1. Home
  2. >
  3. Feature

Contaminated Water Flows Directly to the Sea
Attention Needed for Non-Point Source Pollution

Green Country Vol. 112 (Feb 2015)

On rainy days, rainwater falls on the soil and vegetation and is absorbed. However, urban roads are covered with non-permeable cement, and rainwater falling on them enters storm drains, via the drain holes you see in streets. As rainwater should be clean, storm drains carry the water directly into rivers or the sea. However, in reality, storm drains not only collect rainwater, but a lot of wastewater including from washing the streets and cars, as well as sewage illegally connected to storm drains. Every day, large amounts of untreated sewage – which includes oil, food waste, chemical cleaners and pesticides – are poured directly into river channels and the sea. These are known as "Non-point- source" pollution, which poses a serious threat to plants and animals in rivers and the sea.

Water pollution can be divided into "point source" and "non-point source". Point source pollution refers to wastewater discharged from a designated location, such as sewage outlets in factories. Pollutants on roads mix with rainwater and flow into the storm drains, eventually being discharged into river channels or the sea. As it is difficult to trace the source of the pollutants, this is categorised as non-point source.

Wastewater from residential, commercial and industrial sources is treated in a public waste water treatment system, and collected via a wastewater pumping station or waste water treatment plant through a wastewater treatment network (or sewer). Based on the "Water Pollution Control Ordinance" that was formulated in 1980, Hong Kong is divided into 10 Water Control Zones (WCZs), and discharge of wastewater is regulated under a licensing system. The "Livestock Waste Control Scheme" promulgated in 1987 and the "Waste Disposal (Livestock Waste) Regulations" that came into effect in 1988 further regulated wastewater from raising livestock such as pigs, chickens and ducks. So point source wastewater is regulated and treated.

However, non-point source water pollution has been ignored by the government and the general public. The streets are fitted with storm drains with the intention of effectively draining rainwater during rainfall, to reduce the risk of flooding. While large items or rubbish are filtered out by a barrier, rainwater is discharged directly into river channels and the sea without any waste treatment, as the storm drains were designed purely for discharging rainwater. Problems will arise when wastewater enters the storm drains.

Storm drains have always received wastewater

The non-point source pollution received in the storm drains includes all kinds of waste, such as dust, dirt and rubbish from vehicles. During rainfall or when streets are washed, these pollutants flow into the storm drains together with rainwater. Meanwhile, the misuse of the storm drains is very common, as many people have a wrong perception of storm drains and see them as "sewer openings" for waste, and often dispose of rubbish and wastewater into the storm drains. Restaurants frequently wash plates and food in back alleys, while car repair shops also wash cars by the roadside. The wastewater from washing the streets also enters storm drains. So while intended to collect clean rainwater, in reality storm drains collect a lot of wastewater containing oil waste, food waste, chemical cleaning agents and pesticides.

Storm drains discharge wastewater directly into river channels, greatly affecting the water quality. This is evident when comparing water quality statistics from the water monitoring stations of Shan Pui River, Yuen Long, and Tung Chung River, Lantau Island. The catchment area of the Shan Pui River water quality monitoring station covers mainly towns and villages, so the water tested comes mostly from storm drains or surface runoff from roads, while the catchment area of Tung Chung River water quality monitoring station covers mostly natural areas, with a vegetated river basin and several villages. As the water tested in the two water quality monitoring stations derives from different sources, the water quality is drastically different.

The suspended solid particles and lipid content in Shan Pui River are significantly higher than in Tung Chung River. Both pollutants are the result of human activity. As for the number of faecal coliforms and E. coli, the measurements for Shan Pui River are 10 times those for Tung Chung River. Both pollutants are closely related to domestic wastewater. In addition, apart from unusually high readings in May, conductivity at the Tung Chung River stations was significantly lower than for Shan Pui River – reflecting lower levels of pollutants.

The water quality of Tung Chung River is good, and there is a high diversity of fish. Plants and insects can be found along the river channel, reflecting a vibrant ecology. In contrast, the water in Shan Pui River has been contaminated and resembles a lifeless "sewer", where the only fish found are those resistant to pollution, all of which are invasive species. The river has become very turbid and smelly due to poor water quality, becoming a nuisance for nearby residents and causing problems to public health and urban appearance. Shan Pui River flows into the sea and has a high possibility of affecting the seawater quality, which would also affect the health of swimmers at nearby beaches.

