1. Home
  2. >
  3. Green Classroom
  4. >
  5. Be Greener

Medicines – Helping People but Harming the Environment

Green Country Vol. 127 (Aug 2017)

Medicines help to cure diseases and restore people’s health. Yet they are also among the most difficult to handle pollutants. At present, clinical waste generated from hospitals is sent to the Chemical Waste Treatment Centre, but domestic use of medicine is disposed of or discharged directly. The latter waste may be in smaller volumes than from hospitals, but taking the whole population into account, the total amount is significant and, more importantly, the waste medicines may enter the environment and the ecosystem.

Medicines used at home are eventually transferred with other waste to landfills, or flushed down toilets. The existing solid waste and sewage treatment facilities do not have the capacity to decompose or separate the medicines. Leftover medicines may dissolve in water and be discharged into the rivers or sea through the landfills and sewage treatment plants. Hormones in these leftover medicines may affect the reproductive systems of wild animals, and antibiotics may strengthen resistance of bacteria, leading to superbugs./p>

A decade ago, in 2007, there was study on the level of antibiotics in Victoria Harbour. This showed that most antibiotics were in low concentrations, except for ERY-H2O. There was no follow up investigation, as the effects of antibiotics were not clear at that time. It was not until 2013, when an American study indicated that antibiotic resistance had been developing in bacteria of a polluted local river that attracted worldwide concern. Last year, a study in Hong Kong revealed that among 23 river sites that were sampled, there was medium environmental risk from the antibiotic Ofloxacin at 20% of the sites.

All around the world, efforts have been launched to recycle leftover medicines. In the United States, there are community medicine recycling and donation schemes. In Taiwan, numerous medicine recycling stations have been set up. The Taipei city government even marked the recycling stations on Google Map, to encourage the public to recycle medicines.

In Hong Kong, the College of Pharmacy Practice started a medicine recycling programme in 2014, but this was unsuccessful and ended after just four months. Today, public awareness of the environmental impacts of leftover medicines is still low here. And without a proper recycling programme, the pollution problem shall keep us alarmed for some time.

Text | Peggy Chung

Image
Photo from Pixabay

Subscribe

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 環保教室
  4. >
  5. 綠多一點點

藥物-醫治疾病 傷害環境

綠田野 第127期(2017年8月)

藥物能夠治病,使人回復健康,但它同時是現時最難處理的污染物之一。醫院產生的剩餘藥物及醫療廢料會送往化學廢物處理中心處理,但家居藥物一般只會直接丟棄。相比醫院,家居藥物每次棄置的數量不多,但以人口計算,總棄置量仍相當可觀,更重要是丟棄的藥物可能會進入環境和生態系統。

家居藥物一般會與其他廢物一同送往堆填區,或是被丟到馬桶沖走,但現時的廢物及污水處理設施並不能有效分解或分離藥物,殘餘藥物有機會溶入水中,經堆填區或污水處理廠排出河溪或海洋。這些廢棄藥物中的激素有可能影響野生動物的生殖系統,抗生素則有可能加強細菌的抗藥性,導致超級病菌的產生。

香港早於2007年已有研究維港海水的抗生素含量,當時顯示大部分的抗生素濃度屬低水平,僅脫水紅黴素(ERY-H2O)的濃度較高,由於當時社會對抗生素的影響尚未清楚,所以缺乏深入研究。至2013年美國一項研究顯示,當地一條河流因受含抗生素藥物的污染,導致河流的細菌產生了抗藥性,世界各地對殘餘抗生素愈見關注。香港去年一項研究指出,在二十三個河溪取樣地點中,約兩成地點的抗生素氧氟沙星(Ofloxacin)濃度,已構成中等程度的環境風險。

目前世界不少地方已開始回收剩餘藥物,例如美國有社區藥物回收及捐贈計劃,台灣各縣市亦設有多個回收藥物點,台北市政府更將藥物回收點標記在谷歌地圖上,鼓勵民眾回收。在香港,2014年香港藥劑專科學院(亦曾試行藥物回收,但成效不彰,計劃只推行了短短四個月。時至今天,香港市民對剩餘藥物造成的環境影響認識仍然不足,加上欠缺回收渠道,剩餘藥物污染問題仍有待關注。

文 | Peggy Chung

Image
Photo from Pixabay

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk

九龍旺角登打士街56號
栢裕商業中心23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)

接收本會資料