1. Home
  2. >
  3. Green Classroom
  4. >
  5. Be Greener

Nanotechnology and the Environment

Green Country Vol. 122 (Oct 2016)

If you search for “nano” on the internet, you will find nanotechnology is in use in almost all aspects of our daily items. It seems that once a product is stamped with “nanotech”, it becomes good and efficient. Yet what in fact is nano?

Nanometre (nm) is a unit of length, measuring (10-9m). According to the National Nanotechnology Initiative of the United States, nanotechnology refers to the application of space and substances within the scope of 1 to 100 nanometres. As the size of a nanoparticle is extremely small, its application raises the surface area to volume ratio and changes the characteristics of the substance.

Take silver as an example. It is a very stable metal in ordinary condition, and can be preserved for a long period of time. But silver nanoparticles can kill germs and are now used in manufacturing toys, clothing and medicine. Titanium dioxide (TiO2) nanoparticles, another case in point, are widely used in cosmetics and sunscreen products as they provide ultraviolet protection.

Nanotechnology also applies to environmental work. In 2007, the Polytechnic University of Hong Kong developed a kind of nanoparticle that can absorb organic and inorganic contaminants in sewage and can kill bacteria and viruses. In Washington State, United States, monitoring equipment made with nanoparticles has been developed to detect the faintest amount of radioactivity in the environment.

Nonetheless, in recent years scientists have uncovered the potential risks of nanotechnology. Studies have shown that silver nanoparticles also kill beneficial organisms in the soil and affect soil ecology. In experiments with mice, titanium dioxide nanoparticles are shown to damage DNA and are carcinogenic.

In the last two years, the U.S. Food and Drug Administration issued guidelines for the use of nanotechnology. Yet regulations on the technology and its products are still lacking internationally. Meanwhile, scientists have yet to learn more about the potential risks of the technology. At present, what consumers can do is not to put too much faith in nano-products but to buy only when needed. This can also reduce waste.

Text | Hayward Ng

Subscribe

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 環保教室
  4. >
  5. 綠多一點點

納米與環境

綠田野 第122期(2016年10月)

網上搜尋「納米」(nano),發現無論是吃的、喝的、用的…… 統統用上納米技術,彷彿只要將產品「納米化」,就有好功效。到底何謂納米?

納米(nm)其實是長度單位,代表十億分之一米(10-9m)。據美國國家納米科技啟動計劃的資料,納米科技是指介乎1至100納米的空間和物質的應用。由於納米粒子非常細小,大大提高了其表面面積與體積的比例,因而改變了物質的特性。

以銀為例,是一種在一般環境下十分穏定的金屬,可以長久保存。但原來銀納米粒子具有殺菌特性,可應用於製造玩具和衣物,甚至作醫學用途。又例如二氧化鈦(TiO2)納米粒子,有效抵抗紫外線,廣泛應用於美容及防曬產品。

納米科技亦有應用在環保上,香港理工大學於2007年開發出一種用於淨化污水的納米粒子,有效吸收污水中的有機和無機污染物,更能殺死有害細菌及病毒。美國華盛頓州亦有以納米原料製造探測器,能準確地探測微弱的輻射,對監測環境中的放射性物質十分有幫助。

然而,科學家近年開始發現納米技術具潛在風險。例如上述的銀納米粒子,有研究指若流入泥土,會把有益的微生物殺死,影響土壤中的生態。又例如上述的二氧化鈦納米粒子,以老鼠作研究,發現會損害DNA及致癌。

美國食品及藥物管理局過去兩年分別為納米技術的使用和成分發出指引,但國際社會對納米技術和產品的監管仍然十分缺乏。同時,科學家仍未認清納米科技的各種潛在風險。目前,消費者可以做的,就是不要麻木迷信納米產品的好,必須認清需要才購買,更可減少浪費。

文 | Hayward Ng

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk

九龍旺角登打士街56號
家樂坊23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)

接收本會資料