1. Home
  2. >
  3. Feature

Traffic Control is the Gatekeeper of Lantau Ecology

Green Country Vol. 117 (Dec 2015)

Lantau, an island of natural beauty and rich cultural heritage, is a tourist hotspot that attracts both local people and overseas visitors. During holidays, all major public transport facilities are crowded. At present, besides the vicinity of Tung Chung and the airport, most roads on the island are restricted. There is a suggestion to lift the traffic restrictions, to develop Lantau into a leisure and eco attraction. In fact, effective from Christmas this year more vehicles are allowed to access to South Lantau. The question we must ask, however, is: Will open, easily accessible transport without restriction facilitate ecotourism on Lantau, or eventually destroy ecosystems on the island?

Lantau is the largest island in Hong Kong. Over 70% of the land is still in its natural state, partly as development is difficult on the hilly topography. It is ecologically rich; for example, you can find there the globally unique Lantau Star-anise (Illicium angustisepalum) and Hong Kong Asarum (Asarum hongkongense). Lantau Peak and Sunset Peak are the second and third highest peaks in Hong Kong. They and other similarly gorgeous hills attract hikers from all places. There are numerous temples of various religions—including the "Five Major Buddhist Woodlands"—where visitors can pay homage or find peace of mind, as well as rural villages and markets full of character, making Lantau a top choice to spend the holidays among local people and visitors.

In the past, one could only visit Lantau via water transport. There was no road connection. Following the development of the airport and Tung Chung New Town, there are now roads and railway connecting North Lantau and the city. However, most of the roads in Lantau are still Closed Roads, where vehicles are restricted. These include Tung Chung Road—the main road linking South and North Lantau; South Lantau Road—the main road connecting east and west; and roads connecting to places such as Ngong Ping, Sham Wat and Chi Ma Wan. Apart from vehicles of local people and work-related vehicles, as well as buses and taxis, no other vehicles are allowed on the Closed Roads. In addition, to protect water gathering grounds, roads along the catchwater channels are also restricted, and only public works vehicles are allowed.

Starting from the end of this year, the government relaxes the restrictions on vehicles entering South Lantau for leisure and recreational purposes, including through an increase of quota on tour coaches from 30 to 40 per day, and to permit 25 private cars to enter the Closed Roads in South Lantau on non-holidays.

The suggested increase seems mild and there should be no objection to enabling the public to more readily enjoy South Lantau for leisure and recreation. However, the proposal attracted great controversy, as more traffic means congestion and air pollution, and villagers are worried that the tranquillity of island life will be destroyed. More importantly, green groups are aware that this may become a precedent for opening up more Closed Roads on Lantau. More accessibility means more development, which will damage the island's ecology.

Destruction follows roads opening

Sha Tau Kok serves as a vivid example of how opening Closed Roads will lead to environmental destruction, which we discussed in the feature of the 103th issue of Green Country. Sha Tau Kok was a Closed Frontier Area, where only vehicles and persons with permits could enter. After the opening of the area in 2012, Sha Tau Kok became a tourist hotspot and many of the previously green areas were converted into car parks. In addition, large areas of freshwater wetlands were reclaimed and levelled by landowners with the expectation that property values would rise in future. Not only were these former farmland areas damaged, mangrove forests along the coast were also threatened. Comparing aerial photos of the Closed Frontier Area in 2006 and 2012, we can see a 50% increase in levelled land in Sheung Tam Shui Hang, and a 20% increase in Ha Tam Shui Hang. If similar development happens in ecologically rich Lantau, the future is bleak.

It is not at all surprising that opening up restricted roads will lead to development and rural damage. This has also happened in Tung Chung. In the past, the Transport Department set up a checkpoint at Tung Chung Road to prohibit outside vehicles from entering areas other than Tung Chung New Town. Therefore, there were only few village house developments in the nearby rural area of Tung Chung River valley to the west of the new town. However, in 2007, the checkpoint was relocated to Shek Mun Kap. Afterwards, Tung Chung Valley saw obvious environmental changes. Comparing aerial photos in 2007 and 2015, about 8 hectares of land in Tung Chung Valley were non-green, mostly village houses, in 2007, whereas by 2015, the non-green area jumped to 25 hectares, particularly in Shek Mun Kap and Shek Lau Po, where construction waste filled up many previously green areas.

Even though South Lantau Road is still closed, “illegal” dumping is already happening at Pui O, threatening the natural coastline and wetlands. The Outline Zoning Plan for Pui O was in place before the Town Planning Ordinance was enacted, so those who are dumping on private land cannot be prosecuted. Besides, the private land involved is not under statutory land use land regulations. Hence, even though this is officially a "Coastal Protection Area", the government can do nothing to stop the irreversible damage to the landscape and ecology.

No works vehicles allowed

Vehicle restrictions inevitably limit crowds and development. The fact so much of Lantau's natural rural landscape survived is due in large part to the regulation of traffic control. So the question is: how can traffic on Lantau be planned so as to facilitate visitors while protecting the natural environment?

