1. Home
  2. >
  3. Feature

River Park A new attempt to preserve a natural river in a new town in Hong Kong

Green Country Vol. 119 (Apr 2016)

Rivers collects rainwater and direct water flow to the sea. For thousands of years, rivers have been the cradle of life, communities and the economy. In today's Hong Kong, with a dense population and highrise buildings along the rivers, the usual practice is to straighten and broaden river channels and cover them with concrete to control flooding. The natural river landscapes have vanished, and so have the natural functions of rivers in purifying water, nurturing ecology and alleviating flooding. Natural rivers are replaced by lifeless concrete nullahs, such as Shan Pui River of Yuen Long, Lam Tsuen River of Tai Po, and Shing Mun River of Shatin. Tung Chung River is a rare natural river in Hong Kong. Since the 1990s, development in Tung Chung has threatened the river. Years of petitioning by local green groups have forced the government to reduce the reclamation size and designate the main flow of Tung Chung River as a Conservation Area. A River Park will also be built. This is a new attempt to retain a natural river in a new town in Hong Kong. How should the River Park be constructed, to avoid the fate of becoming a large nullah with artificial flower racks?

Tung Chung River is the only remaining large natural river in Hong Kong, with a rare estuary that is still free from serious damage by development projects. Tung Chung River originates from Lantau Peak and Sunset Peak and flows to Tung Chung Bay. The flow is abundant, with rich biodiversity. The river is home to quite a few rare and endangered species: Beijiang Thick-lipped Barb (Acrossocheilus beijiangensis), Romer's Tree Frog (Philautusromeri), Hong Kong Newt (Paramesotriton hongkongensis), Tri-spine Horseshoe Crab (Tachypleus tridentatus) and Pipefish. It has the richest freshwater fish species among local rivers and is designated as an "Ecologically Important Stream".

Development of Tung Chung New Town began in the 1990s. Today, over 300 hectares have been developed. In 2012, the Planning Department and the Civil Engineering and Development Department launched the Tung Chung New Town Extension Study. The initial proposal was to reclaim the sea at the estuary of Tung Chung River, which aroused much controversy as the estuary is of high ecological value. The government also planned, as common practice in developing new town, to channelise the natural river within the new town area for flood control and easy management. Tung Chung River passes through the new town development, and the lower course seemed likely to be completely covered by concrete. In the earlier stage, Wong Lung Hang in the south was channelised, and the river course was straightened and widened, then concrete was poured onto the deepened channel. The estuary here was reclaimed. Wong Lung Hang was as ecologically rich and had as good water quality as Tung Chung River. Upon channelisation, the natural landform and ecology were completely destroyed, and all that remains is an artificial drainage nullah.

Although the government has - in the Tung Chung New Town Extension Study - indicated that conservation elements would be added to improve drainage design, there are indeed no measures to ensure that the original flora and fauna could survive, as the habitat would be changed completely. Besides, Hong Kong has yet to develop proper works practice to safeguard river ecology. If the ecology of Tung Chung River is damaged in the beginning of the New Town Extension work, any improved drainage design would be futile. Green groups have therefore repeatedly emphasised the importance of Tung Chung River in past consultations on the New Town Extension Plan, and have submitted a joint petition to preserve the natural channel and estuary of Tung Chung River.

After years of petitioning, the government has now accepted the proposal to preserve the natural Tung Chung River. In the third stage public consultation, the related Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA) Report and the draft Tung Chung Valley Outline Zoning Plan, the authority has cancelled the reclamation plan at Tung Chung River estuary and Tung Chung Bay. The east and west main courses and a 30-metre wide band along the major tributary banks of Tung Chung River will be designated as Conservation Area. In addition, the lower course near the residential areas will not be channelised. Instead, polders will be built along the Conservation Area for flood control purposes, while minimising damage to the river habitat. Meanwhile, the government also proposed setting up a new River Park at the east river side, from Shek Mun Kap to Wong Ka Wai.

