1. Home
  2. >
  3. Feature

Using the Japanese Cherry Blossom Frenzy as a Model
Conceptualising a Local Tree Appreciation Culture

Green Country Vol. 115 (Aug 2015)

The autumn red leaves of Tai Tong's Sweet Gum; the peach coloured Cherry Blossoms in full bloom on Cheung Chau. These are just some of the highlights of local tree appreciation in recent years. Every year during the best viewing seasons, crowds gather at scenic locations. It seems that the people of Hong Kong like to flock to admire trees and their flowers. Even though the tropical climate of Hong Kong is not ideal for cherry blossoms, the authorities still decided to go ahead with test planting cherry blossoms at two designated districts. There is demand from the community to plant flowering trees, hoping to learn from the Japanese Cherry Blossom appreciation culture to boost the tourism industry. Cherry Blossoms are beautiful, but are not the only ones. There are many attractive flowering trees in Hong Kong. To favour foreign species will only have drastic consequences. Recently, some people have suggested cutting down Tree Cotton, fearing the dispersing of their cotton to the streets may affect the respiratory system and environmental health. This leads to the question of how Hong Kong can establish its very own tree appreciation culture.

The Sweet Gums (Liquidambar formosana) of Tai Tong are among the popular tree appreciation attractions in recent years, in the Tai Lam Country Park at Tai Tong, Yuen Long. Along Tai Tong Shan Road, the Sweet Gums are dozens of metres high. Their leaves turn yellow or red during autumn and winter, transforming the entire landscape to a bright red colour, similar to Canadian Red Maple leaf scenery. The Sweet Gum is a common tree in Hong Kong and is regularly seen in urban parks and along the road. The Sweet Gums in Tai Tong have been planted for many years and have become mature. Also, because they have been planted rather densely, they have formed a "Sweet Gum forest", making them become quite a spectacle with the red leaves. In addition to the red leaves of the Sweet Gum, the Cherry Blossoms in Hong Kong are a great favourite, with four major viewing locations: Cheung Chau, Kadoorie Farm, Chinese University and Tai Mo Shan Country Park. Cherry Blossoms have been planted in each of these locations for many years, but only attracted major attention in the last year or two.

The Government planted flowering trees in large scale many years ago, hoping to use themed flowering trees to create unique scenery for Hong Kong. It was also at this time that the Hong Kong Orchid Tree (Bauhinia x blakeana) was chosen as the theme tree. Its many large and bright pink flowers with a long flowering period make it the best candidate to represent Hong Kong as the city flower. From 2000 onwards, government and non-profit organisations were committed to transforming Hong Kong into the “City of the Hong Kong Orchid Tree”. In just a matter of years, more than 10,000 Hong Kong Orchid Trees were planted. The results are surely evident to everyone after more than decade.

The Hong Kong Orchid Tree is infertile and cannot be cultivated from seeds. Seedlings can only be bred through grafting or cutting the branches, which costs a lot of time and money. With the increase of time needed for cultivation, the price of the seedling will rise and their quality varies. Even more troubling are the inherently fragile branches of the Hong Kong Orchid Tree. In the effort to plant more Hong Kong Orchid Trees, there was not a lot of thought put in to the planting locations and many of them were planted in areas with strong winds and heavy human activity, causing them to be easily damaged by strong wind or human activity. Not only does this destroy the appearance, the trees cannot grow healthily. An example of this is the large numbers of Hong Kong Orchid Trees along the Tuen Mun Expressway, which is a windy location affected by the airflow from vehicles. The trees are either wilted or aesthetically poor. This is an example of an unsuccessful planting project that lacked detail planning, despite having invested large sums of money and time. Though a local tree species suited for local climate, use of the Hong Kong Orchid Tree was unable to achieve the expected beautifying effect. This sets an example for future large scale planting of "themed" trees.

