1. Home
  2. >
  3. Green Classroom
  4. >
  5. Be Greener

Pollution from Washing Clothes

Green Country Vol. 126 (Jun 2017)

It is time to pack up the winter clothing after Tuen Ng, the Dragon Boat Festival, as the weather warms up again. But before storing winter items in the wardrobe, they have to be cleaned. The cleaning, however, results in pollution, as wastewater from contains microfibres coming off the clothing that cannot be removed completely by the present wastewater treatment processes.

Microfibres are miniscule man-made plastic fibres, with a diameter one-fifth that of a single hair. The use of microfibres allows garments to become soft, more elastic, retain warmth, and keep out wind and water. Conventional wastewater treatment cannot deal with these fine microfibres. Studies have estimated that about 1.7g of microfibres will fall off from a jacket containing such materials during cleaning, and about 10% to 40% of the microfibres will remain in the treated wastewater and be discharged into the sea or water bodies. In a city with a population of 100,000, there might be 170kg to 441kg of microfibres from washing each day.

Once microfibres enter into rivers or the sea, they are easily taken up by aquatic animals such as fish, shrimps, crabs, oysters and shellfish. The synthetic materials cannot be digested and will be accumulated in the bodies of the animals, inhibiting their digestive systems, and perhaps eventually leading to starvation. In addition, toxic substances may become attached to the surfaces of the microfibres and enter the animals’ bodies. Larger organisms at higher levels of the food chain – such as whales, dolphins and humans, which consume these animals will absorb the microfibres and toxic substances at the same time.

We cannot avoid doing laundry. Yet we can choose more environmentally friendly clothing such as natural materials that can be degraded. Artificial fibres such as polyester, polyamide and polypropylene should be avoided. Also, clothing tagged with “soft fabrics” and “quick-drying fabrics” is also likely to be made from microfibres – so beware!

Text | Helen Yau

Image
Photo from Pixabay

Subscribe

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 環保教室
  4. >
  5. 綠多一點點

乾淨帶來的污染

綠田野 第126期(2017年6月)

端午剛過,寒衣終於可以放回衣籠中,留待明年再穿。存放寒衣之前,當然要洗滌乾淨,而污染正正是從乾淨而來。清洗過程中會產生廢水,廢水最後會經處理才排出大海。可是,有研究發現,洗滌衣物後的廢水會夾雜衣物脫落的纖維,現時的污水處理程序並不能百分百移除這些纖維。

微纖維是非常細小的人造塑膠纖維,每一條的直徑只有頭髮的五份一。這類物料經常用於衣物當中,令衣物更柔軟、更有彈性,或增加衣物的保暖、防風、防水功效。由於微纖維體積太過細小,一般污水處理程序不能攔截所有微纖維。有研究估算,每清洗一件含有微纖維的外套會脫落約1.7克的微纖維,當中約有一至四成的微纖維會留在處理後的廢水中,並隨之排出大海或其他水體。以一個人口十萬的城市計算,每日因清洗衣物釋出的微纖維可達170千克至441千克。

微纖維一旦進入河流或海洋,很容易會被水中的小動物如魚、蝦、蟹、蠔、螺等攝食,由於微纖維是合成物料,不能消化,它會在動物體內慢慢累積,妨礙消化,最終令動物餓死。另外,微纖維表面會吸附水中一些有毒物質,動物攝入微纖維時,這些有毒物質亦會進入動物體內。處於食物鏈中較高層的大型生物如鯨魚、海豚、人類,在食用細小動物時,會將微纖維和有毒物質同時帶入體內,影響健康。

我們當然不能不洗衣服,但可選擇以「更環保」物料製成的衣物,例如是可自然降解的天然物料,避免選購以聚酯纖維、聚醯胺纖維、聚丙烯纖維等人造纖維製成的衣物。此外,一些標示「柔軟纖維」、「快乾纖維」的衣物亦很大可能由微纖維製成,最好可免則免!

文 | Helen Yau

Image
Photo from Pixabay

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk

九龍旺角登打士街56號
家樂坊23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)

接收本會資料