Say no to artificial park

The River Park is a new venture in Hong Kong that merits our support. Yet, can the designation of river channel and river bank as Conservation Area really protect the natural river ecology? Will it work by simply using polders to replace channelisation and carrying out an environmental impact assessment? The moves are in the right direction, but the most important part is the implementation. Otherwise, it is only empty talk. How will the public benefit through preserving Tung Chung River?

The name "River Park" raises some concern as to whether it will become a park of leisure facilities instead of functioning to preserve the natural state of Tung Chung River – that is, retaining the hydrology from the upper course to the estuary, to Tung Chung Bay. Therefore, there should be no artificial landscaping such as a built waterfall in the park that will change the hydrology while prohibiting river fauna from migrating between the upper and lower courses. Besides, the channel should not be covered with concrete for easy maintenance, as the impermeable concrete layer would be a barrier to water movement between the river and the subsurface water in the soil that nurtures the riverbank vegetation. During the dry season the underground water would also fail to supplement the river to maintain the flow.

All landscaping works should be avoided as far as possible. The natural river and coastal plants, soil, rocks and water pools form by erosion and sedimentation during a long period of time, and are impossible to recreate artificially. Even if these micro-habitats are re-created to a certain extent, they can hardly withstand flushing by flood water in future. Therefore, it is best to avoid civil engineering works in the river channel and along the banks.

Usually, surface flow and water collected in the storm water drains will not be treated and are directly discharged into nearby river. In the future extended Tung Chung New Town, these waters will also be discharged into Tung Chung River. The waters may be polluted and hence threaten the river ecology. The government plans to build a Sustainable Urban Drainage System (SUDS) in Tung Chung West, which will include a regional rainwater detention and infiltration pool. The system is intended to collect rainwater in the drains and filter it through a wetland ecology system before discharging into the river. If the water is seriously polluted, it will be treated in the sewage treatment plant. However, the system is new and yet to be proven effective. It is nonetheless a good beginning for the government to aim to tackle the pollution problem of surface and storm water flows.

Public-friendly water bodies

If the River Park can truly retain the ecology, water quality, landscape and the natural estuary of Tung Chung River, it will become a precious treasure for the public. There are already programmes of integrating rivers in the city in some parts of the world. For example, the Active, Beautiful, Clean (ABC) Waters Programme of Singapore has turned the rivers and lakes into parts of the city, and upgraded water quality and the environment so the public can fully enjoy the waters for leisure and recreation. The internationally renowned Cheonggyecheon in South Korea was a buried channel in the city that was re-engineered into an open area for the public to get close to natural water. In Taiwan, there are also river parks such as Dong-shan River Park, which adopt special landscaping designs.

Public safety in the River Park will be a major challenge too. Tung Chung River has a large gradient, and precipitation in Hong Kong may be heavy, and arrive suddenly. When a rainstorm arrives, water flow in Tung Chung River will rise rapidly. It is worrying that the River Park is within the flooding area.

The EIA report stated that there will be viewing decks and boardwalks for the public to enjoy the river. If the facilities are far from the channel, then safety is ensured while the public access function is reduced. If the facilities are close to the channel, then the viewing decks and boardwalks may be submerged in flood water during rainstorms. The facilities must be designed to avoid floodwater and damage by pebbles and rocks, and should be easily cleaned after rainstorms. In addition, visitors must be prohibited from using the facilities before a serious flood comes. With today's technology, the risk of flooding can be estimated. When there is a thunderstorm warning or poor weather, the facilities should be closed, as is the case with outdoor swimming pools.

Conservation before development

As Tung Chung River is a rare large local river that nurtures rich biodiversity, the River Park should put more emphasis on ecological education. There are many hiking trails and trekking sites near the river. A visitor centre can be set up at the River Park to provide information and guided tours for hiking and trekking activities, and even offer facilities, supplies, training and hostel services. At present, most visitor centres in country parks and the Wetland Park provide only visit and guided tour services. There is a lack of support for thorough ecotours.

