1. Home
  2. >
  3. All About Green

Conserve Biodiversity in Hong Kong before It's Too Late!

Originally published in Green Country, Issue 113 (Apr 2015)
Author: Green Power

Biodiversity refers to the degree of abundance of living things at ecosystem, species and genetic levels. A high degree of biodiversity indicates a rich ecology, which is hard to recover once damaged. Hong Kong's land area is only 1,100 square kilometres, due to climatic and geographical limitations, yet we have a very high degree of biodiversity that may seem out of proportion with the area. Overall, awareness and appreciation of local biodiversity is still low in Hong Kong, even though much controversy may arise when individual "star" species are affected by large development projects. In fact, rapid development in the last few decades has drastically reduced the native species populations, and damaged natural habitats. The Convention on Biological Diversity is an international agreement, and – through China – Hong Kong is among the signatories. We have to formulate proper conservation measures tailored to local needs. Later, the HKSAR government will release a Biodiversity Strategy and Action Plan.

More than 2,100 species of native plants, 997 saltwater fishes, 185 freshwater fishes, 520 birds, 236 butterflies, 117 dragonflies, and 86 reptiles have been recorded in Hong Kong. In some of these categories we even have more species than other countries that are much larger than Hong Kong. And some species are unique to Hong Kong. We do have very high biodiversity. Unfortunately, numerous precious species, including freshwater fishes and turtles, orchids and dolphins, have been declining in the past dozen years; some have even vanished from the wild. There are many factors threatening local biodiversity; the most direct and severe is the disappearance of natural habitats.

Demand for land for buildings and infrastructure is huge in Hong Kong. Large scale developments often put eye rural areas. For example, in the 1980s, the development of Tin Shui Wai new town led to the destruction of a large area of fish ponds, which comprised a very important wetland habitat. In the 1990s, construction of the 12.5-km North Lantau Highway – which crosses the whole northern coast of Lantau – damaged large areas that were home to Pitcher Plant (Nepentes mirabilis), an uncommon insectivorous plant that is protected by the Forestry Regulations. In the new millennium, construction of West Rail destroyed extensive farmland and threatened the rare fish Rose Bitterling (Rhodeus ocellatus) in a nearby stream. The latest Third Runway project of the airport will greatly shrink the habitat of Chinese White Dolphins (Sousa chinensis) and inevitably impact their population.

For development on private land, it is most difficult to assess the impacts on the environment and biodiversity. For instance, Tai Tong in Yuen Long was once a dragonfly hotspot—there was even plan to list it as a Site of Special Scientific Interest. However, the private land by the river of the country park was turned into a theme park, and the dragonfly hotspot disappeared forever.

Areas such as Green Belt are supposedly better protected by urban planning regulations and the Outline Zoning Plans. Yet government and landowners can still change the land use by following official procedures. Currently, the government is attempting to convert several Green Belt zones into housing areas. In one of these zones near Lion Rock Country Park, we can find Big-headed Frog (Limnonectes fujianensis), an uncommon species, and Lesser Spiny Frog (Quasipaa exilispinosa), which is globally ranked Vulnerable to extinction. If the change of landuse is permitted, the survival of these species will be in jeopardy.

Over harvesting and collection pushes species towards extinction

Water pollution also puts marine and river biodiversity at risk. Kam Tin River, originally an ecologically rich natural stream, has become a breeding ground of Blood Worm and Golden Apple Snail (Pomacea canaliculata) due to pollution by livestock waste, rural domestic wastewater and industrial sewage. On the other hand, river works also damage many natural habitats and result in the reduction of freshwater fish populations.

Over harvesting and over collection leads to the extinction of individual species, such as Three-stripped Box Turtle (Cuora trifasciata), which supposedly has high medicinal value. This turtle can hardly be found in the wild in Hong Kong today. Buddhist Pine (Podocarpus macrophyllus) and some species of orchids are also targets of collectors due to their popularity in gardening markets. Again they have almost vanished from the countryside.

Foreign species and climate change are also causes for concern. Global transportation and trade bring foreign invasive species into the local scene. Outside their native lands, these species lack their natural enemies and can spread rapidly and affect local biodiversity. In Hong Kong, the most obvious examples are Mile-a-minute Weed (Mikania micrantha), Golden Apple Snail (Pomacea canaliculata) and Tilapia (Tilapia spp.). Mile-a-minute Weed attaches to other plants and smothers them to such an extent that the original plants may die. Golden Apple Snails consume all aquatic plants, and Tilapia feed on all other species in the water. As for climate change, although it is a global problem it threatens species distribution and survival of individual regions, partly due to extreme weather. For instance, coral populations in Hong Kong have experienced more die-offs due to the change in sea temperatures.