Retrofit existing drainage systems

In countries with scarce water resources, such as Singapore, there are heavy penalties for improper use of storm water drains, as rainwater collected from these drains is filtered, disinfected and re-used even as drinking water. The maximum penalty is SG$10,000 (HK$60,000). In Hong Kong, according to the "Water Pollution Control Ordinance", discharge of wastewater into storm drains is an offence. First-time offenders face a maximum penalty of HK$200,000 and 6 months imprisonment, which is more severe than in Singapore. Yet, apart from illegal connection of wastewater to storm drains, the authorities do not enforce the law against roadside discharge of wastewater into storm drains. Furthermore, under normal circumstances, it is not feasible to connect to the sewer system for work such as cleaning in restaurants, car washing and street cleaning.

To solve the problem of wastewater affecting river and sea water quality and ecology, the most effective way is to connect storm drains to wastewater treatment plants. To drain effectively, storm drains empty directly to rivers and the sea. For such large scale changes to storm drains, consideration must be given to the capacity of wastewater treatment, which is based on the existing sewage system receiving volume, which may not be adequate for handling additional wastewater from storm drains. For this reason, improvement to the existing storm drain system poses a great challenge.

Based on past experience, water that is polluted from non-point source pollution in storm drains and discharged into river channels beside residential areas, the wastewater becomes a nuisance for residents, and the government needs to take action. Shing Mun River, for example, has been affected by non-point pollution, with poor water quality. Shing Mun River has undergone water quality improvement works for over a decade, costing billions of dollars, involving various government departments. Unfortunately, the Shing Mun River's water quality has never reached acceptable standards that would make it okay for people to be in contact with it. This is because the problem of non-point source pollution was never resolved. Therefore, improving the existing storm drainage system is extremely difficult without dealing with the source of the pollution problem. To spend more resources would be just waste of effort.

Innovative rainwater collection system

To thoroughly resolve the non-point pollution from storm drains, the best solution is to focus on the issue and solve it in the planning stage in new development areas. The government will soon begin the "Tung Chung New Town Extension Project", which involves tens of hectares of space, with an estimated population increase of more than 20,000 people in Tung Chung West. This project will be huge, involving public and private housing developments with traffic amenities. If these follow previous developments, storm drains connections will be close to the river. Hence, the storm drains of the Tung Chung New development area will be connected to the Tung Chung River. Tung Chung River is one of the few large rivers that is largely preserved in its natural form and is ecologically rich, making it exceptionally important to protect the water quality of Tung Chung River from non-point source pollution from storm drains.

With strong demands from environmental groups to protect the Tung Chung River, there will be an innovative rainwater collection system set up in the Tung Chung New Town Extension, which will collect rainwater from storm drains in the New Town and villages. There will be periodic checks, and if the pollution exceeds a certain standard, the water will be transferred to a wastewater treatment plant. If the pollution levels have not exceeded the standard, they will flow through a newly built wetland filter before discharge into Tung Chung River. Wetland filters are modelled on the pollutant filtration and degradation functions of natural soil and vegetation.

There are successful examples of wetland filters abroad. However, as the designs of the current Tung Chung New Town Extension are still concepts, there are still no details. In addition, wetland filters cannot degrade some modern chemical pollutants, such as pollutants resulting from residual drugs. Therefore, environmental groups still have doubts regarding how effective wetland filters will be in practice.

Yet, this is a crucial step for the government in facing storm drain pollution. Environmental groups also hope that finding a solution for storm drain pollution of the New Town Development can successfully protect the water quality within the natural environment, in turn setting an example for other new development areas. Developed areas should also gradually improve existing storm drains, and not cling to the notion that storm drains only contain clean rainwater, or depend on enforcement to solve problems. The problem of water pollution in urban river channels and the harbour has troubled people for decades. We must not allow non-point pollution in storm drains to endlessly pollute rivers and the sea.

