1. Home
  2. >
  3. Feature

Climate Change Leads to Changes in Rainfall Patterns
Anticipating Future Droughts and Floods in Hong Kong

Green Country Vol. 114 (Jun 2015)

Climate change caused by global warming, as a result of greenhouse gases emitted by humans, has become the greatest environmental problem. In May, The Environment Bureau of The Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region unveiled the "Energy Saving Plan for the Built Environment" in hope of increasing energy efficiency and reducing greenhouse gas emissions. Apart from reducing the problem of emissions at source, the need to deal with resulting problems in future is also a pressing issue in addressing climate change. With climate change, the rainfall patterns in Hong Kong will begin to change. By the next century, it is predicted that the number of rainy days will decline greatly, yet heavy rainstorms will be more frequent. Is Hong Kong ready for such extreme weather?

Based on climate statistics from Hong Kong Observatory, annual total rainfall rose at an average rate of 38mm per decade over the last 60 years, while heavy rain days (days with hourly rainfall greater than 30mm) increased at an average rate of 0.3 days per decade. The Observatory forecasts that annual rainfall in Hong Kong by the late 21st century will rise by about 180mm. Despite this, the annual number of rainy days is expected to drop from 104 days at present to 77 days on average. Future numbers of days with 5mm of rain or less will also decrease, from the current 104 days to 77 days, while the number of days with 70mm or more of rain will increase. On average, the return periods of daily rainfall higher than 300mm are expected to decrease from 9 years to 4 years. All these forecasts point to the conclusion that rainy days will become more concentrated, in a shorter period of time, and the intensity of rainfall will also greatly increase, with more frequent rainstorms.

Currently, 70% of Hong Kong’s potable water supply comes from the Dongjiang (East River), and the remainder is from local reservoirs. Whether the water is from Dongjiang or reservoirs in Hong Kong, they all depend on rainwater. Compared with areas that rely on meltwater from glaciers at high altitudes for potable water, the effect of changing rainfall patterns in Hong Kong is important. High levels of rainfall in a short period of time can easily cause water in the Dongjiang catchment area and reservoirs in Hong Kong to overflow, wasting drinking water. On the other hand, the concentration of rainy days means a lowering frequency of rainfall, which reduces the chances of the Dongjiang catchment area and reservoirs in Hong Kong to collect potable water.

Years of drought will increase

The rainfall in Hong Kong is very dependent on large scale weather systems, and the wet season is between May and September. During the change of seasons between spring and summer, the cold and warm air masses meet creating a mei-yu front that brings more than 700mm of rainfall in the months of May and June, which makes up one-third of the annual rainfall. Typhoons bring more than 1,000mm of rainfall to Hong Kong between July and September, which is roughly half of the annual rainfall. With the influence of global warming, meteorologists in Taiwan recently found that cold air masses from the north have weakened, and the Mei-Yu rainbelt of Southeast Asia has shifted to 30°N from the original position between 20°N to 30°N (between the north of Hainan Island and the Yangtze River Delta). Hong Kong is at 22.3°N, and the shift of the Mei-yu rainbelt may reduce the level of rainfall in Hong Kong between May and June. In terms of typhoons, the numbers of tropical cyclones entering into Hong Kong’s 500 km area radius have seen a significant decline, so the level of rainfall in Hong Kong brought by typhoons will also decline. Hence, the rainfall patterns in Hong Kong may experience great changes in future.

Some may think that even with the changes of Hong Kong’s rainfall patterns, the problem can be solved by adjusting the amount of water supplied from the Dongjiang to Hong Kong. However, since the Dongjiang is not far from Hong Kong, it too will not be drought free if Hong Kong is affected, and the flow of water will very likely be reduced. To make matters worse, there is growing demand for water in mainland China cities, and currently there is also tight demand for potable water in many cities along the banks of the Dongjiang. Hong Kong must find ways to cope with the water crisis accompanying climate change.

New Challenges to Rainwater Collection

Hong Kong Observatory estimates that extremely wet years will be more frequent in the future. Extremely wet years mean that that annual rainfall is more 3,000mm. The current average annual rainfall in Hong Kong is around 2,300mm. In the last century, there were three extremely wet years. It is forecast that the number will increase to around 12 years in the next century. Although the rainfall patterns may affect the collection of potable water, the scale and frequency of floods may increase.