Cherry Blossoms are pretty but local trees are prettier still

The culture of tree appreciation flourishes in a number of countries and has become a trend among people of all ages. It has also attracted foreign tourists, bringing revenue. The Japanese Cherry Blossom culture is one of the most successful examples. Maple leaf culture has also received good results in recent years. Since Cherry Blossoms can be grown in areas of Hong Kong such as Cheung Chau, if they could be planted on a large scale with flowers everywhere, then there would be no need to travel to Japan. There is a lot of anticipation regarding developing cherry blossom appreciation tours. In recent months, the government responded in favour of people’s needs. The Civil Engineering and Development Department (CEDD) announced they would test planting cherry blossoms in Sha Tin and Tuen Mun. The plan is to test planting different species of cherry blossoms such as Bell-flower Cherry (Prunus campanulata) in areas that are relatively less crowded and the air is fresh. However, will this be another similar case to “City of the Hong Kong Orchid Tree” and ultimately fail?

Cherry Blossom is a type of tree that is resistant to cold and drought and grows favourably in environments that have good irrigation. Hong Kong has a subtropical climate and is not the ideal location for cherry blossoms, with summers that are too hot and humid for cherry blossoms. There are several hundred species or varieties of Cherry Blossoms in Japan. Popular species include Japanese Flowering Cherry (Prunus serrulata), Cherry Blossom (Cerasus lannesiana), Yoshino Cherry (Prunus ✖ yedoensis) all are found in the frigid zone. Some species of Cherry Blossoms such as Bell-flower Cherryare comparatively more adaptable to tropical climate. Currently, Bell-flower Cherry can be found in regions such as Hong Kong, Taiwan and Guangzhou, where the temperatures are relatively high. Due to the limitation of the species and the difference with the region and climate that it is grown, cherry blossoms grown in Hong Kong differ in density, and attractiveness of colour with those found in Japan or Korea.

Cherry Blossoms are beautiful, but aren’t alone in this. There are also many flowering trees found in Hong Kong; some have their own local characteristics, such as the Chinese New Year Flower (Enkianthus quinqueflorus). With light pink flowers shaped like a bell, it was commonly used during Chinese New Year in the past. Another tree familiar to Hong Kong people is the Tree Cotton Bombax ceiba, which is one of the ingredients used in five-herb tea. The tree is very tall with large orange-coloured flowers that are very eye-catching. The Camel’s Foot Tree (Bauhinia variegate) is closely related to the Hong Kong Orchid Tree. Both have a lot of flowers and a long flowering period, though Camel's Foot Tree can self-pollinate. Its flowers are an elegant pink. The Flame Tree (Delonix regia) has very dense and colourful flowers. The Golden-shower (Cassia fistula) has strings of bright yellow flowers hanging densely on the tree. Rhodoleia (Rhodoleia championii) has pink flowers growing from its thick green leaves; the mix of red and green is truly beautiful!

If people like to appreciate flowers, love nature, rather than waste a lot of resources to plant foreign species of plants, why not explore species with local characteristics? Many of these trees are native tree species or have been planted in Hong Kong many years ago and are adapted to the local climate, coexisting with native wild animals for many years. They much better suited to providing food and shelter for native wild animals, as they have higher ecological value and contribute positively to the local ecosystem.

Same species at same location

A lot of people often forget about the native flowering trees in Hong Kong and tend to favour foreign species such as cherry blossoms, not only because there are successful examples in other countries, but also because there hasn’t been any similar planting of a single species of trees that would give a great beautifying effect, which has led many people to overlook their beauty. For example, the Sweet Gum forest of Tai Tong and the row of Red Gums (Eucalyptus camaldulensis) in Nam Sang Wai, planting a single tree species has a good effect, attracting tourists during the holidays to see the trees and take pictures. However, these examples are only evident in the countryside, unlike the Japanese cherry blossom craze, which requires large urban parks and streets that are well planned for planting a single species of tree that can become a spectacle during the flowering season.