Text | Henry Lui & Dr. Cheng Luk-ki

Image

Subscribe

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 專題

污水直流大海 正視非點源污染

綠田野 第112期(2015年2月)

下雨天,雨水落在土壤和植被上,會被吸收。但城市街道都鋪設了不滲水的混凝土,雨水落在地上,便要靠雨水渠排走。我們在街上看見的一個個「坑渠口」,便是收集雨水至雨水渠。由於雨水渠只會收集雨水,雨水又是清潔的,於是雨水渠會直接將水排入河道或大海。但事實是,雨水渠收集的不只雨水,更多是污水,包括洗街洗車的污水,還有非法將污水渠接駁至雨水渠。每天,大量未經處理的污水,包括含油污、食物渣滓、化學清潔劑、殺蟲劑的污水,直接傾倒入河道和大海,稱為「非點源」污染,嚴重威脅河道和海洋生態。

水質污染源可分為「點源」和「非點源」兩類。點源污染是指污水排放處有特定位置,例如是工廠的污水排放口,污水會在特定位置截流或收集。非點源污染則是指污水排放處沒有特定位置,包括了污水產生和排放地點,例如馬路上的污染物,隨雨水經雨水渠,排放至河道或大海,由於已很難確認那裡是污水的排放源頭位置,所以屬於非點源污染。

住宅、商業和工業所產生的污水,由公共污水收集系統處理。透過污水系統網絡渠道,即「污水渠」,收集到污水泵房及污水處理廠。在法例上,1980年制定了《水污染管制條例》,將香港水域劃分為十個水質管制區,採用發牌制度管制在區內排放污水。1987年頒布的禽畜廢物管制計劃,以及1988年實施的《廢物處置(禽畜廢物)規例》,進一步規管飼養豬、雞、鴨等產生的禽畜廢物污水。所以,在香港,點源水污染可以說已受管制,並得到適當處理。

可是,在非點源水污染問題上,卻一直被政府和大眾所忽視。街道都設有雨水渠,原意是在下雨時迅速排走雨水,減低水浸風險。雨水只會經欄柵隔走較大型垃圾,並沒任何污水處理程序,便直接排出河道或海洋。正因雨水渠設計原意只在排走雨水,一旦雨水渠接收的是受污染廢水,問題便隨之出現。

雨水渠一直收污水

雨水渠接收的非點源污染,包括街道上的各種污物,如塵埃、車輛留下的污漬和垃圾等,當下雨或洗街時,這些污染物便會隨雨水流入雨水渠。另方面,誤用雨水渠情況十分普遍,很多市民對雨水渠的印象,都只是「坑渠口」,可用來排污,不時將垃圾和廢水倒入雨水渠。食肆很多時在後巷洗碗和清洗食物,車房亦習慣在路邊洗車,加上洗街所產生的污水,一概都直接傾倒入雨水渠。原本只用於接收清潔雨水的雨水渠,實際上接收不少含油污、食物渣滓、化學清潔劑、殺蟲劑等污水。

雨水渠每天不斷將污水直接排放入河道,大大影響河道水質,以元朗山貝河和大嶼山東涌河的水質監測站水質數據作比較,便可說明之。山貝河水質監測站的集水區主要覆蓋市鎮和鄉村,所測量的水大致都是從雨水渠口和路面表面徑流直接而來。相反,東涌河水質監測站的集水區主要覆蓋天然地區,河盆大部分面積留有植被,當中只包括數條村落。兩個水質監測站因測量的水的來源不同,水質亦有天淵之別。

山貝河的懸浮固體和油脂含量數值明顯較東涌河高,兩者均是主要由人類活動產生的污染物。至於糞大腸菌群和大腸桿菌數值,山貝河亦以十倍計高於東涌河,此兩種污染物與生活廢水息息相關。此外,有關導電率的數據,東涌河除了TC1監測站在2010年5月曾出現一次異常高數值外,數值大致亦較山貝河低,導電率愈高代表污染物愈多。

