1. Home
  2. >
  3. All About Green

Fair Trade and Environmental Protection

Originally published in Green Country, Issue 115 (Aug 2015)
Author: Green Power

As ethical consumption gains public awareness, we are seeing more fair trade products in the market. These are typically more eco-friendly than conventional products. In 2012, over half of fair trade products worldwide were also certified with organic labels. Therefore, it is common for people to link fair trade, environmentalfriendly and organic products.

“Fair Trade” refers to “minimisation of exploitation of producers. It provides a safe workplace for workers and farmers in developing countries and ensures a fair return for their labour… reduces environmental degradation and enables a sustainable, just society.” At present, there are two international certification systems of fair trade: Fairtrade International and the World Fair Trade Organization (WFTO). Certified fair trade products can be identified by their labels.

Under the fair trade system, a minimum price is guaranteed for farmers and workers so they are not forced to adopt environmentally harmful ways of production while making reasonable earnings. Apart from the minimum price, producers can receive a premium which can be used to invest in social goods and environmental protection. Examples include setting up renewable energy facilities, provision of environmental education for farmers, habitat conservation, and development of new organic farming techniques. To obtain a fair trade label, producers must obey certain environmental standards such as reducing the use of pesticides and not using harmful pesticides, avoiding the use of genetically modified materials, proper handling of waste, and protection of soil and water.

Overall, fair trade producers must follow certain environmental regulations, and the retail price of the products contributes to premiums which encourage eco-production. Therefore, fair trade is often associated with environmental protection. However, some critics have pointed out that fair trade may involve over-production and a longer food mileage, so may not be more eco-friendly. In any case, fair trade encourages consumers to pay more attention to the source of products and the rights of producers, as well as the procedures and potential exploitation during production. This is good education for consumers.

Image
Image

Subscribe

Contact Us

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
Rm. 2314, 23/F.,Gala Place,
56 Dundas Street, Mongkok, Kln.
Opening Hours:
Monday to Friday 9:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.;
2:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. (Closed on Saturday, Sunday and public holidays)

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 綠「識」全接觸

公平貿易與環保

原文刊於《綠田野》115期(2015年8月)
作者:綠色力量

隨著良心消費日益受重視,市場上出現愈來愈多公平貿易產品。公平貿易產品普遍較一般產品環保。2012年,全球逾一半公平貿易生產者同時具有機產品認證。因此,不少人會將公平貿易、環保和有機產品混為一談。

「公平貿易」是指「減少貿易過程中對生產者的層層剝削,保障發展中國家的農民和工人有合理的工作環境與回報……減低對環境的損害,締造可持續發展的公義社會」。現時,國際間認受性最高的公平貿易認證系統有二,一是國際公平貿易組織;二是世界公平貿易組織。產品經認證來自公平貿易,都會貼上標籤,讓消費者識別。

在公平貿易下,農民和工人所得到的報酬有最低價格保障,這價格使農民和工人不用被迫採用損害環境的生產手法,亦能獲合理報酬。在最低價格以外,生產者還可獲得一筆資金,以用作社會民生或環保方面的投資,例如設立可再生能源設備、為農民提供環境教育、生境保育,以至發展新的有機耕種技術等。此外,要得到公平貿易認證,生產者須遵守一些環保標準,如減少使用農藥及不採用有害農藥、不使用基因改造原料、妥善處理廢物、妥善護養水土等。

總括來說,公平貿易生產者必須遵守一定的環保規限,產品零售價格中亦包含一些鼓勵環保生產手法的資金。所以,公平貿易與環保不無關係。不過,外國有些評論指公平貿易產品不一定較環保,更可能牽涉過度生產和較高食物里程。無論如何,公平貿易令消費者更關注商品的來源和生產者權益,還有生產過程牽涉的步驟,以及貿易過程可能帶來的剝削,這也是一個不錯的消費者教育過程。

Top

接收本會資料

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
九龍旺角登打士街56號
家樂坊23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)