1. Home
  2. >
  3. Amazing Nature

The Secret of Wall Climbing

Originally published in Green Country, Issue 128 (Oct 2017)
Author: Green Power

The superhero in the movie Spider Man acquired the ability to climb walls like a spider—typically on vertical walls but also crossing the ceiling high above. In the technologically advanced world of today, is it possible that we humans can also climb walls with our bare hands?

To answer this question, we have to understand the mechanism by which animals climb. We may start from the observation made by Prof. Kellar Autumn, researcher from the University of California at Berkeley, during a holiday – as he was lying on his bed and looking up the ceiling. He was inspired by a gecko moving about and preying on a spider on the ceiling. He decided to find out how the gecko can move as it wishes on the ceiling.

Van der Waals’ force is formed between two very close surfaces, bonding them together. Prof. Autumn observed the gecko’s foot structure under an electron microscope and found that there are about 5,000 setae on every square millimeter of a foot’s surface, and each seta has hundreds of spatula-shaped structures at its end. All these greatly increase the contact area between a gecko’s foot and a climbing surface, resulting in sufficient Van der Waals’ force to allow the gecko to strongly cling to the surface. From this discovery, Prof. Autumn and his team invented and patented the gecko-like dry adhesive “gecko glue” in 2004.

Size No. 145 shoes

If a gecko can move freely on the wall with Van der Waals’ force, is a human capable of doing so? In 2016, Cambridge University researcher Dr. David Labonte and his team published a report saying that gecko is the largest animal capable of adhesion-based climbing. They studied 225 climbing species including ants, tree frogs and spiders, and recorded the pad area in touch with the climbing surface and the total body surface and weight. It was found that when body weight increases, the proportion of pad area to total surface also increases. As an illustration, the figure for spiders is 0.92% and that for geckos is 4.3%.

Extrapolating from these figures, if a human wanted to climb up a wall the way a spider does, the pad area should be 40% of the total surface. In other words, we cannot climb walls with our hands and feet alone. The research team indicated in the report that, “We’d need impractically large sticky feet – and shoes in European size 145,” in order to climb up a wall. This is equivalent to having feet more than a metre long!

Amazing abilities of different creatures cannot be readily imitated, but are sources of all kinds of inspiration!

Image
The spatula-shaped setae on a gecko’s footpad are key to its wall-clinging ability.
Photo from Pixabay
Image
Tree frogs are among the animals that can cling to vertical surfaces.
© Henry Lui
Image
The red spot represents the proportion of an animal’s pad area. As body weight increases, the proportion has to be increased in order to cling to a vertical surface.

Subscribe

Contact Us

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
Rm. 2314, 23/F.,Gala Place,
56 Dundas Street, Mongkok, Kln.
Opening Hours:
Monday to Friday 9:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.;
2:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. (Closed on Saturday, Sunday and public holidays)

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 環保教室
  4. >
  5. 千奇百趣大自然

爬牆的秘密

綠田野 第128期(2017年10月)

《蜘蛛俠》電影中,主角擁有攀爬牆壁的異能。能夠像蜘蛛般輕鬆遊走不同表面,不論是垂直的牆壁,又或是高高的天花,均是來去自如,的確令人羨慕。科技發展快速,我們真的有一天能夠徒手爬牆嗎?

要回答此問題,首先要解構動物的神奇攀爬能力,這便要從加州大學栢克萊分校研究人員奧騰教授的一次觀察說起。一天他正在度假並躺在房間,看到一隻壁虎靈活地爬動,並把天花的一隻蜘蛛吃掉,於是他決定要回到研究所,找出壁虎能夠在天花自由走動的原因。

兩個極為相近的平面之間會產生「范德華力」,形成吸引力。當奧騰教授用電子顯微鏡觀察壁虎腳底結構,發現牠們腳底每平方毫米有大約五千條剛毛,而每條剛毛又再分裂成數以百計末端呈湯匙形狀的小毛線,數以十萬計的小毛線大大增加了壁虎腳底與牆壁表面的接觸面,產生了顯著的「范德華力」,壁虎因此能夠緊貼著牆壁表面。奧騰教授和他的團隊亦因是項發現而於2004年發明了「乾式黏附物」,是一種高科技黏貼物,並獲發明專利。

145號鞋子

既然壁虎能夠依靠「范德華力」在牆壁上自由走動,哪人類可以嗎?劍橋大學研究人員拉邦特博士和他的團隊於2016年發表了研究報告,指出壁虎是現存能夠以這種方式在牆壁上爬行的最大型物種。他們同時研究了225種能夠在牆壁上爬行的動物,包括螞蟻、樹蛙、蜘蛛等,記錄牠們與牆壁接觸面的面積,以及動物本身的總表面面積和體重,發現當體重增加,接觸面相對總表面面積便會按一定比例增加,舉例蜘蛛是0.92%、壁虎是4.3%。

由此推算,人類若要像蜘蛛俠般貼在牆上,人體與牆壁接觸面的面積需達40%。換言之,人們單靠手掌和腳掌接觸牆壁是辦不到的。研究團隊發表報告時曾表示:「我們或許要有更大的腳,足以穿上歐洲碼145號的鞋,才有攀爬牆壁的能力。」即是說人們的腳掌需長逾一米。

要成為蜘蛛俠,還是留在電影中發生吧!上天賜予大自然生物的能力各異,有的於人們角度來看是非常神奇的,雖然並非能夠輕易模仿,但卻為人們帶來無窮的啟發!

文 | Hayward Ng

Image
壁虎腳底的小毛線,是其緊貼牆壁的關鍵。
Photo from Pixabay
Image
樹蛙是其中一種可以黏附在垂直面上的動物。
© Henry Lui
Image
紅點代表動物與接觸面面積的比例。隨體重增加,相關比例亦要增加方能緊貼著垂直面。

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk

九龍旺角登打士街56號
家樂坊23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)

接收本會資料