1. Home
  2. >
  3. Green Classroom
  4. >
  5. Be Greener

Tidbits About Plastic Drink Bottles

Green Country Vol. 119 (Apr 2016)

As the weather warms, chilled bottled drinks in convenience stores catch our eyes. Enormous amounts of plastic bottles are wasted as we purchase cold drinks. You may think the waste can be minimised by reusing the bottles. The fact is quite the opposite; doing so may also pose risks to our health.

There are two main types of plastic bottles in the market: one is made from Polyethylene Terephthalate (PET) and is transparently brown, green or colourless. It is used for soda, fruit juices, tea and water. A recycling label of "1" can be found on the bottom of the bottle. PET is widely used for being acid-base tolerant and lightweight. However, it is not heat-tolerant, and a hot drink will twist the shape of the bottle. Also, the heavy metal antimony is added during the production of the plastic bottles. This carcinogen may be transferred to the drink. The Centre for Food Safety has carried out research and stated that the antimony level in PET plastic bottles in Hong Kong is too low to pose a health threat. The main risk of reusing the bottles is hygiene problems, as the bottle mouth is too small and cannot be easily cleaned, which lead to germs multiplying.

Another common type of plastic bottle is translucent and milky. It's made from Polypropylene (PP), with a recycling label of "5" printed in the bottom. It is used to carry milk and soy milk that are usually warmed before drinking. This kind of plastic bottle will not change shape even at a high temperature of 167℃. There is no data that shows PP will release harmful materials. However, as with the case of PET, the small bottle mouth makes it hard to clean thoroughly before reuse.

Although there is a low health risk in reusing a bottle if we wash it properly, the plastic material may still be denatured if it is reused too many times or heated repeatedly or put under sunlight for too long. We should stop reusing it when the plastic bottle changes colour. Apart from reuse, recycling also helps to reduce plastic waste. Nonetheless, the plummeting oil price in recent years lowered the viability of plastic recycling and some merchants even refuse to take in recycled plastic bottles. Reuse or recycling is not the best choice. We should opt for a durable bottle made from safe materials that can be easily washed, and bring our own drinks from now on.

Text | Peggy Chung

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 綠「識」全接觸

樽裝飲品膠樽的二三事

原文刊於《綠田野》119期(2016年4月)
作者:綠色力量

天氣回暖,便利店內的冰凍樽裝飲品琳瑯滿目,吸引著途人購買。結果是,愈買愈多,造成大量棄置膠樽。可能有人認為,只要重覆使用樽裝飲品的膠樽便可減少浪費,事實並不然,同時亦潛藏著健康風險。

市面上樽裝飲品的膠樽主要有兩種,一種是棕色、綠色或無色的透明薄身膠樽,主要用來盛載汽水、果汁、茶及水。這類膠樽以聚對苯二甲酸乙二醇酯(PET)製成,在樽底可找到編號「1」的回收標誌,由於耐酸鹼且輕便,所以被廣泛使用。不過PET並不耐熱,飲品的溫度過高會使樽身變形。而且生產這類膠樽的過程會加入重金屬銻,這是一種致癌物質,有機會轉移到飲料上。食物安全中心過往的研究指出,由於香港的PET膠樽含銻量極低,並不會對人體健康構成風險。重用這類水樽的最大風險反而是衛生問題,由於樽口細小,不易清洗乾淨,容易滋生細菌。

另一種常見的飲品膠樽是乳白色呈半透明的聚丙烯(PP)膠樽,常用於盛載牛奶、豆漿等會加溫飲用的飲品,樽底印有回收編號「5」。這類塑膠在攝氏167度下仍然不會變形,目前亦未有資料顯示PP會釋出有害物質。不過,與前述的PET膠樽一樣,由於樽口細,重用時容易因清洗不徹底而滋生細菌。

雖然一般膠樽只要清洗妥當,重用的健康風險較低,但若膠樽重用次數過多、受高溫或長期陽光照射,塑料仍有可能變質。若膠樽開始變色,就應停止使用。重用之外,回收亦可減少膠樽廢物。可是近年石油價格下調,塑膠回收價大跌,甚至有回收商拒絕接收膠樽。既然重用或回收也不是上上之選,最佳辦法當然是從源頭做起,選購一個由安全物料製成又容易清洗的耐用水樽,從此以後自備飲料。

Image
Top

接收本會資料

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
九龍旺角登打士街56號
家樂坊23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)