1. Home
  2. >
  3. Green Classroom
  4. >
  5. Be Greener

Don't Take Wild Animals Home

Green Country Vol. 120 (Jun 2016)

Crabs on the beach, frogs by streams, or little birds in woodland… they are all cute and vulnerable. However, we should never take them home, no matter whether out of curiosity, love or desire for possession. Otherwise “love” may turn into harm for these animals.

Most people do not have knowledge of animals they plan to raise at home, e.g. their feeding behaviour. For example, some species of mudflat crabs feed on rotten leaves but not just dried leaves. This food can only be produced in the natural environment. In addition, we may not know enough of their living conditions. Take mudflat crabs as an example again: you may think that they need only sand and water. However, if you take home a fiddler crab, you can hardly create an intertidal zone that the crab requires.

On the other hand, it takes more than passion to take care for animals. A lot of time and energy is needed. Many people do not think thoroughly before they take animals home. Some animals, such as baby birds, have to be fed frequently each day and special feeding techniques are needed. Otherwise, the birds may have too little to eat, and soon die.

Even if you have sufficient knowledge and are ready to take care of animals, you may not take them home as you like. In nature, all living things are interdependent and in the worst case scenario the balance of an ecosystem will be upset if we are all accustomed to taking wild animals away from their natural habitats. Some local animals are also protected by the Wild Animals Protection Ordinance (Cap. 170). It is an offence to take them home or take away any wild animals within country park areas.

Wild animals should stay in nature. If you find any injured or stray animals in the wild, do ask for help from the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department.

Text | Cammy So

Image

Subscribe

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 環保教室
  4. >
  5. 綠多一點點

勿把野生動物帶回家

綠田野 第120期(2016年6月)

沙灘的小蟹、河邊的小青蛙、樹林的小鳥,可愛又幼弱,無論是出於好奇、愛心或佔有慾,切忌將牠們帶回家飼養。否則,霎時的愛心最終可能變成傷害小動物。

一般人未必對帶回家飼養的小動物有足夠的認識,例如是牠們的食性。就好像有些物種的泥灘小蟹,吃的是腐葉而不是枯葉,這樣的食料只能在大自然環境製造出來。此外,我們對小動物所需要的環境亦未必了解,以剛才的泥灘小蟹為例,一般人可能以為有沙有水便足夠,但如果帶回家飼養的是招潮蟹,牠們生活在潮間帶,我們是很難造出潮汐漲退的環境。

另一方面,照顧小動物不單需要愛心,還需要大量時間和精力,很多人並沒有仔細考慮清楚,尤其一些物種,特別需要飼養者的耐性,例如是雛鳥,每天需要非常頻密的餵食次數,更需要特別的餵食技巧,否則雛鳥會容易厭食或營養不良。

當然,就算大家對小動物有足夠的認識,亦有足夠的時間照顧,亦不代表可以隨便將野外的小動物帶回家飼養。在大自然食物鏈中,各種生物互相依賴,如果人人亦習慣將野生動物帶回家,最嚴重的後果可能是破壞生態系統的平衡。另方面,本港某些野生動物受《野生動物保護條例》(香港法例第170章)保護,將牠們帶回家隨時會觸犯法例。而在郊野公園範圍內帶走任何野生動物,亦屬違法。

野生動物,最理想當然是自由自在地棲息於大自然。如果在野外遇到了受傷或不小心離隊的小動物,最理想的做法是聯絡漁農及自然護理署,交由署方處理。

文 | Cammy So

Image

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk

九龍旺角登打士街56號
栢裕商業中心23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)

接收本會資料