Law failing to regulate development

There are legal protections for species as well as habitats in Hong Kong. The Forestry Regulations (Forests and Countryside Ordinance (Cap. 96A) protects 27 rare local plants; the Wild Animals Protection Ordinance (Cap. 170) protects most wild mammals, all wild birds, some reptiles and amphibians and two swallowtail butterfly species. The Country Parks Ordinance (Cap. 208) and Marine Parks Ordinance (Cap. 476) protect specific sites. Sites of Special Scientific Interest are designated for places with unique flora and fauna, geographical or geological features. The Environmental Impact Assessment Ordinance (Cap. 499) aims at avoiding, minimising or mitigating developmental impacts on the environment (including ecology). The Town Planning Ordinance (Cap. 131) offers protection to land and coastal habitats by setting landuse restrictions. The marine environment is protected through the Fisheries Protection Ordinance (Cap.171).

With all these law in place, local species and habitats should be properly protected. Yet in reality they are not. The Convention on Biological Diversity was extended to Hong Kong in mid 2011. The government must formulate a Biodiversity Strategy and Action Plan under the convention within this year. The Environment Bureau and the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department have set up different committees and focus groups, with members from green groups, universities, private and public sectors, district organisations and representatives from bureaus and departments. After a year of discussion, a proposal will be made for a 2015-2020 action plan covering aspects of species and habitat conservation, a review of the law, enforcement and public education.

In recent years, the Development Bureau, developers and economists have frequently tabled proposals to build houses on country park land. This reveals a lack of appreciation of local biodiversity on the part of officials and people in power in our society. If this is the case, even more international conventions or more committees will not work. Priority must be placed on protection of biodiversity, and correcting the misguided notion that biodiversity conservation is a roadblock to development. Only then can any conservation measures be effectively enforced.

No matter how modern or high-tech a city may appear, people's livelihoods and their basic needs of air, water and food all rely directly and indirectly on natural ecosystems. Hong Kong is no exception. Ecosystems involve all kinds of species, and the disappearance of species cannot be recovered with even more high-tech solutions. It is only when biodiversity is protected that our natural environment and ecosystems can be sustainably developed.

Image

Subscribe

Contact Us

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
Rm. 2314, 23/F.,Gala Place,
56 Dundas Street, Mongkok, Kln.
Opening Hours:
Monday to Friday 9:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.;
2:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. (Closed on Saturday, Sunday and public holidays)

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 專題

及早保育香港生物多樣性

綠田野 第113期(2015年4月)

「生物多樣性」是指生物種類的豐富程度,包括在生態系統、物種,以至基因層面的多樣性。生物多樣性愈高,代表該地方的生態資源愈豐富,一旦受破壞,難以復元。香港因氣候及地理關係,只有1,100平方公里的陸地面積,卻擁有非常高的生物多樣性,其豐富程度更可說是跟土地面積不成比例。雖然,當社會某些發展會影響個別物種時,會引起很大的社會迴響,但只限於個別重大發展項目或明星物種。整體而言,社會對本地生物多樣性的認知和重視仍然不足。事實上,過去數十年的急速發展,不少原生物種數量減少,生境亦不斷受破壞。《生物多樣性公約》是一項國際公約,簽署國需採取全面行動保護生物多樣性,中國作為公約一分子,香港需在公約下制定適切本地的保育方案,稍後時間,亦將公布本地的《生物多樣性策略及行動計劃》。

香港記錄有超過2,100種原生植物、997種海水魚、185種淡水魚、520種鳥類、236種蝴蝶、117種蜻蜓、86種爬行動物……其中,部分類別的物種數量,甚至比一些面積較香港大很多倍的國家還要多。而且有些物種只能在香港找到,可見香港擁有非常高的生物多樣性。可惜的是,一些珍貴的物種在過去數十年數目不斷下降,有些更已於野外消失,當中涉及的種類有淡水魚、淡水龜、蘭花、海豚等。威脅香港生物多樣性的原因有很多,其中以生境消失的影響最為直接和嚴重。

香港對建屋及基建的土地需求十分龐大,一些較大規模的發展,更往往會對準鄉郊地帶,例如八十年代發展天水圍新市鎮,破壞了大面積的魚塘區,而那片魚塘區,原是非常重要的濕地生境。九十年代興建的北大嶼山公路,全長12.5公里,橫跨整個大嶼山北岸,當時就破壞了一大片豬籠草(Nepentes mirabilis)生境,豬籠草是一種食蟲植物,並不常見,受林務規例保護。至千禧年代興建西鐵線,破壞了大批農地,令當時在附近溪澗生長的稀有魚類高體鰟鮍(Rhodeus ocellatus)大受威脅。最新近通過的機場第三條跑道,更加會大幅縮小中華白海豚(Sousa chinensis)的生境,無可避免會影響牠們的數目。