Hong Kong has hundreds of rivers and streams of varying sizes. Presently, numerous residential buildings and shops are located close to river channels. According to the government, channelisation of natural rivers by deepening and widening the channels can increase velocity of discharges into the sea. However, this is an ill judged “solution”, as the natural channels and vegetation will disappear. Permeability of the soil will decrease, only to bring more severe flooding. Widening a channel is a waste of land, as there are only a few storm days within a year, and the use of land within the channel is extremely low. Also, discharging urban rainwater into the sea without making good use of it is by no means good water management, as it will intensify Hong Kong’s water crisis given the forecast reduction in number of rain days.

We cannot control the frequency or the level of rainfall during rainstorms, but there are methods of reducing the effects. Presently, the urban drainage system diverts rainwater to nearby river channels. In other words, the river channels will receive a large amount of rainwater during a rainstorm, which can easily cause river water levels to rise, resulting in floods that will affect residents along the river. In contrast, the preservation of a certain ratio of soil can increase the infiltration ability of urban land. Large areas of vegetation can slow the surface runoff, relieving the pressure of floodwater. Preserving urban soil can be achieved with large parks without concrete covering the ground, large areas of grass, green zones, football fields etc. On days without rainstorms, these facilities can also be used by people for recreation.

For developed areas, where a large park or grass cover cannot be added, the government should divert floodwater to river channels far from residents, by building bypass floodways or drainage tunnels. To relieve Lai Chi Kok, Cheung Sha Wan and Sham Shui Po from flood problems during rainstorms, the Drainage Service Department implemented the “Lai Chi Kok Transfer Scheme” by using tunnels to divert and discharge rainwater out to Victoria Harbour, reducing the chance of floods in the area instead of having stormwater drainage improvement works in heavily populated areas. However, this only addresses the problem of flooding, as potable water is wasted as it is discharged into Victoria Harbour.

During the Lai Chi Kok Transfer Scheme, the government also carried out a project involving a “Water Tunnel between Kowloon Byewash Reservoir and Lower Shing Mun Reservoir” with the construction of a 2.8km tunnel that diverts 3/4 of overflow water from Kowloon Byewash Reservoir to Lower Shing Mun Reservoir, while 1/4 of the overflow water is discharged to Victoria Harbour using two water tunnels of the Lai Chi Kok Transfer Scheme. The Kowloon Bywash Reservoir has a small carrying capacity and has frequently overflowed during the rainy season in the past, which also places pressure on the existing drainage system. After implementation, the Water Tunnel between Kowloon Byewash Reservoir and Lower Shing Mun Reservoir scheme, apart from collecting the original overflow rainwater, has also indirectly relieved the problem of urban flooding, more directly addressing the problem of changing rainfall patterns in Hong Kong.

Currently, there is only one “Inter-reservoirs Transfer Scheme” that is not large scale, and a large majority of rainwater in the urban areas is discharged out into the sea. The government should conduct a study on the collection of rainwater for potable water usage for future new development areas or large reclaimed areas, such as the Northwest New Territories Development Area, and West Kowloon Reclamation area. As these new development areas are expansive, plans must be made in advance for rainwater collection facilities to be incorporated in the planning process.

Desalination for Emergency Use

The Waster Service Department has planned to construct a desalination plant at Tseung Kwan O, but the cost for the facilities is high and there will be a high energy usage, which will emit large amounts of carbon dioxide, contributing more to the climate change, creating a vicious cycle. Therefore, desalination has its strengths, but can only be considered for emergency use. In addition, through a series of treatments and disinfecting processes, our daily polluted water can be made clean, yet this so-called “reclaimed water” is mostly discharged into the sea. The government should consider further promoting and improving reclaimed water and expand its use to toilet-flushing and street-washing etc. More work should be done in the area of water conservation, as Hong Kong people have a poor understanding of the crisis in drinking water, thinking that the water supply from Dongjiang River is limitless, while the low charges for water use can easily contribute to abuse and waste. The Water Service Department has implemented a “Total Water Management Study” in recent years, which is undoubtedly a step in the right direction. The government should also address the aging, leaking and bursting problems of potable water pipes, which have long attracted criticism.

