1. Home
  2. >
  3. Amazing Nature

"Probiotics" in the Plant Kingdom

Originally published in Green Country, Issue 119 (Apr 2016)
Author: Green Power

To humans, probiotics are beneficial microbes. From long ago, people have learned to acquire probiotics from food to improve gastrointestinal functions and the immune system. There are "probiotics" in the plant kingdom too: microbes in the soil. In the long evolutionary history, these microbes have even built up symbiotic relationships with many plants.

Rrhizobia

Rhizobia are nitrogen fixing microbes such as actinobacteria and cyanobacteria. Generally hosted in legumes, these microbes can transform nitrogen in the air into nitrogen compounds that can be utilised by plants. These nitrogen compounds are essential nutrients for plants in making protein, DNA and chlorophyll. Although there is abundant nitrogen in the air, it cannot be used directly by plants. When the soil lacks nitrogen, legumes secrete betaine, flavonoids and isoflavonoids, which attract rhizobia. Once the microbes grow in the roots of the legumes, they become "nitrogen fixing factories". At the same time, the plant provides food for the microbes. This is a typical symbiotic relationship in nature.

Phosphate solubilising microbes

Phosphorus is another essential nutrient for plants in photosynthesis, nutrient transport and making new cells. There are a few phosphate compounds in the soil, broadly classified into inorganic and organic forms. They are both insoluble in water, and can hardly be utilised by plants. To obtain this essential nutrient, the plants need the help of phosphate solubilising microbes. These secrete enzymes or acids by different mechanisms, and dissolve inorganic and organic phosphate in water so it can be taken up by plants. Known phosphate solubilising microbes include bacteria, actinobacteria and fungi.

Mycorrhizal microbes

Most mycorrhizal microbes are fungi. According to the penetration level of hyphae in the root cells of the plant, they can be classified into endomycorrhizal fungi, ectomycorrhizal fungi, and ectendomycorrhiza fungi. Endomycorrhizal fungi enter the root cells and develop a huge hyphal network around the root, which delivers nutrients to the plant. Ectomycorrhizal fungi form a fungal sheath outside the fine roots of the plant to stabilise the roots as well as protect the roots against diseases and pests, so that the plant may survive in poor environments (such as lacking water or with high salinity). Ectendomycorrhiza fungi act in both ways.

Mycorrhizal microbes can be seen sometimes, particularly under pines and oaks which host the microbes. Truffles, matsutake and bolete mushrooms are the fruiting bodies of mycorrhizal microbes that are used for propagating spores, as the microbes enter reproductive periods. These microbes not only help trees but are fine food for people. However, fruiting bodies of many fungi are poisonous and may be fatal. Many species look closely alike, and it is very difficult for us to distinguish between them. Therefore, it is best to not eat these wild "probiotics"!

Image
The pale red of the root nodules indicates that there are active rhizobia.
Image "nitrogen fixating nodules" by Foxy Tigre is licensed under CC BY 2.0
Image
Phosphate solubilising microbes are used as biological fertiliser that can substitute for chemical fertiliser.
Image
There are pine trees in Hong Kong. But their mycorrhizal microbes do not grow into truffles and matsutake.
Image

Subscribe

Contact Us

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
Rm. 2314, 23/F.,Gala Place,
56 Dundas Street, Mongkok, Kln.
Opening Hours:
Monday to Friday 9:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.;
2:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. (Closed on Saturday, Sunday and public holidays)

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 環保教室
  4. >
  5. 千奇百趣大自然

植物「益生菌」

綠田野 第119期(2016年4月)

對人類而言,益生菌是一些有益健康的微生物。很久以前,人們便懂得從食物中攝取益生菌,改善腸胃,增強抵抗力。植物界也有「益生菌」,是指一些存在於泥土中的微生物。在漫長的演化過程中,這些微生物與植物更建立起共生關係,不能缺少彼此!

根瘤菌

根瘤菌又稱「固氮菌」,多數寄生在豆科植物中,包括放線菌和藍綠藻等,是一些能夠將大氣中的氮氣轉化為氮化合物的細菌。氮是植物生長的必要養分,植物製造蛋白質、DNA和葉綠素都需要氮。大氣中雖然有大量氣態的氮,但是植物不能直接吸收。因此,在泥土缺乏氮的環境下,豆科植物會分泌出甜菜鹼、類黃酮與異黃酮,這些物質都可以吸引根瘤菌。一旦根瘤菌在豆科植物的根部生長,即會成為植物的「固氮工廠」,將大氣中的氮轉化成可供植物使用的氮化合物。另一方面,植物亦會為根瘤菌提供生存所需養分作回報,是典型的互利共生關係。

溶磷菌

磷是另一種植物生長的必要養分,植物進行光合作用、運送養分、製造新細胞等都需要磷。泥土中含有多種磷化合物,大致可分為無機態和有機態兩大類,均是不易溶於水中,難以被植物吸收。植物要獲取磷,便需是溶磷菌的幫助。溶磷菌能夠利用不同的機制,分泌出酵素或酸性物質,將無機態和有機態的磷釋放及溶於水中,讓植物能夠吸收。已知的溶磷菌包括了細菌、放線菌和真菌等。

菌根菌

菌根菌以真菌為主,根據菌絲進入植物根部細胞的程度,可分為內生、外生和內外生三大類。內生菌根菌會進入植物根部細胞,然後在根部外延伸出一個巨大的菌絲網,作用就是將根部範圍外的養分輸送給植物。外生菌根菌則會在植物的幼根外,形成菌絲鞘套,有助幼根抓緊泥土之餘,同時保護幼根,抵抗病蟲侵害,讓植物在惡劣環境(如缺水、高鹽度)仍能生長。至於內外生菌根菌,更同時具備以上兩種真菌的特徵和作用。

我們平時亦有機會一睹菌根菌的面貌。一些有菌根菌寄生的樹木下,例如松樹和橡樹,有時會找到美味的松露、松茸、牛肝菌等,其實都是菌根菌進入繁殖階段所產生出來的子實體,用以傳播孢子。看來菌根菌不止幫助了樹木,還有益於人們口福呢!但是很多子實體是有毒的,胡亂採吃有可能送命,又由於菌類物種繁多而外形相像,一般人難以一一分辨,所以在野外還是不要亂碰這些「益生菌」為妙!

文|Helen Yau

Image
根瘤呈淡淡的紅色,表示內裡的根瘤菌十分活躍
Image "nitrogen fixating nodules" 由 "Foxy Tigre" 製作,以 "創用CC 姓名標示 2.0 國際授權條款" 釋出。
Image
溶磷菌可用作生物肥料,代替化學肥料。
Image
香港也有松樹,但它們的菌根菌並不會長出松露和松茸。
Image

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk

九龍旺角登打士街56號
家樂坊23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)

接收本會資料