1. Home
  2. >
  3. Feature

Can Hydroponics Replace Traditional Farming to Better Serve Local Needs??

Green Country Vol. 116 (Oct 2015)

Modern hydroponics has gained wide popularity in recent years. At the end of last year, the Hong Kong Government released a consultation paper on agricultural policy, indicating that hydroponics is a highly efficient and clean technology that can be further developed. Hydroponics can be carried out in an enclosed area or even vertically to save space, so several hydroponic plants have begun operating in industrial buildings in Hong Kong. Agricultural produce from hydroponics is free from bacteria, safe and healthy to eat. Hydroponics is viewed by many as the future of local agriculture, to replace traditional farming.

The major difference of hydroponics with traditional farming is the absence of soil. In traditional farming, crops are planted in soil from which water, minerals and other trace elements are absorbed. In hydroponics, which uses no soil, minerals are dissolved in water to provide nutrients directly to the crops. Sometimes materials such as wood shavings, coconut fibres, polystyrene and mineral wool are needed to provide support for the roots. However, not all crop plants can fit in hydroponic systems, though they can produce quite a number of fruits and vegetables, such as salad vegetables, tomatoes, cucumbers, sweet peppers, strawberries, beans, carrots and potatoes.

In Hong Kong, hydroponics has become popular in recent years. A growing number of hydroponic vegetable farms have appeared in industrial buildings, on rooftops and even outdoors on farmland. In 2013, the Vegetable Marketing Organisation established the Controlled Environment Hydroponic Research and Development Centre to develop its own brand of hydroponic vegetables, to demonstrate controlled environment hydroponic technologies. At the end of last year, the government released a public consultation document entitled "The New Agricultural Policy: Sustainable Agricultural Development in Hong Kong", and recommended the introduction of modern agricultural production methods. The document described hydroponics technology as efficient and clean, able to transform vacant industrial buildings into plant factories.

Relying on energy for production

There are a number of advantages to hydroponics. Firstly, the fact that soil is not needed eliminates the problem of soil erosion and degradation. Secondly, as a highly controlled farming method, crops are grown in an enclosed and clean environment, free from pests, and so pesticides are not necessary. Nor are fertilisers required, as minerals needed by the plants are artificially controlled, avoiding the risk of pollution from chemical fertilisers and bacterial pollution from animal manure. Aseptic production is attainable with hydroponic farming, since high concentrations of minerals are used and traditional organic materials are not used.

In addition, hydroponics employs technology to adjust lighting, temperature, and mineral concentrations to shorten production times, as well as utilising vertical spacing for multiple levels of planting. In an area of the same size, hydroponics can produce several times more crops than traditional farming, which greatly increases the efficiency of land use.

Yet, there is much concern regarding whether hydroponics is truly environmentally friendly. Traditional farming methods are based on various processes, reactions, material cycles and biodiversity in nature. Under suitable weather conditions, crops take up energy from the Sun and absorb minerals released from organic matter decomposed by microorganisms. In organic farming, no chemical fertilisers and pesticides are used during the entire planting process. Hydroponic farming, by contrast, is closed off from the natural environment and involves an artificial process. All the growth conditions, including lighting and nutrients, are maintained through energy consumption.

In the most ideal case, the lighting for hydroponics could be maintained by renewable energy. But if it runs on fossil fuels, there would be a lot of pollution and greenhouse gases produced. In addition, the minerals used in hydroponics are industrially produced at high concentrations that can be diluted. The production process of these minerals includes mining, chemical synthesis, and transportation. Each step of the process contributes to various degrees of environmental problems. If taking into account the life cycle of the entire ecosystem and the issue of energy consumption, it is questionable whether hydroponics really is an environmentally friendly mode of farming.

Do not overlook ecological value of agricultural land

There have been attempts to apply organic agricultural concepts in hydroponics, such as using natural extraction of nutrients instead of industrially produced minerals. Nonetheless, many European countries, Canada, Mexico, New Zealand, Japan and even Hong Kong prohibit the labelling of hydroponic crops as organic produce. However, much controversy has been stirred up among the US organic certification agencies. The National Organic Standards Board, which is responsible for making recommendations for organic standards, firmly rejected the eligibility of hydroponic produce for organic certification, based on the board’s definition set in 1995 that an organic farming system “promotes and enhances soil biological activity”. On the other hand, the USDA’s National Organic Programme, which is responsible for the implementation of organic certification, approved of organic certification for hydroponic produce. The approval was given on the basis that the farming method can foster cycling of resources, promote ecological balance, and conserve biological diversity, without the requirement of planting in soil. In view of the high degree of interest from consumers and comparatively higher pricing for organic foods, the hydroponic sector does fight for organic certification. Consensus has yet to be made on the role of soil.