Underlying problems of climate change can be very broad and far reaching. We need to prepared, especially when some infrastructure changes and constructions cannot be implemented immediately and often require long-term arrangements and planning. Potable water is a basic resource that we depend on for survival. Therefore, given forecasts for changes in rainfall patterns, we must act now. After the Public Consulation on “Hong Kong’s Climate Change Strategy and Action Agenda”, we hope the government produces and implements substantial work proposals and measures.

Text | Henry Lui & Dr. Cheng Luk-ki

Image

Subscribe

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 專題

氣候變化 降雨模式改變
應對香港未來缺水與洪水

綠田野 第114期(2015年6月)

由人類排放溫室氣體造成的全球暖化,帶動氣候變化,已成為全人類要面對的巨大環境問題。今年五月,香港特區政府環境局推出「香港都市節能藍圖」,希望透過提高能源使用效率,減少温室氣體排放量。應對氣候變化,除了從源頭入手減少排放,如何解決未來由此帶來的種種問題亦是當務之急。氣候變化下的香港,降雨模式將出現重要改變,預計下世紀降雨日數會大幅減少,但大暴雨卻將更頻密發生,要應對如此極端的天氣,香港準備好了沒有?

香港天文台氣候數據顯示,過去六十多年間年總雨量每十年上升38毫米,與此同時,每年的大雨日數,即一小時雨量超過30毫米的日子,平均每十年輕微上升0.3日。展望將來,香港天文台預料本港雨量將持續上升,本港年雨量在廿一世紀後期會較廿世紀後期,平均上升約180毫米。但另方面,預料本港每年平均降雨日數會大幅減少,由現時的104日減至77日。將來每日降雨5毫米或以下的日數亦會減少,相反70毫米或以上的降雨日數則會增多。此外,將來降雨達300毫米的日子,亦會由現時每九年一遇,改變至每四年一遇。種種預測均說明一點,將來降雨會更集中地在較短時間落下,雨勢將大大增強,暴雨將更頻密發生。

目前香港食水有七成多來自東江水,其餘是靠本地水塘蓄水。無論是東江水源或香港境內水塘,都是靠降雨,相比一些靠高地冰川或積雪融化而獲得食水的地方,降雨模式改變對香港食水供應影響尤為重要。大量降雨短時間落下,容易令東江集水區和香港境內水塘溢滿,食水只會白白流走。而且,降雨日子集中代表降雨頻率減少,東江集水區和香港境內水塘能夠收集食水的機會也會減少。

旱年將增加出現

香港的降雨非常依賴大型天氣系統,五月至九月是雨季。在春夏交替時冷暖氣團相遇的梅雨天氣會為香港於五、六月平均帶來700多毫米雨量,佔全年雨量約三分之一;颱風則為香港於七至九月平均帶來約1,000多毫米雨量,佔全年雨量近一半。台灣氣象學家最近發現,受全球暖化影響,北方向南吹的冷空氣團減弱,東南亞的梅雨雨帶的位置在過去三十年,由原本的北緯20至30度(即海南島北面至長江河口)北移至北緯30度以北。香港位處北緯22.3度,梅雨雨帶北移將可能令香港五、六月的降雨大幅減少。颱風方面,過往五十年間進入香港五百公里範圍的熱帶氣旋數目有明顯下降趨勢,將來由颱風為香港帶來的雨量亦可能隨之而減少。如此一來,進一步說明香港的降雨模式未來很大可能出現重要變化。

可能有人認為,就算香港降雨出現任何變化,亦可以調節東江水供港水量來解決問題。可是,東江與香港相距不遠,若果香港出現旱情,東江亦不能幸免,流量也很大機會減少,加上國內城市對水資源需求上升,目前東江沿岸不少城市食水供應亦見緊張,香港有必要自行想辦法應對氣候變化帶來的供水危機。

收集雨水新挑戰

香港天文台亦預計,極端多雨年份未來將更頻繁出現。極端多雨年份是指年雨量多於3,000毫米,而現時本港的平均年雨量是2,300多毫米。過往一世紀,極端多雨年份出現了3年,未來一世紀將增加至約12年。雖然降雨模式改變可能減少食水收集,但預計洪水暴發的規模和頻率卻可能增加。

