1. Home
  2. >
  3. Green Classroom
  4. >
  5. Amazing Nature

The Partners of Seeds

Green Country Vol. 123 (Dec 2016)

Some seeds are so thin and light they can be carried by the wind. Some can float for long distances on water currents, as they contain air. Some are expelled as the shells crack open. Seeds are propagated in other ways, too. Some plants reply on animals to transport their seeds, and they become like close partners!

Birds

Birds are the most important "partners" of seeds. To attract birds to propagate seeds, many plants bear fruits that are of suitable structures, colours, sizes and numbers for birds.

Tasty berries contain sugar and water that reward the birds that propagate the seeds for them. Most fruits are brightly coloured – yellow, orange, or red, while some are black, to notify birds they are ripe. The sizes are important too. In general, if fruits are too small, birds may find it hard to satisfy their appetite; if they are too big, birds cannot eat them. The sizes and shapes of the fruits fit the needs of the birds that do the work of propagation.

Some fruits have only one big seed, making it hard to swallow for a bird that eats it, which may have to eject the seed near the mother plant. Some fruits have numerous small seeds that can be eaten along with them. These seeds often have tough shells to protect them from being digested inside the birds' stomachs. After a while, the seeds will be discharged with the birds' faeces, and so may be propagated over long distances.

Ants

Ants are also important partners of plants. Studies show that, worldwide. 11,000 angiosperm species rely on ants for propagation. Most of them bear capsules, which eject the seeds when they ripen. Ants transport the seeds to relatively distant locations. To attract ants, there is white elaiosome on the seed surface, containing rich fatty acid. This is tasty food for ants.

After the ants transport the seeds to the ant nest and consume the elaiosome, the seeds are dumped in the ant colony's "waste dump". This dump has suitable humidity and temperature for seed germination. As other "rubbish" decomposes, it becomes nutrients for the seedlings.

Mammals

Much like birds, many mammals are attracted by delicious fruits, and later expel indigestible seeds. There are other interesting ways of seed propagation. The short memory of some mammals is taken advantage of. For example, squirrels and rats collect nuts that do not readily rot and have high energy content, before winter begins. But they may forget the whereabouts of their collected food. These forgotten nuts may germinate in places far from the mother plants.

Seeds of herbaceous plants are tiny and often mix with soil upon falling on the ground. When animals step on the soil, the seeds may be attached to their feet and then travel to distant places. Some seeds develop special structures such as hooks, spikes and sticky secretions that help them become attached to animal fur and skin.

We may find many seeds on our clothing after a visit to the countryside. Next time, before leaving the countryside, brush your clothing so the seeds can return to the wild instead of entering the city. You too can become a partner of seeds!

Text | Helen Yau

Image
© Henry Lui
Image
© Henry Lui
Parasitic plants grow on trees. Some species have seeds wrapped in a layer of mucus that survives even after being discharged from birds. After being discharged, the seeds can stick to tree branches (blue circle in the photograph), to allow seedlings to grow.
Image
The white elaiosome on the seeds is food for ants. The more elaiosome there is, the more ants are attracted.
Image "Celandine seeds" by Erutuon is licensed under CC BY 2.0
Image
The seeds of Bidens pilosa have Y-shaped spikes that allow them to be hooked onto passing animals, which may carry them long distances.

Subscribe

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 環保教室
  4. >
  5. 千奇百趣大自然

種子的親密團伙

綠田野 第123期(2016年12月)

種子有的薄而輕巧,風一吹,即乘風遠去;有的內藏空氣,能浮於水面,水一動,即隨水漂流;有的藉果殼爆開一刻,乘勢一彈,即飛向遠處。種子要千方百計離開母株,完全是為了繁殖下代,而且能夠傳播得愈遠愈好。有些植物則依賴動物傳播種子,彼此更成為互惠互利的親密團伙!

鳥類

鳥類是種子傳播的最重要伙伴。植物為了得到雀鳥的「垂青」,亦要確保種子能傳播到合適的地方,結出的果實無論是結構、顏色、大小和數量,都要盡量「滿足」雀鳥所需。

植物會長出漿果,果肉充滿糖分和水分,非常美味,是雀鳥播種工作的最佳回報!此外,果實顏色亦要鮮艷奪目,通常以黃、橙、紅、黑為主,作用是告知鳥兒果實已熟透,請來享用吧!果實的大小亦很講究,一般來說,太小鳥兒吃不飽,太大又吃不下。所以,無論是果實的大小和形狀,都會因應賴以傳播種子的雀鳥的喙型和體型而有所不同。

有些果實的種子只有一粒,而且較大,目的是令雀鳥食用時難以吞下,於是便會在原地或附近將種子吐出,讓種子可以在離母株不遠的地方繁殖。有些果實的種子則細小而多,目的是要雀鳥在食用果實時同時吞下,這類種子外殼都較堅固,可以保護種子內部免被雀鳥的腸胃消化,於是在一段時間後,種子會隨雀鳥的排泄物排出,變相可讓種子傳播在離母株較遠的地方。

螞蟻

螞蟻是傳播種子的另一重要伙伴。有科學調查發現,全球11,000種被子植物的種子是經由螞蟻傳播。這類植物多數會長出蒴果,果實成熟時,種子會從蒴果彈出,之後便要靠螞蟻將它們帶到較遠的地方。為了吸引螞蟻,種子的表面附有白色的油質體,內含豐富的脂肪酸,是螞蟻不可抗拒的美食。

螞蟻將種子運到蟻巢,吃掉表面的油質體後,便會將種子丟棄到蟻群慣用的「垃圾場」。「垃圾場」最後會成為種子的理想繁殖地,因濕度和溫度都有利種子發芽,而「垃圾場」的其他「垃圾」分解後,更會成為日後幼苗成長的養分。

哺乳類動物

植物為了吸引哺乳類動物幫忙傳播種子,一般會長出美味的果實,哺乳類動物食用後將不能消化的種子排出體外,從而將種子帶到他方。除此以外,還有很多令人意想不到的方法,例如是利用哺乳類動物的「健忘」特性。松鼠、老鼠最愛在秋冬前收集熱量高、不易腐爛的堅果,牠們有時會忘記收藏地點,這些被遺忘的堅果,便有機會在離母株較遠的地方萌芽成長。

還有草本植物的種子,非常細小,落在地上後很容易和泥土混在一起,當動物踏過泥土時,混著種子的泥土便會黏附在牠們的腳上,隨動物走動帶到遠方。有些種子則發展出特殊的結構如鉤刺、尖刺、黏液等,幫助它們附在動物的毛皮。

有時,我們到訪郊野後,亦會發現衣物上有不少種子。下次離開郊野前,先拍拍衣衫,好讓種子能散落野外而不是帶回市區,讓我們也成為傳播種子的親密團伙!

文 | Helen Yau

Image
© Henry Lui
Image
© Henry Lui
寄生植物需要在樹上生長。有些寄生植物的種子有一層黏液包裹,就算經雀鳥消化後排出,黏液仍然存在,種子被鳥兒排出後,便可黏在樹枝上(藍圈),方便幼苗寄生。
Image
種子上的白色油質體,是螞蟻的美食,油質體愈多愈吸引螞蟻。
Image "Celandine seeds" 由 "Erutuon" 製作,以 "創用CC姓名標示2.0國際授權條款" 釋出。
Image
鬼針草種子上有「Y」型尖刺,讓它輕易勾在經過的動物身上,從而傳播到遠處。

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk

九龍旺角登打士街56號
栢裕商業中心23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)

接收本會資料