1. Home
  2. >
  3. Green Classroom
  4. >
  5. Amazing Nature

Swimming Underwater

Green Country Vol. 121 (Aug 2016)

Freestyle, breaststroke, butterfly... people swim with different strokes. There are even more diverse swimming styles for ocean creatures. The principle involved varies according to body structures and survival needs. We can indeed experience the wonder of nature through considering swimming styles!

Among the common marine organisms, most move about in the water by jet propulsion and undulatory swimming. The jet propelled creatures can change their body shape and swiftly squeeze water out of certain parts of their bodies, and hence move in the opposite direction to the water jets. This is similar to the principle of a rocket launch. Typical examples include jellyfish, squid and scallops. Yet they cannot move continuously like a rocket. They can move each time they squeeze out the water, so jet-propelled creatures are not good at swimming in general. However, if threatened, they can squeeze out a high speed water jet, and promptly escape!

Most fish, dolphins and whales adopt undulatory swimming, and use fins to assist with propulsion and direction control. There are three types of undulatory swimming, according to the parts of body involved: anguilliform, carangiform and thunniform. The anguilliform types have longer bodies in general, and the whole body moves in an S-shape. Eel is an example. They swim relatively slowly, but their efficiency is high. That is, they can move for a certain distance, expending minimal energy.

In carangiforms, fish propel themselves forward by moving the hind parts of the body and caudal fin (tail fin). Examples include trout and seabass. Some fish swim in thunniform style, with only their caudal fin moving, such as tuna and mackerel. Dolphins and whales swim in thunniform style, but their caudal fin is horizontal instead of vertical.

The mystery of dolphin swimming

Scientists have encountered interesting problems in studying locomotion of aquatic animals in water. For example, in 1936, British biologist James Gray estimated the friction dolphins encounter in seawater, according to their bodyweight, and calculated the energy they require to swim. At the same time, he recorded dolphins' food intake. He concluded that "the energy required in swimming by dolphins is even higher than that they take in". This is contradictory to the laws of physics; the conundrum was only solved in recent years. Researchers calculated water friction using modern equipment and computers, and identified many factors that were unknown in previous studies, such as vortices created by caudal fins and turbulence created by nearby objects, which can help the dolphins swim over long distances and at high speed. Salmons also make use of turbulence among rocks in rivers to swim faster, and even "hop about" as they go upstream.

The water world embraces all kinds of magic. Many swimming modes are yet to be discovered by scientists. We humans have created airplanes by mimicking birds. Maybe one day we will invent ways to cross the ocean more easily, through studying ways marine creatures swim.

Text | Hayward Ng

Image
Photo from Pixabay
Jellyfish move about in the water by jet propulsion
Image
Most fish adopt undulatory swimming (a) anguilliform: whole body moving (b) carangiform: hind parts of body moving and (c) thunniform: only the caudal fin (tail fin) moving.
Image
Water Snake, although not a fish, swims in anguilliform style.
Image "Blotched Water Snake" by TexasEagle is licensed under CC BY-NC 2.0
Image
Photo from Pixabay
British biologist James Gray pointed out in 1936 that the way dolphins swim does not follow the laws of physics. This is called Gray's Paradox in the academic biophysical field.

Subscribe

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 環保教室
  4. >
  5. 千奇百趣大自然

水中游

綠田野 第121期(2016年8月)

自由式、蛙式、蝶式……人們以不同泳式暢泳,各適其適。海洋生物的游泳方式更加多元化,當中的原理更是完全不同,還會配合不同海洋生物的身體結構和生存所需,從游泳方式體驗了大自然的奧妙!

在海洋生物的眾多游泳方式中,較常見的海洋動物,大多以噴水法和擺尾法在水中移動。以噴水法在水中移動的動物,牠們能改變身體形狀,把水在身體的某部位迅速擠壓出來,藉著水的反作用力而移動,原理與火箭升空一樣,典型例子有水母、烏賊、扇貝等。然而,當牠們把水擠壓出來後,需待身體再一次擠水,才能再次移動,故並不能像火箭一樣持續地移動。所以,以噴水法移動的動物通常都不是游泳高手,但若果受到威脅而要逃生的話,牠們就可以擠壓出高速的水柱,極速脫身!

擺尾法顧名思義是指擺動尾巴令身體移動的方法,大部分魚類和鯨豚都以這種方式游泳,並以鰭來輔助推動力和控制方向。擺尾法按身體的擺動範圍分為三大類:鰻行式、鱒行式和鮪行式。以鰻行式游泳的魚,身體較長,游泳時近乎全身擺動並呈S形運動,典型例子有鰻魚。以鰻行式游泳,游泳速度通常較低,但效率較高,即能夠以最少的能量作相同的移動距離。

以鱒行式游泳的魚,最常見是利用身體後半部分及尾鰭的擺動前進,例子有鱒魚、鱸魚等。至於鮪行式,是指魚類幾乎只是靠尾鰭擺動來前進,更有利於長途高速游泳,例子有吞拿魚、鯖魚等。至於海豚和鯨魚也是以鮪行式游泳,而牠們的尾鰭則是水平而非垂直。

海豚游泳之迷

以往研究生物在水中移動時,科學家曾發現一些令人費解的現象。例如1936年英國生物學家James Gray以海豚的體重推算海水阻力,並計算了海豚在水中游泳所需的能量,同時記錄牠們的攝取食物量,結論是「海豚游泳所需的能量比其攝取的熱量還要高」。這個不合物理原則的結論直到近年才獲得解釋。研究人員以現代科技儀器及電腦,計算海豚游泳時所產生的水的阻力,以及探測海豚身體附近的水流,發現了有很多從前研究未知的因素,包括海豚能利用尾鰭製造渦流,同時借助周邊物體造成的紊流幫助推動身體,這些因素均能幫助海豚作長途而高速游泳。三文魚能夠逆流而上到產卵地,原來也是利用了河流中石塊之間的渦流,以增加向上游的速度,甚至能夠迎著逆流一再「跳躍」。

水中世界埋藏著各種秘密,有更多海洋生物的游泳方法仍未被發現,有待科學家研究。人們借鑒雀鳥研究出飛機,將來或者會從海洋生物的游泳方式,研究出讓我們更自如穿梭海洋的方法呢!

文 | Hayward Ng

Image
Photo from Pixabay
水母是以噴水法移動的動物之一
Image
很多常見的魚類都以擺尾法令身體移動。(a) 鰻行式:幾乎全身擺動;(b) 鱒行式:身邊後半部分擺動;(c) 鮪行式:幾乎只擺動尾鰭。
Image
水蛇雖然並非魚類,但也是以鰻行式在水中移動。
Image "Blotched Water Snake" 由 "TexasEagle" 製作,以 "創用CC 姓名標示-非商業性 2.0國際授權條款" 授權。
Image
Photo from Pixabay
1936年英國生物學家James Gray的研究結果,指出海豚的游泳方式不合物理原則,在生物物理學界被稱為Gray’s Paradox。

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk

九龍旺角登打士街56號
栢裕商業中心23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)

接收本會資料