1. Home
  2. >
  3. Green Classroom
  4. >
  5. Amazing Nature

Animal Fashions

Green Country Vol. 117 (Dec 2015)

Our skin is covered with sparse hair. To keep warm and protected, our ancestors created various kinds of clothing to fit their needs. Today, in our modern world, clothing fulfils more than functional needs but can also be fashionable. People put on different styles of clothing for different purposes. In nature, animals also have their "clothing" fashions - the exoskeleton, scales, hairs and feathers may change according to specific needs. Let’s take a look at "fashion" in the animal kingdom!

Close-fitting wear

As we grow, the clothing we wear no longer fits. This happens in the animal kingdom too. For example, arthropods such as insects, shrimps and crabs, as well as reptiles like snakes and lizards, are covered with hard shells or scales to protect their bodies from injury. The shells and scales do not grow. Hence, from time to time, these animals moult to replace the external coverings that no longer fit. The newly grown covering is very soft, and will harden after a while. So moulting animals hide away to prevent attack. For some animals, moulting allows broken body parts to re-grow. How amazing this is!

Age-related wear

Children have kids' clothing, which is considerably different to adult clothing. Similarly, birds and mammals may have different kinds of feathers and hair for their juveniles and adults. Baby birds do not have to forage themselves, so their feather are mostly for keeping warm. Most baby birds have fine down, which only turns into feathers when they mature. Another example is baby penguins and seals, which do not have to dive into the water to feed, so are covered with fine down which is more water absorbent. When they mature, this down falls off, and waterproof smooth feathers and hairs grow instead, as adaptations for swimming.

Courtship wear

When dating, we dress up. Animals also put on attractive wear for courting. Some birds have brightly coloured or unique feathers during the breeding season. For example, Little Egrets (Egretta garzetta) that are readily seen in Hong Kong have special whitish ornamental feathers, in both sexes. Chinese Pond Heron (Ardeola bacchus), another wetland bird, changes from brown to red and blue above during the breeding season. The difference in appearance is so striking that many people could mistake the same bird in breeding and non-breeding season for two species!

Seasonal wear

We put on different clothing for different seasons. Birds and mammals in polar or mountainous areas must change twice each year to adapt to the temperature changes as well as the change in colour in the environment. In winter, polar or mountainous areas are covered with snow. Hence, both predators and prey, such as Arctic Fox (Alopex lagopus) and Ptarmigan, have snowy white fur or feathers which provide camouflage and warmth. When the snow melts in spring, their fur and plumage becomes thinner and changes to brown, which can match the environment while reducing the burden of the thick fur or feathers.

Text|Peggy Chung

© Hayward Ng
Crabs undergo moulting as they grow. The soft-shell crab used for cooking is an individual caught just before the new exoskeleton hardens.
Baby seal (on the left) and adult seal (on the right) have different needs, so the former is covered with fine white hairs while the latter has smooth skin.
© Henry Lui
A Chinese Pond Heron has brightly coloured feathers in the breeding season. (On the left is a bird in the breeding season; on the right a pond heron outside the breeding season)
Arctic Fox in the process of changing its fur.
Image "Arctic Fox" by *Debs* is licensed under CC BY 2.0

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 環保教室
  4. >
  5. 千奇百趣大自然

動物時裝

綠田野 第117期(2015年12月)

人類的皮膚只有稀疏的毛髮,為了保暖和防護,原始人開始製作出各式各樣的服裝。時至今天,服裝不單是滿足功能需求,更會追求款式,人們亦會因應不同場合穿上不同的服裝。至於生活在大自然的各種動物,外殼、鱗片、毛髮便是牠們的衣服,而因應不同環境和需要,動物亦會「變換衣服」,就讓我們看看動物的「時裝」!

稱身的時裝

我們長大後,小時候的衣服會變得短小而不合身,動物亦會出現因成長而「衣不稱身」的情況,例如昆蟲、蝦蟹等節肢動物,以及蛇、蜥蝪等爬行動物。牠們的衣裳是一身堅硬的外殼或鱗片,相比人們的衣裳有裝飾作用,這些動物的外殼最重要是保護身體不易受傷。由於外殼或鱗片不會變大,所以每隔一定時間,就要蛻皮,換走老舊而不合身的外衣。新衣剛長出時非常柔軟,要經過一段時間才會變成堅硬的盔甲,所以蛻皮時動物都會躲起來,免於此時受攻擊。此外,有部分動物在蛻皮的過程中,更可以重新長出斷掉的肢體,非常神奇!

適齡的時裝

我們孩童時與長大成人所穿的衣服,樣式會有很大差異,雀鳥和一些哺乳類動物在年幼與成年後,分別會長出不同的毛髮,就好像人們長大後改穿成人服飾。雛鳥不用自己覓食,羽毛最重要只是保暖,因此大部分雛鳥只有絨毛,長大後才會長出用作飛翔的飛羽。又例如小企鵝和小海豹,不用潛入水中覓食,身上都是絨毛,比較吸水,直至成年需要潛水,一身絨毛便會脫去,變成可以卸水的光滑毛皮。

求偶的時裝

約會和追求異性時,我們都會打扮一番,穿上更美麗帥氣的服裝,而動物亦會為吸引異性而精心變換服裝。一些雀鳥會在繁殖季節換上色彩鮮豔或奇特的羽毛,例如香港常見的小白鷺(Egretta garzetta),不論雌雄都會在求偶時期,添上有如白紗的羽毛以吸引異性。而濕地常見的池鷺(Ardeola bacchus),繁殖期會由原本一身褐色變成紅紅藍藍,由於繁殖期和非繁殖期外表差別非常大,往往讓人以為是兩種不同的雀鳥!

換季的時裝

季節交替,我們會因應天氣冷暖而改穿不同衣服,生活於極地的雀鳥和哺乳類動物,每年亦會換季兩次,除了適應溫度改變,亦是為了配合四周環境色調。冬季時,近南北極地區或是高山地區會被皚皚的白雪覆蓋,所以不論是捕獵者還是獵物,例如北極狐(Alopex lagopus)和雷鳥,都會換上雪白而厚厚的毛髮,保暖之餘,在雪地中亦不易被發現。當春季融雪後,這些動物就會換上較薄的褐色毛髮,既融入周圍的環境,亦減少厚重毛髮的負擔,行動就更為敏捷。

文|Peggy Chung

Image
© Hayward Ng
Image
蟹會隨成長換上新衣裳,即是新的外殼。在新殼還未變堅硬時被捕捉,便是人們餐桌上的軟殼蟹。
Image
幼年海豹(左)與成年海豹(右)由於需要不同,前者以雪白絨毛作衣裳,後者則是光滑的毛皮。
Image
© Henry Lui
池鷺因為求偶關係,繁殖期會換上色彩鮮明的衣裳(上圗是繁殖期;下圖是非繁殖期)。
Image
Image
正在換毛的北極狐
Image "Arctic Fox" 由 "*Debs*" 製作,以 "創用CC 姓名標示 2.0 國際授權條款" 釋出。

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk

九龍旺角登打士街56號
家樂坊23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)

接收本會資料