1. Home
  2. >
  3. Green Classroom
  4. >
  5. Amazing Nature

Plants – The Naming of a Place

Green Country Vol. 127 (Aug 2017)

Lai Chi Chong, Yung Shue O, Tsung Tsai Yuen, Tsung Pak Long… these are places in Hong Kong, but also include the names of plants. Naming after plants is not only a random choice. The naming of a place often embraces the local history and culture.

Sheep in Wolf’s Clothing -- Defensive Mimicry

Talking about the naming of place after a plant in Hong Kong, the name of Hong Kong itself is the first and foremost example. Hong Kong literally means “Fragrant Harbour” in Chinese, and it is indeed named after the Incense Tree (Aquilaria sinensis), an evergreen tree of the Family Thymelaeaceae with fragrant resin that can be made into incense. Before the British arrived over a 150 years ago, before Hong Kong became a city and port, Hong Kong was renowned for the cultivation and worldwide export of Incense Trees. The local incense industry was so prosperous that it earned Hong Kong the name “Fragrant Harbour”. Unfortunately, the local wild population of the species has been severely threatened by illegal cutting in recent years.

Chek Chu - Stanley, literally means “Scarlet Post” in Chinese, which may not sound relevant to any plant. In fact, the place is named after Cotton Tree (Bombax ceiba), a deciduous tree of the Family Bombaceae with a trunk as straight as a post. In winter, the tree sheds all its leaves. And when spring comes, large, scarlet flowers bloom on the bare branches that are particularly eye-catching. It is said that there used to be many Cotton Trees in Stanley. In the blossoming season, many bright red flowers on the trees with straight tree trunk made them resemble “scarlet posts” standing all over the place and hence giving it the name.

From Uses to Names

Sometimes, a place is named after the uses of a specific plant that thrives in that location. For example, So Kwun Wat in Tuen Mun actually signifies Dwarf Mountain Pine (Baeckea frutescens). The plant has small leaves and hardy twigs that villagers used to dry for making brooms and broomsticks. There are many Dwarf Mountain Pines on the slopes in the area. Hakka villagers pronounced the characters for “broomstick” as “So Kwun”, so the place was named So Kwun Wat. Despite the name, Dwarf Mountain Pine is not a pine, but has fine twigs and leaves resembling those of a pine. Dwarf Mountain Pine is an angiosperm, while a pine is gymnosperm.

Cha Kwo Ling in Kwan Tong originated from the plant Elephant's Ear (Macaranga tanarius). “Cha Kwo” is a popular Canton snack that uses glutinous or sticky rice flour as the dough skin which, together with the fillings, is further wrapped up in a leaf of Elephant's Ear. The steamed food is infused with the leaf's aroma. Later, the tree was even named “Cha Kwo Tree”. The history of Cha Kwo Ling can be traced back to a century ago, when the hill was occupied by Elephant's Ear. The species is an evergreen tree of the Family Euphorbiaceae with large, peltate leaves. When its stem is wounded, the tree sap released is turned blood red by oxidation. Its Chinese name reflects this bleeding-like behaviour.

Text | Cammy So

Image
An Incense Tree releases resin when injured as a protection mechanism. This becomes the target of illegal cutting to obtaining the resin.
Image
Flowers of Cotton Tree
Image
Image
Dwarf Mountain Pine has fine, hardy twigs that can be dried and made into brooms.
Image
Elephant's Ear leaves and flowers
Image
Incense made from Incense Trees is regarded as the “King of Incense”.
© Peggy Chung
Image
With all the leaves shed in winter, the bright red spring flowers are particularly eye-catching.
Image
Blood-red tree sap is released when the stem of Elephant's Ear is wounded.

Subscribe

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 環保教室
  4. >
  5. 千奇百趣大自然

植物 – 一個地方的命名

綠田野 第127期(2017年8月)

荔枝莊、榕樹澳、松仔園、松柏塱……是香港的地方名稱,亦是植物的名稱。一個地方之所以以植物命名,很多時不是貪其順口或優雅,其實與該地方的歷史與文化不無關係。一個地方的名稱,包含了滿滿的本土意義。

要找香港以植物為名的地名,首先當然不得不提「香港」本身。「香港」一名因土沉香而來 (Aquilaria sinensis),土沉香是瑞香科的常綠喬木,樹脂芳香宜人,可製成香料。香港開埠之前已經以種植及出口土沉香聞名,土沉香產業相當蓬勃,出口至世界各地,香港亦即「芳香之港口」的意思。可惜的是,香港的野生土沉香近年受非法砍伐及偷竊的威脅,數量已大大減少。

位於南區的赤柱,名字看來和植物亳無關係,實則是因木棉樹(Bombax ceiba)而得名。木棉是木棉科的落葉喬木,樹形畢直,冬天時葉子會掉光,到了春天,光秃秃的樹上會長出碩大而火紅色的花朵,份外搶眼。據說赤柱以前有很多木棉,每到開花季節,畢直的樹幹掛滿了紅花,宛如到處都是赤紅色的柱子,該地於是就叫「赤柱」。

從用途到地名

有些地方由於大量長有某一種植物,而該植物又有特殊用途,便會以植物的用途命名。例如屯門的掃管笏,當中的「掃管」其實是崗松 (Baeckea frutescens)。崗松的葉片細小、枝條堅硬,昔日鄉民會將它的枝條曬乾後紮成掃帚(即掃桿)。掃管笏的山坡上長有很多崗松,而當地的客家人習慣將「桿」讀作「管」,故名「掃管笏」。順帶一提,崗松由於枝幼葉細,看來像松樹,亦以「松」命名,但實際上與松樹亳無關係。崗松是被子植物;松樹則是裸子植物。

另外還有觀塘的茶果嶺,名字源於當地的血桐樹(Macaranga tanarius)。茶果是廣東民間小吃,用糯米粉或粘米粉作外皮包餡料,再以血桐樹的葉片包裹蒸熟,蒸出的茶果帶有淡淡的葉片香氣,後來人們索性稱血桐為「茶果樹」。茶果嶺的歷史可追溯至清末民初年間,當時由於山上有大量茶果樹而得名。至於血桐,其實是大㦸科的常綠喬木,葉片呈盾形,非常大片,由於莖幹折斷後流出的汁液,氧化後會轉為血紅色,像在流血似的,故稱為「血桐」。

文 | Cammy So

Image
土沉香樹幹受傷後會釋出樹脂作保護,不法份子會刻意砍伐樹幹以獲取樹脂。
Image
木棉的花朵
Image
Image
崗松的枝條幼細而堅硬,曬乾後可制成掃帚
Image
血桐的葉片和花
Image
由土沉香製成的香品,被視為「香中之王」。
© Peggy Chung
Image
葉子掉光了,整棵樹只餘下鮮紅色的花朵,奪目非常!
Image
莖幹拆斷後會流出如鮮血般的汁液

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk

九龍旺角登打士街56號
家樂坊23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)

接收本會資料