1. Home
  2. >
  3. Green Classroom
  4. >
  5. Be Greener

Green Driving

Green Country Vol. 128(Oct 2017)

It seems that we cannot live without cars. Many people are very accustomed to travelling in private cars. In 2016, the number of registered private cars in Hong Kong reached 580,000 – translating to 277 cars per kilometre of road. This is mind-boggling! From an environmental point of view, public transport is certainly the first choice. If a private car must be used, we should pay attention to fuel efficiency, to minimise carbon emissions and make driving more environmentally friendly.

Fuel efficiency can be expressed as the driving distance per litre of fuel used. The higher the figure, the more environmentally friendly the car is. The simplest way to increase fuel efficiency is to remove the miscellaneous articles in the rear trunk. According to the US Department of Energy data, fuel efficiency can be increased by 1% for every reduction of 45kg. The result is even more obvious for small vehicles.<

In addition, tyre pressure is important. Maintaining tyre pressure at a suitable level can enhance fuel efficiency by 0.6-3%. Insufficient tyre pressure will increase friction and reduce fuel efficiency. However, be careful not to over-fill a tyre or it may burst.

A wasteful habit in driving is to turn on the air-conditioner all the time. This will reduce fuel efficiency by as much as 25%. On the other hand, if you turn off the air-conditioner and open the windows, air drag is increased, particularly when the car is moving quickly. To solve the di

Cars bring us considerable convenience. Yet they also bring huge environmental impacts. A small change in our driving habit may help, a little, to lessen the harm to the environment.

Text | Tommy Yu

Subscribe

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 綠「識」全接觸

減排駕駛

原文刊於《綠田野》128期(2017年10月)
作者:綠色力量

現今生活不可能沒有汽車,不少人早習慣以私家車代步。香港2016年的私家車登記數目就高達58萬輛,即每公里道路就有277輛私家車,數量驚人。從環境角度出發,當然鼓勵大眾優先選用公共交通工具,如果有必要駕駛私家車,多注意減少汽車燃油消耗,從而減少碳排放,亦可令駕程更環保。

量度汽車的燃油效率,可以一公升燃油的行駛距離(km/L)作指標,數值愈高,駕程愈環保。要增加燃油效率,最簡單的方法是將車尾箱雜物移走。跟據美國能源部的數據,每減輕45公斤的雜物,燃油效率就能增加1%,效果在小型車輛上更為顯著。

另外,控制車胎胎壓亦十分重要。確保胎壓維持在建議氣壓水平,能增加燃油效率0.6-3%。因為胎壓不足會增加汽車前進的阻力,減低燃油效率。不過,亦要避免輪胎過量充氣,否則會增加爆破風險。

駕駛其中一個相當耗油的習慣,是長期開著空調,這樣會大大降低燃油效率達25%。然而,即使關上空調,打開車窗,由於會增加車輛前進的空氣阻力,特別是在高速行駛,亦會增加油耗。要解決這個兩難狀況,駕駛者可以於慢駛時打開車窗,高速行駛時則使用空調。

汽車無疑為我們生活帶來許多便利,但同時亦為環境帶來巨大負擔。小小的改變駕駛習慣,成效積少成多,亦能為環境帶來影響。

Top

接收本會資料

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
九龍旺角登打士街56號
家樂坊23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)