1. Home
  2. >
  3. Green Classroom
  4. >
  5. Amazing Nature

Climbing Plants

Green Country Vol. 118 (Feb 2016)

It is common for people to aspire to higher places. Plants do likewise! Plants grow up high for better photosynthesis in the sun, as well as increasing the chances for pollen and seed propagation by more prominently displaying flowers and fruits. A tall tree seems to have all the advantages. However, never look down on seemingly weak climbers without strong trunks or stems. These climbing plants can go up high too, by attaching themselves to nearby plants, walls or other objects!

Climbers can be classified into three categories according to their characteristics: climbing plants, twining plants and procumbent plants. Climbing plants attach themselves to other objects through a variety of structures, such as tendrils. Tendrils, forming odd looking thread-like circles, can effectively affix to twigs and leaves of other plants and even fences. Angled loofah (Luffa acutangula), King Snake Creeper (Passiflora moluccana), Passion Flower (Passiflora foetida), grapes and beans all utilise tendrils for climbing. Tendrils are usually modified stems, such as in the case of grapes and most gourds. In other cases, tendrils are modified leaves, leaf stalks or even stipules. Pea tendrils, for instance, are transformed from leaflets, at the tips of pinnate compound leaves.

Other special structures include adhesive discs, thorns, and adventitious roots. For example, Diverse-leaved Creeper (Parthenocissus dalzielii) has tendrils tipped with adhesive discs that can affix to walls. Recurved thorns grow out of the stem and leaf stalks of White-flowered Raspberry (Rubus leucanthus), and facilitate its climbing. Rattan Palm (Daemonorops jenkinsiana) has developed a whip-like extension armed with claw-shaped, hooked thorns at the top of its rachis to strengthen its climbing power. Night-blooming Cereus (Hylocereus undatus) and Ivy use adventitious roots to attach themselves to rocks, tree trunks or walls.

On the other hand, some climbers need no special structures but their own leaf stalks to grow up high. Hook-leaved Clematis (Clematis uncinata) does it this way. It earned its Chinese name because the leaf stalk resembles wire as it curls around other plants.

Twining and procumbent

Twining plants utilise the stem to grow around other plants or objects in spiral patterns. Usually they don't circle randomly, but in a certain direction - some grow counter-clockwise to form a right handed spiral, some twine clockwise forming a left handed spiral; the former are most common. Examples include Yard-long Bean (Vigna unguiculata subsp. sesquipedalis) and Mountain Yam (Dioscorea hamiltonii). Some can grow in both directions.

The final type is the procumbent plants. Their stems lay horizontally and extend on the ground, with roots growing out of the stems to extend their reach. When they contact other plants or raised objects, they begin growing upwards. Chinese Knotweed (Polygonum chinense) is a common procumbent plant in Hong Kong.

Text|Cammy So

Image
Tendril of Passion Flower
Image
Recurved thorns of White-flowered Raspberry on its stems facilitate its climbing.
Image
Rattan Palm has developed a whip-like extension armed with claw-shape hooked thorns at the top of its rachis to strengthen its climbing power.
Image
Night-blooming Cereus makes use of adventitious roots to climb.
Image
King Snake Creeper attaches to other plants with its tendrils.
Image
Diverse-leaved Creeper has tendrils tipped with adhesive disks that can affix to a wall.
Image
The stem of Bolivia Dipladenia (Mandevilla boliviensis) grows in a spiral around a fence.

Subscribe

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 環保教室
  4. >
  5. 千奇百趣大自然

植物向上爬

綠田野 第118期(2016年2月)

人望高處,原來植物亦然。植物向高處生長,是為了爭取陽光進行光合作用,亦將花果展示在更高處的有利位置,增加傳播花粉和種子的機會。參天大樹,固然佔盡上風。相反,一些沒有強勁枝幹或莖部的攀援植物,單靠依附其他植物、牆壁或物件,亦能高高向上爬!

攀援植物可根據不同的攀援特性分為三類:攀緣植物、纏繞植物及匍匐植物。攀緣植物會以不同的結構來攀附其他物件,例如是捲鬚,一圈一圈的非常有趣,可以有效地纏繞著其他植物的樹枝和葉片,甚至是籬笆等,是很好的攀爬工具。絲瓜(Luffa acutangula)、蛇王藤(Passiflora moluccana)、龍珠果(Passiflora foetida)、葡萄、豆類等都是利用捲鬚來攀援。捲鬚一般由莖變態而成,例如葡萄和大部分瓜類的捲鬚都是由莖變態而成。此外,捲鬚亦可由葉片、葉柄,甚至是葉托變態而成,如豌豆的捲鬚就是由羽狀複葉頂端的一塊小葉所變成。

此外,吸盤、鉤刺及不定根亦是攀緣植物常見的特殊結構,例如爬牆虎(Parthenocissus dalzielii)的捲鬚末端會化成吸盤,可以牢牢的貼著牆壁生長。又例如白花懸鈎子(Rubus leucanthus)會在莖或葉柄上長出鉤刺,鉤抓著周圍物件攀爬。黃藤(Daemonorops jenkinsiana)則更厲害,葉軸頂端會延伸出帶有爪狀刺的幼鞭,強化攀附能力。量天尺(Hylocereus undatus)、長春藤等則會長出不定根,吸附在岩石、樹幹或牆壁。

有些攀緣植物不需要特殊的結構,只需利用本身的葉柄,已可靈活地攀附他物,如鉤葉鐵線蓮(Clematis uncinata)能夠以葉柄纏捲其他物件攀爬,由於葉柄捲繞的模樣看似鐵絲,因而有「鐵線蓮」之名。

纏繞與匍匐

纏繞植物則會利用自己的莖部,呈螺旋狀的纏繞其他植物或物件向上生長,一般會以一定的方向攀爬,不會亂纏的。以逆時針螺旋狀纏繞著物件的稱之為「右旋」,順時針方的則稱為「左旋」,當中以右旋佔大多數,例如豆角(Vigna unguiculata subsp. sesquipedalis)和褐苞薯蕷(Dioscorea hamiltonii)。此外,部分纏繞植物更可以同時以左旋及右旋兩種方式纏繞。

最後是匍匐植物,它們的莖部橫臥在地面上蔓延,其間的節會長出根部以助延伸,一旦碰到其他植物或升高的物件,它們便會順勢向上生長,火炭母(Polygonum chinense)是香港其中一種常見的匍匐植物。

文|Cammy So

Image
龍珠果的捲鬚
Image
白花懸鉤子莖上的鉤刺讓它輕易鉤抓著周圍物件攀爬
Image
黃藤葉長有爪狀刺的幼鞭,強化攀附能力。
Image
量天尺利用不定根攀爬生長
Image
蛇王藤利用捲鬚纏著其他植物生長
Image
爬牆虎的捲鬚末端長有吸盤,可吸附著牆壁生長。
Image
雞蛋花藤(Mandevilla boliviensis)的莖部旋狀地纏繞著欄杆生長。

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk

九龍旺角登打士街56號
家樂坊23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)

接收本會資料