1. Home
  2. >
  3. Green Classroom
  4. >
  5. Amazing Nature

Glowing Magic

Green Country Vol. 114 (Jun 2015)

They shine at night - in the air, on the ground, or in the sea. These little gleaming creatures in the natural world captivate people in the dark. But they do not shine to enchant you, but so that they can survive.

Animals' glows are used for communication, mating, feeding and fending off enemies. There are a variety of ways to glow. Some contain in their bodies glowing materials such as luciferin and luciferase; when the former is catalysed by the latter, it is turned into an unstable oxide which then releases light. This is the way fireflies and Cypridina glow.

Jellyfish, on the other hand, contain other special materials - aequorin and green fluorescent protein (GFP). Aequorin emits blue light, which is then absorbed by GFP to produce the green glowing light of jellyfish.

Some animals do not manufacture their own glowing materials but rely on others that glow. Angler Fish, for example, has a light organ on its head which contains light-producing bacteria. These bacteria make luciferin and undergo photosynthesis, while Angler Fish makes use of the light to attract prey.

Blue Rays: The Ocean's Tears

To date, people have discovered numerous animals that can glow, including: insects (e.g. fireflies), fish, molluscs (e.g. jellyfish, octopus), algae, fungi and bacteria. Several of these creatures can be found in Hong Kong. The most familiar are the fireflies, of which there are 27 species locally. On hot summer nights, they emit light from their “light organ”, which is filled with luciferin and luciferase. Fireflies can regulate the lighting frequency through the nerve signal, to generate special “love messages” for mating. The light is also used to locate members of the opposite sex. Apart from mating, the glowing light is used as an alert against their natural enemies.

Sea Sparkle (Noctiluca scintillans) is another common glowing creature in Hong Kong. When disturbed, these algae floating on the sea emit bright blue light. The magnificent scene of a blue sea at night is nicknamed "Blue Tears". The glowing light attracts stronger predators that can chase away invaders. As beautiful as Sea Sparkle (Noctiluca scintillans) is, its appearance in large scale is worrisome, as it is an indication of water pollution, and red tides are created that can affect other marine life. There is another glowing fungi in Hong Kong - luminous mushroom, which resembles elegant green umbrellas, glowing amidst the darkened forest floor.

Text|Cammy So

Image
© Christina YM Chan
Glowing fireflies make a scene like a starry night.
Image
© Henry Lui
Firefly
Image
© Chris Tai
Sea Sparkle emits enchanting blue rays.
Image
© Christina YM Chan
Green glowing umbrella-like luminous mushroom.

Subscribe

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 環保教室
  4. >
  5. 千奇百趣大自然

神秘的發光小精靈

綠田野 第114期(2015年6月)

晚上,漆黑的世界裡,牠們發出閃爍的光芒,打破黑夜的寂靜。天上的、地上的、海中的生物,不少都能發光,自然界的發光小精靈,讓人目眩,亦讓人著迷。生物之所以會發光,為的當然不是要迷惑人們,其實是與生存有莫大關係。

生物發光原因很多,包括為了傳遞訊息、求偶、溝通、覓食、警戒敵人等,而不同生物的發光方法亦有所不同。有些發光生物體內能夠製造發光的物質來發光,例如是螢光素和螢光酶,螢光素經螢光酶催化後,會變成一種不穩定氧化化合物,以光的方式釋放出能量,讓生物能夠發光,螢火蟲、海螢等就是利用這種方法發光。

水母亦是以自身製造的發光物質來發光,這些物質是特殊的蛋白質,分別是水母素和綠色螢光蛋白。首先,水母素會發出藍光,藍光經由綠色螢光蛋白吸收後,便會釋出我們所看見的綠色螢光。

有些生物不能自行製造發光物質,卻仍能發光,全因懂得利用其他會發光的生物,鮟鱇魚便是當中的佼佼者。牠們頭部伸出一根發光器,內裡裝著一些能夠發光的細菌,這些細菌會製造發光素,進行發光作用。鮟鱇魚利用發光細菌為牠們發光,從而利用光去吸引獵物。

藍光閃閃 海洋之淚

至目前為止,人們已發現多種能會發光的生物,包括:昆蟲(如螢火蟲)、魚類、軟體動物(如水母、章魚)、藻類、真菌、細菌等。在香港,亦可找到不少發光生物,當中的螢火蟲可說是最為人熟識。香港有27種螢火蟲,在炎夏的夜裡,牠們發出點點迷人的光芒,這些光芒來自牠們腹部末端有一稱為「發光器」的結構,內裡佈滿發光質及發光酵素。螢火蟲還能夠透過神經傳達訊號以控制發光頻率,利用特有的發光頻率便可向異性發出「求愛訊息」,並以光去確認對方位置。除了吸引異性,螢火蟲發光亦有警戒作用。

夜光藻(Noctiluca scintillans)是本港另一種常見的發光生物。這種浮游在海裡的藻類當受到騷擾時,會發出亮亮的藍光,彷彿整個海面在發光一樣,令人驚艷。這個現象更被冠以「藍眼淚」這個淒美的名字。夜光藻發光可吸引更強大的捕獵者注意,從而幫助它們趕走入侵者。夜光藻雖然漂亮,但大量出現卻絶非好事,因為夜光藻繁殖過盛時會形成紅潮,影響海中其他的生物,亦反映水質受污染。另外,本地亦可找到會發光的真菌-夜光蕈,在黑夜中如一把把螢光的綠色小傘,非常別緻。

文|Cammy So

Image
© Christina YM Chan
發光的螢火蟲,猶如天上閃亮的星星。
Image
© Henry Lui
螢火蟲
Image
© Chris Tai
夜光藻會發出迷人的藍色光芒
Image
© Christina YM Chan
螢光綠色小傘,是發光的夜光蕈。

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk

九龍旺角登打士街56號
家樂坊23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)

接收本會資料