1. Home
  2. >
  3. Green Classroom
  4. >
  5. Be Greener

Green and Smart Eaters

Green Country Vol. 125 (Apr 2017)

We are what we eat. We often pay considerable attention to food safety and hygiene. Yet has it ever crossed your mind whether the process of food production is environmentally friendly? Would this be something you consider when eating?

Organic certification is widely known on food labels today, and used for vegetables and meat products. The certification is issued by an independent third-party institute, to assess whether the food – in the planting or rearing and production process – has fulfilled the requirements of no chemical fertilisers, pesticides, steroids, antibiotics, etc, to minimise negative impacts on the environment and human health. However, as there are a variety of organic standards in different countries and institutions, consumers should make some efforts to find out what is truly behind the different labels. In particular, you should be careful with arbitrary labelling such as “natural”, “harmless” and “no chemical additives”.

The Marine Stewardship Council also issues an “MSC Eco-label” for fishery products. Fishing vessels are required to follow a sustainable way of catching. For example, there is a restriction on fish catches, to ensure that there is a sustainable amount of fish to sustain balanced marine ecosystems. Fishing tools such as fish nets are also regulated to reduce abusive catching. The labelling system takes into account the whole production line until the retailing stage. Food processing plants and restaurants that get their seafood from qualified suppliers may also be awarded the MSC Eco-label, so that consumers can make their choices on different occasions.

Luxury cuisine is no longer the fashion today. A "green menu" is our priority. As consumers, we have great power to change the market. Take some time to understand the meaning of different food labels, and opt for the eco ones. With consumer power, we can knock out the producers that harm our environment.

Text | Tommy Yu

Photo from Pixabay

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 環保教室
  4. >
  5. 綠多一點點

環保「識食人」

綠田野 第125期(2017年4月)

古有「民以食為天」之說,現代人更加會關注食物安全和對健康的影響,至於食物生產過程是否環保,會不會是大家選購食物時的考慮因素?

「有機認證」是最為人熟悉的食物標籤,在疏果以至肉類上也會找到,代表了食品在生產或種植及飼養過程中,不施加化學肥料、殺蟲劑、類固醇、抗生素等,以減少對環境和人體健康的負面影響。這些認證由一個獨立的第三方機構發出,以劃一的標準,鑑定食品是否合符該認證的要求。由於不同國家、不同機構均有各自的認證標準,市面上的有機標籤林林總總,消費者需要多留意和查證,才能判別不同標籤背後代表了什麼。此外,值得留意是市面上有不少食品寫上「天然」、「無害」、「無化學加工」等字眼,這些均字眼背後並無一套客觀準則,消費者需小心選擇。

至於針對漁業則有由海洋管理委員會發出的「MSC生態標籤」。海洋管理委員會要求漁船以可持續的方式捕魚,如限制每次漁獲的數量,確保留下足夠的魚類維持海洋生態平衡。又會限制漁具,如漁網的大小,以減少誤捕。標籤還會將整個生產線至最後銷售全部環節包括在內,一些採用合資格海鮮供應商的加工廠、餐廳,亦同樣獲「MSC生態標籤」,讓消費者在每一個層面均能有更環保的選擇。

今時今日,識飲識食不再是吃得好、吃得豪,而是吃得「環保」。作為消費者,「消費」是我們改變生產商的最大力量,多了解不同標籤的含意,只挑選對環境最好的食品,以消費者之力將罔顧環境的食品淘汰於市場。

文 | 余健綱

Image
Photo from Pixabay

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk

九龍旺角登打士街56號
家樂坊23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)

接收本會資料