體製作環保海鮮選擇指引,大家食用海鮮之餘,亦不致耗盡海洋資源。亦有愈來愈多個人護理品牌不使用棕櫚油,或選用POIG認證棕櫚油,即棕櫚來自非破壞雨林的棕櫚林。此外,節約用電、多選公共交通工具、不攜帶外地物種回港等等,通通亦有助保護本地生物多樣性。

保護生物多樣性即是可持續地善用天然資源。重視生物多樣性的價值,其實是很切身、很生活化的議題。我們亦期望將出台的《計劃》能著力推廣普羅大眾了解生物多樣性,讓香港人在個人生活層面上,選擇對環境友善的消費方式,共同保護生物多樣性。

文|呂德恒、鄭睦奇博士

Image
潔淨的食水是生命之源,亦有賴生物多樣性去維持。
Image
大自然各種生物為人類提供了生活所需
Image
鐵路和公路將自然生境一分為二。
Image
外來物種影響原生物種的生存空間(圖是外來物種福壽魚,現已大舉進佔香港河流生境。)
Image
《生物多樣性策略及行動計劃》公眾諮詢文件

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk

九龍旺角登打士街56號
栢裕商業中心23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)

接收本會資料