香港有數以百計的大小河溪,現時很多住宅、商鋪等都非常接近河溪水道,以當局一貫應對洪水的做法,會將天然河溪全然渠道化,將河溪水道挖得更深更闊,以便更快將洪水排出大海。然而,這是本沒倒置的做法,因為天然河道和植被消失,土地滲水能力大減,泛濫情況只會更嚴重。而且,將河溪水道挖得更闊,由於大面積的渠道土地使用率極低,在全年大部分沒有暴雨的日子,便顯得有點浪費土地。再者,將市區雨水排出大海而不是想辦法加以收集,絕不是好的水資源管理方法,在未來降雨日數減少的情況下,只會加劇香港缺水危機。

我們不能控制暴雨發生的頻率和雨量,但雨落在城市,卻是有辦法減緩水勢的。現時,巿區的雨水渠系統會將雨水引入附近河道,換言之,在暴雨下,河道會瞬即接收大量雨水,容易令河道水位暴漲而泛濫,影響河道附近居民。相反,如果市區能保留一定比例的土壤,一來可提升市區土地滲水能力,二來大面積植被可減緩雨水(地面逕流)水勢,紓緩洪水壓力。所謂保留市區土壤,可以是不鋪上混凝土的大型公園、大面積草地、綠化地帶、球場等,而這些設施在沒有暴雨的日子,更可為市民作消閒休憩之用,一舉兩得。

如果是在一些已發展的地方,或是不可能加設大型公園、草地等的地區,當局需將洪水疏導至遠離附近有民居的河道,例如興建排水繞道或雨水排放隧道,將雨水引流。渠務署為紓緩荔枝角、長沙灣及深水埗一帶市區暴雨時水浸的問題,實施「荔枝角雨水轉運計劃」,以隧道形式引流雨水出維多利亞港,這樣可減低當區水浸機會,而不用在這些人口稠密地區進行雨水渠改善工程。不過,這只能針對水浸問題,將雨水排出維多利亞港,等同白白浪費食水。

當局在「荔枝角雨水轉運計劃」進行期間,亦同時實施「水塘間轉運隧道計劃」,興建一條長2.8公里的隧道,把九龍副水塘四分之三的溢流轉運至下城門水塘,另外四分之一的溢流則利用「荔枝角雨水轉運計劃」的雨水隧道排放至維港。九龍副水塘由於容量較小,過往雨季常出現溢滿,流出的水亦會加重現有排水系統的負荷。「水塘間轉運隧道計劃」落實後,除可收集原本溢滿的雨水,亦間接紓緩市區水浸問題,更能針對未來香港降雨模式的改變。

可是,目前只有一項「水塘間轉運隧道計劃」,規模亦不大,現時落在市區的雨水,絕大部分只會排出大海。未來新發展地區或大型填海區,如新界東北發展、西九龍填海區,當局有必要研究將這些新發展區的雨水收集作食水用途。由於這些新發展區佔地不小,雨水收集設施更加要從規劃入手,未雨綢繆。

收集雨水新挑戰

水務署擬在將軍澳興建海水化淡廠,但設施成本高,而且耗用大量能源,排放大量二氧化碳,加劇氣候改變,造成惡性循環,所以海水化淡縱然有其重要性,但只能作應急之用。此外,我們日常的污水,經過一連串處理及消毒除菌程序,水已變得清潔,即所謂「再造水」,現時絕大部分會排出大海,當局應進一步推廣和善用再造水,擴大其使用範圍如沖廁、洗街等。除此之外,亦要在節約用水方便多下點功夫,香港人對食水危機意識薄弱,一方面以為東江水可以無限量供應,另一方面水費偏低,容易造成濫用和浪費,水務署近年推行的「全面水資源管理研究」,無疑是踏出應了正確的一步。至於為人垢病已久的食水管老化和爆裂而做成的滲漏問題,當局亦應盡快解決。

氣候變化的潛在影響是很廣泛和深遠的,我們必須要居安思危,及早準備,尤其一些牽涉到基建的改動或建立,不可能即時實行,往往需要長遠的安排和規劃。食水是我們賴以維生的最基本資源之一,既然預知降雨模式會改變,現在就是工作的時候。在《香港應對氣候變化策略及行動綱領》公眾諮詢後,我們期望是當局的實質工作建議和措施。

文|呂德恒、鄭睦奇博士

Image

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk

九龍旺角登打士街56號
栢裕商業中心23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)

接收本會資料