1. Home
  2. >
  3. Green Classroom
  4. >
  5. Be Greener

Air Quality Objectives in Brief

Green Country Vol. 116 (Oct 2015)

It is hard to determine whether the air quality is good or bad by our senses alone, because some air pollutants, like carbon monoxide, are colourless and odourless. Even air that looks clean may contain a lot of harmful substances. Air quality indices are tools to compute and indicate air quality. Nowadays, many cities announce their own ‘Air Pollution Index” or “Air Quality Health Index”, but in fact are using different data and calculations so we cannot directly compare one index with another.

If we take Hong Kong’s former “Air Pollution Index” as an example, we may discover it converts the concentrations of several major air pollutants to a scale between 0 and 500. The pollutant with the highest index is regarded as determining the final “Air Pollution Index”. The “Air Pollution Index” is also classified as one of the five levels – Low, Medium, High, Very High and Severe. Hong Kong had been using the “Air Pollution Index” since 1995. This made it easier for the public to get a clear picture of our air quality, and raised everyone’s concern regarding air quality.

Because the “Air Pollution Index” shifts to measure and compare the concentrations of air pollutants, it apparently ignores the relationship between these pollutants and health risks. Also, “Air Pollution Index” is computed on a 24-hour basis, so cannot reflect the air quality at this moment or for a particular couple of hours. In some places such as Canada, “Air Pollution Index” has been gradually replaced by “Air Quality Health Index”.

In Hong Kong, the “Air Quality Health Index” became effective in December 2013. The index is calculated from status of four pollutants: nitrogen dioxide, ozone, sulphur dioxide and air particulates. It computes the average concentration of these pollutants in the last three hours. Each pollutant is linked to a risk factor, with a value proportional to the health impact. With the input of risk factors, concentrations of the four pollutants add up to form the “Air Quality Health Index”. By contrast with the old “Air Pollution Index”, which only represented the concentration of one pollutant with the highest index, the “Air Quality Health Index” includes four types of pollutants, so is more comprehensive and representative. More importantly, the new index incorporates health risks, so is more practical and compatible with our needs.

Text | Matthew Sin

Image

Subscribe

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 環保教室
  4. >
  5. 綠多一點點

淺談空氣質素指標

綠田野 第116期(2015年10月)

空氣質素的好壞難以依靠感知來準確判斷,一些空氣污染物如一氧化碳更是無色無味,即使空氣看似清澈,亦可能蘊含大量有害雜質。空氣質素指數正是空氣品質的量計方法,現時不少城市均有發布「空氣污染指數」或「空氣質素健康指數」,但所採用的數據和計算準則卻沒有劃一標準,因此不能直接比較。

以香港從前的「空氣污染指數」為例,它運算了幾種主要空氣污染物如二氧化氮和臭氧的濃度,將每種污染物的濃度轉化成由0至500的指數,當中濃度最高的污染物的指數,便是「空氣污染指數」。指數更會依數值劃分成輕微、中等、偏高、甚高和嚴重五個級別。香港於1995年起採用「空氣污染指數」,確實令市民較從前更易掌握空氣質素,也大大提高大家對空氣質素的關注。

由於「空氣污染指數」只是單純量度和比較空氣污染物的濃度,多少忽略了這些污染物與健康風險的聯繫。此外,「空氣污染指數」是基於24小時的數據統計,不能反映即時或個別數個小時的空氣質素。在一些地方如加拿大,「空氣污染指數」逐漸被「空氣質素健康指數」取代。

在香港,「空氣質素健康指數」於2013年12月生效,指數以二氧化氮、臭氧、二氧化硫和懸浮粒子四種污染物作基礎,計算它們在過去三小時的平均濃度。各種污染物會被冠上一個風險系數,風險系數愈高,代表該種污染物對健康的影響愈嚴重。加入風險系數後,四種污染物的濃度數值總合成「空氣質素健康指數」。相比之下,從前的「空氣污染指數」只反映濃度最高的污染物,「空氣質素健康指數」則包括四種污染物,後者會更全面和具代表性。更重要的是,加入了與健康掛鉤的風險系數,空氣質素指數變得更符合實際需要和人性化。

文 | 單家驊

Image

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk

九龍旺角登打士街56號
栢裕商業中心23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)

接收本會資料