1. Home
  2. >
  3. Amazing Nature

The Revelation of Clouds

Originally published in Green Country, Issue 115 (Aug 2015)
Author: Green Power

Look up at the sky, and you could see clouds of all shapes. Some are like candy floss, some resemble sheep, others look like cream puffs. In primary school General Studies lessons, we learned that clouds are formed by the condensation of water vapour, which in turn fall as rain. This is the water cycle. Clouds also act as the harbingers of weather to come. From the shapes of clouds, we can predict weather changes. In fact, we can tell the air quality through these clouds.

Clouds are comprised of suspended water droplets and/or ice crystals in the sky, and are formed by the condensation of water vapour. In order for water vapour to condense and form clouds, air must be cooled so that it is saturated to let water vapour convert to liquid state. The process also requires the tiny “aerosol” particles. When you hear the term “aerosol”, the first thing that may come to your mind is a type of artificial chemical, or finely dispersed pesticide or hair spray in compressed gas sprays. In fact, aerosols are suspended solid or liquid particles in the air. They may occur naturally, such as from volcanic debris, or from soil dust in the air, like pollen, salt particles and bacteria. Aerosols can also be produced artificially, for example in compressed gas sprays, or from burning fossil fuel. Aerosols can prompt water vapour to condense (and are then known as condensation nuclei), so that water droplets become suspended in the sky, forming clouds.

The more polluted, the whiter

Clouds are formed by water. Water is transparent, but why are clouds white? This is because water droplets scatter sunlight, making the clouds look white. The more and tinier the water droplets, the bigger the total surface area, so more sunlight is scattered, and we see whiter and shinier clouds. Air pollution is one of the major sources of aerosols. To calculate the Air Quality Health Index, the Environmental Protection Department measures PM10 and PM2.5, which are also aerosol pollutants. Therefore, clouds look whiter and shinier rather than dirtier in places when they contain more air pollutants.

As early as in 1974, research from the University of Arizona showed that clouds with air pollutants can scatter more sunlight back to space, which can somewhat ease global warming. However, more meteorologists point out that as such clouds collect more aerosols, water in the air is dispersed into more and finer water droplets. This hinders the coalescence of small water droplets and hence the formation of bigger droplets into clouds. Therefore, air pollution affects the amount of rainfall and in turn the entire water cycle and water supply.

Are there any other mysteries behind these clouds? What can they reveal to humans in future? The answers are for scientists to discover!

Image
The common type of cloud seen in Hong Kong’s summer is cumulus. The top is in a dome shape, while the bottom is flat. It is usually accompanied by showers. If it develops into cumulonimbus, there will be rainstorms.
Image
The water droplets in a cloud scatter sunlight, making it white.
Image
Image
The lower the concentration of aerosols, the bigger the water droplets, and the lower the ability to scatter sunlight, hence it is more likely to rain; and vice versa. (On the left is a cloud formed by low concentration of aerosols, the one on the right is formed by high concentration of aerosols.)

Subscribe

Contact Us

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
Rm. 2314, 23/F.,Gala Place,
56 Dundas Street, Mongkok, Kln.
Opening Hours:
Monday to Friday 9:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.;
2:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. (Closed on Saturday, Sunday and public holidays)

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 環保教室
  4. >
  5. 千奇百趣大自然

雲的啟示

綠田野 第115期(2015年8月)

天空上一朵又一朵的白雲,像是棉花糖、像是小綿羊、像是忌廉泡沫。從小學常識課文已學會,雲由水蒸氣凝結而成,最後化為降雨,落在大地,循環不息。雲亦是天氣的代言人,從雲的形態,便可預測天氣的變化。原來,雪白的雲兒背後,還能告知空氣質素。

雲是由懸浮在天空的小水滴、冰晶或兩者組成,由空氣中的水蒸氣凝結而成。要水蒸氣結成雲,空氣中的水蒸氣需達到飽和溫度,還需要一種稱為「氣溶膠」的微細粒子。聽到「氣溶膠」這個名詞,可能很多人以為它是人工化合物,又或是殺蟲劑或噴髮膠等壓縮氣體噴霧成份。其實,氣溶膠是指懸浮在空氣中的固體或液體微粒,可以自然產生,例如是火山爆發的碎屑,或是空氣中漂浮的沙塵包括了花粉、鹽粒和細菌。氣溶膠亦可由人工產生,例如是壓縮氣體噴霧,或是燃燒化石燃料時產生的微粒。氣溶膠能誘發空氣中的水蒸氣凝結(稱為凝結核),令小水滴在空中懸浮著,形成了雲。

愈污染愈亮白

雲由水形成,但水是透明的,雲卻是白色的,這是因為雲中的水滴把太陽光從四方八面散射開去,讓雲看起來是白色。當水滴愈多、愈細小,雲中水滴的總表面面積便會愈大,被散射的陽光便會愈多,我們便會看到更白、更亮的雲。空氣污染是其中一個大量產生氣溶膠的來源,本港環境保護署量度空氣質素健康指數中的PM10和PM2.5,便是其中一種氣溶膠污染物。因此,受到空氣污染的雲,看起來不是更髒,反而是更亮白。

早於1974年,美國亞利桑那大學有研究指出,受空氣污染的雲能夠把更多的陽光反射回太空,變相有助舒緩全球暖化。然而,更多的氣象學家研究指出,受空氣污染的雲由於收集了更多的氣溶膠,令空氣中的水分分散成更多細小的水滴,妨礙了小水滴合併並發展成大水滴而造成降雨。因此,受空氣污染影響的雲,降雨量會減少,最終會影響水循環以致水資源供應。

一朵又一朵的白雲背後,還隱藏著什麼秘密?它在未來將會帶給人類什麼的啟示?還有待科學家們去發現!

文|Hayward Ng

Image
香港的夏天,天空常見積雲,雲頂呈圓拱形而底部平坦,常伴有驟雨。一旦發展成積雨雲,便會帶來狂風暴雨。
Image
雲中的水滴把太陽光從四方八面散射,令雲看起來是白色的。
Image
Image
愈少量的氣溶膠,凝結的水滴會愈大,雲中水滴散射陽光的能力會減少,降雨量則會增加,相反亦然。(圖左是少量氣溶膠把水滴凝結而成的雲;圖右是大量氣溶膠把水滴凝結而成的雲。)

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk

九龍旺角登打士街56號
家樂坊23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)

接收本會資料