River Park, polders and SUDS are all new to Hong Kong, indicating that the government has given up the outdated concept of transforming river channel into concrete nullahs when developing new towns. If it can be successfully implemented, the co-existence of city and natural river will become a classic example that allows the public to appreciate the significance of rivers. Green groups welcome the fact the government is finally responding to the public's call for protection of Tung Chung River.

Work on the extension plan for Tung Chung New Town will start soon. The rural area in the lower course of Tung Chung River will be transformed into residential areas. Green groups hope the government will put conservation before development: that is, to realise the Conservation Area and River Park before the development plan begins. The government must also closely monitor the extension work, to prevent the Conservation Area along the natural river from being occupied and damaged, and to ensure that the works do not damage or obstruct the river channel so as to minimise flooding risks during rainstorms.

Text | Henry Lui & Dr. Cheng Luk-ki

Tung Chung River is the only remaining large natural river in Hong Kong, with a rare estuary that is still free from damage by development projects.
Beijiang Thick-lipped Barb
The rare Seaweed Pipefish (Syngnathus schlegeli) can be found in Tung Chung Bay
Wong Lung Hang was once as ecologically rich as Tung Chung River. Yet after channelisation, its lower stretch has become a drainage channel.
The banks of Tung Chung River will be designated as Conservation Area.
A natural river has numerous functions
A natural river that was changed into a drain upon channelisation. (Picture shows the Shan Pui River converted into a nullah in Yuen Long)
Cheonggyecheon, South Korea, flows through a city centre, and the public can get close to the water.
There are many hiking trails near Tung Chung River. A visitor centre can be set up in the River Park to provide support for hikers.

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 專題

河畔公園香港首應用 保護新市鎮中的天然河流

綠田野 第119期(2016年4月)

河流,匯聚雨水,流入大海。千百年來,河流均是民生所依,是社區和經濟發展的基石。今日的香港,人口密集,河流兩旁滿是大廈商鋪,為防洪水氾濫,我們習慣簡單的將河道拉直、擴闊、鋪上混凝土,以迅速疏導洪水。河流的天然面貌自此蕩然無存,淨化水質、維繫生態、緩衝洪流等天然功能亦不復再,取而代之是了無生氣的石屎渠,例子有元朗的山貝河、大埔的林村河、沙田的城門河。東涌河,是本地碩果僅存的大型完整天然河流,自上世紀九十年代開始的東涌發展,東涌河的威脅便沒有停止過。在環保團體的多年爭取下,當局最近縮減了填海範圍,並將東涌河主要幹流劃作「自然保育區」,興建河畔公園。在新市鎮保留天然河道,是過去香港從未試過的,河畔公園要怎樣做,才可擺脫傳統「大坑渠」加上花槽的組合呢?

T東涌河可說是目前本地僅餘的大型完整天然河流,河口地區亦難得未受發展破壞。東涌河由鳳凰山和大東山流到東涌灣,流水連續不斷,生物多樣性尤其豐富,當中包括很多稀有和瀕危物種:北江光唇魚(Acrossocheilus beijiangensis)、盧氏小樹蛙(Philautusromeri)、香港瘰螈(Paramesotriton hongkongensis)、中國鱟(Tachypleus tridentatus)和海龍。東涌河亦是香港淡水魚物種最豐富的其中一條河流,也因此劃為「具重要生態價值河溪」。