First of all, the government must target the issue of illegal dumping. Dumping of waste is the major threat to the local countryside. It happens all the time and can hardly be monitored. The waste directly turns vegetated habitats or wetlands into patches of wasteland with drastically altered and often near-zero ecological value.

Currently, all construction waste must be sent to one of the 16 Construction Waste Disposal Facilities, according to the level of inert construction waste. If the works site is in Tung Chung, the nearest facility is at Mui Wo, where a permit is required for vehicle entry. Hence, the waste is typically transported to Tuen Mun. The long trip and the North Lantau toll make the transport costs high, in addition to the waste disposal charge. There is indeed a financial incentive for illegal dumping on Lantau.

The planned new town development in Tung Chung covers 240 hectares, of which 124 hectares is on land reclaimed from the sea. The reclamation is about 6.5 times the size of Victoria Park. The population of Tung Chung is expected to reach some 220,000. Considering the large scale of the works, even if only a small part of the construction and demolition waste is illegally dumped in Lantau, the consequences will be alarming.

It would be very naïve for the government to treat illegal dumping solely as individual cases. The closed roads in Lantau must never be opened to works vehicles, particularly heavy trucks. Works vehicles must be required to obtain permits for entry during works periods. In addition, the government must set up a comprehensive reporting system for construction waste, to ensure it is properly handled.

Say no to complete opening

Taking reference to Hong Kong–Zhuhai–Macao Bridge, in avoiding damage to Lantau ecology it was redesigned to be a little further from the northern coast of Lantau. The government must bear this principle in mind and prohibit the construction of large transport facilities and roads in the area. What is more, air quality in west Hong Kong has always been low. To avoid air quality worsening from vehicle discharges, the government must regulate vehicle flows, instead of opening up all roads on Lantau.

Perhaps some people will think that green groups are over-sensitive, as the government has just mildly relaxed the use of roads for leisure and recreational purposes. However, we must be aware that once the precedent is set, the scale of road opening will only be larger in the days to come. Vehicle flows and restrictions may be relaxed to a proper extent. It is good to see that the public can more conveniently enjoy the nature of Lantau. Yet we should keep the bottom line: under no circumstances can the roads in Lantau be completely open. Also, works vehicles must be strictly regulated. Only then we can safeguard the treasury of some of the last natural lowland areas in Hong Kong.

Text | Henry Lui & Dr. Cheng Luk-ki

Image

Subscribe

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 專題

大嶼山交通管制 保育生態的大閘門

綠田野 第117期(2015年12月)

大嶼山一向是香港市民和遊客的熱門旅遊好去處,島上不僅山明水秀,而且還有不少名勝古蹟,每到假日大嶼山的各主要公共交通設施都擠滿遊人。現時,除了進出東涌及機場,大嶼山島上大部分道路均是限制行車,社會上有聲音建議解禁交通管制,以便大力發展大嶼山成為具生態特色的旅遊及消閒之地,今年聖誕節當局已正式放寬車輛到南大嶼山。可是,完全開放使用、四通八達和沒有管制的道路運輸,是促進大嶼山的生態旅遊,還是摧毀島上的生態呢?

大嶼山是香港第一大島,但因島上山多平地少,不利發展,至今超過七成土地仍保留天然狀態,生態資源豐碩,例如可找到全球獨有的大嶼八角(Illicium angustisepalum)和香港細辛(Asarum hongkongense)。島上的鳳凰山和大東山是香港第二及第三高峯,連同其他峻嶺雄峰,吸引大批巿民和遊客前來登高遠足。島上的五大禪林及其他宗教寺廟、修院,形成香港獨一無二的宗教靜修和參拜勝地。加上島上一些別具特色的鄉村墟市,大嶼山一直是香港市民和遊客的旅遊尚佳之選。

以往,大嶼山沒有陸路連接,只能靠水路,隨著機場及東涌新市鎮的發展,北大嶼山始有公路及鐵路連接市區,進出大嶼山從此變得方便。然而,整個大嶼山大部分路段現時仍屬「封閉道路」,即採取限制行車,包括屬大嶼山南北主要幹道的東涌道、東西主要幹道嶼南道,以及通往昂坪、深屈、芝麻灣等地方的道路,除了當地居民的車輛、當地工作使用的車輛,以及巴士和的士,其他車輛不能駛入。此外,有些沿引水道而建的路段,因保護食水集水區,亦採取限制行車,只有公務工程車輛才可進入。

今年年底至明年初,當局放寬車輛到南大嶼山作旅遊或康樂用途的限制,包括增加每日進入南大嶼山的旅遊巴士數目上限,由最多三十輛提高至四十輛,以及在非假日容許二十五輛私家車進入南大嶼山。

增加車流量幅度雖然不大,而便利市民享用南大嶼山作郊遊消閒活動,本身亦無可厚非,但仍惹來各方反對,這是因為更多車輛會導致交通擠塞和空氣污染,居民擔心純樸清幽的小島生活會因此受破壞。更重要的是,環保團體擔心開放道路的大門一開,開放的道路範圍和幅度只會愈來愈大,交通愈方便,最後會引來更大的發展,最終破壞島上生態。