如果發展是在一些私人土地上,就更難保發展會對環境和生物多樣性造成影響。例如元朗大棠曾經是一處蜻蜓熱點,並打算列入「具特殊科學價值地點」,但後來因為河流旁邊郊野公園的私人土地,被開發成主題公園,蜻蜓熱點亦從此消失。

一些基於城市規劃條例,並在法定圖則中受保護的生態環境,例如是「綠化地帶」,原本會受較佳的保護,但政府或土地持有人仍然可依據特定程序,申請更改土地用途。最近政府為了增加房屋供應,將多幅原本劃為「綠化地帶」的土地,申請更改土地用途作興建樓房之用,其中一幅毗鄰獅子山郊野公園的「綠化地帶」,記錄有大頭蛙(Limnonectes fujianensis)和小棘蛙(Quasipaa exilispinosa),前者屬不常見物種;後者在國際上評為易危,如果申請獲批,對牠們的存活會有很大影響。

濫捕濫採 滅絕性破壞

水質污染對河流和海洋生物多樣性的威脅亦不能忽視。錦田河的大小支流因長期受禽畜廢物、鄉村生活污水和工場廢水污染,原本應是生態盎然的天然溪澗,現在只剩下紅蟲和福壽螺(Pomacea canaliculata)。另一方面,河道整治工程亦會破壞不少天然河流生境,使原生淡水魚數目銳減。

濫捕和濫採更會令個別物種滅絕,例如俗稱金錢龜的三線閉殼龜(Cuora trifasciata),由於具很高的藥用價值,濫捕已令牠們在香港野外瀕臨消失。又例如羅漢松(Podocarpus macrophyllus)和一些蘭花,由於極受園藝市場歡迎,濫採嚴重,目前香港野外已很難找到它們。

外來物種與氣候變化亦會對生物多樣性帶來影響。全球物流業擴展,加上交通、人流來往頻繁,容易將入侵性外來物種帶進本地。外來物種在非原生地因沒有天敵及其他因素,能夠迅速並大量繁殖,影響本土生物多樣性。在香港,最明顯的例子有薇甘菊(Mikania micrantha)、福壽螺和金山鰂(Tilapia spp.)。薇甘菊是附生植物,大量繁殖並大範圍遮蓋原生植物,使它們枯死,福壽螺則會吃光了水中植物,金山鰂亦會吃盡水中其他生物。至於氣候變化,雖然是全球性問題,但全球暖化引發的極端氣候,會影響個別地區的物種分布和生存,例如香港的珊瑚群落因海水溫度的變化,增加了死亡情況。

發展為尊 空有法例

香港一向都有保護物種以至生境的法例。林務規例(林區及郊區條例)(第96A章)保護二十七類本地珍稀植物;野生動物保護條例(第170章)保護了包括絕大部分野生哺乳類、所有野生鳥類、部分爬行、兩棲類,以及兩種裳鳳蝶。生境方面,郊野公園條例(第208章)和海岸公園條例(第476章)保護一些指定地點。一些在動植物、地理或地質上具有特色的地方,會劃作具特殊科學價值地點以作保護。環境影響評估條例(第499章)目的在於避免、緩減或補償發展對環境(包括生態)的影響。城市規劃條例(第131章)則以法定土地利用,保護陸地和海岸生境。海洋範圍,則有漁業保護條例(第171章)保護。

以條例來看,物種和生境理應受到相當保護,可是現實並不然。《生物多樣性公約》在2011年中延伸至香港,當局需於今年在公約下制定本地的《生物多樣性策略及行動計劃》,環境局與漁農自然護理署早前亦因此而成立了不同的委員會和專題小組,這些委員會和小組成員包括了來自環保團體、大學、私營及公營機構、地區組織,以及有關決策局及部門的政府代表。經過了約一年時間的討論,即將向政府建議在2015-2020年落實生物多樣性策略,涉及範疇廣泛,包括物種存護、生境保護、法例檢討、加強執法、公眾教育等。

近年來,發展局、地產業界和經濟學者等,不斷發出開發郊野公園土地建屋的言論,可見一些政府官員和社會高層人士對本地生物多樣性的重視並不足夠,在位者觀念如此,再多的國際公約、再多的委員會亦只會流於形式、流於片面。所以,政府和社會首先要將保護生物多樣性看成重要的策略目標,摒棄將保護生物多樣性視為阻礙發展的錯誤觀念,之後制訂的一切保育措施,才能有效執行。

儘管是世界任何一個現代化高科技城巿,巿民在消閒或生活平衡上,又或是最基本的空氣、食水、食物等多方面上,均直接或間接倚賴大自然生態系統的供應,香港亦不例外。生態系統包含各式各樣的物種,物種的消失是再發達的科技也挽回不了,生物多樣性得到合適保護,自然環境和生態才能持續發展。

文|呂德恒、鄭睦奇博士

Image

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk

九龍旺角登打士街56號
栢裕商業中心23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)

接收本會資料