In addition to the planting location and species, the health of the trees is also important for a tree to have a good appearance and lush flowers and leaves. All of these are dependent on good management of the trees. There are a number of departments in charge of maintaining trees, depending on where the trees are grown. For instance, if the trees are grown near the road, they will be managed by the Lands Department or Highways Department. If grown in public housing estates, they are managed by the Housing Authority. If grown on a slope, then they are managed by the Civil Engineering and Development Department. Such management methods can be difficult to coordinate. Furthermore, tree management is not the primary focus of their work. The departments will not give priority to the management of trees. The Development Bureau created the Task Force on Tree Green Management in 2010, which might be commended as a step forward, though the focus of the Task Force is not on the planting and beautifying aspects, Furthermore, many frontline staff responsible for tree care in various departments lack knowledge of tree protection. Often to facilitate the job at hand, they conduct inappropriate or unnecessary trimmings of trees. Project staff working on the streets neglect the trees during their work. Not only will this affect the aesthetics of the trees, but also affect their health in the long run. Therefore, to develop a culture of tree appreciation like other foreign countries, drastic changes must be made to the way that trees are currently managed. There must also be training of professional tree maintenance personnel.

Knowledge of the people is the key to success

How people treat trees is also a key factor in successfully building a tree appreciation culture. People should not merely treat them as public property or tools, not only enjoying the beautiful flowers, leaves and fruits, but also appreciate some natural processes that occur from flowering and bearing fruit, such as flowering season, which may trigger allergies and discomfort from the pollen, and large numbers of petals drifting with the wind which create some inconvenience for drivers on the road. Recently, a district councillor actually suggested cutting down Tree Cotton due to complaints of cotton from the seeds drifting on the streets, and large flowers falling onto the ground. At the same time, there was an objection to planting more Tree Cotton. Apart from the fruit and seeds, the trees also attract insects and birds to perch, which may lead to other complaints regarding noise and hygiene issues that might contribute to tree removal requests. With such ways of thinking, how can Hong Kong establish its own tree appreciation culture?

A successful tree appreciation culture must incorporate local characteristics in order to become special and meaningful. Tree planting also requires comprehensive planning, with trees in the appropriate places and tree maintenance professionals. The most important point is that society in general recognises and understands how to protect trees, allowing trees to not only beautify our environment, but also become part of our lives and city development.

Text | Henry Lui & Dr. Cheng Luk-ki

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 專題

效法日本賞櫻熱 建構本土賞樹文化

綠田野 第115期(2015年8月)

片片紅葉,充滿秋意的大棠楓香;朵朵桃紅,開滿枝頭的長洲櫻花。這是近年香港的賞樹熱話,每逢到了最佳觀賞季節,人流必然迫爆景點,似乎香港人對觀樹賞花趨之若鶩。縱然香港的熱帶氣候並非種植櫻花的理想地點,當局仍然決定在兩個指定地區試種櫻花。社會齊聲要求種植花樹,更希望借鏡日本賞櫻文化,推動旅遊業。櫻花雖美,但不只櫻花才美,香港亦可找到很多漂亮的花樹,偏好異國物種,最終可能只落得失敗收場。尤其早前有人因木棉的棉絮散落街道,害怕有損呼吸系統和影響環境衞生而建議斬樹,在這種思維下,香港又如何建立自己的賞樹文化?

要數近年的賞樹熱潮,一定要數到大棠楓香,位於元朗大棠的大欖郊野公園,沿大棠山道旁長有約數十米的楓香(Liquidambar formosana),每逢秋冬季節,楓香葉片便會變得或黃或紅,讓四周環境染成一片艷紅,宛如加拿大最有名的紅楓葉景致。其實楓香在香港屬常見樹種,亦常見於市區公園或路旁。大棠的楓香已種植多年,日漸成熟,加上種得又多又密,形成楓香林,才令紅葉景致變得特別觸目。繼楓香紅葉之後,香港的櫻花亦被熱捧,本港四大賞櫻地點包括了長洲、嘉道理農場、香港中文大學、大帽山郊野公園,各地點其實分別已種植櫻花多年,只是近一、兩才特別受注意。