道路解禁破壞湧至

開放管制道路如何導致環境受破壞,沙頭角是一個活生生的例子,我們亦曾在第103期《綠田野》專題探討過。沙頭角原本是邊境禁區,只有領有許可證的車輛和市民才可進入,隨2012年開放邊境禁區,車輛從此隨意進出,當地很快便成為本地旅遊熱點,停車場的需求突然增加,一些原本綠油油的田野變成了光禿禿的停車場。此外,村落中原本有不少淡水濕地,是由昔日農田演變而成的,由於土地業主憧憬道路解禁後物業會升值,這些淡水濕地突然遭堆泥填平,以圖建屋,連海邊的紅樹林也遭破壞。比對2006年與2012年邊境禁區開放的航空攝影照片,沙頭角上担水坑的已平整土地面積增長多達五成,下担水坑已平整土地面積亦增加兩成。如果同樣情況發生在生態資源富饒的大嶼山,後果可想而知。

開放管制道路引來發展和鄉郊破壞並非新鮮事,此情況亦正在大嶼山東涌發生。東涌新市鎮西面東涌河谷的鄉郊地方,以往運輸署在東涌道東涌入口設立了禁區檢查站,禁止外來車輛進入大嶼山東涌新市鎮以外的地方,因此附近一帶一直只有小量村屋發展。可是到了2007年,運輸署將禁區檢查站後移至石門甲,東涌谷的環境隨之出現明顯變化,比對2007年和2015年的航空攝影照片,2007年東涌谷約有八公頃土地屬非綠色地區,主要是興建村屋,可是到了2015年驟升至二十五公頃,尤其是石門甲及石榴埔的位置特別嚴重,不少原本長滿植物的綠色地區遭傾倒泥頭和建築廢料。

即使嶼南道現時仍是封閉道路,但途經的貝澳已經出現傾倒泥頭情況,破壞天然海岸和濕地。由於貝澳所屬的分區規劃大綱圖在《城市規劃條例》生效前制定,法例上這些傾倒泥頭行為並不能以執法阻止。亦由於涉及私人土地,該處沒有法定土地用途圖則監管,即使是屬於官方劃定的「海岸保護區」,當局對破壞束手無策,而最不幸的是破壞了的景觀和生態,難以回復。

工程車輛嚴禁進入

限制行車變相限制了人流和發展,大嶼山能保存較天然的鄉郊環境,與其交通管制有很大關係。那麼,大嶼山的運輸應當如何規劃,才可做到既便利市民同時保護島上的天然景觀和資源呢?

首先,政府必需處理非法傾倒泥頭問題,傾倒泥頭可說是本地鄉郊環境的最主要威脅之一,經常發生又難以監管,泥頭直接將原本長有植被的生境或濕地變成荒禿的爛地,生態隨即受到嚴重破壞。

目前規定建築廢物必須按惰性建築廢物含量運往指定的十六個政府建築廢物處置設施,如果工程在東涌,最近的建築廢物處置設施是在梅窩,但該區需要有限制道路通行證才可進出,所以泥頭廢料一般最近需送往屯門。由東涌至屯門路程遙遠,加上需經北大嶼山付費公路,連輸成本十分高,棄置廢料亦要按量收費,大大增加於大嶼山非法就地棄置的誘因。

未來東涌將進行新市鎮工程,擬建發展區總面積約為240公頃,當中包括124公頃的填海區,填海面積約6.5個維多利亞公園,東涌亦將變成人口達二十二萬的大型新市鎮,工程之龐大可想而知,只要有小部分建築廢料和泥頭非法傾倒於大嶼山,後果亦不堪設想。

如果當局認為傾倒泥頭是個別違法行為,這便是完全脫離現實的想法。因此,大嶼山現時的封閉道路範圍,無論如何都不能開放給工程車輛,尤其是一些重型貨車,例如是泥頭車。工程車輛只能在工程進行期間經申請才可進入。此外,當局亦要有完善的建築廢物處置申報機制,確保廢物運往正確的處置設施。

全面開放堅決說不

其次,參考港珠澳大橋在當初設計階段,走線為免破壞大嶼山生態而避開了北大嶼山海岸,當局應秉承這個原則,不可在此範圍再開闢任何大型運輸設施和道路。此外,香港西部的空氣質素一向強差人意,避免汽車廢氣進一步影響大嶼山,當局需要嚴格控制汽車流量,不可全面開放大嶼山道路。

可能有人認為,現時政府只是有限度放寬道路給旅遊或康樂用途車輛,環保團體無須過敏。然而,我們要防範的是開放道路的缺口一旦打開,未來開放範圍和幅度將會愈來愈大。車輛流量和限制或可因應市民觀光需要作出適切放寬,我們亦希望市民能更方便享用大嶼山的自然資源。不過,我們必須守著大嶼山道路在任何情況下也不能夠全面開放的底線,對工程車輛更加要嚴厲限制,守護著大嶼山這片自然瑰寶。

文|呂德恒、鄭睦奇博士

Image

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk

九龍旺角登打士街56號
栢裕商業中心23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)

接收本會資料