東涌河水質良好,擁有豐富的魚類多樣性,植物和昆蟲遍布河道,生機處處。相反,山貝河因水質受污染,只是了無生氣的「坑渠」,河中找到的只有耐污染的魚類,均是外來入侵物種。又由於水質差,河水變得混濁和發臭,對附近居民造成滋擾,亦帶來公共衛生和市容問題。山貝河河水最終流入大海,很大機會會影響海水水質,以至附近泳灘,直接影響泳客健康。

改裝現存雨水渠系統

在水資源緊絀的國家,例如新加坡,由於雨水渠收集的雨水會經過濾和消毒等程序,循環再用,甚至成為飲用水,所以,對於不當利用雨水渠,會加以嚴厲處罰,最高罰款一萬新元(約六萬港元)。在香港,根據《水污染管制條例》,將污水排入雨水渠即屬違法,初犯最高可罰款港幣二十萬元及監禁六個月,罰則較新加坡更重,可是除了非法接駁污水渠到雨水渠外,當局一般對路邊排放污水入雨水渠的行為,都不會執法。再者,食肆清潔、洗車、洗街等工作,在實際運作下,亦難以將污水收集至污水渠。

要解決雨水渠排放污水影響河流和海洋水質、生態,最直接了當的方法是將雨水渠接駁污水處理廠。若遇上傾盆大雨,由於要盡快排走雨水,雨水渠才直接將雨水排放入河道或大海。當然,這樣涉及大規模改動現有雨水渠管,亦要考慮污水處理廠的處理容量,因現時污水處理廠的處理容量只按污水渠接收水量而設計,未必能應付由雨水渠接收而來的額外污水。所以,改善現有雨水渠系統是一項非常巨大的挑戰。

以往經驗顯示,假如受雨水渠非點源污染的水,排放到接近民居的河道,污水會對居民造成滋擾,當局不得不處理。以城門河為例,一直受雨水渠非點源污染影響,水質惡劣,城門河水質改善工程前後歷時十多年,花費數億元,又有不同政府部門參與,可惜城門河水質一直亦未能符合讓市民直接接觸的標準,這是由於沒有解決雨水渠非點源污染這個問題源頭。所以,縱然改善現有雨水渠系統是如何困難,若不從源頭根治污染問題,花費再多資源只會事倍功半。

嶄新雨水收集系統

要徹底解決雨水渠非點源污染,最好是在新發展區域,由一開始規劃便針對此問題,著手處理。政府即將開展擴充東涌新市鎮計劃,其中東涌西涉及面積數十公頃,估計新增人口二萬多人,公營房屋、私人住宅,加上交通配套,發展規模龐大。假如以一貫新市鎮發展模式,雨水渠接駁附近河道,即是說,東涌新發展區的雨水渠將接駁東涌河。東涌河是本地碩果僅存仍大致保留天然面貌的大型河流,生態豐富,保護東涌河水質不受雨水渠非點源污染尤為重要。

在環保團體保護東涌河的強烈訴求下,東涌新市鎮擴充範圍將建立一套嶄新的雨水渠收集系統,由新市鎮和鄉村雨水渠收集到的水,會定期檢驗,若污染超過特定標準,便會輸往污水處理廠處理。若污染未有超標,則會流經一個新建的淨水濕地過濾,然後才排入東涌河。淨水濕地是模擬天然泥土和植物,過濾和降解污染物的功能。

淨水濕地在外國已有成功例子,但由於目前東涌新市鎮的有關設計仍屬概念性質,未有具體細節,加上淨水濕地並不能降解一些現代化學污染物,例如由人們殘餘藥物造成的污染。所以,環保團體對淨水濕地的潔淨成效仍然存疑。

然而,這是當局正視雨水渠污染的重要一步,環保團體亦期望東涌新市鎮處理雨水渠污染的方案,能成功保護附近天然環境的水質,繼而將此經驗推展至其他新發展區。另方面,對於已發展區域,亦應逐步改善現有雨水渠系統,不要再妄顧現實地認為流到雨水渠的只有清潔的雨水,或以為單靠執法便能解決問題。市區河道和海港水質污染問題已困擾市民數十年,絕對不能讓雨水渠非點源污染,無日無止的繼續污染河道和海洋。

文|呂德恒、鄭睦奇博士

Image

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk

九龍旺角登打士街56號
栢裕商業中心23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)

接收本會資料