東涌新市鎮發展早於九十年代開始,至今已發展面積超過三百公頃。2012年,規劃署和土木工程拓展署開展東涌新市鎮擴展研究,初期曾建議在東涌河河口填海,由於涉及生態價值極高的河口地區,當時引起很大爭議。此外,依據當局發展新市鎮的一貫做法,位於新市鎮的天然河道會遭渠道化,為的是防洪和方便管理。東涌河位處東涌新市鎮擴展範圍,相信亦會遭遇同一命運,即是說東涌河下游的天然面貌將被人工石屎完全取締。此擔憂不無道理,當時東涌新市鎮早期的發展,南面的黃龍坑隨即進行渠道化工程,河道被拉直、擴闊、挖深、鋪上混凝土,河口更被填海發展。黃龍坑原本與東涌河一樣水質良好,生態盎然,渠道化後天然面貌及生態蕩然無存,彷如一條人工排水渠。

雖然當局在東涌新市鎮擴展研究時曾表示會改良渠務設計,加入保育生態元素,但怎樣的改善設計仍與東涌河原本的生境相距甚遠,原本的河流動植物肯定難以繼續存活。加上香港本身缺乏妥善照顧河流生態的施工工序,如果東涌河的生態在新市鎮擴展工程進行期間已經盡毁,縱有改良的渠務設計也是徒然。因此,環保團體在過去有關東涌新市鎮擴展的諮詢,多番強調東涌河的重要性,亦多次聯署表達保護東涌河的訴求,爭取保留整條東涌河天然河道和河口。

經歷多年爭取,有關當局接納了保留天然東涌河的建議,在最新一輪擴展研究第三階段公眾參與的文件,以及有關的環評報告和東涌谷分區計劃大綱草圖中均顯示,取消東涌河口和東涌灣填海計劃,東涌河東、西兩條幹流,以及一些主要支流兩岸大約三十米範圍,則會劃作「自然保育區」。此外,東涌河下游接近民居範圍亦不會進行渠道化工程,取而代之是在部分河旁的自然保育區邊緣修築防洪堤堰,阻擋洪水之餘亦減少破壞東涌河生境。另方面,當局亦建議在東涌河的東河由石門甲至黃家圍一段河旁地帶,建立一個嶄新的河畔公園。

拒絕人工化

「河畔公園」在香港來說是嶄新嘗試,值得支持。然而,將河道和河濱劃作「自然保育區」,再以築建堤堰取代渠道化,然後加上一份環評報告,是否就能保護天然河流生態?方向是對,但更重要是如何執行,否則只會徒具保育之名。將東涌河保存下來,市民又可如何獲益?

既稱為河畔「公園」,讓人擔心當局會過分側重美觀及休閒設施,太「公園化」。但其實河畔公園最重要目的是保存東涌河的天然狀況,首要保留河流的天然水文,河水能由上游無阻隔地流到河口和東涌灣,所以在河畔公園內,絕不能加建瀑布之類的公園水景設施,否則改變水文之餘,亦會阻礙生物洄游於上、下游之間。其次,河畔公園亦不可因為方便管理而於河道鋪上混凝土。混凝土不滲水,阻礙河水和土壤中的地下水相通,讓河水不能滋潤兩岸植被,在旱季時地下水亦因而不能為河水作補給,保持旱季有一定的流量。此外,任何園境美化工程亦應免則免。需知道河道和河岸植物、土壤、石塊、水潭等微生境是東涌河日積月累經侵蝕、沉積所造成,人工難以複製,即或勉強可以也未必經得起洪水的沖刷,所以河道和河岸最好避免進行土木工程。

一般地面徑流和雨水渠收集的水,不會經任何處理而引導去附近河流排放,將來擴建後的東涌新市鎮的地面徑流和雨水渠收集的水,亦會排入東涌河。由於這些水可能受污染,會危害東涌河生態。當局建議在東涌西興建一個可持續城市排水系統(SUDS),設有區域雨水滯留及處理池,建成後區內雨水渠收集的水將會先引到雨水滯留及處理池,利用濕地生態系統將水淨化過濾,然後才排入河道,如果水已受嚴重污染,則會引到污水處理廠處理。由於這個系統是嶄新的嘗試,成效存疑,不過政府肯正視地面徑流和雨水渠排放的污染問題,也是一個好開始。

