1. Home
  2. >
  3. Green Classroom
  4. >
  5. Amazing Nature

Pollution Alert from Living Organisms

Green Country Vol. 122 (Oct 2016)

Different organisms react in different ways to pollution. Some are extremely sensitive to the environmental conditions and may die once the environment is polluted. Yet some thrive in severely polluted habitats. By observing the existence or loss of certain species, we may gain an initial assessment of the environmental quality. We may not need equipment or to take samples to the laboratory to know whether a place is polluted or not. The organisms in there are secretly telling us!

Lichen

Lichens are the best clean air indicators. They are symbionts of algae and fungi, with fungi outside and algae inside. While the algae contain chlorophyll to carry out photosynthesis to provide nutrients for themselves and the fungi, the fungi absorb moisture in the air through the hyphae, for both to use. Lichens can be classified according to the form: fruticose, foliose and crustose. Fruticose lichens are most sensitive to pollution, while foliose lichens and crustose lichens rank second and third.

Air pollutants such as sulphur dioxide dissolve in rainwater and mist, turning them acidic. When acid rain or mist fall on lichens, the chlorophyll structure of the lichens will be altered, changing their colour and stopping the algae from photosynthesising. Hence, from observing the change in lichen species at a site or analysing the chlorophyll level in the lichens, we can learn about the air pollution.

Water skater

Water skaters, commonly called “water scissors” in Cantonese, are frequently seen on Hong Kong streams. They glide on the water surface, while preying on aquatic insects, by making use of the surface tension. Pollutants such as detergents and laundry powder damage the surface tension of water and make it impossible for water skaters to move on the surface, and so they eventually drown. Other insect larvae living on stream beds – including water penny (a kind of beetle nymph) and caddisfly larvae – are all very sensitive to water quality and can be used as indicators for water quality monitoring.

Sea snail

Pollution levels can also be predicted from the physical state of animals. Tributyltin (TBT) is an organo-tin compound that was used extensively in the 1960s as additive in ship paint to prevent algae and shellfish from attaching to ships. Numerous studies later found that even at very low concentrations of TBT, over 150 species of sea snails showed abnormal growth in their reproductive systems. The female would grow with male reproductive system and hence become infertile and even die, lowering the reproduction capacity of the whole population. Therefore, many countries have banned TBT and adopted sea snails as biological indicators to monitor levels of TBT in seawater.

Not all organisms can be used as biological indicators. In general, the indicators are easily observed common species. They have to react swiftly to the change in pollutants. From their role in the food web, we can predict the impacts of pollution on the local ecosystem. When you are out in the wild, do pay more attention to nearby organisms and you may discover pollution in time and help stop it at source!

Text | Helen Yau

Image
Fruticose lichens, with branching hyphae, are rare in Hong Kong and grow only in places with clean air.
Image
Foliose lichens resemble leaves sticking together. They can survive slight air pollution.
Image
© Henry Lui
Crustose lichens grow on rocks and wood, and are more resistant to air pollution.
Image
Water skaters can glide on water. Yet if the water is polluted by detergents, water skaters lose this ability.
Image
© Peggy Chung
Studies have found that in Hong Kong waters with frequent boat activities, imposex – females developing male sexual organs–of rock shell (Thais clavigera) is severe, indicating that the waters are still affected by tributyltin.

Subscribe

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 環保教室
  4. >
  5. 千奇百趣大自然

生物有話兒 污染話你知

綠田野 第122期(2016年10月)

不同的生物對污染有不同程度的反應。有些生物對身處環境狀況極為敏感,一旦環境受污染,很快便會死亡。相反,有些生物即使身處污染極為嚴重的環境,依然能繁衍生息。於是,利用生境中特定物種的存在或消失,便可初步評估環境質素。要知道一個地方的污染是否嚴重,不一定要用儀器量度或取樣本化驗,棲息其中的生物其實已經悄悄地告訴你呢!

地衣

地衣是最佳的空氣潔淨指標。它是藻類和真菌的共生體,外層是真菌,內裡是藻類。藻類內有葉綠素,可以進行光合作用為自己和真菌提供養分;真菌則會透過菌絲吸收空氣中的水氣,為自己和藻類提供水分。根據外觀形態,地衣可分為枝狀地衣、葉狀地衣和殼狀地衣。當中,枝狀地衣對空氣污染最為敏感,葉狀地衣次之,最後是殼狀地衣。

空氣污染物如二氧化硫可溶於雨水和霧水,令其變酸。當地衣接觸到變酸的雨水或霧水,藻類的葉綠素分子結構便會改變。這個轉變不僅令地衣變色,亦令藻類無法進行光合作用,最終死亡。所以,從一個地方的地衣物種變化,或分析單一品種內的葉綠素濃度,便能了解一個地方的空氣污染程度。

黽蝽

黽蝽俗稱「水較剪」,是香港河溪常見的水生昆蟲。黽蝽利用水的表面張力,在水面上滑行,趁機捕食水裡的昆蟲。如果河溪受到含有洗潔精、洗衣粉的廢水污染,污染物會破壞水的表面張力,令黽蝽不能再在水面活動,最終浸死。除了黽蝽,其他棲息在河溪底層的昆蟲幼體如水錢(甲蟲若蟲)、石蠶(石蛾幼蟲)對水質均十分敏感,同樣可作為監測水質的指標。

海螺

從生物的身體狀況也可推斷污染程度。三丁基鍚是一種有機鍚化合物,在1960年代廣泛用作船隻油漆的添加劑,以防止藻類和貝類附著船身及船底生長。後來有多個研究發現,即使是濃度極低的三丁基鍚化合物,亦會令超過一百五十種海螺生殖系統畸形生長,雌性海螺會同時長出雄性生殖系統,導致雌性海螺不育,甚至死亡,間接降低族群的繁衍能力。因此,世界許多國家已禁用三丁基鍚,同時以海螺作生物指標,長期監測海水中三丁基鍚的濃度。

不是所有生物都可以作為污染指標。一般來說,指標生物多為容易觀察的常見物種。另外,這些物種必須準確又快速地對污染物的變化作出反應。從牠們在食物網中扮演的角色,我們更可推敲污染對當地生態系統的影響。大家外出時,不妨多留意身邊的生物,或許可以及早發現和堵截污染源頭呢!

文 | Helen Yau

Image
枝狀地衣有很多如絲般的幼小分枝,在香港較為罕見,只生長在空氣潔淨的地方。
Image
葉狀地衣如一塊塊葉片連在一起,在輕微空氣污染的環境亦能生存。
Image
© Henry Lui
殼狀地衣緊貼石頭和木頭表面生長,對空氣污染有較強抵抗力。
Image
黽蝽懂得「水上飄」,但只要河水被含有清潔劑的廢水污染,便頓失「武功」。
Image
© Peggy Chung
香港有調查發現船隻活動繁忙的水域中,疣荔枝螺(Thais clavigera)性變異(即雌性長出雄性生殖系統)情況較為嚴重,顯示香港部分水域仍受三丁基鍚污染影響。

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk

九龍旺角登打士街56號
栢裕商業中心23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)

接收本會資料