1. Home
  2. >
  3. All About Green

The Environmental Issue of Potato Chips

Originally published in Green Country, Issue 118 (Feb 2016)
Author: Green Power

As the name indicates, potato chips are made from potatoes. However, they involve far more than simply the items we put into our mouths. The industrialisation of food production leads to huge waste by throwing away not only the rotten ones but those not matching production standards. In producing potato chips, for example, the first selection begins in the farm, where those not fitting the appearance and other quality standards, such as over-sized, under-sized or in unusual shapes, are all put away. Another round of selection occurs at the potato chips production factory. Here those damaged during transport and packaging, or rotten and mouldy due to improper storage, are taken out. Even a perfectly good potato will not be completely turned into potato chips. There is waste such as the peel and parts that are cut away.

Enormous quantities of food parts are lost in food supply chains. According to the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, each year some 1.3 billion tonnes of food are wasted in the process of production and consumption, which amounts to one-third of total food production worldwide. Around half of the lost foods come from production process. The resulting environmental problems arise should not be taken lightly. It is estimated that the production of these lost foods consumes 250 cubic kilometres of water and 1.4 billion hectares of land, which are equivalent to 892 times the capacity of the High Island Reservoir and over 12,000 times the area of Hong Kong, respectively. Carbon emissions add up to 3.3 billion tonnes – just behind China, the United States and the whole European Union.

Governments from all around the world are working on various ways of reducing food waste in the production process, including helping factories to improve storage and transport, and enhancing facilities to better protect and preserve raw food materials. In addition, different factories are encouraged to exchange or trade the usable parts. Markets are also explored for the not-so-good-looking raw materials. As for consumers, we can start from our daily life to reduce food waste. A simple act such as estimating what portions we need before buying and having a meal can minimise our contributions to food waste!

Image

Subscribe

Contact Us

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
Rm. 2314, 23/F.,Gala Place,
56 Dundas Street, Mongkok, Kln.
Opening Hours:
Monday to Friday 9:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.;
2:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. (Closed on Saturday, Sunday and public holidays)

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 環保教室
  4. >
  5. 綠多一點點

一包薯片的環境問題

綠田野 第118期(2016年2月)

薯片由馬鈴薯製成,而一包薯片所需的馬鈴薯數量,原來遠遠不止我們吃到嘴裡的分量。這是由於工業化食物製作過程,是一層又一層的優劣淘汰,所淘汰的不止是變壞了的,而是一切不合乎生產標準的,因而帶來巨大浪費。薯片的原材料是馬鈴薯,馬鈴薯在運出農場前就經過第一重篩選,變壞的當然不獲選,凡是不合符外觀及品質標準的,包括體積過大或過小、形狀奇怪等亦一概「落選」。到達薯片製作工廠,又是另一重篩選,這次篩選很大程度是人為因素造成,會淘汰在運輸和包裝過程耗損的,或因儲存不當而變壞、發霉的。即使是完好的馬鈴薯,也不是整個都會製成薯片,去掉的表皮、切割後的邊角料都會丟棄。

這些在食物供應鏈中流失的食物數量十分驚人。根據聯合國糧食及農業組織資料,全球每年有13億噸食物在生產和消費過程中流失,佔總食物生產量三分之一,當中在生產中流失的食物約佔一半。衍生的環境問題亦不容忽視,估計生產這些流失了的食物就消耗掉250立方公里水資源和14億公頃土地資源,分別相當於約892個萬宜水庫和1萬2千多個香港,所產生的二氧化碳約有33億噸,碳排放量僅次於中國、美國和整個歐盟。

世界各地政府正從多方面入手減少食物在生產過程中流失,例如協助工廠改善儲存、運輸方式,加設防護設備以減少食材碰撞,加設防腐設備以減少食材變壞。此外,亦會聯繫不同的工廠,鼓勵互相交換或買賣剩餘可食用的材料、邊角料,亦會為不合符外觀標準的食材開拓市場。而作為消費者,要減少浪費食物,可以從個人生活做起,簡單如每次購物或用膳前估計好所需要的食物分量,戒掉「眼闊肚窄」,已可大大減少廚餘!

文 | Helen Yau

Image

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk

九龍旺角登打士街56號
家樂坊23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)

接收本會資料