The local organic foods sector and conservation groups also have doubts regarding hydroponics. To begin with, hydroponics is operated in a highly controlled artificial enclosed system, mostly in indoor or semi-outdoor facilities. Whether it can be classified as farming activity is questionable. Secondly, traditional farming has an irreplaceable role in the ecosystem and is an example of coexistence of human activity and nature. Hong Kong’s Long Valley, for instance, is a famous area of farmland where 200 species of birds have been recorded, including species vulnerable to global extinction. Various species of dragonflies, butterflies and birds are also commonly found in typical agricultural lands in Hong Kong. Agricultural lands are green open spaces filled with various plants. While preserving green space in the countryside, they can help reduce the urban heating island effect. Therefore, preserving agricultural lands has ecological significance, especially high-quality and organic farming agricultural lands that are more sustainable than hydroponics.

On the other hand, agricultural lands are destroyed if they are covered with cement to develop hydroponics. It is even more worrisome in the event that people use hydroponics to disguise their development plans. In the vicinity of Shui Mei Village of Kam Tin, large plots of agricultural land have been filled in with rubble—reaching two metres in height—in recent years. The person-in-charge claimed that the layering of land was for agricultural purposes, and a signboard referring to hydroponics was erected at the location. The question must be asked whether such practice is indeed a smokescreen for the concreting of agricultural lands in the name of hydroponic development. The government must restrict the development of hydroponics on non-agricultural lands, to prevent damage to existing farmland.

Hydroponics can play a role in increasing local food supplies by producing vegetables. Currently, it is seen as a food production industry. In the long term, environmentally friendly hydroponic systems such as aquaponics should be developed. In terms of government policy, whether industrial building contracts should allow hydroponics is still unclear. The government must coordinate in various ways, for more strategic development of hydroponics alongside traditional farming, to allow local agriculture to thrive.

Text | Henry Lui & Dr. Cheng Luk-ki

Image

Subscribe

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 專題

更切合本地需要 以水耕取代傳統農業?!

綠田野 第116期(2015年10月)

現代化水耕近年在世界各地冒起,香港政府去年底推出的農業政策諮詢文件,亦表示水耕生產既高效又清潔,可加以發展。由於水耕是一種可以在封閉系統內進行的耕種模式,亦可垂直種植,節省空間,於是近年工廠大廈陸續出現水耕場。水耕農產品新鮮無菌,健康安全,不少人視之為本地農業的新潮流,更可取締傳統農業。

水耕和傳統耕作最大分別,是它不用泥土耕種。傳統耕作把農作物栽種入泥土,農作物根部從泥土吸收水分、礦物質和其他微量元素。水耕則是無土種植技術,由溶入水中的礦物質為農作物提供養分,有時需兼用其他物料(例如木屑、椰子纖維、發泡綿、礦棉等)來支撐植物根部。不是所有農作物都適合以水耕方式種植,但目前水耕已可種植不少蔬果,例如沙律菜、蕃茄、青瓜、甜椒、士多啤梨、豆類、紅蘿蔔和薯仔等。

在本港,水耕是近年興起的耕作方法,陸續有私人水耕菜場在工廠大廈、大廈天台等出現,亦有設置在平整農地的戶外水耕種植場。蔬菜統營處在2013年更建立全環控水耕研發中心,生產自家品牌的水耕菜,以此作全環控水耕技術的示範。此外,政府在去年年底發表的「新農業政策:本港農業的可持續發展」諮詢文件,建議引入現代化農業生產方法,當中形容水耕既高效又清潔,技術上可以將空置工廠大廈發展成植物工廠。

依賴能源作生產

現代化水耕的優點包括了其技術不用泥土,因此不會造成土壤侵蝕和劣化的問題。其次,水耕是一種人為高度控制的耕種模式,農作物在封閉的人工系統內和潔淨設施中生長,杜絶了病蟲害問題,故無需使用農藥。亦由於供應農作物生長的礦物質由人控制,不需額外使用肥料,沒有了化學肥料污染,或是使用動物糞肥而令農作物受病菌污染的機會。水耕亦能做到無菌生產,因它以高純度的礦物質來種植,無需像傳統耕作般使用任何有機物質。

