1. Home
  2. >
  3. Amazing Nature

Do Plants Have an Ear for Music?!

Originally published in Green Country, Issue 129 (Dec 2017)
Author: Green Power

“Talk to your plants, play music to your plants.” Some gardeners believe that plants grow better this way, but others don't agree. Plants do not have a hearing system, so cannot differentiate between sounds, not to mention growing better with sound or music! However, there has been research showing that plants can indeed hear, and are even fond of some specific kinds of music!

In 1962, Indian botanist Dr. T. C. Singh discovered that the balsam plants grew an extra 20% in height and 72% in biomass when exposed to classical music. There were similar results when traditional Indian raga music was played. He later experimented with other crops, and found that they grew 25% to 60% larger under the influence of raga music.

In 1973, Dorothy Retallack, a music student at the Colorado Woman's College of the United States, carried out a series of experiments on plants and sound. She placed three groups of plants separately. In the first and second groups, a single note F was played for eight and three hours non-stop per day, respectively, while the third group was placed in a silent environment. Within two weeks, all plants in the first group died off. Plants in the second group were healthier than those in the third group. This proved that plants do respond to sound. How long they are exposed to sound also makes a difference.

Inspired by the findings, Dorothy Retallack and her classmates played different types of music to plants, including classical music (such as works of Beethoven and Schubert) as well as rock music (such as works of Led Zeppelin and Jimi Hendrix). The results were that the plants grew towards and even entangled around the speakers playing classical music. On the contrary, the plants grew away from the speakers playing rock music, and abnormal growth such as smaller leaves was observed. And all plants died off within two weeks under the influence of rock music. The experiments showed that plants prefer classical music and perhaps hate the noise of rock music. The results were recorded by Dorothy Retallack and published in the book The Sound of Music and Plants.

Only psuedoscience?

Plants differ from animals in that they have no hearing organs or cells. In theory, they would not respond to sound. Or in another words, sound should pose no impact on plants. Yet from the above research, we see that plant growth is affected by sound, music, a single note or the duration of the sound. It even shows some preference for certain type of music. If there's a more scientific explanation, it must have something to do with the nature of sound.

Sound is generated by vibrations, which are transmitted to the hearing organs of humans and other animals through the vibration of particles of the medium (air, liquid or solid). After interpretation by the brain, we can perceive the sound.

Plants do not have hearing organs, but the vibration can still be transmitted among the cells, affecting cell functions and water and nutrient transport in the vascular bundles. Different sounds have different frequencies and amplitudes. Vibrations of classical music are similar to a gentle breeze, hence favouring plant growth. On the other hand, vibrations from the strong beat and drumming of rock music pose harm to plant growth.

Nevertheless, the notion that sound vibrations affects plant growth has not earned complete scientific confirmation. There is still debate in the scientific community on the above research. Due to the multiple factors affecting the experiments (such as equipment, sound level, choice of songs, etc), results of different experiments cannot be repeated and compared.

Though there are assertions that the above research belongs to “pseudoscience”, many gardeners firmly believe that playing music does help plant growth. All in all, with all the care and hard work, the plants will surely grow strong and well!

Image

Image
Classical music (Beethoven)
Image
Classical music (Schubert)
Image
Traditional Indian raga music
Plants apparently grow better and faster under the influence of classical music and traditional Indian raga music.
Image
Rock music (Led Zepplin)
Image
Rock music(Jimi Hendrix)
“Listening” to rock music is evidently not good for plants.

Subscribe

Contact Us

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
Rm. 2314, 23/F.,Gala Place,
56 Dundas Street, Mongkok, Kln.
Opening Hours:
Monday to Friday 9:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.;
2:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. (Closed on Saturday, Sunday and public holidays)

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 奇趣大自然

植物聽音樂!?

原文刊於《綠田野》129期(2017年12月)
作者:綠色力量

「多點跟植物說說話,多點為植物放放音樂」有園藝愛好者認為這樣會讓植物生長得更茂盛,卻有更多人認為這只不過是主觀意願,事實是植物沒有聽覺感官系統,根本無從分辨聲音,更別說聲音或音樂會令它們生長得更好!然而,曾有研究發現,植物真的能聽見聲音,更有喜歡的音樂呢!

1962年,印度植物學者T. C. Singh發現鳳仙花在播放古典音樂的環境中,高度及重量增長分別快20%及72%,播放傳統印度音樂亦有相約的效果。他之後將實驗對象改為一些農作物,結果發現在「聽」著印度音樂下,農作物比平均大了25%至60%,表示音樂有助提高農作物產量。

1973年,美國科羅拉多州女子學院(Colorado Woman's College)的音樂學生Dorothy Retallack,就植物與聲音進行了一連串實驗。她將三組植物分開擺放,第一及第二組每天連續播放分別八小時及三小時的F單音調,第三組則放於寧靜的環境中。實驗的兩星期內,第一組植物全部枯死,第二組則比第三組健康得多。由此證明植物對聲音是有反應的,並似乎會受播放時間的長短所影響。

受實驗結果啓發,於是她和同學們又嘗試向植物播放不同類型音樂,包括古典音樂(如貝多芬、舒伯特的作品)及搖滾樂(如Led Zeppelin及Jimi Hendrix的作品)。結果發現聽古典音樂的植物會向揚聲器方向生長,甚至纏繞著揚聲器。聽搖滾樂的植物則會盡量遠離揚聲器生長,亦出現葉片細小等生長不良的情況,最後更於兩星期內死去。從實驗來看,植物有偏好古典音樂的傾向,搖滾樂對植物而言則是噪音。Dorothy Retallack將以上實驗結果一一記錄下來,最後更出版了《The Sound of Music and Plants》一書。

「偽科學」而已?

植物和動物不同,沒有聽覺器官或細胞,理論上對聲音不會有任何反應,或反過來說,聲音對植物應該是沒有影響的。但從以上研究來看,植物的生長會受聲音、音樂、單一音調或播放時間長短的影響,甚至顯示出對某一種音樂類型的偏好。一個較為科學性的解釋,這是和聲音的本質有關。

聲音由振動產生,經過介質(空氣、液體或固體)的粒子振動,傳播到人或動物的聽覺器官,經過大腦的傳譯後,我們就能聽到聲音。植物沒有聽覺器官,但聲音的振動仍能在植物的細胞間傳送,影響細胞的運作或是維管束的水分和養分運輸。由於不同的聲音有不同的頻率、振幅等,古典音樂的震動像是自然的微風一樣,因此有助植物生長。相反,搖滾樂的強勁節拍及鼓聲帶來的振動卻會損害植物生長。

不過,所謂聲音的振動會對植物產生影響的說法,目前仍未完全獲科學證實。至於上述證明植物能夠「聽見」聲音的研究,至今科學界對此還有很多爭論,因這方面的研究有多變的實驗條件(如器材、聲量大小、歌曲選擇等等),令每次實驗結果都不相同,不能重覆驗證。

儘管有人說植物能夠聽見聲音的研究都只是「偽科學」,不少園藝愛好者仍對此深信不疑,會為植物播放不同的音樂以助生長。無論如何,只要是用心栽培和照料,植物定必會茁壯生長呢!

Image

Image
古典音樂(貝多芬)
Image
古典音樂(舒伯特)
Image
傳統印度音樂
在古典音樂及傳統印度音樂浸淫下,植物都生長得更快更好。
Image
搖滾樂(Led Zeppelin)
Image
搖滾樂(Jimi Hendrix)
「聽」搖滾樂則會有損植物生長。
Top

接收本會資料

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
九龍旺角登打士街56號
家樂坊23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)