1. Home
  2. >
  3. All About Green

Animal Passages

Originally published in Green Country, Issue 112 (Feb 2015)
Author: Green Power

The natural environment is often fragmented by human activities. The most obvious example is the building of highways. Long roads cut through large tracts of forest, dividing them into two. Animals’ habitats are thus fragmented, affecting the feeding, mating, populations and migrations of many species.

Many countries attempt to build animal passages to help species cross the fragmented habitats. For example, in Canada’s Banff National Park, overpass and underpass corridors were constructed above and under the highway, respectively, to allow large mammals (e.g. coyotes, grizzly bears, etc.) to freely cross between the two sides of the highway without the risk of being hit by vehicles.

Similar animal passages can be found in Hong Kong. The first such example is at the Ting Kau end of Tai Lam Tunnel along Route 3. A tunnel with a staircase connecting to the ground surface was supposed to allow wild animals such as Masked Palm Civet (Paguma larvata) and Red Muntjac (Muntiacus muntjac) to reach both sides of the tunnel.

However, the effectiveness of animal passages depends on various factors. The above mentioned tunnel in Hong Kong is a failure due to wrong choice of location, size and materials. In seven months, only two Masked Palm Civets were recorded using the tunnel. Researchers point out that the tunnel is too narrow, materials too unnatural and with fences nearby – factors which all lead to low usage of the animal passage.

Urban development has continued to invade the countryside, and habitats for wild animals are dwindling. It is particularly important to protect wild animals from impacts of development in Hong Kong due to the pressure from population growth in the limited land area. Animal passages can help species with foraging, reproduction and migration if carefully planned. Yet without targeting the animals' needs, an "animal passage" will only serve as pretence, justifying development.

Subscribe

Contact Us

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
Rm. 2314, 23/F.,Gala Place,
56 Dundas Street, Mongkok, Kln.
Opening Hours:
Monday to Friday 9:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.;
2:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. (Closed on Saturday, Sunday and public holidays)

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 環保教室
  4. >
  5. 綠多一點點

動物通道

綠田野 第112期(2015年2月)

自然環境很多時會因為人類建設而被分割,最明顯的例子是興建公路。長長的公路貫穿大範圍林地,原本一體的林地即時被分割成兩部份,動物原來的棲息地亦隨即一分為二,影響牠們覓食、尋找異性繁殖,甚至造成族群分割,破壞遷徙等嚴重影響。

很多國家會興建動物通道,方便動物來往被分割的棲息地。例如加拿大班夫國家公園就在公路上方加設跨越式的天橋,亦在道路下方加設穿越式的地下道,園內大型哺乳動物族群(例如郊狼、灰熊等)於是可以自由來往公路兩邊,亦可避免橫過公路時被車撞倒。

香港也有類似的動物通道。第一條興建的動物通道位於三號幹線汀九段大欖隧道口,通道入口以樓梯連接地面,目的是讓果子狸(Paguma larvata)和赤麂(Muntiacus muntjac)等野生動物,可以穿梭隧道兩邊。

不過,動物通道成效取決於多方面因素,以上述三號幹線的動物通道為例,就因為位置、大小及物料的選擇不當,以致成效非常低,於七個月期間只記錄到兩隻果子狸使用通道。研究人員指出,這是由於通道太窄,通道物料又過於人工化,加上附近有圍欄造成阻礙,所以動物通道使用率一直十分低。

城市發展不斷入侵郊野地區,野生動物的棲息地愈縮愈少。尤其香港人口增長快而土地有限的地方,保護野生動物不受發展影響是重要的一環。動物通道可幫助野生動物覓食、繁殖和遷移。然而,沒有照顧野生動物需要的動物通道,徒具其形,希望規劃者日後能認真並細心研究,以免動物通道只淪為滿足發展需要的幌子。

文 | Hayward Ng

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk

九龍旺角登打士街56號
家樂坊23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)

接收本會資料