此外,水耕利用科技調校光照、溫度、礦物質濃度,縮短了生產時間,加上水耕可以垂直設置多層種植空間,在同樣面積的土地上,水耕比土耕能夠種植多倍數目的農作物,大大提升土地利用效率。

然而,水耕是否稱得上環保,仍有不少爭議。傳統耕種方式以生態系統中的各種過程、作用、物質循環及生物多樣性去生產農作物。農作物在適合的天氣條件下,以天然陽光作能量,並吸收由微生物分解有機物質而釋出的礦物質生長。如果是有機耕作,種植過程更強調不使用人工合成的化學肥料和農藥。相反,大部分水耕作業在封閉的人工系統內進行,與自然生態系統隔絕,所有的生長條件均依賴消耗能源去維持,包括光照和養分。

如果水耕的日照是以可再生能源推動,這還比較理想,若使用化石燃料的話,就會產生污染和溫室氣體。此外,水耕所使用的礦物質,是由化工業生產的,純度高又可調校濃度,生產過程包括了採礦、化學合成、運輸等,每一步驟亦會帶來不同的環境問題。所以,如果從整個生態系統的生命周期,以及能源消耗來看,水耕難以歸類為環保耕作模式。

莫輕視農地生態

水耕業界亦試圖向有機方向發展,推出以天然有機方法提取的營養液代替化工業生產的礦物質。雖則如此,歐洲多國、加拿大、墨西哥、紐西蘭、日本以至本港均禁止水耕農作物稱為有機產品。不過,近年美國有機認證機構的取態則引起了爭議。首先,負責建議有機認證標準的國家有機標準委員會,明確否定水耕農產品獲有機認證,該機構是以最初於1995年定義有機農業時,指明有機耕作系統包括了「可以促進泥土生物活動」而作出相關否定。但另一方面,負責執行有機認證的美國農業部國家有機計劃卻容許為水耕農產品作有機認證,理由是該機構於定義有機產品時,主要是耕作方法可助長資源循環、促進生態平衡及保育生物多樣性,當中並沒有要求以泥土種植。由於有機認證產品受消費者推崇,可賣得較高價錢,水耕業界都想獲得有機認證。目前,這場「泥土」爭辯仍未達成共識。

本地有機業界及保育界其實對水耕亦有憂慮。首先,水耕在人為高度控制的封閉系統內進行,水耕場多是人工化的室內或半室內設施,是否算是農耕活動也有疑問。其次是傳統農耕在生態上有著不可取締的角色,傳統農地更是人類活動與大自然共存的實例,例如塱原這片本地著名的農地,曾記錄超過二百種雀鳥,當中包括國際性易危鳥種。一般的農地,也常見有各種蜻蜓、蝴蝶和雀鳥。而且,農地是種滿植物的綠色開闊地帶,除了可保存市郊的綠色空間,也可紓緩城市熱島效應,所以保育農地有其生態意義,尤其是優質和有機耕作農地,其可持續性的確較水耕優勝。

另一方面,如果將原本有泥土的農地覆蓋,甚至鋪上混凝土來興建水耕場,其實是破壞農地的舉措,更令人擔心的是別有用心人士藉水耕為名,將農地填平,實質是為其他發展而鋪路。例如錦田水尾村一帶近年就有大片農地被傾倒泥頭,傾倒的泥頭更達兩米高,有關負責人聲稱只是平整土地作發展農業所需,現場亦豎立了水耕的名牌,但此舉難免令人懷疑是借水耕之名,倒泥頭破壞農地。所以,當局應限制水耕在非農耕地推展,以免損害原有的農耕地。

水耕在增加本地食物供應可擔當一定的角色,可輔助生產本地蔬菜,現時可視作食物工業生產行業。要長遠發展水耕,應研發一些可持續的、對環境友善的系統,例如魚菜共生系統,邁向環保水耕的方向發展。在法例上,工廠大廈的契約上是否容許作水耕用途仍未清晰,政府亦應在相關方面多作協調,長遠讓水耕有計劃地發展,與傳統土耕並行發展,讓本地農業更加蓬勃。

文|呂德恒、鄭睦奇博士

Image

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk

九龍旺角登打士街56號
栢裕商業中心23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)

接收本會資料