市民齊親水

若果河畔公園真的可以保存東涌河良好的生態、水質、景觀,和難得的天然河口環境,這些都是珍貴的自然資產,市民如能夠欣賞以至享用這此自然資產最為理想。外地亦有不少河流融入城市的計劃,讓市民充分享用河流資源,例如新加坡著名的「ABC水計劃」,整合整個城市的水資源系統,將河流、湖泊等水體變成城市一部分,改善水質及環境,使市民可以享用水體作康樂用途之餘,亦有效收集水資源使用。又例如韓國的清溪川,是國際知名的河道工程,將一條埋沒在城市中的河流開鑿出來,成為市民親水、消閒的地方。台灣也有一些河流公園,例如冬山河親水公園,運用精心設計的園藝元素,將河流塑造成一個公園。

東涌河是一條坡度很大的河道,加上香港的降雨模式是既急且量大,當遇上暴雨,東涌河的水量可以在短時間內暴升,河畔公園建設在河道泛濫範圍內,公園內巿民安全至關重要,將會是未來河畔公園的限制和一大挑戰。

環評報告中提及河畔公園會加設景觀平台及木棧道,引領市民觀賞河流,若設施距離河道較遠,雖則安全但親水效果大減。若設施靠近河道,在暴雨時景觀平台和木棧道便有機會浸沒在洪水中,所以設計上一定要能夠抵受或免避水流以至卵石撞擊,暴雨過後也須易於清理沙泥。此外,在洪水來之前亦應禁止遊人使用有關設施。相信以現今的科技,大致可預測到洪水來臨的風險,亦可參考戶外泳池的運作,每當遇上雷暴警告或惡劣天氣便會關閉。

先保育 後發展

既然東涌河是本地少有的大型天然河流,孕育了豐富的生物多樣性,河畔公園應加強生態教育元素。東涌河鄰近有不少行山徑和溯澗地點,河畔公園可以建立遊客中心,提供遠足和溯澗活動的資訊、導賞,甚至是設備、補給、訓練或住宿服務。目前,郊野公園遊客中心、濕地公園等提供的亦只是一般的參觀和導賞服務,正正缺乏深度生態旅遊的推廣和支援。

河畔公園、防洪堤堰、可持續城市排水系統都未曾在香港新市鎮中出現過,表示了當局摒棄了以往發展新市鎮一定要整治河道成混凝土渠道的舊觀念,如果未來能夠成功實施,將會是城市和天然河道並存的一個典範,讓市民大眾重視河流、了解河流,以至親近河流,環保團體歡迎當局回應了保護東涌河的訴求。

由於東涌擴展計劃很快便會開始,屆時,目前東涌河盆下游的鄉郊地方將發展成住宅區,環保團體希望當局「先保育、後發展」,即在擴展工程開始前,先落實及開展自然保育區和河畔公園。至於其他擴展工程,當局需更嚴厲監管,防止東涌河天然河道兩旁的自然保育區被佔用或破壞,工程亦不能破壞或阻塞河道,減少暴雨時釀成水浸的機會。

文|呂德恒、鄭睦奇博士

Image
東涌河是香港唯一仍保存完整天然河道和河口的大型河流
Image
北江光唇魚
Image
東涌灣可找到罕見的舒氏海龍(Syngnathus schlegeli
Image
黃龍坑昔日生態媲美東涌河,經渠道化後,現已變成一條排水渠。
Image
東涌河兩岸將劃為自然保育區
Image
天然河流有著各種功能
Image
渠道化後,河流天然面貌不再,只被當成排污渠。(圖是元朗明渠,原為山貝河。)
Image
韓國清溪川貫穿市中心,市民亦可近距離親水。
Image
東涌河鄰近有不少行山徑,河畔公園可以建立遊客中心為遠足遊人提供支援。
Image

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk

九龍旺角登打士街56號
栢裕商業中心23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)

接收本會資料