政府早年亦曾大規模種植花樹,期望以主題花樹建構香港特色景致,當時更選上了洋紫荊(Bauhinia × blakeana)作為主題樹。它的花朵是豔麗的大桃紅色,加上花多,花期又長,更加是香港市花,具代表性,表現看來確實是主題樹的不二之選。於是,由2000年開始,官方和非牟利志願組織均致力將香港打造為「洋紫荊之都」,數年間種植了數以萬計的洋紫荊,至於成效如何?十多年後的今天相信大家有目共睹。

洋紫荊是不育種,不能以種子繁殖,只能以嫁接法或插枝法育苗,育苗需時且成本不菲,一時間需求大增,令樹苗價格上升且質素參差。更要命的是洋紫荊枝幹天生脆弱,當年可能由於急於求成,對種植位置沒有細心考究,居然將不少洋紫荊種在當風或有人為活動干擾的位置,結果枝幹易受強風或人為活動折斷,不但有損外觀,樹木也長得不健康,例如在屯門公路曾大量種植洋紫荊,位置當風又受高速車輛氣流影響,現在不是已枯萎,就是生長得不美觀。可見急於大量栽種而沒有詳細規劃的結果,縱花費大量金錢和心機亦沒有成功。洋紫荊本身已是適合本地氣候的原生樹種,最終也未能做到預期的美化效果,這次經驗確實是日後香港再有大規模種植主題樹的重要參考。

櫻花美 本地樹更美

賞樹賞花的文化在不少國家亦能發揚光大,並培養成全民賞樹和園藝的風氣,更吸引外地遊客,帶來龐大的旅遊經濟收益。其中,以日本櫻花文化為最成功的例子,近年韓國楓葉文化亦做得不俗。在香港,既然長洲等地亦能種出櫻花,如果能在本地大規模種植,處處迷人櫻花花海,賞櫻便無需再遠赴日本,亦令人憧憬香港能發展賞櫻旅遊。近月,政府亦應社會訴求,土木工程拓展署早前公布將在沙田和屯門試種櫻花,計劃在人流較少、空氣較清新的位置試種包括鐘花櫻桃在內的不同櫻花物種。然而,這會不會是十多年前「洋紫荊之都」之翻版,最終亦以失敗告終?

櫻花是耐寒耐旱的樹種,一般偏好排水良好的環境生長,香港屬亞熱帶氣候,夏天對櫻花來說過於炎熱潮濕,其實並非種植的理想地點。日本的櫻花有數百種,比較著名的有山櫻(Prunus serrulata)、河津櫻(Cerasus lannesiana)、染井吉野櫻(Prunus × yedoensis)等等,均是寒帶生長的櫻花物種。部分櫻花物種,例如是鐘花櫻桃(Prunus campanulata),相對較能適應熱帶氣候,目前在香港,以至在台灣、廣州等較炎熱地區找到的亦是鐘花櫻桃。由於受物種限制,加上生長地區和氣候的分別,就算在香港市區成功種出櫻花,其密度、絢爛度、色澤亦不能與日本或韓國的櫻花比擬。

櫻花雖美,但不只櫻花才美。香港亦可找到很多會開出漂亮花朵的樹木,更有不少都具本土特色,例如是吊鐘(Enkianthus quinqueflorus),花朵是淡淡的粉紅色、呈鐘形,非常特別,以往更是普遍的農曆新年年花。又例如香港人都最熟悉不過的木棉(Bomba × ceiba),它是五花茶原材料之一,樹身高大,花朵碩大而橙紅,非常搶眼。又例如宮粉羊蹄甲(Bauhinia variegata),它是洋紫荊的近親,同樣有花多和花期長的優點,但它能自行繁殖,花朵則是優雅的粉紅色。還有鳳凰木(Delonix regia),它會開出非常茂密又艷紅的花朵;臘腸樹(Cassia fistula),它那鮮黃色的花朵一串串的密密麻麻吊在樹上;紅花荷(Rhodoleia championii),它的桃紅色花朵在茂盛的綠葉中綻放,紅紅綠綠,煞是漂亮!

如果市民是愛賞花、愛自然,如其花費大量人力物力種植外來物種,何不發掘具本土特色的物種呢?這些樹木不少是香港原生樹種,又或是早已植根於香港,適應本地氣候,而且與本地野生動物共存多年,較外來樹種更能為本地原生動物提供合適的食物和棲息地等,生態價值更高,更有利本地生態。

同一地點 同一種樹

大部分人忽略現存香港的本土花樹而偏愛櫻花等外來物種,除了因為外地成功例子的確較為矚目,亦由於本地市區一直沒有在大規模於同一地點種植同一樹木物種,以致未能發揮最大的美化效果,所以才讓人們忽略了它們的美。例如大棠楓香林和南生圍的一列赤桉(Eucalyptus camaldulensis),集中種植同一樹木物種,便可看見不俗的效果,吸引遊人假日紛紛前來賞樹和拍照,不過這些例子只在郊野,如果要達到日本賞櫻的熱潮,一些大型市區公園、街道等地均要同時有計劃地種植同一樹木物種,每當開花結果時,才能達到全城觀賞的氣氛。

除了考慮種植地點和物種,樹木要生長健康才有美觀的形態和茂密的花和葉,這便要靠良好的樹木管理。本地負責保養樹木的部門有很多,主要看樹木的生長地方來決定由那一部門管理,例如生長在馬路旁的樹由地政署或路政署管理;生長在公共屋邨的樹由房屋署管理;生長在斜坡的樹則由土木工程拓展署管理。這樣管理樹木難達致有效統籌,而且樹木護理不是這些部門的主要工作,部門亦不會以樹木為優先工作考慮,更遑論好好規劃和管理。2010年發展局工務科轄下成立了綠化、園境及樹木管理組,可說是向前邁進了一步,不過其工作重點是樹木安全,並非栽種和美化。此外,目前不同部門負責樹木護理的前線工作人員,不少均缺乏樹木保護知識,有時為了方便工作而作出不當,甚至不必要的修剪樹木。一些街道工程人員,更不把樹木看成是有生命的,很多時只顧工程而傷害了樹木。這樣不但有損樹木外觀,長遠亦會影響樹木健康。所以,如果要發展出像外國能吸引本地市民甚至遊客的賞樹文化,必須改革目前分散的樹木管理模式,亦需培訓專業樹木護理人員。

成功關鍵 市民思維

市民對待樹木的態度亦是香港能否成功建立賞樹文化的重點,市民不應單單視樹木是公物或工具,即是不單享受樹木帶來的美麗花朵、葉片、果實,還要接受一些由花開結果帶來的自然現象,例如在花朵盛放季節時,患花粉敏感症的人很容易會感到不適,大量花瓣隨風飄落,亦會對行人行車帶來不便。早前香港就有區議員因為市民投訴木棉果實的棉花在街道飄揚,加上體積不小的木棉花朵成熟時會掉落地上,居然提議砍伐木棉樹,同時反對市區再種植木棉。除了果實和種子,樹木亦有機會引來昆蟲或雀鳥停棲,屆時可能又會有人以昆蟲和雀鳥鳴叫帶來噪音或衛生問題而投訴,要求移除樹木。如果市民在這種思維下,香港又如何建立自己的賞樹文化呢?

要成功建立賞樹文化,必須具本土色彩,才有特色,才有意義。種植樹木需要長遠而周全的規劃,懂得在適當的地方,種植適當的樹種,亦要有專業樹木保養人才,更最重要是社會全體認同和曉得如何愛惜樹木,讓樹木不僅美化我們的環境,也融入我們的生活和城市發展中。

文|呂德恒、鄭睦奇博士

Image

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk

九龍旺角登打士街56號
栢裕商業中心23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)

接收本會資料